Skip to main content

PHIL 210 World Religions: Intuitions of the Infinite: Welcome

Resources to support course assignments for Dr. Jason Fisette's Philosophy 210 World Religions class.

Welcome

This guide lists some of the best resources for getting started with research about world religions. You'll find information about books, databases, journals, interlibrary loan, online documentaries, websites, and more. If you have a question, please contact the librarian by using the information on the right.

Knowledge Center at Night

Fox, Vance. Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Nighttime. 2008. Photograph. Campus Images, UNR Digital Conservancy, University of Nevada, Reno. Web. 3 May 2011.

Gwyneth Jones on Religion

Interview question: Does religion have any place in your writing?

Gwyneth Jones: "I'm a Catholic ... I don't really like religion, though it is a natural human instinct, like taking drugs, and comes from the same hunger for comfort; we are all pharmacologically starved of those feel-good neurosteroids so much of the time, and some of us progress inexorably to the real hard stuff of faith, hope, and charity, under some global-religion guise. I do believe that we should love one another, if only because it makes such good sense of our animal behavior; and I believe in forgiveness, and I believe in guai-yi. That means shelter, it's the Zen Buddhist term for what they call nirvana in India. I don't know what place my beliefs have in my writing ... Hey, it's all in the wiring, I can't help it. I was born this way."

~ excerpt from "Going Uphill: An Interview with Gwyneth Jones," femspec. Volume 5, no. 1 (June 2004), pp. 216+

 

[Jones is an English novelist. Her works are mostly science fiction and near future high fantasy with strong themes of gender and feminism. She is the winner of two World Fantasy Awards, the British Science Fiction Association short story award, the Children of the Night Award from the Dracula Society, the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Philip K. Dick Award, and co-winner of the James Tiptree, Jr. Award.] 

About This World Religions Guide

This guide contains information about the following:

Articles/Research Databases - Contains a variety of databases for use with finding research articles and other materials. You can choose one or more databases and search for information by using keywords related to your topic.

Books & Online Films ebooks in EBSCOHost offers keyword searching in a large, interdisciplinary set of online books, including many about various religious traditions and comparative religion research. Click on the title of an online reference book to access it. Special Collections, on the third floor of the Knowledge Center, has books about the history of various denominations in Nevada, along with rare books about witchcraft in Europe and the United States. The two film databases include films about world religions. The Internet Sacred Text Archive provides core books for various religious groups.

Selected Web Resources - Contains links to Websites for religious news, data about various religions, and other Internet religion resources.

Special Collections - Great Basin Region Manuscript Collections & Medieval Manuscripts - Links to several manuscript collections of religious groups in northern Nevada, along with medieval parchment specimens of religious works and pre-20th century religious texts.

Citation Help

Need citation help or examples to follow? Choose one of the links below. If you want to use the most recent copy of a style guide, stop by the Research & Computing Help Desk on the 2nd floor of the Knowledge Center.

Special Collections Librarian & University Archivist

Betty Glass's picture
Betty Glass
Contact:
775) 682-5660