skip to main content

Community Faculty

Welcome

The Savitt Medical Library welcomes our Community Faculty. Thank you for your time and support of the School of Medicine and in particular, our students.

As an UNR Med Community Faculty member, you have access to the resources of Savitt Medical Library including our online journal collection, Clinical Key, First Consult, DynaMed, the Cochrane Library and more.

We can also provide you with reference assistance, online searching, interlibrary loan services, and instruction. Come by virtually or in person, and explore the resources and services available to you.

Katie Jefferson is the Library Services Liaison and will be your primary contact for services and information about the library.

-Mary Shultz, Library Director

Get Library Access

NetID and Password:

  • New Community Faculty Member: Once your faculty appointment has been processed, you will be able to activate your NetID and set up your password. For information related to your appointment, please contact Sara Garey-Sage at 775-682-8390 or email ocf@med.unr.edu.
  • Current Faculty Member: If you have been using a barcode to access online library resources, please be aware that this method has been replaced with NetID's. You will now need a NetID and password in order to access licensed resources from the Library. If you have not yet acquired a NetID and password, please begin the process by filling downloading the form below. If you have any questions, contact us at savitt@med.unr.edu.

Resource Spotlight

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey (replacing MDConsult) provides access to: over 1,000 medical and surgical books; over 500 Clinical Key Logojournals; over 2,000 practice guidelines; patient education handouts in English and Spanish; the point-of-care tool available in First Consult; and Procedures Consult and associated videos.

Cochrane Library

Consists chiefly of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectivenessCochrane Library Logo (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).

DynaMed

DynaMed is an point-of-care clinical reference tool resource created by physicians and other health care professionals. DynaMed LogoWith   clinically-organized summaries including more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an indispensable resource for answering most clinical questions during practice

Journal Watch

Provides brief, clearly written, clinically focused perspectives on the medical developments that affect practice. Journal WatchNEJM Journal Watch Logo surveys the medical literature, selects the most important research and guidelines, distills them into focused summaries, and frames them in a clinical context, plus presents coverage of important medical news, drug information, and public health alerts.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, PubMed Logoand online books. Citations include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

More resources: use main Library Databases List

Katie Jefferson

Katie Jefferson
Contact:
Savitt Medical Library 775-682-7359
Renown 775-682-8394

Suggestions?

Have comments or suggestions about services available or Community Faculty resources? Email: savitt@med.unr.edu or call Katie Jefferson via phone at (775) 682-7359.