Skip to main content

Workshops: UNR Libraries - The Graduate School - Graduate Student Association

Questions?

For questions about current or future Library workshops:

 

Amy Shannon

ashannon@unr.edu

(775) 682-6624

 

Ann Medaille

amedaille@unr.edu

(775) 682-5600

Upcoming Workshops

Writing CVs and Cover Letters 

Wed, Feb 1, 6:00-8:00pm, MIKC 107

 

Photoshop for Whatever 

Fri, Feb 3, 9:30-10:30am, MIKC 114

 

Where to Publish? 

Tue, Feb 7, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 114

 

Social and Demographic Data Sources 

Wed, Feb 8, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 114

 

EndNote Basic and Cite While You Write 

Thu, Feb 9, 3:00-4:30pm, MIKC 114

 

Using Social Media and Networking for Your Career

Wed, February 15, 11:00-12:30pm, DMS 104

 

Your Rights to Your Published Works 

Wed, Feb 15, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 114

 

Zotero: A Free Reference Management Tool 

Tue, Feb 21, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 114

 

PubMed Basics 

Wed, Feb 22, 1:00-2:30pm, MIKC 114

 

Copyright in the Classroom 

Thu, Feb 23, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 414

 

Where to Publish? 

Mon, Feb 27, 2:00-3:00PM, MIKC 414

 

Social and Demographic Data Sources 

Tue, Feb 28, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 114

360 Video: Capture Your Own Immersive Experience 

Wed, March 1 and 29, 4:00-5:30pm, Dynamic Media Lab

 

Photoshop for Whatever 

Wed, March 1, 2:00-3:00pm, MIKC 114

 

EndNote Basic and Cite While You Write 

Thu, March 2, 5:00-6:30pm, MIKC 114

 

Interviewing Strategies for Grad-Level and Faculty-Level New Professionals 

Thu, March 2, 12:00-1:00pm, MIKC 104

 

Zotero: A Free Reference Management Tool 

Mon, March 6, 4:00-5:00pm, MIKC 114

 

PubMed Beyond the Essentials 

Tue, March 7, 11:00am-12:30pm, MIKC 114

 

Introduction to Video Recording and Editing  

Thu, March 9, 9:00-11:00am, MIKC Dynamic Media Lab

 

Copyright in the Classroom 

Thu, March 9, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 414

 

Build Your Online Scholarly Profile 

Mon, March 13, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 114

 

Organize Your References with Mendeley

Tue, March 14, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 114

 

Introduction to 3D Modeling with Solidworks

Mon, March 27, 6:30-7:30pm, DeLaMare Library

 

Your Rights to Your Published Works 

Tue, March 28, 11:00am-12:00pm, MIKC 114

 

Powerpoint for Posters 

Wed, March 29, 7:45-8:45am, MIKC 114

 

Introduction to OpenRefine 

Thu, March 30, 1:00-2:30pm, MIKC 414

 

Patents & Trademarks

Thu, March 30, 1:00-2:00pm, DeLaMare Library – DataWorks South 

Finding the 'Fake' in your news

Mon, April 3, 12:00-1:00pm, MIKC 114

 

Teaching with Primary Sources

Mon, April 3, 1:00-2:00pm, Special Collections

 

Real News v. Fake News: How to tell the difference amid the chaos of the media world

Mon, April 3, 4:00-5:00pm MIKC 114

 

Build Your Online Scholarly Profile

Tue, April 4, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 114

 

Fake news and hostility against the media

Tue, April 4, 2:30-3:30pm, MIKC 114

 

Start Smart Salary Negotiation

Wed, April 5, 11:00am-1:00pm, MIKC 114 

 

How to Arm Yourself In The Fight For Facts

Wed, April 5, 4:00-5:00pm,  MIKC 114

 

Fake news: slay it, don't share it

Thu, April 6, 9:30-10:30am,  MIKC 114

 

Photoshop for Whatever 

Thu, April 6, 5:30-6:30pm, MIKC 114

 

From Fake News to Fake Data; Science in the Post-Fact Era

Fri, April 7, 1:00-2:00pm,  MIKC 114

 

Patents & Trademarks

Wed, April 12, 6:00-7:00pm, DeLaMare Library – DataWorks South

 

Introduction to 3D Modeling with Solidworks

Thu, April  13, 6:30-7:30pm, DeLaMare Library

 

Best Practices in College Teaching

Wed, April 19, 11:00am-1:00pm, DMS 104

Assessment Planning and Learning Outcome Design

Wed, May 3, 11:00am-12:30pm, DMS 104

Loading

More Workshops

Workshop Details

Spring 2017 Workshop Series

 

360 Video: Capture Your Own Immersive Experience 

Wed, March 1 and 29, 4:00-5:30pm, Dynamic Media Lab   SIGN UP

Instructor: Michelle Rebaleati 

Have you ever wanted to develop your own virtual reality experience? Filming a 360 video can be challenging, but the @One has many of the tips and tricks you need! This workshop will show you what tools you’ll need to capture, edit, and display your very own 360 video on Youtube or the HTC Vive. Space and equipment is limited so please come prepared to learn.

 

Assessment Planning and Learning Outcome Design

GSA Professional Development Series

Wed, May 3, 11:00am-12:30pm, DMS 104  MORE 

Instructor: Russell Stone

 

Best Practices in College Teaching

GSA Professional Development Series

Wed, April 19, 11:00am-1:00pm, DMS 104  MORE 

Instructor: Sarah Cummings

 

Build Your Online Scholarly Profile

Mon, March 13, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Tue, April 4, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Instructor: Teresa Schultz

Learn the ins and outs of ORCID, ImpactStory and other resources that help you build and measure your online scholarly profile.

 

Copyright in the Classroom

Thu, February 23, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 414   SIGN UP

Thu, March 9, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 414   SIGN UP

Instructor: Teresa Schultz

Learn about how copyright affects what and how you want to teach in the classroom and discover resources that will help you figure out to handle these issues.

 

EndNote Basic and Cite While You Write

Thu, February 9, 3:00-4:30pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Thu, March 2, 5:00-6:30pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Instructors: Amy Shannon and Michelle Rachal

Drowning in a sea of citations?  Can't find that article you read last year? With Endnote and Cite While You Write you can save, organize and share a library of citations, plus instantaneously format your Literature Cited while you write.

 

Fake news and hostility against the media

Cosponsored with the Reynolds School of Journalism

Tue, April 4, 2:30-3:30pm, MIKC 114  SIGN UP 

Instructor: Gi Yun

 

Fake news: slay it, don't share it

Cosponsored with the Reynolds School of Journalism

Thu, April 6, 9:30-10:30pm, MIKC 114  SIGN UP 

Instructor: Alison Gaulden

 

Finding the 'Fake' in your news

Cosponsored with the Reynolds School of Journalism

Mon, April 3, 12:00-1:00pm, MIKC 114  SIGN UP 

Instructor: Bob Felton

 

From Fake News to Fake Data; Science in the Post-Fact Era

Cosponsored with the Reynolds School of Journalism

Fri, April 7, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 114  SIGN UP 

Instructor: Marian Berryhill (psychology) and Beth Leger (ecology)

 

How to Arm Yourself in the Fight For Facts

Cosponsored with the Reynolds School of Journalism

Wed, April 5, 4:00-5:00pm, MIKC 114  SIGN UP 

Instructor: Annie Flanzraich

 

Interviewing Strategies for Grad-Level and Faculty-Level New Professionals

Thu, March 2, 12:00-1:00pm, MIKC 104   SIGN UP

Instructor: Mary T. Calhoon

Learn strategies for honing your “hire me” message and tackling tough questions in an interview. Discuss tips and techniques for every type of interview situation.

 

Introduction to 3D Modeling with Solidworks  

Mon, March 27, 6:30-7:30pm, DeLaMare Library – DataWorks South  SIGN UP

Thu, April 13, 6:30-7:30pm, DeLaMare Library – DataWorks South  SIGN UP

Instructors: DLM Tech Wranglers

The University Libraries now offer access to three different 3D printers in the DeLaMare Science & Engineering Library. Yet, in order to 3D print your own idea, you need to design and create a 3D model. In this introductory session directed at beginners, expert Tech Wranglers will teach you what modeling programs are available to you, how to get started with 3D modeling, and you will leave with a simple 3D file ready to print.

 

Introduction to OpenRefine

Thu, March 30, 1:00-2:30pm, MIKC 414   SIGN UP

Instructors: Jeremy Floyd and Iñaki Arrieta Baro

OpenRefine is an open source tool for data cleaning and transformation. This workshop will help you installing the software and understanding OpenRefine capabilities.

 

Introduction to Video Recording and Editing

Thu, March 9, 9:00-11:00am, MIKC Dynamic Media Lab   SIGN UP

Instructor: Kyle Weerheim

Set up a video camera, microphone, and lights, for the purpose of recording an interview with your person of interest.  Then learn how to edit that video using Adobe Premiere Pro, and gather elements such as sound effects, high-resolution images, and music. Equipment used in this workshop is available through @One Digital Media Checkout.

 

Organize Your References with Mendeley

Tue, March 14, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Instructor: Ann Medaille

Learn how to use a free reference management tool that allows you to create instant bibliographies with citations imported from databases like PubMed, ScienceDirect, and more. You’ll also learn how to use Mendeley to store, annotate, and highlight article PDFs.  

 

Patents & Trademarks

Thu, March 30, 1:00-2:00pm, DeLaMare Library – DataWorks South   SIGN UP

Wed, April 12, 6:00-7:00pm, DeLaMare Library – DataWorks South   SIGN UP

Instructors: Tara Radniecki and Pat Ragains

Have a great idea? Thought about getting a patent or trademark but don’t know where to start? Come learn about patents and trademarks with USPTO-trained librarians. Find out what can be patented or trademarked, what they are and do, and how to start the process in obtaining one. 

 

Photoshop for Whatever

Fri, February 3, 9:30-10:30am, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Wed, March 1, 2:00-3:00pm, MIKC 114  SIGN UP

Thu, April 6, 5:30-6:30pm, MIKC 114  SIGN UP

Instructor: Harry Thomas

An open workshop where the specific topics of Photoshop application are determined by the attendees.

 

Powerpoint for Posters

Wed, March 29, 7:45-8:45am, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Instructor: Harry Thomas

Learn how to effectively create excellent academic posters in PowerPoint, and get them ready for printing.

 

PubMed Basics

Wed, February 22, 1:00-2:30pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Instructor: Michelle Rachal

This hands-on workshop focuses on what every user needs to know about PubMed. We will review the structure of this database, planning and executing a search strategy, narrowing search results, and finding full-text.

 

PubMed: Beyond the Essentials

Tue, March 7, 11:00am-12:30pm, MIKC 114  SIGN UP

Instructor: Michelle Rachal

Move beyond the basics to refine and expand your searching skills. Learn about MeSH terms and how to use them in a search. Use MyNCBI and its numerous tools to keep you updated and to customize PubMed for your most frequent types of searches.

 

Real News v. Fake News: How to tell the difference amid the chaos of the media world

Cosponsored with the Reynolds School of Journalism

Mon, April 3, 4:00-5:00pm, MIKC 114  SIGN UP 

Instructor: Alan Deutschman

 

Social and Demographic Data Sources

Wed, February 8, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Tue, February 28, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Instructor: Pat Ragains

Overview of and practice using social and demographic data sources, including American Factfinder, federal and state government data sources, and UNR-licensed databases such as ReferenceUSA, Passport & Mintel Reports.

 

Start Smart Salary Negotiation

GSA Professional Development Series

Wed, April 5, 11:00am-1:00pm, MIKC 114   MORE 

Instructor: Robbyn Tolles

 

Teaching with Primary Sources

Mon, April 3, 1:00-2:00pm, Special Collections   SIGN UP

Instructor: Donnie Curtis

Student learning is enriched by exposure to primary resources such as local historical information and data in archives, national and international information in specialized subscription databases, and other kinds of primary materials in the library and online through the library. This workshop will introduce hidden resources and provide examples of assignments that connect students with research opportunities using primary sources. The emphasis will be on historical information and data of possible use by students in History, Journalism, Art, Anthropology, Geography and even science disciplines that track change over time.

 

Using Social Media and Networking for Your Career

GSA Professional Development Series

Wed, February 15, 11:00-12:30pm, Location DMS 104   MORE 

Instructor: Jim McClenahan

 

Where to Publish?

Tue, February 7, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Mon, February 27, 2:00-3:00PM, MIKC 414   SIGN UP

Instructor: Teresa Schultz

Not sure if a journal you want to publish in is legitimate? Find out tips to help you evaluate potential journals and put a journal you're considering to the test.

 

Writing CVs and Cover Letters

GSA Professional Development Series

Wed, February 1, 6:00pm-8:00pm, MIKC 107   MORE 

Instructor: Mary T. Calhoon

 

Your Rights to Your Published Works

Wed, February 15, 3:00-4:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Tue, March 28, 11:00am-12:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Instructor: Teresa Schultz

Learn about the rights you own to your research and how you can negotiate with publishers to retain your rights.

 

Zotero: A Free Reference Management Tool

Tue, February 21, 1:00-2:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Mon, March 6, 4:00-5:00pm, MIKC 114   SIGN UP

Instructors: Ann Medaille and Conrad Woxland

Zotero is a free online tool that allows you to collect, organize, cite, annotate, and share article PDFs, as well as digital materials such as video files, webpage snapshots, images, and more. Learn how to use this tool to store materials, instantly format citations in a variety of styles, and collaborate on projects.