skip to main content

PubMed

What's in this guide?

 


Search PubMed provides step-by-step instructions for running a search in PubMed, including entering search terms, using filters to limit your search by language, ages, and other topics, viewing your results, printing/saving/emailing your citations, and how to find the full-text of articles or order copies if needed.

Refine Searches provides:

  • Quick PubMed tips to refine searches
  • Hints for improving search results when finding too many or too few citations

MeSH/Advanced Search How to use NLM's Medical Subject Headings to find all articles on a topic and advanced searching tips. 

Export to EndNote How to export your PubMed citations to EndNote.

MyNCBI is your personal space in PubMed for saving searches, search results, preferences, and for creating automatic email alerts.

What is PubMed?

PubMed is a free web-based interface for searching MEDLINE.

  • PubMed is created by the National Library of Medicine, and contains the MEDLINE database.
  • It covers journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system.
  • PubMed has information about journal articles(currently over 24 million) published in 5,600 journals in 30 languages dating back to 1946.
  • It does not include information about meeting abstracts, conference proceedings, dissertations, patents, or websites.
  • NLM indexers add words called Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to the information about each article. Searching with MeSH words helps you find more relevant articles.

How to Access PubMed

There is a link to PubMed on the Savitt Medical Library's home page and on the Databases page.

Be sure to select PubMed from one of the Library pages as these are coded to add the Find It button that links to you full-text articles.

When the article is not available online, the Find It button links to a page where you can request the article via Interlibrary Loan