skip to main content

About Savitt

History of Medicine Museum

The History of Medicine Museum brings together the historical collections of the Savitt Medical Library and the outstanding scholars, broad knowledge and continuing discovery at the School of Medicine.  Contact us to schedule a visit or find out more.

History of Medicine Room

Great Basin History of Medicine Archive

About the Archives


In 1989 the University of Nevada School of Medicine's Pathology Department established the Great Basin History of Medicine program to research and preserve the history of Health Sciences in Nevada. The program is composed of an oral history program, research, student essays and has published several books. The program, in conjunction with the Washoe County Medical Society, has a museum displaying medical artifacts and a library in the Pennington Medical Education building.


Photo Archive

The photo collection documents over 100 years of healthcare for Nevada's citizens. 

Greasewood Tablettes

The Great Basin History of Medicine Program quarterly bulletin is the "Greasewood Tablettes".

Dr. Thomas J. Scully

Dr. Thomas J. Scully came to Reno in 1969 as a founding faculty member of Nevada's first state supported medical school. Hear Dr. Scully's story in his own words.

Artifacts

About Our Collection


Our collection also includes approximately 50 nineteenth century books; several eighteenth century books; some 110 current monographs on the history of medicine; 50 books on military medicine; the complete New York Academy of Medicine Library Catalog and the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, U.S. Army, 1880-1955.

Dr. Thomas Scully

Dr. Thomas Scully with medical students

Dr. Thomas J. Scully came to Reno in 1969 as a founding faculty member of Nevada's first state supported medical school.