Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Douglas A. Unger

Douglas A. Unger (1952- )

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 2007

Photo: Douglas Unger Douglas Arthur Unger was born in Moscow, Idaho, on June 27, 1952, and spent some summers working on his father's ranches in Colorado and South Dakota. When he was 16, he was awarded an American Field Service scholarship for a year of study in Buenos Aires, Argentina, during 1969-70. In 1971, he studied German language and culture at the Goethe Institute in Blaubeuren, Germany. While a student at the University of Chicago, he was an antiwar activist and became the managing editor of the Chicago Review. In 1973, he received the University of Chicago's Olga and Paul Menn Foundation Award for writing along with his B.A. degree. He received a Teaching-Writing Fellowship at the University of Iowa for 1975-76. He was Assistant Editor at The Iowa Review and obtained his MFA. in Fiction at the University of Iowa's Iowa Writers' Workshop in 1977. Then he and his wife, Amy Burk Unger, moved to Washington state, where he worked as a commercial fisherman until they moved to his wife's family's homestead farm. From 1981-1983, he was the Arts journalist and theater critic for The Bellingham Herald (Washington State) and "Friday Magazine" for Gannett Newspapers. Also during the 1980s, he worked as a photographer and a stringer journalist for UPI and wrote for the PBS program the "MacNeil-Lehrer News Hour." He also completed coursework toward a master's degree in Theater at Western Washington University before joining the English Department faculty at Syracuse University in 1983. He directed its Creative Writing Program in 1984-85. He received the Society of Midland Authors Award in 1984 for his first novel, Leaving the Land, which was a finalist for the 1985 Pulitzer Prize for fiction. He also received a Special Citation, P.E.N. Ernest Hemingway Award for Leaving the Land in 1985. That same year, he received a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowship to support his writing. In 1989, a Fulbright Comparative Literature Fellowship enabled him to teach at universities in Argentina, Chile, and Uruguay. He is an occasional book reviewer for the New York Times and other publications. In 1991, he became a member of the faculty of the English Department at the University of Nevada at Las Vegas. In 1996, he became a full member in the Writers Guild of America-West, received the (Washington State) Governor's Writer's Award for Leaving the Land, and became one of the first writers to be selected for the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Silver Pen Award. Since 2001, he has been the Director of its international MFA. program in creative writing, which he co-founded with Richard Wiley. He is currently a member of UNLV's Cultural Studies Committee and its Latin American Studies Committee. He has served on the editorial boards of several university presses. In 2003, he was a judge for New Zealand's Schaeffer Literature Prize, and was a 2004 judge for New Zealand's Prize in Modern Letters award. The State of Nevada, Board of Regents, selected him for the Creative Activity Award & Medal in 2005. Unger is on the Advisory Board of the Cities of Refuge - North America for dissident writers.

Bibliography for Douglas A. Unger

Books

Leaving the Land: A Novel

. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1995. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3571 .N45 L4 1995; also in KC Special Collections and at Western Nevada College-Fallon].

Hans-Jacob, Nilsson, translator. En Forlorad drom. Stockholm: Forum, Schmidt, 1985. Swedish ed.

Looking for War and Other Stories. Princeton, NJ: Ontario Review Press, 2004. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3571 .N45 L66 2004 and in Special Collections]

Preeria [Leaving the Land]. Lahtinen, T. K., Translator. Helsinki, Finland: Otava, 1985. Finnish translation.

The Turkey War. . New York: Ballantine Books, 1991. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 3571 .N45 T875 1991]

Voices from Silence. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1995. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3571 .N45 V65 1995 and in Special Collections.]

El Yanqui. New York: Harper & Row, 1986. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3571 .N45 Y3 1986 and in Special Collections.]

Nonfiction Articles, Book Chapters, Reviews and Speeches

"A way out of the woods." Writer. Vol. 120, no. 3 (March 2007) p. 44-45. [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users.]

"The Agony of Elijah Black Horse (review of That Day in Gordon)." New York Times. (Sep. 28, 1986), p. BR34. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Angles on Dialogue." The Writer's Chronicle. Vol. 39, no. 4. (February 2007).

"Author's Afterword: A Project for Memory." Voices From Silence. French translation, Daniel Arsand/Editions Phebus, 2008.

"Autobiography." Iowa Review. Vol. 32, No. 3 (December 2002), pp. 82-93. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 501 I68 2002 and online via Literature Online for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Betrayed and Baffled Still (review of The Book of Famous Iowans )." New York Times. (Sep. 28, 1997), p. BR13. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"A Carnival of Memory - A Man and the Woman He Loved, Manuel Puig's Blood of Requited Love [review]." Vogue. Vol. 174 (August 1984), p. 212+. [Available: Knowledge Center: TT 500 .V7 1984 Vol. 174]

"Cokecherry Places: Essays from the High Plains [review]." Great Plains Quarterly. Vol. 20, No. 3 (Summer 2000), p. 238.

"The Colonel of the Civil Guard," translation from the novel Don Juan by Azorin in Lipkin & Solotaroff, eds. Words on the Page, The World In Your Hands. #3. New York: Harper & Row, 1990, p. 20-24. [Available: WNC-Carson City]: PE 1126 .A4 1990]

"Desert Gothic [review]." University of Iowa Press.

"Ethical concerns (letter to the editor)." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (Nov. 4, 2006). [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N8 2005; and via LexisNexis Academic Universe for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Excerpt from Leaving the Land." in Quantic, Diane D. and P. Jane Hafen, eds. A Great Plains Reader. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2003; pp. 629-640. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 591 .G763 2003]

"Farmaid, Concert for America." for MacNeil /Lehrer News Hour, National Affairs Dept., (Sept. 23, 1984; Feb. 18, 1985).

"Foreword" for: Syracuse Poems and Stories 1984. Syracuse, NY: Dept. of English, Syracuse University, 1984.

"Gaining Ground: The Renewal of America's Small Farms and Farmers of Five Continents [review essay]." New York Times Book Review. (June 17, 1984), p. BR. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Glimpses: Raymond Carver." The Paris Review. No. 118 (Spring 1990), p. 260-303. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS AP 4 P245 no. 118]

"Gone West: Farmers, Pirates, and Suitcase Ranchers." Colorado Review. Vol. 31, No. 2 (Summer 2004), p. 155-170.

"La 'historia de las panteras y de algunos de los animales conversos'." Chasqui-Revista de Literatura Latinoamericana. Vol. 28, no. 2 (Nov. 1999), p. 137-139.

"In Short: Nonfiction - Eighty Acres: Elegy for a Family Farm [review]." New York Times. (Dec. 23, 1990), p. BR13. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"In the Center of the Nation [review]." New York Times. (August 12, 1991). [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Influencias: Nuevos discursos inmigrantes de Cristina Garcia e Irene Vilar." in Costa Picazo, Rolando, ed. Estados Unidos y America Latina: Relaciones interculturales. Buenos Aires: Asociacion Argentina de Estudios Americanos, 1994; p. 258-273.

"Introduction" for Stern, Richard G. Natural Shocks. NY: Arbor House, 1986. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3569 T39 N3]

"Intruder in the Nest (review of Crows)." New York Times. (June 30, 1985), p. BR9. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Leaving the Land (excerpt)." in Griffin, Shaun T., ed. The River Underground: An Anthology of Nevada Fiction. (Western Literature Series). Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2001; pp. 235-251. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 571 .N3 R58 2001 and in Special Collections & Archives; also at: Great Basin College-Elko and Western Nevada College-Carson City]

"Levels of Dialogue." in Ellis, Sherry, ed. Now Write! Fiction Writing Exercises From Today's Best Writers and Teachers. New York: Penguin Group, 2006; pp. 148-151. [Available: Knowledge Center: PE 1413 .N69 2006]

"La literature de la inmigracion: un estudio comparativo de las obras de Cristina Garcia e Irene Vilar." Jornadas de la Asociacion Argentina de Estudios Americanos. (1993), p. 42-59.

"Mario Vargas-Llosa's 'The Spinster from Tacna' - a Pre-Production review (essay)." The Journal of Arts Inquiry. Vol. 1, no. 2 (Winter 1983), p. 12-19.

"The New Farm Issue Films." for MacNeil / Lehrer News Hour. National Affairs Dept. (Nov. 22, 1984, Feb. 18, 1985).

"Norte a sur, sur a norte: Influencias Literarias / North to South-South to North: Literary Influences." Point of Contact: The American Baroque. Vol. 3, No. 3 (April 1993), p. 46-61.

"North of the Port Stories [review]." Texas A&M University Press Consortium.

"On Terrorism: A Requiem." in Heyen, William, ed. September 11, 2001: American Writers Respond. Silver Springs, MD: Etruscan Press, 2002; p. 376-380.

"Picture Perfect - Buying Art in Santa Fe." Las Vegas Life. (September 2000), p. 68-69.

"The poet as witness (Martin Espada's 'Alabanza') [review]." New York Times Book Review. (May 11, 2003), p. 4. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Point of Contact: 30 Years [speech]." Syracuse, New York: Point of Contact Gallery. (December 1, 2006).

"President Reagan's Farm Bill Veto." for MacNeil / Lehrer News Hour. (March 21, 1985).

"Proyecto para la Memoria: Museo de la ESMA." Buenos Aires, Argentina: Asunto Impreso, 2006. (Publication for exhibits of ESMA Memorial Museum for "The Disappeared.")

"Ringside at the Flea Circus (review of Flags of Convenience)." New York Times. (March 29, 1992), p. BR30. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Second Chances." in Glotfelty, Cheryll, ed. Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. (Western Literature Series). Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008; pp. 410-423. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008; the Basque Library and Special Collections; also at Western Nevada College-Carson City]

"That Day In Gordon [review]." New York Times Book Review. (Sept. 23, 1986), p. BR. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"The Silence [review of The Story of the Night ]." New York Times. (June 22, 1997), p. BR10. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Three Cheers for the Family Farm (reviews of Gaining Ground and Farmers of Five Continents)." New York Times. (June 17, 1984), p. BR14. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Trying to break away." in McQuade, Molly, ed. An Unsentimental Education: Writers and Chicago. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995; pp. 217-233. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 285 .C47 U57 1995]

"The Unsettling of the Land (review of In the Center of the Nation)." New York Times. (Aug. 11, 1991), p. 256. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"The U.S.A. in Exile: Literary Translation." TranScribe. Vol. 1, no. 1 (November 2004), p. 30-35.

"V For Victor [review]." Los Angeles Times Book Review. (June 17, 1989). [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N36]

"Vegas: One Cop's Journey [review]."

"Where Oil, the Sacred River, Ran (review of Joy Baby." New York Times. (July 19, 1992), p. BR33. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Words Offered to Heal the Wounds of Loss." The Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY). (Jan. 19, 1989), p. A-8. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Writing Across Cultures." Point of Contact. Vol. 4, no. 2 (Fall 1995), p. 3-8.

"Writing and Rural Place in the One-Dimensional Culture." Meadowcreek Notes (Fox, Arkansas). No. 17 (Fall 1987), p. 14-21).

Short Stories

"The Chronicle of Higher Education." Red Rock Review. No. 10 (Summer 2001), p. 9-19. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 501 .R43 2001]

"Cuban Nights." The Idaho Review. Vol. III (Winter 2000-2001), p. 84-105.

"Leslie and Sam [radio broadcast]." Live From Prairie Lights Audio Archive, University of Iowa. (June 14, 2004).

"Leslie and Sam." Southwest Review. Vol. 86, No. 2-3 (Summer 2001), pp. 272-283. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS AS 30 S665 2001 and online via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Looking for War." Tri-Quarterly. No. 115 (Spring 2003), p. 25-58. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS PS 508 .C6 T7 and online via Literature Online for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Miguelito." in Vause, Mikel and Carl Porter, eds. The Peregrine Reader. Salt Lake City: Gibbs Smith Publisher, 1997.

"The Perfect Wife." The Colorado Review. Vol. 27, No. 1 (Spring 2000), p. 37-48.

"Second Chances." Southwest Review. Vol. 93, No. 1 (2008), p. 66-81. [Available: Knowledge Center: AS 30 .S665 2008; and via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Tide Pool." in Olson, Danel, ed. Exotic Gothic: Forbidden Tales from Our Gothic World. Ashcroft, British Columbia: Ash-Tree Press, 2007; p. 157-169.

"Tide Pool." The Ontario Review. Vol. 58 (Spring 2003), pp. 12-18.

"The Writer's Widow." The Ontario Review. No. 54 (Spring 2001), p. 132-144.

Plays and Screenwriting

"American Harvest." story consultant. Family Channel for New Horizons Entertainment, Inc., and Silver Screen Partners I (Home Box Office), 1987.

"Bankruptcy," a play in one act. New Playwrights' Theater, Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA. (March 1981)

"Chinese Flowers." original screenplay.

"The Disappeared." screenplay adaptation (1996)

"Endgame" teleplay adaptation assistant of play by Samuel Beckett, Humvideo Productions, Inc., Reynolds Club Theatre, University of Chicago, 1973.

"Espiritu del Florin," one-act ballet, original choreography and story, inspired by the poem, "Falsa Cancion de Baquine," by Luis Pales matos. Chicago, IL: The Chicago Dance Group, Mandel Hall, University of Chicago. (Spring 1973).

"In Search of the Pyramid," "Luxor Live" and "Alternative Futures," virtual reality experience for Luxor Resort and Casino, Circus, Circus, Inc., 1993 (now Mandalay Resort Group).

"Loveknow," a play in one act. New Playwrights' Theater, Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA. (March 1982).

"Percussion," a play in three acts. New Playwrights' Theater, Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA. (February 1983).

"Revelations: Diaries of Women." stage adaptation of 9 women's diary voices from Painter, Charlotte and Mary Jane Moffat, eds. anthology of the same title. NY: Random House, 1976. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS CT 3202 M618]

"Talk About Love." screenwriter, with Raymond Carver, for New Horizons Entertainment, Inc., 1983.

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

"About the Author." [Website]

Anonymous. "Author Raymond Carver Dies of Cancer." The Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY). No. 323 (Aug. 3, 1988), p. A1. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

Anonymous. "Books: Douglas Unger." Syracuse Herald American Stars Magazine. (May 19, 1985), p. 4. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

Anonymous. "Cal State L.A. Hosts Reading by Fiction Writer Douglas ." Department of English. Cal State LA. (November 2004).

Anonymous. "Douglas Unger (1952- )." Contemporary Authors Online. [Available via Literature Resource Center for UNR-affiliated users.]

Anonymous. "Four Writers with Nevada Ties to be Honored in Reno." Associated Press State & Local Wire. (Oct. 28, 2007). [Available via LexisNexis Academic Universe for UNR-affiliated users.]

Anonymous. "Prize in Modern Letters announcement due." Scoop. (March 1, 2004).

Anonymous. "South America Calls for Unger." The Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY). (March 23, 1989), p. D1. Anonymous. "Books: Douglas Unger." Syracuse Herald American Stars Magazine. (May 19, 1985), p. 4. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

Anonymous. "SU's Unger Heading to UNLV for a Year." The Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY). (May 1, 1991), p. D-1. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

Anonymous. "Unger Publishes Second Novel." The Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY). (October 16, 1986), p. B-7. [Available:Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

Bethea, Arthur F. Technique and Sensibility in the Fiction and Poetry of Raymond Carver. New York: Routledge, 2001; its "Notes."

Biernacinski, Marek. "World-famous poets speak at UNLV." The Rebel Yell. (11/18/2004). [Available via LexisNexis Academic Universe for UNR-affiliated users.]

"Books By Alumni." The University of Chicago Magazine. (October 1995).

Brown, Bruce. "Washington Authors -- A Literary Mappa Obscura."astonisher.com.

Brown, Bruce. "Writing in the Rain [letter]." The Washington Post - Book World. (May 6, 1984), p. 15. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N582 and online via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users.]

Bunkse, Edmunds V. "Saint-Exupery's Geography Lesson: Art and Science in the Creation and Cultivation of Landscape Values." Annals of the Association of American Geographers. Vol. 80, no. 1 (March 1990), p. 96-108. [Available: UNR DeLaMare Library: G 3 .A7 v. 80 1990 and via STORY for UNR-affiliated users.]

Carmichael, Lachlan. "Novelist helps students write about rural life." Herald-American. (March 22, 1987), pp. C1-2. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

Carver, Maryann Burk. What It Used To Be Like: A Portrait of My Marriage to Raymond Carver. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2006.

Chazarreta de Rourke, Rosa Amelia del Valle. Contemporary Argentina in the Fiction of North American Writers. Thesis (PhD). Texas Tech University, 1992.

Coyne, John. "Peace Corps Writers Find Homes at MFA Programs." (August 22, 2007).

Dial, Tom. "Books: SU's Literary Stars." Syracuse Herald American Stars Magazine. (May 19, 1985), p. 3. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

Dickinson, Charles. "Douglas Unger." Contemporary Literary Criticism. Vol. 49 (1988), pp. 99-104. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 771 C59 Vol. 49]

"Douglas A. Unger." Directory of American Scholars. 10th ed. Vol. 2: English, Speech, & Drama. Detroit: Gale Group, 2002. [Available: Knowledge Center Reference Collection: LA 2311 .D576 10th Vol. 2]

"Douglas Unger." Authors' Signature Guide.

"Douglas Unger." Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

"Douglas Unger." in Halpert, Sam. Raymond Carver: an Oral Biography. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1995; pp. 88-96. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3553 .A7894 Z69 1995 and at Western Nevada College-Fallon]

"Douglas Unger." in Morris, Gregory L. Talking Up a Storm: Voices of the New West. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1994; pp. 227-239. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 271 .M67 1994 and Great Basin College, Elko]

"Douglas Unger." in The Writers Directory. 10th-12th eds. Chicago: St. James Press, 1991, 1994, 1996. [Available: Knowledge Center Reference Collection: PN 451 .W7 10th-12th]

Dyer, Joyce. "Rural America in Film and Literature." The English Journal. Vol. 76, no. 1 (January 1987) p. 54-57. [Available: Knowledge Center: PE 1 .E5 1987 and via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users.]

El Yanqui - Reviews:

  • Anonymous. "El Yanqui." Best Sellers. Vol. 46 (December 1986), p. 334.
  • Anonymous. "El Yanqui." Booklist. Vol. 83 (Nov. 15, 1986), p. 473.
  • Anonymous. "El Yanqui." Kirkus Reviews. Vol. 54 (August 1, 1986), p. 1156.
  • Anonymous. "El Yanqui." Prairie Schooner. Vol. 62 (Spring 1988), p. 121. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 .P852 Vol. 62]
  • Anonymous. "El Yanqui." Tribune Books (Chicago). (Dec. 14, 1986), p. 6.
  • Anonymous. "El Yanqui." USA Today (Magazine). Vol. 5 (Oct. 31, 1986), p. D4.
  • Anonymous. "El Yanqui." West Coast Review of Books. Vol. 12, no. 4 (Annual 1986), p. 33. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1035 .A1 W43 1986]
  • Cox, Robert. "Awake in a Nightmare." New York Times Book Review. (Nov. 23, 1986), p. BR26. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Davis, Ben. "'El Yanqui' Struggles In Repressive Society." The Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY). (Oct. 28, 1986), p. D1. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Hostetter, Charles J. "Unger's 'El Yanqui' misses the boat." Chronicle Telegram (Elyria, Ohio). (Dec. 14, 1986), p. C5. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Lavoie, Thomas. "El Yanqui (Book)." Library Journal. Vol. 111, no. 18 (11/1/1986), p. 112. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS Z 671 .L7 1986 and via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Seibold, Douglas. "El Yanqui." Chicago. Vol. 35 (Nov. 1986), p. 142+.
  • Steinberg, Sybil. "El Yanqui." Publishers Weekly. Vol. 230 (Aug. 22, 1986), p. 82. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1219 .P98 1986]
  • Yardley, Jonathan. "Politics and the Privileged; 'El Yanqui': Polemics Overshadow People." The Washington Post - Book World. (Oct. 15, 1986), p. D2. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N582 and online via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users.]

Elliott, Emory, ed. The Columbia History of the American Novel. New York: Columbia University Press, 1991. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 371 .C7 1991 and online for NSHE-affiliated users; and at Western Nevada College-Fallon]

Fender, Amie P. "Argentine, Nevada relations beneficial." The Rebel Yell. (2/9/2006).

Forward Lockerbie: A celebration of links between Syracuse University London Program & Lockerbie, Scotland. (April 8, 2006).

Foster, David William. "Imagining Argentine Socio-Political History in Some Recent American Novels." Yearbook of Comparative and General Literature. No. 39 (1990-1991), p. 75-86. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS PN 851 .Y4 no. 39 1990-91.]

Frazier, Charles Robinson, The Geography of Possibility: Man in the Landscape in Recent Western Fiction (Thomas McGuane, James Crumley, Barry Lopez). Thesis (Ph.D..) University of South Carolina, 1986.

Fynaardt, Keith Edward. Writing the farm: The agricultural imagination in an age of farm crisis. Thesis (Ph.D..) Northern Illinois University, 2000.

Galassi, Gian. "National Ranking." UNLV Magazine. (Fall 2007).

Haggart, Robert R. "Being a Real Expert Is Nice, but There's No Money in It." The Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY). (198?), p. ? [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

Hess, Shervin. "Freedom to write symposium." The Rebel Yell. (4/5/2001).

Hess, Shervin. "Master writers visit campus." The Rebel Yell. (4/9/2001).

Hirsch, Melanie. "Tomes terrific: Village of readers celebrates love of books." The Post-Standard/Neighbors (Syracuse, NY). (August 20, 1987), p. 4-North. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]

Hoover, Bob. "Exiled Salvadoran Novelist Settles in Pittsburgh." Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. (Feb. 11, 2007), p. E-1. [Available via the LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users.]

Howard, K. C. "'Dirty War' Justice." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (June 19, 2005), p. 1B. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N8 2005; and via LexisNexis Academic Universe for UNR-affiliated users.]

Johnson, Curt, ed. "Douglas Arthur Unger." in Who's Who in U.S. Writers, Editors & Poets. 2nd ed. Highland Park, IL: December Press, 1988.

Johnson, Curt, ed. "Douglas Arthur Unger." in Who's Who in Writers, Editors & Poets. United States & Canada. 3rd-5th eds. Highland Park, IL: December Press, 1989, 1992, 1995. [5th ed. available: Knowledge Center: PS 129 .W47 5th 1995/96]

Johnson, Dennis Loy. "The Real Wonder Boy." MOBYlives. (July 1, 2001).

Kay, Ernest, ed. "Douglas Arthur Unger." in The International Authors and Writers Who's Who. 11th-13th eds. Cambridge, England: International Biographical Centre, 1989, 1991, 1993.

Keene, Jarret. "An Interview with Douglas Unger." turnrow: the bi-annual journal of the University of Louisiana at Monroe. Vol. 3, No. 2 (Summer 2004).

Kenison, Katrina, comp. "100 Other Distinguished Stories of 2001," in The Best American Short Stories 2002. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2002.

Lainsbury, G. P. The Carver Chronotope: Inside the Life-world of Raymond Carver's Fiction. Taylor & Francis, 2003.

Lavender, Catherine. Introduction to Western Studies and Research Resources: A Reading List to Get You Started. WestWeb.

Leaving the Land - Reviews:

  • Adams, Phoebe-Lou. "Leaving the Land." Atlantic. Vol. 253, No. 3 (March 1984), p. 133. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 .A8 1984, and via MasterFILE Premier for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Allen, Bruce. "The Changing American Novel." The Missouri Review. Vol. 8, No. 1 (Fall 1984).
  • Anonymous. "And Bear in Mind (Editors' choices of other recent books of particular interest)." New York Times Book Review. (Feb. 19, 1984), p. BR28.
  • Anonymous. "Book World: Leaving the Land." The Washington Post. Vol. 108 (April 7, 1985), p. BW12. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N582 and online via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Anonymous. "Douglas Unger." Contemporary Literary Criticism. Vol. 34 (1985), pp. 114-117. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 771 C59 Vol. 34 1985; and via Literature Criticism Online for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Anonymous. "Leaving the Land." The Antioch Review. Vol. 43 (Winter 1985) p. 125. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .A562 1985]
  • Anonymous. "Leaving the Land." Best Sellers. (April 1984), p. 10.
  • Anonymous. "Leaving the Land." Kirkus Reviews. (Nov. 1, 1983), p. 1144.
  • Anonymous. "Leaving the Land." Library Journal. Vol. 110 (January 1985), p. 53. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS Z 671 .L7 1983 and via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Anonymous. "Leaving the Land." The New Yorker. Vol. 60 (April 2, 1984), p. 133. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 N6763 1984]
  • Anonymous. "Leaving the Land." Publishers Weekly. Vol. 224 (Dec. 9, 1983), p. 42. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1219 .P98 Vol. 224 1983]
  • Anonymous. "Leaving the Land." Publishers Weekly. Vol. 242, no. 29 (July 17, 1995), p. 227. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1219 .P98 Vol. 242 1995]
  • Anonymous. "Leaving the Land." TLS: Times Literary Supplement (London). (Dec. 21, 1984), p. 1484. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm S29]
  • Anonymous. "Leaving the Land." Western American Literature. Vol. 21 (Spring 1986), p. 57. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS PS 271 .W46 1986]
  • Anonymous. "New & Noteworthy." New York Times. (April 14, 1985), p. BR42. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Appelbaum, Judith. "Paperback Talk: First Timers." New York Times. (Dec. 11, 1983), p. BR43.[Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • AwardAnnals
  • Blue, Adrianne. "Leaving the Land." New Statesman (London). Vol. 108 (Nov. 30, 1984), p. 34. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS AP 4 .N64 1984 Vol. 108]
  • Clemons, Walter. "Pulling Up Stakes; Leaving the Land." Newsweek. Vol. 104 (Dec. 17, 1984), p. 95.[Available: Knowledge Center Microfiche: S32 and via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users; also: Great Basin College (Elko) Microfilm]
  • Cornish, Sam. "Summer Reading."The Christian Science Monitor. Vol. 76 (June 20, 1984), p. 21. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N553 and via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Eder, Richard. "Leaving the Land." Los Angeles Times. Vol. 103 (Feb. 15, 1984) p. 6. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N36.]
  • Erdrich, Louise. "Where I Ought to Be: A Writer's Sense of Place." New York Times. (July 28, 1985), p. BR1. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Gray, Paul. "Leaving the Land." Time. Vol. 123 (Feb. 20, 1984), p. 78. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfiche S0038, via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users, and at Great Basin College, Elko: Microfilm.]
  • Grumbach, Doris. "The Year in Fiction." Contemporary Literary Criticism. Vol. 34 (1985), p. 3. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 771 C59 Vol. 34 1985.]
  • Hulbert, Ann. "Rural Chic." New Republic. Vol. 193, no. 10 (Sep. 2, 1985), p. 25-30. [Available: Knowledge Center: Microfiche Collection S 31 1985.]
  • Kaufmann, James. "Monthly Book Review: Between Soft Covers: Leaving the Land." The Christian Science Monitor. Vol. 77 (May 3, 1985), p. B3. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N553 and via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • McQuade, Molly. "Leaving the Land." Chicago. Vol. 33 (Oct. 1984), p. 130.
  • Mitgang, Herbert. "Written From Life." New York Times. (Feb. 5, 1984), p. BR8. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Moynahan, Julian. "When Farmers Are Plowed Under." New York Times. (Feb. 5, 1984), p. BR7. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • "Notable Books of the Year." New York Times. (Dec. 2, 1984), p. BR22. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • "Notable Paperbacks." New York Times. (Dec. 8, 1985), p. BR83. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Pendleton, Dennis. "Leaving the Land." Library Journal. Vol. 108, no. 21 (Dec. 1, 1983), p. 2263. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 671 .L7 Vol. 108 July-Dec. 1983, and online via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Sheppard, R. Z. "Doakies." Time. (Feb. 20, 1984). [Available: Knowledge Center Microfiche: S38 and Great Basin College, Elko Microfilm.]
  • Towers, Robert. "Leaving the Land." New York Times. (May 31, 1984), p. 35+. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Tyler, Anne. "Dreaminess and True Grit in South Dakota; Leaving the Land." The Washington Post. (March 25, 1984), p. 3. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N582 and online via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users.]

Longobardy, Joshua. "Exiled Chinese writers advocate free expression." The Rebel Yell. (2/23/2004).

"Looking Ahead Quotes." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (January 4, 2004).

Looking for War and Other Stories - Reviews:

  • Anonymous. "Looking for War and Other Stories." Kirkus Reviews. Vol. 72, no. 5 (3/1/2004), p. 201. [Available via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Anonymous. "Looking for War and Other Stories." Publishers Weekly. Vol. 251, No. 19 (5/10/2004), p. 37.
  • Eastburn, Kathryn. "Looking for truth; Author Douglas Unger on illusion, war and disillusion." Colorado Springs Independent. Vol. 12, no. 21 (May 20-26, 2004), p. 32.
  • Sklenicka, Carol. "Tough Questions, Harder Answers." Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (Wisconsin). (June 27, 2004), p. 6E.
  • St. John, Janet. "Looking for War and Other Stories." Booklist. Vol. 100, no. 15 (4/1/2004), p. 1350.
  • Steinberg, David. "And the readin' is easy." Albuquerque Journal (New Mexico). (May 30, 2004), p. F6.

McDowell, Edwin. "Writers Read Up On Being Published." New York Times. (Jan. 10, 1987), p. 14. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5.]

Morris, Gregory L. "Talking Up a Storm: Voices of the New West." The Antioch Review. Vol. 53, No. 3 (Summer 1995), p. 373+. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 271 M67 1994]

Ness, James Cory. Ten Percent to Light a Desert Sky. [MFA. thesis] Las Vegas, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2004. [Available via the Dissertations Abstracts database for UNR-affiliated users.]

Niedt, Bob. "Emmy picks include worthy nominees." Syracuse Herald-Journal. (Aug. 3, 1990), p. D4.

Niedt, Bob. "SU professor taking on Hollywood: Lawsuit threatened." Syracuse Herald-Journal. Vol. 114, No. 34,057 (July 2, 1990), p. A1.

Padget, Martin. "Claiming, Corrupting, Contesting: Reconsidering 'The West' in Western American Literature." American Literary History. Vol. 10, No. 2 (1998), p. 378-392. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 1 A58 1998 and via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users.]

Peterson, Kristen. "Vegas Valley Book Festival: Finding Our Own Voice." Las Vegas Sun. (November 4, 2009).

Piccoli, Sean and Geracimos, Ann. "Tom Wolfe stalks the Billion-Footed Beast; The fur flies in the literary world as high priest of New Journalism urges a return to realism in modern fiction." The Washington Times. (Nov. 9, 1989), p. E1.

Preston, Dorine. "New! Review of Colorado Review." Verse Magazine. (December 3, 2004).

Przybys, John. "Portable World: Beyond the Beat: Everything from old radio shows to college lectures turns up on digital players." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (Jan. 22, 2008). [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N8 2008]

Quantic, Diane Dufva. The Nature of the Place: A Study of Great Plains Fiction. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1995. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 274 .Q36 1995]

Quantic, Diane. "Reimagining the West: A Consideration of the Discipline [speech]." We1 Literature Association. Salt Lake City, Utah. (October 1994).

Stivers, Mauria. "In Brief." The Rebel Yell. (6/6/2005).

Thiesenhusen, William C. "Land Reform, American Style [review]." American Journal of Agricultural Economics. Vol. 67, No. 1 (Feb. 1985), pp. 164-166. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS Vol. 67 1985 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users.]

Thompson, Clifford, ed. "Douglas Unger." in World Authors. 1990-1995. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center Reference Collection: PN 771 W675 1999]

The Turkey War - Reviews:

  • Anonymous. "The Turkey War." Kirkus Reviews. Vol. 56 (August 15, 1988), p. 1190.
  • Anonymous. "The Turkey War." Los Angeles Times. (Nov. 27, 1988), p. 6. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N36]
  • Anonymous. "The Turkey War." Tribune Books (Chicago). (Nov. 13, 1988), p. 5.
  • Davis, Alan. "All Part of the War Effort." New York Times Book Review. (Nov. 20, 1988), p. BR49. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Johnson, George. "New & Noteworthy." New York Times. (Jan. 13, 1991), p. 265. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via LexisNexis Academic and ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • McKeever, James. "War Within a War: Unger Slays Several giants In Third Work of Fiction." The Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY). (Nov. 24, 1988), p. D1. [Available: Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • O'Rourke, William. Signs of the Literary Times: Essays, Reviews, Profiles 1970-1992. New York: State University of New York Press, 1993.
  • Steinberg, Sybil. "The Turkey War." Publishers Weekly. Vol. 234, no. 8 (August 19, 1988), p. 58. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1219 .P98 Vol. 234 1988]
  • Walton, David. "Predictable perspectives: Two novels look at the World War II era with too-easy hindsight." St. Petersburg Times (Florida). (Dec. 18, 1988), p. D6. [Available via the LexisNexis Academic database for UNR-affiliated users.]

Unger, Douglas A. English Department at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Unger, Douglas A. Home Page {Website].

Van Tassel, Kristin Lynn P. The Yeoman in Nineteenth- and Twentieth-century American Literature: Resisting, reviving, and revising the agrarian myth. (Ph.D. thesis). University of Kansas, 2003.

Velasquez, Marites. "Pulitzer Prize-nominated UNLV professor to do reading from latest work." The Rebel Yell. (4/26/2004).

Voices From Silence - Reviews:

  • Anonymous. "Voices from Silence." Book World. Vol. 25 (Dec. 10, 1995), p. 6.
  • Anonymous. "Voices from Silence." Kirkus Reviews. Vol. 63 (June 1, 1995), p. 737.
  • Cloud, Barbara. "Books." UNLV Magazine. Vol. II, No. 1 (Spring 2003).
  • Mallon, Thomas. "Strangled by History." New York Times. (Sep. 17, 1995), p. BR34. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via LexisNexis Academic and ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Musleah, Rahel. "Straddling the Line Between Fiction and Documentary in a Novel." New York Times. (January 28, 1996), Section 13LI, p. 8. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N5 and online via LexisNexis Academic and ProQuest Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Nino, Raul. "Adult books: Fiction." Booklist. Vol. 91, no. 22 (August 1995), p. 1931.
  • Ross, Patricia. "Book reviews: Fiction." Library Journal. Vol. 120, no. 13 (8/1/1995), p. 121. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 671 .L7 v. 120 1995 and via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users.]
  • Steinberg, Sybil S. "Forecasts: Fiction." Publishers Weekly. Vol. 242, no. 23 (6/5/1995), p. 50. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1219 .P98 Vol. 242 1995]

Williams, Samantha. "In Brief." The Rebel Yell. (3/10/2008).

Wylie, J. J. "An Interview with George Saunders." The Missouri Review. Vol. 24, No. 2 (Summer 2001).

Wylie, J. J. "Reinventing Realism: An Interview with Russell Banks." Michigan Quarterly Review. Vol. 39, no. 4 (Fall 2000), p. 736+. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS AS 30 M48 Vol. 39 2000 and via Literature Online for UNR-affiliated users.]

 

Please direct questions about this bibliography to  http://glass@unr.eduBetty Glass.