Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Adrian Louis

Adrian Louis

 Adrian C. Louis
Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 1999

Adrian C. Louis

Adrian C. Louis, a mixed-blood Indian, was born in Lovelock, Nevada, and is an enrolled member of the Lovelock Paiute Indian Tribe. His first poem was published in 1963, when he was a junior in high school. He obtained a B.A. in American Literature from Brown University, where he also earned an M.A. in its Creative Writing Program. He later did post-graduate work at the University of Nevada, Reno. In 1982, he became editor of Talking Leaf, The Los Angeles Indian Newspaper, until joining the faculty at Oglala Lakota College on the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota from 1984-1997.  In the mid-1980s, he was also publisher and managing editor of the Lakota Times, the largest American Indian newspaper. A co-founder of the Native American Press Association, he was elected its first President in 1984.  He also served as editor of Indian Country Today. The National Indian Media Consortium nominated him twice for Print Journalist of the Year. He was a Professor of English at Minnesota State University in Marshall from 1999-2014.  His first novel, Skins, was recognized as "the first major novel of reservation life to be written from inside the reservation." The film adaptation of Skins received the Best Actor Award for Graham Greene at the Tokyo International Film Festival in 2002. His 2006 collection of poems, Logorrhea, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Three of his poems were included in the bilingual Contemporary American Poetry (2009), a collaboration between the Pakistan Academy of Letters and the National Endowment for the Arts, marking the first literary exchange between the two countries at the government level.

The recipient of two Pushcart Prizes, he has been awarded fellowships from the South Dakota, the Bush Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. His 1989 Fire Water World book won the San Francisco State University Poetry Center Book Award. He also won the Lila Wallace–Reader's Digest Writer's Award. In 1993, he received a Distinguished Achievement Award from the Nebraska Arts Council. In 2001, he won the Writer of the Year [poetry] award from Wordcraft Circle of Native Writers and Storytellers in 2001 for Ancient Acid Flashes Back. Recent poems have been included in  chapbook anthologies published by Bunchgrass Press in Columbia Basin, Washington. He has identified personal survival as the overall theme of his work.

"Poets (especially Indin poets) should use their tool of words for political gain and cultural survival." ~ Songs from This Earth on Turtle's Back

 

 

 

 

Bibliography for Adrian Louis

Books

Among the Dog Eaters: Poems. Albuquerque, NM: West End Press, 1992.

Ancient Acid Flashes Back: Poems. Western Literature Series. Reno: University of Nevada Press, [2000]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, and Great Basin College-Elko:  PS 3562 .O82 A84 2000]

Archeology. Portland: Tavern Books, 2011.

Blood Thirsty Savages: Poems. Saint Louis, MO: Time Being Books, 1994.

Bone & Juice. Evanston, IL: TriQuarterly Books, 2001. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 3562 .O82 B66 2001]

The Canticles of Cain. [Providence, RI]: Brown University, 1980. [Master of Arts Thesis: poems].

Ceremonies of the Damned: Poems. Reno: University of Nevada Press, [1997]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 3562 .O82 C47 1997]

Coleres sioux: les guerriers d'Iktomi [French translation of Skins]. Translated by Daniele Laruelle. [Monaco / Paris]: Ed. du Rocher, 1997.

Coleres sioux: les guerriers d'Iktomi [French translation of Skins]. Translated by Daniele Laruelle. [Paris]: Gallimard, 2002.

Evil Corn. Granite Falls, MN: Ellis Press, 2004.

Fire Water World: Poems. Albuquerque, NM: West End Press, 1989.

Fire Water World / Among the Dog Eaters. Tavern Books, 2014.

The Indian Cheap Wine Seance: Poetry. Providence: Gray Flannel Press, 1974. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3562 .O82 I5 1974]

Indiens de tout poil et autres creatures: [nouvelles]. Translated by Daniele Laruelle. Monaco: ED du Rocher, 1999. French edition of Wild Indians and Other Creatures.

Indiens de tout poil et autres creatures: [nouvelles]. Translated by Daniele Laruelle. Paris: Gallimard, 2003. French edition of Wild Indians and Other Creatures.

Logorrhea. Evanston, IL: TriQuarterly Books, [2006]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3562 .O82 L64 2006]

Muted War Drums. New York, NY: Strawberry Press, 1977.

Savage Sunsets. Albuquerque, NM: West End Press, [2012]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3562 .O82 S283 2012]

Skins: A Novel. Granite Falls, MN: Ellis Press, 2002. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PS 3562 .O82 S55 2002]

Skull Dance. Jamaica, VT: Bull Thistle, 1998.

There Is No Other Way to Speak, with Bill Holm, et al. [Minneapolis, MN]: Minnesota Center for Book Arts, 2005.

Wild Indians & Other Creatures. Western Literature Series. Reno: University of Nevada Press, [1996]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: Western Nevada College-Carson City and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 3562 .O82 W5 1996]

Poems

"A 'Frankenstein of the Plains'." Midwest Quarterly. (Summer 1999), Vol. 40, no. 4; pp. 445-447. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AS 30 .M5 and online via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

"A Rudimentary lesson in Ameerican Indian journalism." TriQuarterly. (Spring-Summer, 1994), Vol. 90; p. 147. [Available online via Literature Resource Center for UNR-affiliated users]

"Adios again, my blessed angel of thunderheads and urine." Ploughshares (Winter 1998) Vol. 24, no. 4; p. 122. [Available online via Alt-PressWatch and JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"Adrian C. Louis [B. 1946]" in Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Edited by Cheryll Glotfelty. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008; pp. 574-579. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008]

"America Loomed Before Us," in Poemcards. Edited by Sesshu Foster. Chicago: Anaconda, 1996. [A set of broadsheets]

"An E-mail to Taspan Wi." Crazyhorse Archive (2014).

"April in Oglala." Ploughshares (Spring 2005) Vol. 31, no. 1; p. 97. [Available online via Alt-PressWatch and JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"Approximate Haiku, 1980," in Jaeger, Lowell, ed. New Poets of the American West. Kalispell, Montana: Many Voices Press, 2010; p. 251. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 561 .N465 2010]

"At pine ridge pow wow grounds." Ploughshares (Winter 2004) Vol. 30, no. 4; pp. 98-99. [Available online via Alt-PressWatch and JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"Avoiding Harmonic Convergence in Sioux Falls, South Dakota." North American Review. (November-December, 2008), Vol. 293, no. 6; pp. 18-19. [Available online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"Blue Turtle Songs." Crazyhorse Archive (2014)

Days of Obsidian, Days of Grace: Selected Poetry and Prose by Four Native American Writers. With Al Hunter, Denise Sweet and Jim Northrup. Duluth, MN: Poetry Harbor, 1994.

"Dog the Bounty Hunter Blogs." South Dakota Review. (Fall-Spring, 2012), Vol. 50 Special Issue, pp. 301-304.

"E-mail to a High School Sweetheart Who Recently Tracked Me Down." Rattle. Vol. 6, no. 2, issue no. 14 (Winter 2000); p. 108. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: PS 3562 .O82 E435 2000]

[Eight Poems]: "For My Lakota Woman; Spirit-Deer Deep in Pine Forests; How Verdell and Doctor Zhivago Disassembled the Soviet Union; The Boys Cruise Seattle; A Savage Blood Thirst; Last Song of the Dove; Graffiti Dialogue in a Nebraska Bordertown Laundromat; A Rudimentary Lesson in American Indian Journalism." TriQuarterly (Spring-Summer 1994), no. 90; pp. 138-149.

"The End of the Trail Is a Beginning of the Trail," in Shedding Skins: Four Sioux Poets. East Lansing: Michigan State University Press, 2008; pp. ix-x. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 591 .I55 S54 2008]

[Five Poems]: "The Hemingway Syndrome; Elegy for the Forgotten Oldsmobile; Captivity Narrative: September 1981; Indian Education; The Walker River Night," in Songs From This Earth On Turtle's Back: Contemporary American Indian Poetry. Edited by Joseph Bruchac. Greenfield Center, NY: The Greenfield Review Press, 1983; pp. 145-151. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 591 .I55 S66 1983]

[Five Poems]: "Reductio Ad Absurdum; Love Strikes; She Speaks, He Listens; Listening to The Doors; At the Freight Yards." TriQuarterly (Spring/Summer, 1996), pp. 174-179.

[Five Poems]: "Wakinyan; Rhetoric Leads to Cliche; Indian College Blues; Couch Fantasy; The First of the Month," in New American Poets of the '90s. Edited by Jack Myers and Roger Weingarten. Boston: David R. Godine, 1991; pp. 234-238. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PS 615 .N38 1991]

"For You, These Flowers." Progressive (May 1997), Vol. 61, no. 5; p. 35.

[Four Poems]: "Blue Fog; Coyote; Mantle; Oppression Invocation." South Dakota Review. (Spring-Summer, 2011), Vol. 49, no. 1-2; pp. 183-186.

[Four Poems]: "Coyote's Circle; Medicine Song; Good Morning America; Black Crow Dreams." TriQuarterly (Fall 1997), no. 100; pp. 94-102.

[Four Poems]: "Peaches; Naked, Midnight, Sober, Facebooking; Communion; Christmas undeer the Baobab." Prairie Schooner (2012) Vol. 86, no. 4; pp. 9-11.

[Four Poems]: "Song of Arrows; Jungle Jim; Juice; Valentine From Indian Country." The Missouri Review (1999), Vol. 22, no. 2; pp. 149-153.

[Four Poems]: "The Tattered Flags of the Four Directions; A Mere Handful of Years before Blessed Retirement; Indian Cowgirl in Space; A Note from the Tired Diary of a Dirty Old Man." Kenyon Review. (Winter 2010), Vol. 32, no. 1; pp. 175-179] [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AS 30 .K4 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

[Four Poems]: "Wild Indians & Other Creatures; How Coyote Got Killed and Resurrected by His Groin; Why Coyote Knotted His Whanger; Coyote in the City of Angels." TriQuarterly. (Spring-Summer 1995), no. 93; pp. 175-190.

"Ghost Dogs." North American Review (Fall 2013), Vol. 298, no. 4; pp. 16-18.

"High Plains Weather Report, Elements of Madness in the Air." Kenyon Review. (Spring 2000), Vol. 22, no. 2; pp. 48-49] [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AS 30 .K4 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"In the Colony," in Jaeger, Lowell, ed. New Poets of the American West. Kalispell, Montana: Many Voices Press, 2010; p. 251. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 561 .N465 2010]

In Their Own Voices: A Century of Recorded Poetry. Los Angeles, CA: Rhino, 1996. [Audio CD]

"Indian Summer Gives Way to the Land of the Rising Sun," in Contemporary American Poetry: Behind the Scenes. Ryan G. Van Cleave, Redactor. New York: Longman, 2003.

"Indian Summer Gives Way to the Land of the Rising Sun," in Contemporary American Poetry: Behind the Scenes. Ryan G. Van Cleave, Redactor. Princeton, NJ: Recording for the Blind & Dyslexic, 2003. [Sound disc]

"Kenmore Square, 1968." Massachusetts Review (Winter 2013), Vol. 54, no. 4; p. 571. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AS 30 .M3 2013 and online via Academic Search Premier and Literature Online databases for UNR-affiliated users]

"Looking for Judas," in The Penguin Anthology of Twentieth-Century American Poetry, edited by Rita Dove. New York, NY: Penguin Group, 2011; p. 427.

"Me and Simon Send Smoke Signals On the Great and Gaseous Internet." American Indian Quarterly (Winter/Spring 2004) Vol. 28, no. 1-2; pp. 112-113. [Available via Project Muse for UNR-affiliated users]

"Muted War Drums." Blue Cloud Quarterly. (1977) Vol. 23, no. 3.

"Note to a Pine Ridge Girl Who Can No Longer Read," in The Pushcart Prize XXXII: Best of the Small Presses. New York: W. W. Norton, 2008; pp. 209-210 (originally published in New Letters). [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 501 .P87 Vol. 32 2008]

"Old Friend in the Dark." Rattle. Vol. 6, no. 2, issue no. 14 (Winter 2000); p. 108. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: PS 3562 .O82 E433 2000]

"Petroglyphs & Other Voices." Studies in American Indian Literatures. Series 2, (Summer 1990) Vol. 2, No. 2, New Native American Writing, pp. 16-18.

"Petroglyphs of Serena," in Hour of Freedom: American History in Poetry. Compiled by Milton Meltzer. Honesdale, PA: Boyds Mills Press, 2003; p. 73.

"Practicing Death Songs." Antioch Review (Spring 2001) Vol. 59, no. 2; p. 176. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 .A562 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"Practicing Death Songs," in The Pushcart Prize, XIX: Best of the Small Presses. New York: Pushcart Press, 1994; pp. 250-251, (originally published in Antioch Review). [Available: [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS  PS 501 .P87 Vol. 19 1994/95]

"Respite." Crazyhorse Archive. (2014)

"Rockabilly Blues." Nation, Vol. 288, no. 18; p. 36.

[Seven Poems]: "Savage Sunsets; Oppression Invocation; Sunset at the Indian Cemetery; Arcadia; Arc of the Coven; Ghost Road; Ghost Dance," in The Willow's Whisper: A Transatlantic Compilation of Poetry from Ireland and Native America; pp. 63-67. Edited by Jill M. O'Mahony and Micheal O hAoda. Newcastle upon Tyne: Cambridge Scholars, 2011.

"Sonnenkinder." [broadside]. Jamaica, VT: Bull Thistle Press, 1997. (300 broadsides printed for Scarecrow)

"Sonny's Purple Heart." Chicago Review (1994), Vol. 40, no. 2-3; pp. 66-68. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 .C5152 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"Statue of Liberty." 1996 Readings in the Poetry Garden. [Los Angeles, CA]: Lannan; July 14, 1996. [Program].

"Sweets for the Dancing Bears." Blue Cloud Quarterly. (1979). Vol. 25, no. 3.

"Ten Poems: Reductio Ad Absurdum; Love Strikes; She Speaks, He Listens; Listening to The Doors; At the Freight Yards; Pacific Highway: 1967; San Francisco: 1969; Trees, Rush Limbaugh, and the Failed Exorcism of China Girl's Ghost; Star Quilt; This Is the Rez." TriQuarterly. (Spring/Summer 1996), pp. 174-185. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: PS 3562 .O82 T463 1996]

[Three Poems]: "Buffalo Spirit Song; Note to a Culture Vulture; Rhetorical Judea." Ploughshares (Winter 1993) Vol. 19, no. 4; pp. 98-101. [Available online via Academic Search Premier and JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

[Three Poems]: "Dust World; That Great Wingless Bird; Something About Being an Indian," in Unsettling America: An Anthology of Contemporary Multicultural Poetry. Edited by Maria M. Gillan and Jennifer Gillan. New York, NY: Pengin Group, 1994; pp. 17-19, 117-119, 247-248. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 591 .M54 1994b]

[Three Poems]: "I Was Old & Grieving; Poison Ivy; The Ghost in the Basement." Mirage: New Poems. Columbia Basin, WA: Bunchgrass Press, 2012. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections]

[Three Poems]: "In the Ghetto on the Prairie There is Unrequited Love; Sometimes a Warrior Comes Tired; America Loomed Before Us," in The Portable Western Reader, edited by William Kittredge; pp. 576-578. New York: Penguiin Books, 1997. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Fallon: PS 509 .W47 P67 1997]

[Three Poems]: "Kenmore Square, 1968; Kisses: Lovelock, NV 1945; Random Exorcism." Official Leagues: a chapbook anthology. Columbia Basin, WA: Bunchgrass Press, 2014. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections]

[Three Poems]: "Note to a Pine Ridge Girl Who Can No Longer Read; Without Words; Valentine from Indian Country," in Contemporary American Poetry: An Anthology. Edited by Fakhar Zaman and Kevin Prufer. Islamabad, Pakistan: Pakistan Academy of Letters, 2009; pp. 66-81. [Bilingual: poems in English and Urdu].

[Three Poems]: "Sodom, Gomorrah and Kansas?; Old Chief Treebark and His Honda; Equine Stars." The Blue Cloud Quarterly. (1975), Vol. 21, no. 4.

[Three Poems]: "Sometimes a Warrior Comes Tired; Sunset at Pine Ridge Agency; After long Silence Marilyn Returns." Kenyon Review (Fall 1991) Vol. 13, no. 4; pp. 64-68. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AS 30 .K4 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

[Three Poems]: "The 'last of the Saiduka'; 'Jesus finds his ghost shirt'; 'Logorrhea'." TriQuarterly. (2007), no. 128; pp. 165-169. [Available online via Literature Online database for UNR-affiliated users]

[Three Poems]: "This Is the time of Grasshoppers; All that I See iIs Dying; One of the Grim reaper's Disguises." Ploughshares (Winter, 2000/2001), vOL. 26, NO. 4; PP. 113-117. [Available online via Literature Online for UNR-affiliated users]

"To an Indian Cowboy in the Nursing Home." Trail: A Chapbook Anthology. Columbia Basin, WA: Bunchgrass Press, 2015. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections]

"Tumbleweed Sex Prayer." Chicago Review (1992) Vol. 37, no. 4, p. 19. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 .C5152 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

[Twelve Poems]: "Prophylaxis, Muted War Drums, Messiah, Elegy for One of Us, Her Wake, Eagle Woman, Dandelion, Indian College Blues, Memento Mori, I Flew Into Denver April, Sweets for the Dancing Bears, A Lie of the Common Language," in American Indian Women's Scholarship and Perspectives. [Minneapolis, MN]: [The Center], [1990?]; pp. 8-9, 26-27, 32-33, 36-39, 42-43, 52-53.

[Two Poems]: "Ceremonies of the Damned; This Ends with a Frozen Penis." Red Rock Review (Summer 1999), Vol. 1, no. 6; pp. 9-14. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 501 .R43 1999]

[Two Poems]: "Ghost Road; Sunset at the Indian Cemetery." Willow Springs. (Spring 2011), no. 67.

[Two Poems]: "This is the Time of Grasshoppers and All that I See is Dying; One of the Grim Reaper's Disguises." Ploughshares (Winter 2000) Vol. 26, no. 4; pp. 113-117. [Available online via Alt-PressWatch and JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

[Two Poems]: "Fullblood Girl on a Blue Horse; Practicing Death Songs." Antioch Review (Spring 1993) Vol. 51, no. 2; pp. 242-244. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 .A562 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

Untitled poem, "The young warrior coraking .." Akwesasne Notes. Vol. 10, no. 3 (Summer 1978), p. 36 [Available via the American Indian Histories and Cultures database for UNR-affiliated users]

"Verdell's Morning Constitutional." Chicago Review (1993) Vol. 38, no. 4, p. 137. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 .C5152 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"Vortex of Indian Fevers." Kenyon Review (Winter 1995) Vol. 17, no. 1; pp. 27-31.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AS 30 .K4 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"The 'whiteheads in RVs'." North American Review (November-December 2005), Vol. 290, no. 6; p. 18. [Available online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"Without Words," in

Short Stories

"Abducted by Aliens Inside Her Brain," in The River Underground: An Anthology edited by Shaun T. Griffin. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2001; pp. 187-196. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 R58 2001]

Articles - Nonfiction

"Earth Bone Connected to the Spirit Bone + Life on an American Indian Reservation." Ploughshares (Spring 1996) Vol. 22, no. 1; pp. 145-156. [Available online via Alt-PressWatch and JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"Eh, Monsieur," in Letters to J. D. Salinger. Edited by Chris Kubica and Will Hochman. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 2002; pp. 19-21. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 3537 .A426 Z48 2002 and via WorldCat Discovery Services for UNR-affiliated users]

"Foreword" to Old Shirts & New Skins by Sherman Alexie. Los Angeles, CA: American Indian Studies Center, UCLA; 1993; pp. [vii]-x.[Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 3551 .L35774 O43 1993]

"Got Them Poetry Blues?" in Views from The Loft: A Portable Writer's Workshop. Edited by Daniel Slager. Minneapolis, MN: Milkweed Editions, 2010; pp. 112-117.

"Introduction" to Shedding Skins: Four Sioux Poets. Edited by Adrian Louis. East lansing: Michigan State University Press, 2008; pp. ix-xi. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 591 .I55 S54 2008]

"Ten Tough Trips: Montana Writers and the West [review]." The American Indian Quarterly (Summer 1992), Vol. 16, no. 3; pp. 442+.

"$30,000 Pledged to KILI in Marathon Fund Raiser." Indian Country Today (January 18, 1984), p. 1. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Film Adaptation

Skins [motion picture]. Grandview Pictures, 2002. [VHS videocassette]

Skins: the Other American Heroes [motion picture]. [S.l.]: First Look Media, 2003 DVD.

Biographical Sources and Critical Response

"Activities Set for Native American Week." Grand Forks Herald (March 18, 1995), p. C6.

Adrian C. Louis [Internet Public Library - Native American Authors Project]

Adrian C. Louis [Modern American Poetry Website]

Adrian C. Louis [Storytellers Website]

"Adrian C. Louis, 19??- . Lovelock Paiute Poet." Native North American Literature. Janet Witalec, ed. New York: Gale Research, 1994; pp. 391-395. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and Great Basin College-Elko: Reference PS 508 .I5 N38 1994]

Aerol, Meg. "Joy Jarjo & Poetic Justice." The Circle. (September 9, 1999, p. 19. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Afagla, Kodjo. Reading Cook-Lynn: Anti-Colonialism, Cultural Resistance, and Native Empowerment [Ph.D. dissertation]. [S.l.]: University of Kansas, 2010. [Available via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses for UNR-affiliated users]

"An Adrian C. Louis Interview." Geronimo: a Journal of Politics and Culture. (June 1999).

Among the Dog Eaters - Reviews

  • American Indian Culture and Research Journal (Spring 1993), Vol. 17, no. 2; pp. 189+
  • American Indian Quarterly (Winter 1994), Vol. 18, no. 1; pp. 92-93
  • Beloit Poetry Journal (Spring 1993), Vol. 43, no. 3; p. 44
  • Bloomsbury Review (May-June, 1993), Vol. 13, no. 3; pp. 5, 20-21.
  • Booklist (September 1, 1992), Vol. 89, no. 1; p. 26
  • The Circle: News from an American Indian Perspective (Minneapolis). (September 9, 1999), p. 18.
  • Kansas City Star (September 20, 1992); Section: Arts, p. K5
  • Kenyon Review (Summer 1993), Vol. 15, no. 3; pp. 182+
  • MELUS (Fall 1995), Vol. 20, no. 3; pp. 160+
  • St. Paul Pioneer Press (August 2, 1992), p. 19A
  • The Southern Review (Spring 1993), Vol. 29, no. 2; pp. 405+
  • Western American Literature. (August 1993), Vol. 28, no. 2; pp. 163-164.

Ancient Acid Flashes Back - Reviews

  • Booklist (September 1, 2000); Vol. 97, no. 1; p. 58
  • Booklist (March 15, 2001), Vol. 97, no. 14; p. 1349
  • Ruminator Review (Fall 2000), p. 37
  • Salt Lake Tribune (January 7, 2001), p. D5
  • Southwestern American Literature (Fall 2001), Vol. 27, no. 1; pp. 108+
  • World Literature Today (Winter 2001), Vol. 75, no. 1; p. 183

"Announcing the publication of Adrian C. Louis' Skull Dance." [broadside]. Jamaica, VT: Bull Thistle Press, 1998.

Barreiro, Jose. "First Words: Some Old Song Is the Shared Experience." Native Americas (September 30, 1996), Vol. 3; p. 2. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Belcher, Wendy. "Conjuring the Colonizer." American Indian Culture and Research Journal (2007), Vol. 31, n o. 2; pp. 87-101.

Berner, Robert. "Adrian C. Louis: Poet of Survival." World Literature Today (2004), Vol. 78, no. 3/4; pp. 56-59. [Available online via Literature Online for UNR-affiliated users.]

Blood Thirsty Savages - Reviews

  • Bloomsbury Review (November 1994), Vol. 14; p. 7
  • Booklist (July 1, 1994), Vol. 90, no. 21; p. 1917
  • Chelsea (Annual 1995),no. 58; p. 168
  • Everyday Magazine (September 25, 1994), p. 5F.[Available via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Hungry Mind Review (Winter 1994), p. 58
  • Western American Literature (Summer 1995), Vol. 30; p. 211

Bone and Juice - Reviews

  • American Indian Culture and Research Journal (Fall, 2002), Vol. 26, no. 4; pp. 133-136
  • American Indian Quarterly (Spring 2002), Vol. 26, no. 2; pp. 322-324
  • Publishers Weekly (November 19, 2001), Vol. 248, no. 47; p. 63
  • Ruminator Review (Winter 2001), p. 58
  • Star Tribune: Newspaper of the Twin Cities (MN), (December 30, 2001), p. 16F
  • Utne Reader (November-December 2001), p. 96-97
  • World Literature Today (Spring 2002), Vol. 76, no. 2; pp. 241+

Bordeaux, Shirley. "Adrian Louis Named Managing Editor at the Lakota Times." Indian Country Today (January 18, 1984), p. 1. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Bordeaux, Shirley. "Lakota Times Expands: Lower Brule, Crow Creek, Cheyenne River, Standing Rock Reservations." Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (February 8, 1984), p. 1. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Caldwell, E. K. "Sherman Alexie." News from Indian Country [Hayward, WI] (July 31, 1994), p. 10. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Cassadore, Edison Duane. Re-Imagining Indians: The Counter-Hegemonic Representations of Victor Masayesva and Chris Eyre. [Ph.D. dissertation]. [Tucson]: University of Arizona, 2007. [Available via ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for UNR-affiliated users]

Ceremonies of the Damned - Reviews

  • Booklist (September 15, 1997), Vol. 94, no. 2; p. 200
  • The Progressive (January 1998), Vol. 62, no. 1; p. 42
  • Tribal College (October 31, 1998), p. 42.
  • Western American Literature. (Winter 2000), Vol. 34, no. 4; pp. 471-472.
  • World Literature Today (Summer 1998), Vol. 72, no. 3; p. 664

Cohen, Robin Payne. Leslie Marmon Silko: Beyond Borders. [Ph.D. dissertation]. [College Station]: Texas A&M University, 2002. [Available via ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for UNR-affiliated users]

Comes Flying, Phyllis. "Crow Creek Ft. Thompson News." Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (August 8, 1984), p. 12. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Comes Flying, Phyllis. "Crow Creek Ft. Thompson News."  Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (October 17, 1984), p. 8. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Comes Flying, Phyllis. "Crow Creek News." Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (January 16, 1985), p. 7. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Days of Obsidian, Days of Grace - Reviews

  • Bloomsbury Review (May-June 1995)
  • The Circle [Minneapolis]. (May 31, 1995), p. 10.
  • News From Indian Country [Hayward, WI] (February 15, 1995), p. 27.
  • Poet Lore (Winter 1995), Vol. 89, no. 4; p. 71

Dillon, Frank. "'Roaming the Rez': Custer's Waiting In the Wings." Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (August22, 1984), p. 5. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Elkins, Andrew. "Dispossessed: The Poetic Inferno of Adrian C. Louis," in Another Place: An Ecocritical Study of Selected Western American Poets. Fort Worth: Texas Christian University Press, 2002; pp. 149-197. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 271 .E45 2002]

"Enhance Indian education." Deseret News (September 19, 2003), p. A16. [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Evans, Stephen F. "'Open Containers': Sherman Alexie's Drunken Indians." American Indian Quarterly (Winter 2001), Vol. 25, no. 1; pp. 46-72. [Available via Project Muse for UNR-affiliated users]

Evil Corn - Reviews

  • Utne (November-December, 2004), no. 126, pp. 36-37
  • World Literature Today (May-August 2005), Vol. 79, no. 2; p. 107

Fassier, Joe. "The Poem That Made Sherman Alexie Want to 'Drop Everything and Be a Poet'." Atlantic [Web edition]. (October 16, 2013), Section: News.

Fast, Robin R. "'We'll Always Survive!' The Challenges of Home in the Poetry of Adrian C. Louis." American Indian Culture and Research Journal (2005) Vol. 29, no. 3; pp. 101-120. [Available online via Literature Online for UNR-affiliated users]

Fast Wolf, Alvin. "Pass Creek Report" Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (April 4, 1984), p. 9. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Fast Wolf, Alvin. "The Wandering Wolf: The Wolf is Celebrating the 39th Again!" Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (September 24, 1986), p. 11. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Fire Water World - Reviews

  • American Indian Quarterly (Winter 1993), Vol. 17, no. 1; pp. 102
  • Bloomsbury Review (July-August, 1989), Vol. 9, no. 4; p. 17.
  • Press-Register (Mobile, AL). (July 25, 1993), Section G, p. 9
  • Small Press (October, 1989), Vol. 7, no. 5; p. 85.

Fitz, Karsten. "Appendix: Workshop Designing a Teaching Unit on Chris Eyre's Skins (2002.)" American Studies Journal (2008), Vol. 51.

Giago, Tim. "Commentary: Journaliss owe debt to man with big heart." Santa Fe New Mexican (May 9, 1999), p. F-1

Giago, Tim. "Dulaney was named 'Waonspekiye' or Teacher." Native American Times [Tulsa, OK]. (April 20, 2012), p. 5.

Giago, Tim. "Harvard: 'State of the Native Nations' Wrong." Charlotte Sun (Port Charlotte, FL). (July 15, 2007). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Giago, Tim. "Notes from Indian Country: Some tribal newspapers lead in professional way." Indian Country Today (August 11, 1997), p. A4. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Giago, Tim. "Notes from Indian Country: The professor and the Indian journalists." Indian Country Today (March 18, 1987), p. 8. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Giago, Tim. "Notes from Indian Country: There's history and memories behind NAJA's start-up story." Indian Country Today (June 9, 1997), p. A4. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Giago, Tim. "Remembering the Great Native American Journalists." Native American Times [Tulsa, OK]. (March 10, 2014), p. 5. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"Graduation - The Dark Side!" Indian Country Today (May 30, 1984), p. 1. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Gray, Richard. "Imagining the Crisis in Drama and Poetry," in After the Fall: American Literature Since 9/11. Oxford, England: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011; p. 190.

Green, Carissa. "There's No Place Like 'Homelands': Writers Explore Sense of Place and Displacement." Grand Forks Herald (April 1, 1994), p. 1A

Grossman, Mary Ann. "Two Popular Authors Plan Area Visits." St. Paul Pioneer Press (June 11, 1997), p. 6F.

Grossman, Mary Ann. "Winter book - Dave Morice." St. Paul Pioneer Press (November 27, 2005), p. E10.

Hans, Birgit. "Dakota Spirituality in Adrian Louis' Skins." Studies in the Western (2009), Vol. 17; pp. 83-91.

Hidayat, Rahmad and Rizky Februansyah. "The Cultural Conflict of the American Indian People: A Brief Overview on Two American Indian Fictions." Celt (2008), Vol. 8, no. 2; p. 137+.

"Indian News-Notes." Sho - Ban News [Fort Hall, ID] (April 18, 1984), p. 16. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Johnston, Jerry. "Public poetry galore in Utah." Deseret News (April 4, 1999), Section: Arts,  p. E01

"Journal Story Erroneous Says American Refugee Committee Boss." Indian Country Today (February 6, 1985), p. 1. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Logorrhea - Reviews

  • Booklist (October 1, 2006), Vol. 103, no. 3; p. 20
  • New York Times Book Review  (December 10, 2006), Section 7, p. F14.
  • Star Tribune (Minneapolis) (December 24, 2006, p. 13F

Louis, Adrian. "Native American Press Association Formalized; Lakota Times Publisher Elected First President." Indian Country Today (August 29, 1984), p. 1. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"Louis, Adrian C." [Literature Online Biography]

Low, Denise. "The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven." American Indian Quarterly (Winter 1996) Vol. 20, no. 1; p. 123. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Lupton, Mary Jane. "Interview with James Welch (1940-2003): November 17, 2001." American Indian Quarterly (Winter 2005), Vol. 29, no. 1/2; pp. 198-211, 354. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Lyons, Charles. "Eyre Shirting Up for 'Skins'." Variety (May 9, 2001), p. 15.

Mackedon, Michon. Bombast: Spinning Atoms in the Desert. Reno, NV: Black Rock Institute Press, 2010.  [Available: Mathewson-IGTKnowledge Center and its Special Collections: U 264.4 .N3 M33 2010]

MacMillan, Kyle. "16 Honored for Creations." Omaha World-Herald (May 12, 1993); Section: Living Today, p. 37. [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

McAdams, Janet. "A conversation with Simon Ortiz." Kenyon Review (2010), Vol. 32, no. 1; pp. 1-8.

McCormick, Adrienne L. Practicing Poetry, Producing Theory: Op/Positional Poetics in Contemporary Multi-Ethnic American Poetries. [Ph.D. dissertation]. College Park, MD: University of Maryland, 1998. [Available via ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for UNR-affiliated users]

McFarland, Ron. "Hemingway and the Poets." The Hemingway Review (Spring 2001), Vol. 20, no. 2; pp. 37-58. [Available via Project Muse for UNR-affiliated users]

Meredith, Howard. "Mixedblood messages: literature, film, family, place." World Literature Today (Vol. 73, no. 1 (1999), p. 192.

Moore, David. "Rough Knowledge and Radical Understanding: Sacred Silence in American Indian Literatures." American Indian Quarterly (Fall 1997), Vol. 21, no. 4; pp. 633-662. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"NAJA's Coming Home to Minneapolis." NAJA News. (February 28, 1997) Vol. 1, no. 1. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"NAPA Prints Newsletter." Indian Country Today (November 7, 1984), p. 1. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"Native American Writing Increasing." Wind River News [Lander, WY]. (July 27, 1993), p. 1. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame and Silver Pen Award Records. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"OLC police academy training: Cadets learn the basics and much more."  Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (June 4, 1986), p. 16. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"Owaicu Cikala: (Little Notes)." Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (May 2, 1984), p. 5. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"One Woman's Opinion: Household Hints for Reservation Bachelor 'ettes'." Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (August 1, 1984), p. 5. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Ortiz, Simon J. "Empowerment." American Indian Quarterly. (Winter/Spring 2004), Vol. 28, no. 1/2; pp. 112-114.  [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch and Project Muse for UNR-affiliated users]

"Owaicu Cikala (lLttle Notes)." Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (August 29, 1984), p. 5. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Parker, Robert D. "Another Indian looking back: a review essay on recent American Indian poetry." Studies in American Indian Literatures (2010), Vol. 22, no. 2; pp. 76-85.

Poetry on Record: 98 Poets Read Their Work, 1888-2006 - Review

  • Winston-Salem Journal (April 23, 2006), p. F1

Savage Sunsets - Reviews

  • Tribal College (Winter 2013) Vol. 25, no. 2; p. 49
  • World Literature Today (July-August, 2013), Vol. 87, no. 4; p. 71

Shedding Skins: Four Sioux Poets - Reviews

  • ForeWord (July-August, 2008), p. NA
  • Internet Bookwatch (April 2008), p. NA
  • Native Peoples Magazine (July-August, 2008), Vol. 21, no. 4; p. 76
  • New Letters (Summer 2008); Vol. 74, no. 3; pp. 156-161
  • Saskatchewan Sage (January 2009), Vol. 13, no. 4; p. 7

Skins - Reviews

  • Akwesasne Notes (March 31, 1996), p. 106.
  • Bloomsbury Review (July 1996), Vol. 16, no. 16; p. 14
  • Booklist (July 1995), Vol. 91, no. 21; p. 1859
  • Booth, Michael. Denver Post (September 27, 2002), p. F-05 [film review]
  • Brock, Steve. News from Indian Country [Hayward, WI]. (October 30, 1995), p. 22.
  • Brockman, Joshua. New York Times (September 29, 2002), Section 2, p. 15 [film review]
  • Capital Times (Madison, WI), (October 23, 2003), p. 12A [film review]
  • CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries (December 1995), Vol. 33, no. 4; p. 617
  • Command, Janice. The Circle (October 31, 2002), p. 10 [film review]
  • Grossmann, Mary Ann. Saint Paul Pioneer Press (August 27, 1995, p. 9E.
  • Hammond, Margo. St. Petersburg Times (Florida). (July 16, 1995), p. 5D
  • Herald and News (Klamath Falls, OR), (August 3, 2001) [film review]
  • Hungry Mind Review (Fall 1995), p. 40
  • Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY], (September 18, 2002), p. A4 [film review]
  • Kehr, Dave. New York Times (September 27, 2002), Section E, Part 1, p. 12 [film review]
  • Kirkus Reviews (May 1, 1995), Vol. 63; p. 578
  • Library Journal (June 1, 1995), Vol. 120,no. 10; p. 164
  • Midwest Quarterly (Spring 2003), Vol. 44, no. 3; pp. 336-337
  • New York Times (September 29, 2002), p. B15 [film review]
  • Publishers Weekly (May 29, 1995), Vol. 242, no. 22; p. 68
  • San Antonio Current (October 30, 2002), p. 24 [film review]
  • Santa Fe New Mexican (August 15, 2001), Special Sections [film alert]
  • Seattle Times (September 24, 1995), p. M2
  • Variety (January 28, 2002), p. 28 [film review]
  • Washington Post (September 27, 2002), p. T43 [film review]
  • Western American Literature. (Spring 1996), Vol. 31, no. 1; pp. 75-76.
  • World Literature Today (July-September, 2003), Vol. 77, no. 2; p. 152

"Some Changes At The Times." Indian Country Today [Oneida, NY]. (January 16, 1985), p. 4. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Stobb, William E. The Rhetoric of Poetic Witness. [Ph.D. dissertation]. Reno: University of Nevada, Reno, 2000. [Available via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database for UNR-affiliated users]

Sweney, Kate. "Writers and Conflict Authors Debate: Must You Live It to Write It?" Grand Forks Herald (April 9, 1994), p. 3C

Takahama, Valerie. "Author's Success Story - Profile: Sherman Alexie ..." Orange County Register (October 31, 1993), p. F20.

"Talent is Where You Look for It!" Indian Country today [Oneida, NY]. (September 4, 1985), p. 4. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Teuton, Christopher B. "American Indian Women: Nurturing American Indian Cultural and Political Continuance." NWSA Journal (Summer 2003), Vol. 15, no. 2; pp. 123-134.

Tharp, Julie. "Fine Ponies": Cars in American Indian Film and Literature." American Indian Culture & Research Journal (2000) vOL. 24, NO. 3, PP. 77-91. [Available online via Allen Press Journals for UNR-affiliated users]

"This Week in Connecticut: Lectures." New York Times (April 23, 1995), p. CN22.

Thompson, Michael. "Honoring the WORD: Classroom instructors find that students respond best to oral tradition." Tribal Collage (Winter 2007), Vol. 19, no. 2; pp. 12-16, +.  [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Tsosie, Rebecca. "Surviving the war by singing the blues: The contemporary ethos of American Indian political poetry." American Indian Culture and Research Journal (1986): Vol. 10, no. 3; pp. 25-52.

Two-Bulls Young, Alice. "Lookin' Around Lacreek." Indian Country today [Oneida, NY]. (October 3, 1984), p. 10. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"Valley Readings." Daily Hampshire Gazette (Northampton, MA). (March 31, 2010), Section: Entertainment.

Vortex of Indian Fevers - Reviews

  • American Indian Culture and Research Journal (Winter 1996), Vol. 20, no. 1; pp. 259+
  • Bloomsbury Review (July 1996), Vol. 16, p. 14
  • Booklist (April 1, 1995); Vol. 91, no. 15; p. 1374
  • Western American Literature. (Fall 1996), Vol. 31, no. 3; pp. 285-286.

Waniek, Marilyn Nelson. "The Gender of Grief." The Southern Review. (Spring, 1993) Vol. 29, no. 2; pp. 405-419. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 .S8555 and online via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Weaver, Jace, et al. American Indian Literary Nationalism. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 2006. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PM 157 .W42 2006]

Weaver, Laura Adams. “All My Personae: Voice and Representation in the Works of Adrian C. Louis.” American Literature Association’s Native American Literature Symposium, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. (November 2000)

Wild Indians & Other Creatures - Reviews

  • Bloomsbury Review (July 1996), Vol. 16, p. 15
  • Bowman, David. "Staring at the Sun." New York Times Book Review. (October 27, 1996), pp. 3, 31, 36
  • Publishers Weekly (March 18, 1996), Vol. 243, no. 12; p. 59
  • Western American Literature. (Winter 1997), Vol. 31, no. 4; pp. 409-410.
  • World Literature Today (Spring 1997), Vol. 71, no. 2; p. 431

"Womack, Craig S. "Anti-Indianism in Modern America: A Voice from Tatekeya's Earth." American Indian Quarterly. (Winter 2004) Vol. 28, no. 1/2; pp. 130-141. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"Wounded Knee Massacre Subject of Film." Akwesasne Notes. (April 30, 1991), p. 28. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

"WSU plans American Indian events." Dayton Daily News (Ohio) (October 25, 2007), pp. Z6-9.

Wyman, Sarah. "Telling Identities: Sherman Alexie's War Dances." American Indian Quarterly. (Spring 2014), Vol. 38, no. 2; pp. 237-255, 284. [Available online via Ethnic NewsWatch for UNR-affiliated users]

Yardy, Bethany A. "A Labor of Love": A Social and Literary History of the Blue Cloud Quarterly. [M.A. thesis]. Arlington: University of Texas at Arlington, 2014. [Available via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses for UNR-affiliated users]

Yasinski, Nicholas A. To Make Something Happen: Activist Impulses in Contemporary American Poetry. [Ph.D. dissertation]. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers, State University of New Jersey, 1998. [Available via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses for UNR-affiliated users]

 

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass.