Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Darrell Spencer

Darrell Spencer

Darrell Spencer (1947-       )
Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 2010

Darrell Spencer was born in St. George, Utah, and grew up in Las Vegas, where he attended Las Vegas High School and UNLV. He earned his doctorate from the University of Utah in 1986 with A Woman Packing a Pistol, a collection of original short stories, and taught writing at Brigham Young University and Southern Utah University. While at Southern Utah University, he was the editor for the Black Ridge Review. He is currently a member of the English Department at Ohio University, where he is the Stocker Professor in Creative Writing. In 1991, his short story "Union Business" won the Lawrence Foundation Award for Fiction. Also in 1991, his short story "Song and Dance" was cited for recognition in The Pushcart Prize, Best American Short Stories, and Best of the West. In 1996, he won the Publication Award and the First Place Award in the Utah Arts Council's Original Writing Competition. He won the 1998-1999 Quarterly West Novella Competition, the 1998 Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction, and the 2004 Drue Heinz Literature Prize for Bring Your Legs With You. The Association for Mormon Letters recognized him with its short story award in 1993 for his Our Secret's Out collection and with its short fiction award in 2001 for Caution: Men in Trees. He received Individual Artist Fellowship grants from the Ohio Arts Council in 1999, 2005 and 2009. He was the Stocker Professor in Creative Writing at Ohio University from 2003-2008. He is currently working on two novels, a short story collection,and a memoir.

Bibliography for Darrell Spencer

Novels

Bring Your Legs with You. Pittsburgh, PA: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2004. [Available: Special Collections PS 3569 .P446 B75 2004]

One Mile Past Dangerous Curve. Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan Press, 2005. [Available: PS 3569 .P446 O54 2005]

Nonfiction

"Going Places - Las Vegas Comes By Its Sleaziness Honestly." Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (PA). (May 23, 2004). Review of Marc Cooper's The Last Honest Place in America. [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

John Berryman's The Dream Songs: the American bard a-being (M.A. thesis). Brigham Young University, Dept. of English, 1977.

"Let's Say We Disagreed about Baseball," in Andersen, Donald, ed. Andre Dubus: Tributes. New Orleans, LA: Xavier Review, 2001; pp. 102-105.

Short Stories

"The American Heart," High Plains Literary Review. Vol. 7, no. 2 (Fall 1993)

"The Annual Audubon Christmas Bird Count," Nimrod. Vol. 28, no. 1 (1984)

"Blood Work," The Antioch Review. Vol. 55, no. 3 (Summer 1997), pp. 353-372.[Available: MARS AP 2 .A562 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

_________. in Hallstrom, Angela and Orson Scott Card, eds. Dispensation: latter-day fiction. Provo, UT: Zarahemia Books, 2010.

"Caution: Men in Trees," Gettysburg Review. Vol. 8, no. 1 (Winter 1995)

Caution: Men in Trees. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2000. [Available: PS 3569 .P446 C38 2000]

___________________. New York, NY: W. W. Norton, 2002.

"Doing the Bats," Epoch. Vol. 35, no. 2 (1986)

"Don't Ask After the Animals," Hunger Mountain. Vol. 10 (Spring 2007)

"Earl Brim and His Acts of Prestidigitation," Swallow's Tale. No. 2 (1983)

"Endeavoring to Understand the Essential Nature of Things," Ascent. Vol. 11, no. 1 (1985)

"Five Times for Disorderly Conduct," High Plains Literary Review. Vol. XV, no. 2 (August 2000)

"from The Devil, You Say (novel excerpt)," Mid-American Review. Vol. XXXIII, no. 2 (2003)

"from Three Jacks (novel excerpt), Chapter One," Dialogue. Vol. 36, no. 2 (Summer 2003).

"The Glue that Binds Us," Cimarron Review. No. 94 (1991).

"Halloween," Epoch. Vol. 37, no. 3 (1988)

"I Am Buzz Gaulter, Left-Hander" in England, Eugene, ed. Bright Angels & Familiars: Contemporary Mormon Stories. Salt Lake City: Signature Books, 1992.

_______________. Indiana Review. Vol. 8, no. 3 (1985)

"How Would You Play This?" Quarter After Eight. Vol. 10 (2003)

"i.e. God," Ascent Vol. 25, no. 2 (Winer 2001)

"It's a Lot Scarier if You Take Jesus Out," Shenandoah. Vol. 55, no. 3 (Summer 1997)

"Lake Stink," Epoch. Vol. 42, no. 1 (1993 Series)

"Late Night TV," High Plains Literary Review. Vol. 11, no. 1 (Spring 1996)

"Let Me Tell You What Ward DiPino Tells Me at Work," Epoch. Vol. 40, no. 1 (1991)

"Loose in the Mail," Gettysburg Review. Vo. 4, no. 2 (Spring 1991)

______________ (excerpt). Mississippi Review. Vol. 18, no. 2/3 (1990), p. 131. [Available online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users.]

"My Home State of Nevada," in Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Edited by Cheryll Glotfelty. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008; pp. 671-673. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008]

"My Home State of Nevada," Quarterly West. No. 37 (Summer-Fall 1993) [1992 Utah Arts Festival short story competition, 2nd place winner ; notice available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

"Neon Nite," Salt Lake City Magazine. (Jan.-Feb. 1994)

"Nothing Sad Once You Look at It," High Plains Literary Review. Vol. 6, no. 4 (Winter 1991)

Our Secret's Out. Columbia, MO: University of Missouri Press, 1993. [Available: Special Collections PS 3569 .P446 O9 1993]

"The Planet of Surprise," Black Warrior Review. Vol. 12, no. 1 (1985)

"Please to Forgive Sloppiness," High Plains Literary Review. Vol. 12, no. 1 (Spring 1997)

"Pots of Impatiens," The Quarterly. No. 1 (1987)

"Pronto Bucks," Indiana Review. Vol. 21, no. 2 (Fall/Winter 1999)

"Rooster Loves," Permafrost. Vol. 8, no. 2 (1986)

"Scatter Ridge Road," Crazyhorse. No. 62 (Fall 2002)

"So You Got Next to the Hammer," Quarterly West. No. 49 (Autumn-Winter 1999-2000).

"Song and Dance," High Plains Literary Review. Vol. 5,no. 2 (1990)

"Suppose Some Fool Put His Hand Through the Floor of Heaven," Epoch. Vol. 48, no. 2 (1999 Series)

"The Sweet Science," Epoch. Vol. 50, no. 2 (2001)

"There's Too Much News," Web Del Sol (1997)

They Had Their Man for Breakfast (in progress)

"The 12-Inch Dog," Epoch. Vol. 44, no. 2 (1995 Series)

"Union Business," Prairie Schooner. Vol. 65, no. 1 (Spring 1991) [Available: MARS AP 2 .P852]

"Until Liquor is Made Legal," High Plains Literary Review. Vol. XVII, nos. 1-3 (Triple Issue 2002)

A Woman Packing a Pistol. Seattle, WA: Dragon Gate Press, 1987.

"World Deathcare Expo '99: Reno, Nevada," American Literary Review. Vol. 14, no. 1 (Spring 2003)

"You Can Count on Your One Hand the Reasons," Dialogue. Vol. 39, no. 1 (Spring 2006)

Biographical Sources and Critical Response

Bigelow, Christopher K. Conversations with Mormon Authors. New York: Mormon Arts and Letters, 2006.

"Book Notes." Omaha World-Herald. (March 29, 1992)

Bring Your Legs With You - Reviews:

  • The Orlando Sentinel (11-21-2004) [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Pittsburgh Magazine. (February 2005), Vol. 36, no. 2; p. 20.
  • Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (12-12-2004) [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (8-9-2004), p. 138. [Available: MARS Z 1219 .P98 and online via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users]

Caution: Men in Trees - Reviews:

  • Book. (March 2000), p. 79.
  • Booklist. (3-1-2000), p. 1197. [Available online via Book Review Index Online Plus for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Dialogue: A Journal of Mormon Thought. (Winter 1999), Vol. 32, no. 4, p. 189-192. (review by Phyllis Barber)
  • Kirkus Reviews. (Feb. 1, 2000), vol. 68, p. 142.
  • New York Times Book Review . (9-10-2000), p. 26. [Available: Academic Search Premier for UNR-affliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly. (2-14-2000), p. 176. [Available: MARS Z 1219 .P98 and online via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affliated users]
  • Review of Contemporary Fiction (Fall 2000), p. 146-147. [Available: MARS PN 3503 .R45 and online via Academic Search Premier and Literature Online,  for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Richmond Times-Dispatch (10-1-2000). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]
  • The Salt Lake Tribune (5-19-2002) [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Sunstone. (October 2002), no. 124, pp. 66-67.

Hoover, Bob. "Long Short Story: Meet Drue Heinz's Unlikely Winner." Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (PA). March 7, 2004. [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Hoover, Bob and Eva Kokopeli. "April Showers Local Literary Fans with a Raft of Interesting Events." Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (PA). April 7, 2006. [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Johnston, Jerry. "The 'New Frontier' between Prose and Poetry." The Deseret News (May 3, 1992). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

One Mile Past Dangerous Curve - Reviews:

  • Antioch Review. Vol. 64, no. 2 (Spring 2006), p. 380-381. [Available: MARS AP 2 .A562 2006 and online via JSTOR, and Literature Online for UNR-affiliated users]

Our Secret's Out - Reviews:

  • Booklist (11-15-1993), p. 603.
  • New York Times Book Review (4-17-1994). [Available online via Academic Search Premier and the Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly. (9-6-1993), p. 83. [Available: MARS Z 1219 .P98]
  • Review of Contemporary Fiction. (Spring 1994), p. 232. [Available: MARS PN 3503 .R45 and online via Academic Search PremierLiterature Online , and the Literature Resource Center for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Studies in Short Fiction (Winter 1996), p. 132-134. [Available: MARS PN 3311 .S8 and online via Academic Search Premier and the Literature Resource Center for UNR-affiliated users]

"Pres. Hinckley wins award for book." The Deseret News. (3-18-2001). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Thayer, Douglas H. "An Interview with Darrell Spencer." Dialogue: A Journal of Mormon Thought. Vol. 39, no. 1 (Spring 2006), pp. 113-129.

A Woman Packing a Pistol - Reviews:

  • Library Journal (6-15-1987), p. 88. [Available: MARS Z 671 .L7 and online via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass.