Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: The Sagebrush School

The Sagebrush School

The Sagebrush School
Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 2009

The term "Sagebrush School" refers to a group of writers in the Virginia City area during the time period 1859-1914. Although they were primarily journalists, they frequently branched out into other creative forms and sometimes gained fame in their later literary careers. The most famous was Mark Twain, who developed his trademark style on the Comstock under the tutelage of accomplished and versatile Nevada writers.

Sagebrush writing reflects and often embellishes the Nevada experience of cosmopolitan mining booms, frontier justice, and harsh and dramatic landscapes. It is a principled literary movement that often reveals the writers' comradery. Sagebrush journalism upheld a code of honor in crusading against corruption and injustice. According to the scholar Dr. Lawrence Berkove, characteristics of the Sagebrush School are "fascination with hoaxes, delight in wit, audacity, and an irreverent attitude towards inflated authority and outworn tradition."

Sagebrush writers Mark TwainDan De Quillle and Alfred Doten have been previously inducted into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame. 2009 celebrates the 150th anniversary of the Comstock Lode and a revival of interest in the Sagebrush School of writers. In recognition of the significant contributions of the authors Samuel Post Davis, Joseph Thompson Goodman, Rollin Mallory Daggett, Charles Carroll Goodwin, James W. Gally, Fred H. Hart, Arthur McEwen, Henry Rust Mighels, Denis E. McCarthy, James Townsend, Thomas Fitch, and the many other writers whose work has yet to be excavated from the archives, the Sagebrush School has been selected to be inducted into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame. They were an extraordinary cast of characters who created a distinctive early voice in our national literature -- with lasting (if hitherto unacknowledged) influence.

Anthologies and Works about Multiple Authors

Basso, Dave. Sagebrush Chronicles. [Reno]: 1971. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PN 4897 .N33 B3 Vols. 1-3, 5; GBC, Elko Vols. 1, 3, 5]

Berkove, Lawrence I., ed. Insider Stories of the Comstock Lode and Nevada's Mining Frontier, 1859-1909: Primary Sources in American Social History. Lewiston, NY: Edwin Mellen Press, 2007. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections and DeLaMare Library: TN 413 .N25 I67 2007]

_______.The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature from the Silver Age of the Old West. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 561 .S24 2006; WNC-Carson City]

_______. "The Sagebrush School Revived," Chapter 19, pp. 324-343 in A Companion to the Regional Literatures of America. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2003. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 169 .R45 C66 2003]

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

Emrich, Duncan. Comstock Bonanza: Western Americana of J. Ross Browne, Mark Twain, Sam Davis, Bret Harte, James W. Gally, Dan de Quille, Joseph T. Goodman, Fred Hart. New York: Vanguard, 1950. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 842 .E5 1950]

Glotfelty, Cheryll, ed. Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008. [Available: Knowledge Center, the Basque Library, and Special Collections: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008; also GBC-Elko and WNC-Carson City]

Highton, Jake. Nevada Newspaper Days: A History of Journalism in the Silver State. Stockton, CA: Heritage West Books, 1990. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PN 4899 .N3 H5 1990; GBC-Elko; WNC-Carson City and Fallon]

_______. Manuscript for Nevada Newspaper Days: A History of Journalism in the Silver State. [Available: Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0251]

James, Ronald M., and Susan A. James. A Short History of Virginia City. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2014. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 849 .V8 J355 2014]

Mighels, Ella Sterling. The Story of the Files: A Review of Californian Writers and Literature. San Francisco: Co-operative Printing Co., 1893. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 283 .C2 M5 1893]

Individual Authors of the Sagebrush School

Rollin Mallory Daggett (1831-1901)

Author's Works

Braxton's Bar: A Tale of Pioneer Years in California. New York: G. W. Carleton, 1882. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 535 .D34 1882]

Golden Era (San Francisco).

"Introduction" by editor R. M. Daggett for Kalakaua, David. The Legends and Myths of Hawaii: The fables and folk-lore of a strange people. New York: C. L. Webster, 1888. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: GR 385 .H3 K3]

"My French Friend." Overland Monthly. (January 1895), pp. 62-68. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm S54]

Nevada Poetry, ca. 1922-1939. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: 91-17 to 27]

"The Oak and the Vine (poem)." Argonaut. (Oct. 20, 1877), p. 2.

Daggett and J. T. Goodman. The Psychoscope: A Sensational Drama in Five Acts; with an introduction and notes by Lawrence I. Berkove. Charleston, SC: The Citadel, Mark Twain Journal, 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 1499 .D55 P8 2006]

"Railroad wrongs in Nevada." Speech of Hon. Rollin M. Daggett of Nevada in the House of Representatives, February 25, 1881. Washington. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: HE 2771 .N48 D34 1881]

"The Watch on the Heights: A Decoration poem," delivered at Arlington Heights; May 30, 1879, by Representative R. M. Daggett of Nevada.

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Berkove, Lawrence I. "Daggett, Rollin Mallory." American National Biography. Vol. VI: 3-4. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: CT 213 .A68 1999 and online for UNR-affiliates, only]

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

Dwyer, Richard A. and Richard E. Lingenfelter. Lying on the Eastern Slope: James Townsend's Comic Journalism on the Mining Frontier. Miami: Florida International University Press, 1984. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 3089 .T48 Z63 1983, and also GBC-Elko]

Earl, Phillip I. "This Was Nevada." Las Vegas Review Journal. (Sep. 7, 1997).

Fenimore, David and Lawrence Berkove. "Nineteenth-Century Nevada Drama." Online Nevada Encyclopedia.

Goodwin, C. C. Papers, 1859-1922. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: 85-06].

James, Ronald M. "Rollin Mallory Daggett." Online Nevada Encyclopedia.

Nelson, Jack A. "Rollin M. Daggett," in American Magazine Journalists, 1850-1900 of the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Vol. 79. Detroit: Gale Research, 1989. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 129 .D52 v. 79 and online via the Literature Resource Center database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Shepperson, Wilbur S. Mirage-land: images of Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1992. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 841 .S54 1992, and online for UNR-affiliates, only; also at WNC-Carson City and Fallon, and GBC-Elko]

Weisenburger, Francis Phelps. Idol of the West: the fabulous career of Rollin Mallory Daggett. Syracuse: Syracuse University Press, 1965. [Available: Knowledge Center: E 664 ..D14 W4]

Samuel Post Davis (1850-1918)

Author's Works

"Action (unpublished poem)," in Mighels Family Papers. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: NC 468-470]

"Battle-Born (poem)," in Taylor, Maude Sawin. From My Nevada Notebook. Sparks, NV: Western Printing and Pub. Co., 1965. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 841.5 .T3]

"A Christmas Carol," Nevada Style: Story About a Mysterious Piano Player," in Cafferata, Patricia D., ed. Christmas in Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2014; pp. 4-10. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: GT 4986 .N37 C34 2014]

"The Days of '49 (poem)," in Taylor, Maude Sawin. From My Nevada Notebook. Sparks, NV: Western Printing and Pub. Co., 1965; p. [36]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 841.5 .T3]

"Dramatic Recollections." Nevada Monthly. Vol. 1, no. 3 (May, 1880), pp. 226-230. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N0793 and Special Collections: TN 121 .N48]

The First Piano in Camp. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1919. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 1524 .D125 F57 1919]

The History of Nevada. Las Vegas, Nevada: Nevada Publications, [1984]. Reprint ed.[Available: Knowledge Center and DeLaMare Library: F 841 .H5 1913; Knowledge Center Special Collections and WNC-Carson City: F 841 .H5 1984]

"The Loco Weed." Nevada Magazine. Vol. 1, no. 3 (October 1899), pp. 166-170. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: S0420 and Special Collections: F 836 .N477]

"The Lure of the Sagebrush (poem)." (Broadside, 16 x 10 cm) at Newberry Library, Brown University.

"The Lure of the Sagebrush (poem)," in Taylor, Maude Sawin. From My Nevada Notebook. Sparks, NV: Western Printing and Pub. Co., 1965; p. [128].

A Miner's Christmas Carol: And Other Frontier Tales. Santa Cruz: Western Tanager Press, 1987. Stories reprinted from the 1886 edition of Davis' Short Stories. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 1524 .D125 M56 1987]

"My Friend the Editor." San Francisco Examiner (July 21, 1889).

The Mystery of the Savage Sump. Nevada (?): s.n. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 1524 .D125 M97]

Nevada Poetry, ca. 1922-1939. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: 91-17 to 27]

"The Prince of Timbuctoo: A Comic Opera in Three Acts (play)" in The Old West in the Old World: Lost Plays by Bret Harte and Sam Davis. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 1827 .L83 2006]

Short Stories. San Francisco: Golden Era Company, 1886.

The Typographical Howitzer. Sacramento: The Meteorite Press, 1944. Reprinted from the 1886 edition of Davis 'Short Stories. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 1524 .D3 T97 1944]

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Berkove, Lawrence I. "A New Comstock Letter of Mark Twain." Nevada Historical Society Quarterly. Vol. 41, no. 1 (Spring 1998). [Available: Knowledge Center Government Publications: 29-H62 4: 1999 and Special Collections: F 836 .N47; also GBC-Elko and WNC-Carson City]

_______. "Samuel Post Davis," in American National Biography. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: CT 213 .A68 1999 and online for UNR-affiliates, only]

_______. "Samuel Post Davis" in Nineteenth-Century American Fiction Writers. Vol. 202 of Dictionary of Literary Biography, pp/ 92-99. Detroit: Gale Research, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 129 .D52 v. 202 and online via the Literature Resource Center database for UNR-affiliates, only]

_______. "Samuel Post Davis." Online Nevada Encyclopedia.

Chalfant, W. A.. "Eloquence in the Camps," in Tales of the Pioneers. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1942. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 866 .C44]

Crowell, Lucy Davis. One Hundred Years at Nevada's Capital. Oral history transcription of Sam Davis' daughter. Reno: Oral History Project, Center for Western North American Studies, University of Nevada, 1965. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: F 849 .C3 C7]

Davis, Sam P. Correspondence, 1883-1912. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: NC 189-210]

Davis, Sam P. Papers, 1865-1960. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: NC587]

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

Dwyer, Richard A. and Richard E. Lingenfelter. Lying on the Eastern Slope: James Townsend's Comic Journalism on the Mining Frontier. Miami: Florida International University Press, 1984. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 3089 .T48 Z63 1983, and also GBC-Elko]

Emrich, Duncan, ed. "Sam Davis," in Comstock Bonanza: Western Americana of J. Ross Browne, Mark Twain, Sam Davis, Bret Harte, James W. Gally, Dan de Quille, Joseph T. Goodman, Fred Hart. New York: Vanguard, 1950. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 842 .E5 1950]

Glass, Mary Ellen. "Sam and the Statue: An Untold Nevada Story, 1965." Unpublished paper relating the efforts of Samuel P. Davis to honor John W. Mackay with a statue sculpted by John Gutzon Borglum. The statue was placed on the campus of the University of Nevada, Reno. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: NC 41-51]

Goodwin, C. C. (Charles Carroll). Papers, 1859-1922. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: 85-06].

Mighels Family. Papers. [Available: Special Collections: NC 468-470]

"Nellie Mighels Davis." Wikipedia.

Shepperson, Wilbur S. Mirage-land: images of Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1992. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 841 .S54 1992, and online for UNR-affiliates, only; also at WNC-Carson City and Fallon, and GBC-Elko]

Small, Daniel Edward. Sam Davis of The Morning Appeal. (M.A. Thesis). University of Nevada, Reno, 1978. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 5999 .S543 1978 and Microfilm Thesis 1259]

Stoddard, Sylvia Crowell. Sam Knew Them When. Reno: Great Basin Press, 1996. (Author is Sam Davis' granddaughter.)[Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PN 4897 .N33 S76 1996]

Taylor, Maude Sawin. ""Samuel Post Davis," in From My Nevada Notebook. Sparks, NV: Western Printing and Pub. Co., 1965; pp. 126-127. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 841.5 .T3]

Zanjani, Sally Springmeyer. "The United States Government Meets the Nevada Mule: The Humor of Sam Davis."Nevada Historical Society Quarterly. Vol. 23 (Spring 1980), pp. 36-42. [Available: Knowledge Center Government Publications: 29-H62 4: 23 1980; Special Collections: F 836 .N47 1980; and WNC-Carson City]

Dan De Quille

Alf Doten

Thomas Fitch (1838-1923)

Author's Works

"A Heart Flush," in The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature from the Silver Age of the Old West. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006; pp. 207-215. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 561 .S24 2006; WNC-Carson City]

 _____ and Anna M. Fitch. Better Days, or, A Millionaire of To-morrow. San Francisco, Cal.: Better Days Pub., 1891. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 3511 .I8296 B4 1891]

Kane, Gerry. Scrapbook, 1869-1870. (Includes a speech by Thomas Fitch in the U.S. House of Representatives concerning railroad land grants and U.S. Indian policy). [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: NC 884-887]

"Sage-Brush Sketches," in The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature from the Silver Age of the Old West. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006; pp. 323-325. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 561 .S24 2006; WNC-Carson City]

Editor. Virginia Daily Union.

Western Carpetbagger: The extraordinary memoirs of "Senator" Thomas Fitch. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1978. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 594 .F54 A38, and WNC-Carson City & Fallon; and Knowledge Center Special Collections: F 594 .F54 A38 1978 and GBC-Elko]

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Chalfant, W. A.. Tales of the Pioneers. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1942. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 866 .C44]

Davis, Sam P. Papers, 1865-1960. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: NC587]

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

Lubet, Steven. Murder in Tombstone: the forgotten trial of Wyatt Earp. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2004. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 819 .T6 L83 2004]

Potter, Hazel. Tom Fitch: silver-tongued orator of the Pacific, 1838-1923. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: NC 944-975]

James W. Gally (1828-1891)

Author's Works

"Big Jack Small," in The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature from the Silver Age of the Old West. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006; pp. 127-152. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 561 .S24 2006; WNC-Carson City]

Sand, and Big Jack Small. Chicago: Belford, Clarke, 1880. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 1729 .G6 S2]

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Emrich, Duncan. Comstock Bonanza: Western Americana of J. Ross Browne, Mark Twain, Sam Davis, Bret Harte, James W. Gally, Dan de Quille, Joseph T. Goodman, Fred Hart. New York: Vanguard, 1950. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 842 .E5 1950]

Joseph Thompson Goodman (1838-1917)

Author's Works

The Archaic Maya Inscriptions. London: Taylor & Francis, 1897.

Berkove, Lawrence I., ed. The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature from the Silver Age of the Old West. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 561 .S24 2006; WNC-Carson City]

"By-the-Bye (series)." Nevada Mining News. 1908-1909.

Golden Era (San Francisco).

Heroes, Badmen and Honest Miners: Joe Goodman's Tales of the Comstock Lode. Reno: Great Basin Press, 1977. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: F 849 .V8 G59]

Nevada Poetry, ca. 1922-1939. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: 91-17 to 27]

Poems about Virginia City in Emrich, Duncan. It's an Old Wild West Custom; pp. 62-64. New York: Vanguard Press, 1949. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 591 .E48 1949]

Daggett, Rollin M. and J. T. Goodman. The Psychoscope: A Sensational Drama in Five Acts; with an introduction and notes by Lawrence I. Berkove. Charleston, SC: The Citadel, Mark Twain Journal, 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 1499 .D55 P8 2006]

Owner, editor. San Franciscan (literary journal). 1884-

Co-owner, editor, theater critic. Territorial Enterprise (Virginia City, Nevada).

The Trumpet Comes to Pickeye! San Francisco: Book Club of California, 1939.

"Virginia City (poem)." Broadside: 26 x 13 cm. (New York Historical Society)

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Adams, Eva B. Joseph T. Goodman: The Man Who Made Mark Twain. Masters Thesis, Columbia University, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PN 4874 .G66 A33 1936]

Anonymous. "On Picket Duty." Liberty. Vol. 2, no. 20 (July 12, 1884), p. 1. (Available online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.

Berkove, Lawrence I. "Goodman, Joseph Thompson" in American National Biography, Vol. IX, pp. 244-246. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: CT 213 .A68 1999 and online for UNR-affiliates, only]

_______. "Joe Goodman: In His Own Write." Nevada Magazine. (January/February 2001) [Available: Knowledge Center Government Publications: 29-T64N 6: 2001 and Special Collections: F 836 .N3 2001; and GBC-Elko and WNC-Carson City]

_______. "Life after Twain: The Later Careers of the Enterprise Staff." Mark Twain Journal. Vol. 29, no. 1 (Spring, 1991), pp. 22-28.

_______. "The Psychoscope: Frontier Realism." ATQ. Vol. 11, no. 1 (March, 1997), pp. 7-18. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 243 .A4 1997 and online via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

Dwyer, Richard A. and Richard E. Lingenfelter. Lying on the Eastern Slope: James Townsend's Comic Journalism on the Mining Frontier. Miami: Florida International University Press, 1984. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 3089 .T48 Z63 1983, and also GBC-Elko]

Earl, Phillip I. "This Was Nevada." Las Vegas Review Journal. (Sep. 7, 1997).

Emrich, Duncan. Comstock Bonanza: Western Americana of J. Ross Browne, Mark Twain, Sam Davis, Bret Harte, James W. Gally, Dan de Quille, Joseph T. Goodman, Fred Hart. New York: Vanguard, 1950. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 842 .E5 1950]

James, Ronald M. "Joseph Goodman." Online Nevada Encyclopedia.

Charles Carroll Goodwin (1832-1917)

Author's Works

As I Remember Them. Salt Lake City: Salt Lake Commercial Club, 1913. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 860 .G65 and GBC-Elko]

Berkove, Lawrence I., ed. The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature from the Silver Age of the Old West. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 561 .S24 2006; WNC-Carson City]

The Comstock Club. Salt Lake City: Tribune Job Printing Co., 1891. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 .V8 G6]

The feast of the universe (verses). London: Macdonald, 1912.

"The Mormon Situation." Harper's New Monthly Magazine. Vol. 63 (1881), pp. 756-763. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .H3 1881 and online via The Making of America database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Poems. Marysville, CA: Herald Office, 1857.

"The political attitude of the Mormons." North American Review, Vol. 132, no. 292 (March 1881), pp. 275-286. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .N7 and online via The Making of America database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Silver: Why Silver should be Remonetized. Salt Lake City: 1890.

"Steel Rails on the Old Trails" in Western Pacific Country. San Francisco: Passenger Dept. of the Western Pacific Railway, 1913.

The Story of the Comstock Lode: "Lest we Forget." [Boston: Long, Pierce & Co., 1890?]. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: F 849 .V8 G663 1890]

"That brief (a reply to A. M. Gibson's pamphlet "Brief in re Senate bill no. 10.)" Washington, D.C.: 1886.

"The Truth about Mormons." Munsey's Magazine. Vol. 23, no. 3 (June 1900), pp. 310-325. [ Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 M8 v. 23]

The Wedge of Gold. Salt Lake City: Tribune Job Printing Co., 1893. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 1757 .G2 W4]

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Anonymous. "Judge C. C. Goodwin." Utahnian. Vol. 1, no. 2 (June 27, 1896), pp. 9+.

Berkove, Lawrence I. "Goodwin, Charles Carroll." American National Biography. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: CT 213 .A68 1999 and online for UNR-affiliates, only]

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

Dryden, J. "A Pioneer Bimetallist: Judge Charles C. Goodwin.Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine. Vol. 27, no. 162 (June, 1896), pp. 657-663. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: S0054 and online via the Making of America database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Earl, Phillip I. This Was Nevada. Vols. 1-2. Reno: Nevada Historical Society, 1986, 2000. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 841 .E25 1986 and Government Publications: 29-H62 9:T34]

Goodwin, C. C. Papers, 1859-1922. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: 85-06].

Malmquist, Orvin N. The First 100 Years: a history of the Salt Lake Tribune, 1871-1971. Salt Lake City: Utah State Historical Society, [1971]. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PN 4899 .S385 T75]

Fred H. Hart (ca. 1840-1897)

Author's Works

Berkove, Lawrence I., ed. The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature from the Silver Age of the Old West. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 561 .S24 2006; WNC-Carson City]

Editor. Reese River Reveille (Austin, NV). [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N 0011, 1869-1926 and online via the CLAN Digital Collection]

The Sazerac lying club: A Nevada Book. San Francisco: H. Keller & Co., 1878. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PN 6161 .H328 1878]

"The Sazerac lying club (excerpt)" in Glotfelty, Cheryll, ed. Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008; pp. 139-142. [Available: Knowledge Center, the Basque Library, and Special Collections: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008; also GBC-Elko and WNC-Carson City]

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

Dwyer, Richard A. and Richard E. Lingenfelter. Lying on the Eastern Slope: James Townsend's Comic Journalism on the Mining Frontier. Miami: Florida International University Press, 1984. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 3089 .T48 Z63 1983, and also GBC-Elko]

Emrich, Duncan. Comstock Bonanza: Western Americana of J. Ross Browne, Mark Twain, Sam Davis, Bret Harte, James W. Gally, Dan de Quille, Joseph T. Goodman, Fred Hart. New York: Vanguard, 1950. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 842 .E5 1950]

______. It's an Old Wild West Custom; pp. 105-106, 285. New York: Vanguard Press, 1949. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 591 .E48 1949]

James, Ronald. "Fred Hart" in Online Nevada Encyclopedia.

Denis E. McCarthy (1841- ?)

Author's Works

Golden Era (San Francisco) .

"The Tables Turned: A Hackman Robs Steve Gage and Stanford" in The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature from the Silver Age of the Old West. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006; pp. 57-60. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 561 .S24 2006; WNC-Carson City]

Co-owner. Territorial Enterprise (Virginia City, Nevada).

Virginia Evening Chronicle (1872-1927). [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N0472]

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

"Alfred J. McCarthy Biography." Nevada Genealogy Trails: Elko County.

Clemens, Samuel L. "SLC to Denis E. McCarthy (letter)." (March 29 and April 7, 1878). Mark Twain Project.

Dwyer, Richard A. and Richard E. Lingenfelter. Lying on the Eastern Slope: James Townsend's Comic Journalism on the Mining Frontier. Miami: Florida International University Press, 1984. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 3089 .T48 Z63 1983, and also GBC-Elko]

Earl, Phillip I. "This Was Nevada." Las Vegas Review Journal. (Sep. 7, 1997).

Franks, Michael. "Mark Twain and The Territorial Enterprise." (1999)

Wren, Thomas. A History of the State of Nevada, its Resources and People. New York: Lewis Pub. Co., 1904. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 841 .W94]

Arthur McEwen (1851-1907)

Author's Works

Arthur McEwen's Letter (weekly newspaper). San Francisco: Arthur McEwen, 1894-1895. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: Oversize F 856 .A7 1894-1895]

"Henry George: A Character Sketch." Review of Reviews: An International Magazine. Vol. XVI, no. 5 (November, 1897), pp. [547]-554. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 4 R4 Vol. 16 1897]

Berkove, Lawrence I., ed. The Sagebrush Anthology: Literature from the Silver Age of the Old West. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 561 .S24 2006; WNC-Carson City]

"In Her Footsteps." Cosmopolitan. Vol. XLVI, no. 4 (March, 1909), pp. 426-431. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 C8 vol. 46]

"One Artist or Two?" Harper's Monthly Magazine. Vol. CXI, no. 666 (November, 1905), pp. 842-848. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 H3 1905 Vol. 111]

"The Reversion of Pietro." Cosmopolitan. Vol. XLVII, no. 6 (November, 1909), pp. 722-729. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 C8 v. 47]

"The Trust Question. II. The Trust as a Step in the March of Civilization." Munsey's Magazine. Vol. 22, no. 4 (January, 1900), pp. 569-574. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .M8 v. 22]

"The Vengeance of Pendleton." Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine. Vol. 26, no. 153 (Sept. 1895), pp. 283-291. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: S0054; and online via the American Periodical Series database and The Making of America database, for UNR-affiliates, only.

"Why Is New York Disliked?" Munsey's Magazine. Vol. 19, no. 6 (Sept. 1898), pp. [831]-832. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 M8 Vol. 19 1898]

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Access Newspaper Archive database for UNR-affiliates, only.

Ambrose Bierce Collection. University of Virginia Library. (includes correspondence with Arthur McEwen).

Anonymous. "Chit Chat." Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine. Vol. 26, no. 151 (July 1895), p. 112. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: S0054; and online via the American Periodical Series database and The Making of America database, for UNR-affiliates, only.

Anonymous. "Etc." Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine. Vol. 26, no. 156 (Dec. 1895), p. 673. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: S0054; and online via the American Periodical Series database and The Making of America database, for UNR-affiliates, only.

Anonymous. "From Oiling Circus Elephants to Drawing Cartoons, Mr. Davenport's Career Has Not Lacked Incident."New York Times. (Jan. 2, 1910), p. SM12. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N5 and online via Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliates, only]

Anonymous. "The Great Magazine of the Pacific Coast (advertisement)." Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine. Vol. 26, no. 156 (Dec. 1895), p. 3. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: S0054; and online via the American Periodical Series database, for UNR-affiliates, only.

Anonymous. "Judge C. C. Goodwin." Utahnian. Vol. 1, no. 2 (June 27, 1896), pp. 9+. . [Available online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

Anonymous. "The Magazines." The Albany Law Journal. Vol. 56, no. 19 (Nov. 6, 1897), p. 340+. [Available online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

Anonymous. "Miriam Michelson." Current Literature. Vol. 37, no. 2 (August 1904), p. 129+. [Available online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

Anonymous. "On Picket Duty." Liberty. Vol. 2, no. 20 (July 12, 1884), p. 1. [Available online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

_________. "On Picket Duty." Liberty. Vol. 14, no. 9 (May 1903), p. 1. [Available online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

Anonymous. "Pageant for Mr. George." New York Times. (Oct. 31, 1897), p. 1. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N5 and online via Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliates, only]

Anonymous. "Views and Reviews." Puck. Vol. 57, no. 1457 (Feb. 1, 1905), p. 2. [Available online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

Anonymous. "What Is Wrong With American Newspapers?" Current Literature. Vol. L, no. 4 (April, 1911), p. 441+. [Available online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

Deal, Billy E. "Fremont Older" [Available online via the Literature Resource Center database for UNR-affiliates, only]

"Death List of a Day: Arthur McEwen (obituary)." New York Times. (May 2, 1907), p. 11. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N5 and online via Historical New York Times for UNR-affiliates, only]

Deverell, William. Railroad Crossing: Californians and the Railroad, 1850-1910. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1994. [Available: Knowledge Center: HE 2771 .C2 D48 1994]

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

Earl, Phillip I. This Was Nevada. Vols. 1-2. Reno: Nevada Historical Society, 1986, 2000. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 841 .E25 1986 and Government Publications: 29-H62 9:T34]

Fatout, Paul. Ambrose Bierce: The Devil's Lexicographer. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1951. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 1097 .Z5 F3 1951]

Featherston, James S. "Samuel S. Chamberlain" [Available online via the Literature Resource Center database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Howard, Joyce Noble. An Index to "The Wave": A journal of nineteenth century in San Francisco. (dissertation). Florida State University, 1997.

James, George Wharton. "The Human Side of Joaquin Miller." Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine. Vol. LXXV, no. 2 (Feb. 1920) pp. front cover - 18 (?). [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: S0054 and online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

Just, Harold. "The Story of the Overland Monthly." Overland Monthly and Out West Magazine. Vol. 68, no. 6 (Dec. 1916), p. 551+. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .O9 1916; Microfilm S0054 and online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

Lillard, Richard G. "Dan De Quille. Comstock Reporter and Humorist." The Pacific Historical Review. Vol. 13, no. 3 (Sept., 1944), pp. 251-259. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 851 .P18 Vol. 13 1944 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliates, only]

Older, Mrs. Fremont. "The Story of a Reformer's Wife." McClure's Magazine. Vol. 33, no. 3 (July 1909), pp. 277-293.  [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .M2 1909 and online via the American Periodical Series database for UNR-affiliates, only.]

Vaughn, Stephen. "William Randolph Hearst" [Available online via the Literature Resource Center database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Henry Rust Mighels (1830-1879)

Author's Works

Assistant Editor and columnist. Butte Record (Oroville, Calif.). 1856-

Editor. The Carson Daily Appeal. Carson City, Nev.: Robinson & Mighels, 1865-1870. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm: N0041]

Editor. Marysville Appeal (Marysville, Calif.). 1860-

Local Editor. Sacramento Bee.

Sage brush leaves. San Francisco: E. Bosqui & Co., 1879. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 2393 .M2 S3 1879 and online via Open Access]

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

"'Aurora Esmerelda', Nevada Historian, Dies in Bay City." Nevada State Journal. (Dec. 11, 1934), p. 1. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N0006 and online via the NewspaperArchives database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Ballew, Sue. "An editor and his wife draw first impression of the capital." Nevada Appeal. (May 4, 2008)

Berkove, Lawrence I. "A Recently Discovered Comstock Letter of Mark Twain."   Nevada Historical Society Quarterly. Vol. 41, no. 1 (Spring 1998), pp. 51-58. [Available: Knowledge Center Government Publications: 29-H62 4: 41-1 1998; Special Collections: F 836 .N47; also GBC-Elko and WNC-Carson City]

"Carson Appeal Observes Its 81st Birthday." Reno Evening Gazette. (May 18, 1946), p. 7. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N0009 and online via the NewspaperArchives database for UNR-affiliates, only]

"Carson City's oldest native, Mighels, dies." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (Aug. 21, 1998)

"Carson Resident is Ninety-Five Years Old." Nevada State Journal. (Sept. 12, 1939), p. 5. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N0006 and online via the NewspaperArchives database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

"Forty Years of Service at End as Secretary of High Court Retires." Reno Evening Gazette. (Feb. 2, 1959), p. 9. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N0009 and online via the NewspaperArchives database for UNR-affiliates, only]

"Ida Mighels is Stricken." Nevada State Journal. (Dec. 5, 1942), P. 3. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N0006 and online via the NewspaperArchives database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Mighels Family. Papers. [Available: Special Collections: NC 468-470]

Mighels, Henry. Papers, 1905-1934. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: 89-20 to 28]

Mighels, Henry R. Correspondence, 1863-1879. [Available: Special Collections: 93-05]

"Mrs. 'Irve' Lewis Dies on Coast." Reno Evening Gazette. (March 22, 1920), p. 8. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N0009 and online via the NewspaperArchives database for UNR-affiliates, only]

"Mylie M. Mighels Becomes a Bride at Carson." Nevada State Journal. (April 23, 1946), p. 5. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N0006 and online via the NewspaperArchives database for UNR-affiliates, only]

Nevada. Supreme Court. Reports of cases determined in the Supreme Court of the state of Nevada. San Francisco: Bancroft Whitney, 1865.

Shepperson, Wilbur S. Mirage-land: images of Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1992. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 841 .S54 1992, and online for UNR-affiliates, only; also at WNC-Carson City and Fallon, and GBC-Elko]

"World News - Publisher Succumbs." Mountain Democrat (Placerville, CA). (Nov. 25, 1932), p. 4. [Available online via the NewspaperArchives database for UNR-affiliates, only]

James W. E. "Lying Jim" Townsend (1838-1900)

Author's Works

Alta California. 1869-

Editor and publisher. The Carson Daily Index. Carson City, Nev.: M. Robinson, et al., 1880-1887. [Available: Knowledge Center Microfilm N 0117]

Daily Times (San Francisco).  -1869.

Editor. Daily Union (Grass Valley, Calif.) 1864-

Daily Union (Virginia City, Nev.).

Columnist. Evening Gazette (Reno, Nev.).

Golden Era (San Francisco).

Editor, writer, columnist. Homer Mining Index (Lundy, Calif.) 1880-1895.

Co-owner, reporter. Ledger (Antioch, Calif.) 1870-1871.

Owner, publisher. Miner-Index (Bodie, Calif.) 1896-1899.

Co-owner, publisher. The Mining Index (Bodie, Calif.) 18__-1896.

Mono Index (Mono County, Calif.)

Local and news editor. Territorial Enterprise (Virginia City, Nevada). 1886.

Union (Sacramento, Calif.)

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Chalfant, W.A. "Bennettville and Lundy," in Tales of the Pioneers. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1942. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 866 .C44]

Drury, Wells. An Editor on the Comstock Lode. New York: Farrar & Rinehart, 1936. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 849 V8 D73; DeLaMare Library and GBC-Elko: F 849 V8 D73 1984]

Dwyer, Richard A. and Richard E. Lingenfelter. Lying on the Eastern Slope: James Townsend's Comic Journalism on the Mining Frontier. Miami: Florida International University Press, 1984. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 3089 .T48 Z63 1983, and also GBC-Elko]

Emrich, Duncan. It's an Old Wild West Custom; pp. 284-285. New York: Vanguard Press, 1949. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: F 591 .E48 1949]

Ford, Jean; Glass, Betty J.; and Martha B. Gould, eds. Women in Nevada History: An Annotated Bibliography of Published Sources. [Reno]: Nevada Women's History Project, 2000. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections; Western Nevada College: HQ 1438 .N3 W66 2000]

Linder, Howard K. "Dean of the Mining Camp Journalists." Desert Magazine of the Southwest. (September 1961).

Twain, Mark. Roughing It. (Many publishers and editions). [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections: PS 1318 .A1; WNC-Carson City and Fallon, and GBC-Elko]

Mark Twain

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass.