Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Robert Laxalt

Robert Laxalt

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 1988

Photo: Robert Laxalt

Robert Laxalt (1923 -2001), the son of Basque immigrants, referred to the Nevada State Library in Carson City as his second home during his childhood. He was the editor of his sixth grade newspaper -- which published a prediction that he'd have a successful career as a writer. He later studied Basque culture in France and Spain as a Fulbright scholar and eventually, in fulfillment of that childhood prophecy, earned a reputation as a writer's writer. In his early career as a journalist, he wrote for the Nevada Appeal, Nevada State Journal, and was a staff correspondent for United Press International. He launched the Capital News Service in 1947. He was the Nevada correspondent for the Wall Street Journal and the Nevada political correspondent for the New York Times. He also sold nonfiction articles and short stories to leading national magazines. He was a revered teacher and the voice of the Basque immigrants in America.

The non-fiction classic about his father, Sweet Promised Land (1957), was followed by In a Hundred Graves(1972), and Nevada: A History (1977). The novella, A Cup of Tea in Pamplona (1985), was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. The trilogy, The Basque Hotel (1989), Child of the Holy Ghost (1992), and The Governor's Mansion (1994), continued the saga of Laxalt's Basque heritage.

In 1954, Laxalt joined the staff of the University of Nevada, Reno, as the director of News and Publications. He helped found the University of Nevada Press and served as its director from 1961-1983. He was Writer-in-Residence at the university during the mid-1970s. He was also a co-founder of the Center for Basque Studies at the University of Nevada, Reno.

In 1986, he was awarded the Tambor de Oro from the City of San Sebastian for his contributions to the Basque people and their country. In 1988, Laxalt became the first person named to the Distinguished Nevada Author Chair at the university. His seminars attracted diverse students from the university and the community. "Take your writing seriously," Laxalt advised students, "but don't take yourselves too seriously." At his retirement, he was designated Director Emeritus of the University of Nevada Press. In 1996, UNR Journalism Professor Travis Linn interviewed Laxalt for a segment of PBS Channel 5's Nevada Experience. In 1998, Texas Christian University included Laxalt in their Literary Chronology of the American West (1510-1984).

The Nevada State Library and Archives provides audio recordings for a variety of Laxalt's publications via its Nevada Talking Book Services for eligible readers.

He died in Reno on March 23, 2001. In honor of Laxalt, the Nevada State Library and Archives was dedicated as Nevada's first Literary Landmark on Nevada Day, October 31, 2003. The Literary Landmarks Register is a program of Friends of Libraries USA. The first annual Robert Laxalt Distinguished Writer's Program was held at the Reynolds School of Journalism at the University of Nevada, Reno in February 2004. In 2007, Sweet Promised Land was selected for the University's summer reading program, with a copy provided to all new freshmen.

Bibliography for Robert Laxalt

Novels:

The Basque Hotel. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1989. (The Basque Series) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, and Great Basin College, Elko: PS 3562 .A9525 B3 1989]

Basque Hotel : nacido en America [Spanish translation]. Donostia: Ediciones Ttarttalo, 2007. Available: Mathewson-IGT Library's Basque Library: PS 3562 .A9525 .B318 2007

"The Basque Hotel (excerpt)." in Glotfelty, Cheryll, ed. Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, its Special Collections; Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008]

The Basque Hotel [sound recording]. Narrated by David L. Ridings. [Available: Nevada State Library and Archives. Nevada Talking Book Services: NVA 01042]

The Child of the Holy Ghost. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1992. (The Basque Series) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, and Great Basin College, Elko: PS 3562 .A9525 C48 1992]

A Cup of Tea in Pamplona. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1985. (The Basque Series, reprint ed., 2001) (Basque title: Kafea hartzea Irunean, 1986) [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3562 .A9525 C8 1985; UNR Basque Collection: PS 3562 .A9525 C812 1986]

Dust Devils. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1997. (Western Literature Series) (Braille ed., 2000) [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3562 .A9525 D8 1997]

Dust Devils [braille]. Washington, D.C.: National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, Library of Congress, 2000. (National Braille Press, transcribing agency; distributor.)

Dust Devils [sound recording]. Washington, D.C.: National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, Library of Congress, 2000. [Available: Nevada State Library and Archives. Nevada Talking Book Services: RC 49479]

The Governor's Mansion. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1994. (The Basque Series) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 3562 .A9525 G68 1994]

The Governor's Mansion [sound recording]. Narrated by David L. Ridings and Lloyd Enos. [Available: Nevada State Library and Archives. Nevada Talking Book Services: NVA 01072]

"It's a Christmas Tree," excerpt from The Basque Hotel," in Cafferata, Patricia D., ed. Christmas in Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2014; pp. 67-70. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: GT 4986 .N37 C34 2014]

A Man In the Wheatfield. NY: Harper & Row, 1964. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 3562 .A9525 M3 1964]

Time of the Rabies. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2000. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 3562 .A9525 T56 2000]

Short Stories:

"After Midnight"

"Basque Hotel" in Haslam, Alexandra R. and Gerald W. Haslam, eds. Where Coyotes Howl and Wind Blows Free: Growing Up in the West. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1995. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library and its Special Collections; and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 561 .W54 1995]

"The Basque Troubador." Atlantic Monthly (Oct. 1963): pp. 136, 138-139.

"Black Wallace"

"A Blanket for Jenny." Blue Book Magazine

"The First Snow." Reno Gazette-Journal (Dec. 23, 1984), pp. E1-2. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09, Robert Laxalt papers]

"From a Balcony in Paris." Cosmopolitan Vol. 157, no. 2 (Aug. 1964): pp. 70, 72-75.

"From a Balcony in Paris." Short Story International (1965)

"From a Balcony in Paris," in The River Underground: An Anthology of Nevada Fiction. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2001. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 R58 2001]

"The Herd Stalker." Blue Book Magazine (1951?)

"The Hollow"

A Lean Year, and Other Stories. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1994. (Western Literature Series) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, its Special Collections; and Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, and Great Basin College, Elko: PS 3562 .A9525 L43 1994]

  • Crossroaders
  • The First Snow
  • Guest of Honor
  • The Gun
  • A Lean Year
  • The Murderer
  • Night Ride
  • Old Button
  • Valley of the Deer
  • Wine

A Lean Year, and Other Stories [sound recording]. Narrated by Richard Wagner. [Available: Nevada State Library and Archives. Nevada Talking Book Services: NVA 01070]

"The Lieutenant's Uncertainty"

"Mercy and the Soldier"

"Mountain Meadow"

"The Ol' Nigger"

"Pete's American Christmas." Reno Gazette-Journal (Dec. 21, 1986), p. C1. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09,  Robert Laxalt papers]

"The State Prison War"

"The Test"

"Tom Peasley"

"The Violent Land" weekly serialization in Las Vegas Review Journal (1953)

The Violent Land: Tales the Old Timers Tell. Reno, NV: Nevada Pub. Co., 1953. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3562 .A9525 V56 1953 and PS 3562 .A9525 V56 2015]

The Violent Land: Tales the Old Timers Tell [sound recording]. Narrated by Lloyd Enos. [Available: Nevada State Library and Archives. Nevada Talking Book Services: NVA 01053]

"Wounded Lion." Bluebook (June, 1955), pp. 32-38. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: 85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

Nonfiction:

(Incomplete entries are from undated newspaper clippings in the Robert Laxalt Papers. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: 85-09, Robert Laxalt papers]

"Alex Fleming's Revenge"

"Basque Sheepherders: Lonely Sentinels of the American West." National Geographic. (June 1966) Vol. 129, no. 6, pp. 870-888. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Basque Library: E 184 .B15 L25]

"The California Trail: To the Rainbow's End." in Trails West. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society,1979. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: F 591 T684; and Great Basin College, Elko, NV]

"Chillida at Gernika: Birth of a Monument, 'Gureaitaren etxea,' 'Our Father's House." La Jolla, CA: Tasende Gallery, 1988. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Basque Library and Special Collections: N 7113 .C555 A4 1988] (Exhibition catalog, with text by Robert Laxalt)

Clark, Walter Van Tilburg. The City of Trembling Leaves. New York: Random House, 1945. (Western Literature Series) Foreword by Robert Laxalt. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PS 3505 .L376 C5 1991]

"The Colonel's Bravery"

"The Coming of March"

"Copies of Laxalt Book Now Available." Elko Free Press (Nov. 8, 1977)

"The Dancer and the Debonair Desperado." The American Weekly (Aug. 13, 1950), pp. 18-19. [Available: Special Collections]

"Death Valley: Nature at the Limits." National Geographic Traveler. (Autumn 1986) Vol. III, no. 3, pp. 54-63.

"Down to his last million." The American Weekly (April 13, 1952)

"E-Sah-Daw's Love"

"Edjacated Injun"

"El Dorado Johnny"

"The Enduring Pyrenees." in National Geographic. (1974) Vol. 146, no. 6, pp. 794-819. [Available: Knowledge Center: G 1 N27 1974; UNR Basque Collection: DC 611 .P986 L39 1974]

"Farmer Peel"

"Foreword" to McElrath, Jean S. Aged in Sage. [Wells?, NV: Recorder, 1964]. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Basque Library and Special Collections, and Great Basin College, Elko: F 847 .E4 M2]

"Foreword" to Melton, Rollan. Nevadans. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1988. pp. xi-xiii. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Fallon, and Great Basin College-Elko: F845 .M45 1988]

"Foreword" to Nielson, Norm. Tales of Nevada, Vol. 2. Reno, NV: Tales of Nevada, 1989-1990. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 841.6 .N5 1989]

"Foreword" to Prosor, Larry. Nevada: Desert Lows & Mountain Highs: A Photo Essay. Truckee, CA: Fine Line Productions, 1994. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 842 .P76 1994]

"The Fortune Seekers (excerpt from Nevada: A History)." Nevada (Nov.-Dec., 1991), pp. 12-15? [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: Special Collections: F 836 .N3 1991; and its Government Publications: 29-T64N6: ; Western Nevada Community College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko]

"Forward" to Nielson, Norm. Tales of Nevada. Vol. 2. Reno, NV: Tales of Nevada, 1990. pp. iii-v. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: F 841.6 .N5 1989]

"Gambling Agent." The American Weekly (1952)

"The Gentleman Bandit"

"Golden Ghosts of the Lost Sierra." National Geographic. (Sep., 1973) Vol. 144, no. 3. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: G 1 N27 1973]

"The Horse Traders"

"The House That Gambling Built." Saturday Evening Post

In A Hundred Graves. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1972. (The Basque Series) (French Title: Portrait Basque, 1972) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 3562 .A9525 I5]

In a Hundred Graves, a Basque Portrait / Portrait basque. [French edition]. [France? : Editions Autrement, 2001]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Basque Library: PS 3562 .A9525 I514 2001]

"In This Corner." Reno Pace (October, 1952), pp. 12-13, 19. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09, Robert Laxalt papers]

"In Tribute." Program for dedication of the Grace Bordewich School. Carson City, Nevada. (Sept. 25, 1974)

"Indians of Mystery: The Anasazi of the Southwest." Vista USA (1980). [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09, Robert Laxalt papers]

"The Indomitable Basques." National Geographic. (Jul., 1985) Vol. 168, no. 1. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: G 1 N27 1985]

"Julie Bulette"

Knudtsen, Molly Flagg. Here Is Our Valley. Reno: College of Agriculture, University of Nevada, 1975, 1985. Preface by Robert Laxalt. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library and Special Collections, and Great Basin College-Elko: F 847 .G7 K85 1985]

The Land of My Fathers: A Son's Return to the Basque Country. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2000. (The Basque Series; photographs by Joyce Laxalt) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: DC 611 .B319 L39 2000]

"Land of the Ancient Basques." National Geographic. (August 1968) Vol. 134, no. 2, pp. 240-277. [Available: Knowledge Center: G 1 N27 1974; UNR Basque Collection: DP 302 .B467 L383]

"Las Vegas Building Permits Up." (January 27, 1954), p. 7.

"Last of a Breed -- The Gauchos." National Geographic (Oct., 1980) Vol. 158, no. 4, p. 478. [Available: Knowledge Center: G 1 N27 1980]

"Last of a Breed -- The Gauchos." Reader's Digest (April, 1982) Portuguese ed. and all other international editions.

"Massacre Story"

McDonald, Leola, ed. "Joyce Nielsen Announces Troth." in ____ "Clubs & Society" section (Jan. 9, 1949). [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09, Robert Laxalt papers]

Melton, Rollan. Nevadans. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1988. Foreword by Robert Laxalt. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Fallon, and Great Basin College-Elko: F 845 .M45 1988]

"Mother's Day [editorial]." The Sixth Grade Chatter. (May 10, 1935) Carson City, Nevada: [Carson City School] [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections:85-09, Robert Laxalt papers]

Nevada. NY: Coward-McCann, 1970. (States of the Nation series, 36) Consultant: Dr. Wilbur Shepperson, Chair, Dept. of History, University of Nevada, Reno) [Available: Knowledge Center: F 841.3 .L38 1970; Great Basin College, Elko]

Nevada: A Bicentennial History. NY: Norton, 1977. (States and the Nation series) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: F 841 .L39; new ed.: F 841 .L39 1991]

Nevada [sound recording] : a Bicentennial History. Washington, D.C.: NLS, 1980. [Available: Nevada State Library and Archives. Nevada Talking Book Services: RC 15017]

"Nevada's Gambling Spies." Everybody's Digest (Dec. 16, 1952?)

"Nevada's Heart? In the Small Counties Says Laxalt." Nevada State Journal (Oct. 26, 1977), p. 16.

"Nevada's Undercover Gambling Spies." The American Weekly (Dec. 16, 1951?), pp. 6-7.

"New Mexico: The Golden Land." National Geographic. (Sep., 1970) Vol. 138, no. 3, pp. 299-346. [Available: Knowledge Center: G 1 N27 1974]

"New Mexico's Mountains of Mystery." National Geographic. (1978) Vol. 154, no. 3, pp. 416-436. [Available: Knowledge Center: G 1 N27 1974]

"The Other Nevada." National Geographic (June, 1974) Vol. 145, no. 6., p. 733-761. [Available: Knowledge Center: G 1 N27 1974]

"The Other Nevada," in Bet on Nevada for Recreation (portfolio). Carson City, NV: Dept. of Economic Development, 1970-1975?

"The Perfect Squelch." Saturday Evening Post (Jan. 1, 1955) Vol. 227, no. 31, p. 72.

"Pity the Poor Gambler." Bluebook (April, 1954) [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: 85-09, Robert Laxalt papers]

"Preface" for Knudtsen, Molly. Here Is Our Valley. Reno: College of Agriculture, University of Nevada, 1985; pp. vii-viii. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and Great Basin College-Elko: F 847 .G7 K85 1985]

"The Princess Who Was a Peacemaker." [re. Sarah Winnemucca]

A Private War: An American Code Officer in the Belgian Congo. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1998. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: D 810 .S8 L395 1998]

"Riddle of the Golden Ledge." The American Weekly (June 29, 1952), pp. 10, 29. [Available: Special Collections]

"Sam Brown's Humiliation"

"The Siege of Como"

"Spurs That Jingle." Reno Pace (November, 1952), pp. 8, 18-19. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09, Robert Laxalt papers]

"Stagecoach Robbers, Inc."

Sweet Promised Land. NY: Harper, 1957. (Basque title: Dominique : artzain xiberotar bat Nevadan, 1988; French title: Mon Pere etait Berger, 1972) (The Basque Series) [Available: Knowledge Center: UNR Basque Collection: E 184 .B15 L314] (German ed., 1959; and Spanish ed., 2000?); audiocassette ed.: Books on Tape, 1987)

Sweet Promised Land. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2007. (The Basque Series, 50th Anniversary Edition). New foreword by Ann Ronald. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections & circulating collection: E 184 .B15 L3 2007; Basque Library E 184 .B15 L3 2007; Great Basin College, Elko; Western Nevada Community College, Carson City]

Sweet Promised Land [sound recording]. Narrated by David Barrett. [Available: Nevada State Library and Archives. Nevada Talking Book Services: NVA 01055]

"Sweet Promised Land (excerpt)." Tropical Retirement (July 1981)

"The Thin Line"

A Time We Knew: Images of Yesterday in the Basque Homeland. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1990. (The Basque Series) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: DP 302 .B46 A4 1990]

"Trail Riders of the Storied Superstitions" Wilderness, USA. Washington, D.C. National Geographic Society, 1973; pp. 119-131. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: QH 76 N26]

"Twentieth Century B.C.?" Reno Pace (February, 1953), pp. 13, 24-26. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Special Collections: 85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

"Unconquerable Chasm: Exploring the Grand Canyon." National Geographic Traveler (Spring 1984) Vol. I, no. 1.

"Walter Van Tilburg Clark." Silver & Blue (October 1992), pp. 12-14.

"Waubuska Mangler"

"We Could Make Such Beautiful Mayonnaise Together." Mademoiselle (May 1962) Vol. 55, pp. 78, 83, 88. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: AP 2 M2334 1962]

"What Has Wide-Open Gambling Done to Nevada?" The Saturday Evening Post (Sept. 20, 1952) Vol. 225, pp. 44-45+. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: AP 2 .S2 1952]

Wheeler, Sessions S. Tahoe Heritage: The Bliss Family of Glenbrook, Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1992. Foreword by Robert Laxalt. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: F 868 .T2 W48 1992]

"White Man Justice"

Newspaper Writings:

Nevada Appeal (Carson City, Nevada) editorials:  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center Microform N0041]

  • Celebration In Moderation (Nov. 13, 1953), p. 6
  • Hear the Town Blow (Nov. 18, 1953), p. 6
  • Money Brings Money (Nov. 17, 1953), p. 6
  • Tourists Just Ain't Clairvoyant (Nov. 16, 1953), p. 6
  • Tales the Old Timers Tell [column]

Nevada State Journal (Reno, Nevada) articles: [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09, Robert Laxalt papers; and online via the NewspaperArchive database]

  • Bank-Bandit Bayless 'Cased' First National (Feb. 14, 1952?) p. 14
  • Leviathan Mine Is a 'Buttonhook' Project with Plenty of Problems (1953) p. 6
  • Redfield Has Bitter Taste of Notoriety (March 4, 1952)
  • Reno's Hotel Holding Will Stress Bird Shooting, Not Crap Shooting (June 25?, 1955?) pp. 5,9
  • Robbins Cahill, Nevada's Gambling Chief, Got Into Things He Didn't Expect (Aug. 8, 1951), p. 2
  • A Son's Tribute to His Mother (May 12, 1978), [p. 1]
  • Tales the Old Timers Tell [column] Reno, Nevada. (1948-1950)

Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, Nevada) editorials:

  • Epitaph might read: Benedict Arnold, Patriot [Heritage '76 column] (1976)

Wall Street Journal: [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm N4]:

  • AEC opens construction bids June 22
  • Air Base Construction Awards (June 23, 1953), p. 3
  • Airport Purchase Up in the Air (1952?)
  • Anaconda Copper Co. has announced awarding of $2,500,000 contract to WEICHMAN & PROBASCO CONSTRUCTION of Reno for a housing project at Yerington, Nev.
  • Anaconda to start building Nevada copper mining project soon
  • Are gambling debts collectible under court order in Nevada? (1949)
  • Basic Refractories Fires Giant Kiln (Dec. 26, 1950)
  • Batteate Livestock Buys Nevada Firm
  • Bell of Nevada denied rate hike
  • Bell of Nevada to Appeal
  • Bill for insurance investments pondered
  • Black Rock Production Peak
  • B.M.I. Negotiations Completion Seen (Jan. 2, 1952), p. 12
  • B.M.I. Offer gets Tentative Okey"
  • B.M.I. Sale Discussions Friday (Sept. ?)
  • B.M.I. Sale Discussions Today
  • B.M.I. Sale Near Conclusion
  • Bonanza Air Lines (Las Vegas, Nev.)
  • Calumet & Hecla Mining Co. of Michigan has announced plans for development work on the old King of Tonopah mine shaft near here
  • Combined Metals Reduction Co., Pioche, Nev., plans to construct 100 new homes ...
  • Comstock Short Line Abandonment
  • Construction is slated to start next month on a $500,000 resort-hotel in Las Vegas, Nev.
  • Construction will get underway within 30 to 60 days on a new Las Vegas, Nev., branch of the First National Bank of Nevada
  • Construction work is slated ... to be known as Pat O'Brien's Desert Spa in Las Vegas
  • Construction work is slated to get under way May 1 on a $4 million development program at the Reno Municipal Airport
  • Construction work is underway in Henderson, Nev., on a $250,00 [sic] plant building for the Henderson Telephone Co.
  • Contract work on Kennecott Copper pit
  • Converting mill for tungsten concentrates (May 23, 1951)
  • Copper Canyon Mine Closes
  • Copper Canyon Ups Production
  • County Loses Claim for $300,000 Annual Payment for Hoover Dam
  • County seeks Hoover Dam income
  • Douglas Aircraft Co. of Santa Monica, Calif., has awarded a $2,500,000 contract to Nevada Air Products Co. of Reno for assembling rudders, horizontal stabilizers and center wing flaps (1951)
  • Douglas Options U. S. Steel Building in Los Angeles
  • Electro-Metals' Construction Plans
  • Elko County Telephone & Telegraph Co. has announced pending sale of its facilities in Eastern Nevada to the California-Pacific Utilities Co.
  • Eureka Corp. has announced a $3 million development program at its Fad shaft operation near Eureka, Nev.
  • Federal Homes Development Corp. of Los Angeles has announced that construction will be underway before December on 650 new homes in the Hyde Park subdivision of Las Vegas ...
  • Firms submit bids for B.M.I. facilities
  • First National Bank of Nevada, Las Vegas branch (1952)
  • $4 million in public buildings for Nevada
  • Gambling gains in Nevada reflect flourishing tourist trade and inflation (1951)
  • Gambling Increases in Nevada (1948?)
  • Gambling Licenses Denied
  • Getchell Mine, Inc., reports gross income amounting to $2,787,806.44 for its 1952 year (1953)
  • Golden Hotel in Reno, Nev., has been purchased by William and James H. Tomerlin ...
  • Gould buys Fluorspar Mine Interest
  • Harvey Machine Co. to Build New Plant
  • Hercules stops Nevada building
  • Homestake and Summit King start mining in Tonopah
  • Hoover Dam generator acquisition
  • Hoover Dam $4 million installation
  • Hoover Dam power tax suit (1949)
  • Hoover Dam Tax Hearing
  • Hotel owner Sanford Adler has announced purchase of the Tahoe Biltmore resort ...
  • Husite Corp., subsidiary of Hughes Aircraft Co. of Culver City., Calif., has announced acquisition of a land tract near Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Institutes Training Program
  • Kaiser Aluminum Seeks Electric Power
  • Kaiser's Fluorspar Mill Opens (1952)
  • K-F Head Terms Net Prospects 'Promising' (1951)
  • Kennecott plans $14 million project
  • Kennecott workers' wage demands (Aug. 24, 1949)
  • Lake Mead to reach 1,201 feet (195?)
  • Las Vegas Building Permits Up (January 27, 1954), p. 7
  • Las Vegas Building Rises (1952)
  • Lassen Lumber & Box, Inc., will transfer its assets at Susanville, Calif., to the Fruit Growers Supply Co. prior to Nov. 30
  • Lassen National Forest Timber Sold
  • Lassen Newspaper Sold
  • Lippencott Lead Co. has announced plans for construction of a $250,000 lead-silver plant in the Bonnie Claire district of Nye County, Nevada
  • Manganese, Inc., has announced start of construction work on railroad sidings extending to the Union Pacific Railroad main line near Boulder City, Nevada (June 26, 1952)
  • Manganese, Inc., to Build New Plant
  • Manganese, Inc., to Rebuild Mill
  • Manganese Operations Start in July
  • Manganese Pilot Plant in Operation
  • McNeil Construction Co. has announced commencement of construction work ... (June 26, 1951)
  • Mineral Materials Co. (July 23, 1951)
  • Mineral Materials Co. of Alhambra, Calif., has announced that shipping will begin within the next two months of iron ore mined near Lovelock, Nevada
  • Mineral Materials Cutback (195?)
  • Mines in Nevada Increase (1952)
  • National Lead Co. announced its new titanium treating plant at Henderson ...
  • National Lead Co. is considering production of titanium metal at Henderson ...
  • National Lead Conversion job awarded
  • Negotiate to sell Flamingo Hotel
  • Nevada Acts to Ban Horse Books (Jan. 31, 1952), p. 10
  • Nevada Air Products Co-announced that production work will get under way ... in Reno
  • Nevada Bell appeals rate case
  • Nevada Biennial Operations Costs (1953)
  • Nevada Bomb Site Road Bids Asked
  • Nevada cigarette tax receipts (Dec. 26, 1950)
  • Nevada Copper Output Offsets Gold, Silver, Zinc Declines (1954?)
  • Nevada Counties Resume Standard Time
  • Nevada court rebuffs Bell Telephone (195?)
  • Nevada Employment at High (July 1950?)
  • Nevada Employment Gains 1,450
  • Nevada Employment Gains 2%
  • Nevada Employment Hits Peak (1952)
  • Nevada Employment Increases
  • Nevada Employment Security Department
  • Nevada Farm Prices Dropping
  • Nevada Gambling Debts Uncollectable
  • Nevada Generating Plant Discussion (Dec. 31, 1952)
  • Nevada iron ore for Japan (1952)
  • Nevada Iron to Japan (1953?)
  • Nevada is toying with the idea of legislating its first income tax
  • Nevada Joins Colorado Water Dispute
  • Nevada Legislators Study Sales Tax
  • Nevada lowers state tax rate (1951)
  • Nevada Magnesium Plant Contracts
  • Nevada may run an official state lottery of its own, to the tune of more than $8 million profit each year
  • Nevada may sell town site
  • Nevada Meat Packing Co., Inc., has announced the start of construction work on its new $200,000 plant near Reno
  • Nevada Mine Ruling (Aug. 12, 1949)
  • Nevada Mines Net $3,148,732
  • Nevada Mines Proceeds (1954?)
  • Nevada Phone Rate Suit
  • Nevada power discussions
  • Nevada Radio Television, Inc., reports that Reno's first television station will be in operation by September
  • Nevada ranch loans $4,800,000 (1951)
  • Nevada seeks third of Colorado power (Nov. 24, 1948)
  • Nevada Silver Production Down
  • Nevada Starts Road Program
  • Nevada Studies Steam Plant (November 21, 1952)
  • Nevada 'Taxers' study bookie ban (Feb. 25, 1952)
  • Nevada Test Well Abandonment (June 26, 1952)
  • Nevada to Buy Magnesium Plant (April 20, 1949)
  • Nevada to have record water supply
  • Nevada to keep seeking Shasta power (May 1, 1952)
  • Nevada to Stand by Betting Policy
  • Nevada to study gambling laws (1949)
  • Nevada Water Dispute Settled
  • Nevada Water Storage Low (1954)
  • Nevada Wool Growers Association
  • Nevada Zinc, Lead Output Down (March 6, 1952)
  • Nevada's Basic Magnesium Plant turned over to private industry (June 3, 1952)
  • Nevada's Shasta power request
  • Nevadans Seek Assessment Reform
  • New Magnesite Kiln (1949?)
  • New Sierra transmission line
  • New tungsten production planned
  • New Uranium Find in Nevada (Aug. 12, 1949)
  • Newmont Mining Corp.'s mill in Goldfield, Nev., will begin operations this month ...
  • Offers made for Henderson homes
  • Oil Firms Abandon Ely Test Well
  • Pasco Steel gets Titanium Unit Order
  • Phone Rate Hike Hearing is Set
  • Pioche Furnace Operating
  • Pioche Manganese installs furnaces
  • Project Construction Next Month
  • Reno Building Slumps
  • Reno Building Totals for 1952 were $6,280,180 (1953)
  • Reno buys Hubbard Air Field
  • Reno Council Votes for Lease Plan with United Air Lines
  • Reno Desert Inn, Inc., has announced plans for a $10 million resort hotel on Highway U. S. 395 leading into Reno, Nevada
  • Reno Firm gets Contract
  • Reno Grocer Co. and the W. I. Mitchell Co., two of Reno's largest wholesale grocery firms, have been purchased by Tiedemann & McMorran, Inc., of San Francisco
  • Reno hikes gambling taxes
  • Reno Marriage Count Up in 1951
  • Reno Newspapers, Inc., has announced the sale of radio station KWRN in Reno, Nevada, to Kenyon Brown of Wichita Falls, Texas
  • Reno-Sparks water rate hikes sought
  • Reno to weigh doubled gambling levy
  • Report from Nevada's Gambling Halls: 1949 Bets Setting Record (1949)
  • Ruling Upholds Nevada Bookies
  • Reservoir Capacity Seen
  • Sales tax probable in Nevada
  • Shasta Dam Power Withdrawal
  • Shasta Power Meeting Planned (Dec. 30, 1952)
  • Sierra Pacific gets rate hike (195?)
  • Sierra Pacific installs transformer
  • Sierra Pacific 1952 Construction (1952)
  • Simplot Estimates 1952 Ore Output (1952?)
  • Southern Nevada Telephone Co.
  • Spring runoffs into Lake Mead (1952)
  • State Briefs: Nevada's tax take from its legalized gambling industry is expected to reach a record high of over $2.1 in 1953
  • Stockman's Hotel in Elko, Nev., has been sold by R. C. Ellis ... and A. C. Bigham (1953)
  • Sulfur Shipments Slated
  • Tahoe Timber Co. of Hobart Mills, Calif., is transferring its operations to Reno
  • Tax Report: A Special Summary and Forecast (1953?)
  • Telephone Rate Increase Granted
  • Television station for Reno
  • Texas Firm gets Davis Dam Job
  • Texas Co. Wins Nevada Fee Test
  • $38 million hole (July 1952)
  • Titanium Henderson Output Underway
  • Titanium Metals Expansion (Oct. 2, 1952), p. 12
  • A $2 million resort hotel to be known as the Vegas Plaza is slated to be built in Las Vegas, Nev., this year
  • Titanium Metals Production Goal (Jan. 16, 1953?)
  • Titanium Metals Progress in Nevada
  • Truckee Lumber Co., Reno, has submitted the high bid for purchase of six million bound feet of timber in the Tahoe National Forest
  • Tungsten Mine to Close
  • Tungsten Mine Resumes Operations (1950)
  • U. A. L. wants to sell Reno Airport
  • U. P. Gets Water Company Purchase Bid
  • U. P. said ready to sell Las Vegas unit
  • United Air Lines agrees on lease schedule with Reno
  • United Minerals Corp. of Salt Lake City, Utah, has announced it will develop the former Rip Van Winkle mine in the Tuscarora area of eastern Nevada
  • Van Sooy Buys Carson City papers
  • Virginia City seeks water supply
  • Water stalls magnesium plant sale
  • Western Chemical seeks to expand (July 31, 1950)
  • Western Electro employment rises
  • Who's News - Management-Personnel Notes: Business & Industry
  • Winnemucca Mountain Mines Building

Biographical Resources & Critical Response

"A Fitting Tribute to a Nevada Writer." Reno Gazette-Journal (Oct. 18, 2005), p. A5. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Research Dept. Microfilm: N9j]

Abanda Zendoia, Gloria. "Robert Laxalt." (19 de enero de 1986). [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

Adler, Lee. "Nevada's gaming history traced." Reno Evening Gazette (Oct. 18, 1977), p. 15.

Allison, Bryan G. "Who came first? Bob Laxalt or Les the Barber?" Sagebrush (March 25, 1988), p. 5. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09.  Robert Laxalt papers; Research Microfilm: N0447; University Archives: LH 1 .U55 S784]

"Atxagak irabazi 'Euskadi' literatur sari autonomikoa." egin (Oct. 20, 1989), Vol. XIII, no. 4.049. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

"Author lauds better newspaper writing." Nevada State Journal (April 17, 1980), p. 12.

The Basque Hotel - Reviews

  • Allen, Bruce.
  • Cooke, Holly and Sarah Watson. Nevada Authors
  • Gish, Robert F. Silver & Blue (Fall 1991), p. 8.
  • Jones, Chad. "Laxalt's 'Basque Hotel' Compelling." Sagebrush. (Oct. 13, 1989): pp. 12, 15.
  • Publishers Weekly (July 21, 1989), p. 53. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1219 .P98 1989]

Beitia, Sara. "Basque, Condensed; A brief guide to Basque contributions to art and culture." Boise Weekly (July 27-Aug 2, 2005) Vol. 14, no. 4, p. 28.

"Better Watch Out! He May Put You in His Next Book." Nevada State Journal (Aug. 17, 1975), p. 48.

Biederman, Earl. "Executions Remembered." Nevada State Journal (Jan. 18, 1977), pp. 1-2 [Final edition]

"Bishop Green, Laxalts praise Franco move." Reno Evening Gazette (Dec. 30, 1970) [p. 1]-2.

Blanchard, Carrie. "If You Would Write, Then Read -- and Live, And Absorb People." Nevada State Journal (Nov. 14, 1976) p. 11.

Bortolin, Greg. "Prolific author, teacher and founder of University of Nevada Press, remembered." Nevada Silver & Blue (May/June 2001), p. 5

Burghart, D. Brian, comp. Reno Quiz: 100 Things Every Reno-Sparks Resident Should Know [Web page]

Cheney, Roberta. "From a Trunk: 40 Years of Nevada History. Alfred Doten Diaries Preserve a Robust Age."Nevada State Journal (Sept. 16, 1962), p. 12. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Cheney, Roberta. "WWA Hits Jackpot At Carson City." The Roundup. (August, 1975), Vol. XXIII, no. 8; pp. 1-2, 5.

Child of the Holy Ghost - Reviews

  • Baines, Bill. "Child of the Holy Ghost." Western American Literature (Winter, 1995), Vol. XXIX, no. 4: pp. 388-389. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 271 .W46 1995]
  • "Child of the Holy Ghost [Starred review*]." Publishers Weekly (September 21, 1992), p. 74. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1219 .P98 1992] *designates books of unusual interest and merit
  • Edwards, Jerome E. "Child of the Holy Ghost." Nevada Historical Society Quarterly. (1993) Vol. 36, no. 3. pp. 213-214. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: F 836 .N47; BGIC 29-H62 4:; Western Nevada College-Carson City: F 836 .N45]

Clifton, Guy. "Mick Laxalt, known for love of Nevada, family and friends, dies at Reno home." Reno Gazette-Journal (March 23, 2010), p. 3A.

Clifton, Guy. You Know You're a Nevadan If ... Reno, NV: Nevada Humanities Committee, 2002; p. 24. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 6231 .N3 C55 2002]

Cobb, Ty. The best of Cobbwebs. Reno: University of Nevada, Black Rock Press, 1997. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 841 .C62 1997]

Cobb, Ty. "Cobbwebs [column]." [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: Robert Laxalt Papers]

Contemporary Authors. Detroit: GaleResearch, 1975. Vols. 13-16. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Z 1224 .C61 and online via the Library web site's Gale Literature Resource Center database]

Contemporary Authors, New Revised Series. Detroit: GaleResearch, 1993. Vol. 38. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Z 1224 .C62 and online via the Library web site's Gale Literature Resource Center database]

"Continental Harmony Premiers in Northern Nevada." Nevada Arts News (September 2000) Nevada Arts Council, p. 5.

"'Cowboy' Writers to Meet." Nevada State Journal (June 19, 1975): p. 24.

"Cultura/Espectaculas." El Diario Vasco [San Sebastian]. (Oct. 20, 1989) [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09.  Robert Laxalt papers]

"David Rio presents first book on Robert Laxalt." Center for Basque Studies News Archive, University of Nevada, Reno (Spring 2002)

De Leon, Darcy. "UNR colleagues nominate Laxalt's book for Pulitzer." Reno Gazette-Journal (November 9, 1989), p. 3B.

Dolan, Bill. "History week in Carson City." Nevada Appeal (Nov. 1, 1989), p. C1.

"Dominique Laxalt." Reno Evening Gazette (Nov. 19, 1971), p. 4.

Douglass, William A. "History of the Basque Studies Program, 1867-1982." from The Basque Studies Program Newsletter, No. 27, May 1983.

Echeverria, Jeronima. "Basque Pioneer Women." Amerikanauk! Basques in the High Desert. The High Desert Museum. Idaho Humanities Council.

"Editor of diaries was novelist Clark." Reno Evening Gazette (April 5, 1975), p. 9. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Etulain, Richard W. and Jeronima Echeverria, eds. Portraits of Basques in the New World. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1999. (The Basque Series) [Available: Knowledge Center: F 596.3 .B15 P67 1999]

Etxeto [Family]. "Sweet Promised Land." [Web page]

"A Fine Article." Nevada Appeal (September 18, 1952), p. 6.

Ford, Jean; Glass, Betty J.; and Martha B. Gould, eds. Women in Nevada History: An Annotated Bibliography of Published Sources. [Reno]: Nevada Women's History Project, 2000. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections; Western Nevada College: HQ 1438 .N3 W66 2000]

"Friends Honor Robert Laxalt." Newsletter (Friends of the University Library, UNR). (March, 1982), Vol. II, no. 1; p. 1. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09.  Robert Laxalt papers]

Ghormley, Jackie. "Robert Laxalt likes his small press." Las Vegas Review-Journal (June 20, 197?): p. 36.

Glotfelty, Cheryll. "State Pieces in the U.S. Regions Puzzle: Nevada and the Problem of Fit" in Regionalism and the Humanities. Edited by Timothy R. Mahoney and Wendy J. Katz. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2008; pp. 237-250. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: E 179.5 .R44 2008]

"Gordon Lane [obituary]." Reno Gazette-Journal (November 28, 2010), p. A10.

Hammon, Amanda. "Agur, Robert Laxalt." Nevada Appeal (March 28, 2001)

Haraway, Fran (2006). Therese Laxalt. In: M. A. Duval (Ed). Skirts that Swept the Desert Floor: One Hundred Biographical Profiles of Nevada Women in History (pp. 112-113). Vol. 1. Las Vegas, NV: Stephens Press. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 840 .S65 2006]

Harper, Kate. "Regents Name Outstanding Nevadans - Distinguished Nevadans - Robert Laxalt." UNR Times. Vol. 1, no. 6 (May, 1984): pp. 2-3.

"Heroes or Bums? (editorial)" The Sparks Tribune (April 14, 1960), p. 6.

"Hilliard Bequest Will Fund Humanities Program." Nevada State Journal (June 22, 1972) p. 5. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

In A Hundred Graves - Reviews

  • Goyheneche, E. Gure Herria (Bayonne, France). (1976), [Vol.] 46, no. 3; pp. 191-192. [Available: Basque Library: Journal Stacks]

Jackson, Joe. "Clark completed huge history before death." Reno Evening Gazette (Nov. 13, 1971) p. 16. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Jones, Chad. "All about the University of Nevada Press, plus a raffle." Sagebrush (Nov. 6, 1987), p. 9. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09.  Robert Laxalt papers; Research Microfilm: N0447; University Archives: LH 1 .U55 S784]

Jones, Chad. "Other Voices: Red & Blue interviews Robert Laxalt." Red and Blue. Reno, Nevada: Reno High School, February 24, 1984: p. 3.

Jones, Chad. "Writing still a passion for Laxalt." Reno Gazette-Journal (September 19, 1989, p. 10, 14

Lambert, J. W. "Father and Son." London Times (Feb. 2, 1958)

Land, Barbara. "Author! Author! Laxalt, Clark first inductees in Nevada Writers Hall of Fame." Reno Gazette-Journal, pp. E1, 8.

Land, Barbara. "Book people (column): Peer into the brain of a pro writer." (June, n.d.)

Land, Barbara. "Book people (column): Press plans 1990 releases." Reno Gazette-Journal (June 25, 1989), p. C6.

Land, Barbara. "Laxalt earns honor for Basque writings." Reno Gazette-Journal (Jan. 8, 1986), p. D1.

Land, Barbara. "Midnight Writer." Silver & Blue (June 1992), pp. 21-24. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

LaPlante, Mimi. "University of Nevada Press ... A Scholarly Approach to Western Topics." Nevada State Journal(Sept. 25, 1968), p. 38. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

"Laxalt refuses to rest on laurels." Reno Gazette-Journal, pp. E1, 8.

Laxalt, Robert. "The Laxalts: Boxers In Spite of Themselves." 1974 Sierra Nevada Golden Gloves District Amateur Boxing Championships Souvenir Program. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

Laxalt, Robert. Papers, 1950-1985. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections:85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

Laxalt, Robert, ed. "Personals." The Sixth Grade Chatter. (April 12, 1935) Vol. 1. Carson City, Nevada: [Carson City School]. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

"Laxalt takes top job with JLH Direct Mail." Reno Gazette-Journal (February 20, 2006), p. E1.

"Laxalt to Research University Basque Studies Plan." Reno Evening Gazette (Aug. 10, 1965), p. 13.

Leonard, Jackie. "Robert Laxalt Returns From Literry Mission To the Basque Country." [Reno newspaper] (August 13, 1966)

LeRude, Warren. "Sierra East." Reno Evening Gazette (Sept. 12, 1964) [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: N9]

Library Board of Trustees' Meeting Agenda (April 20, 2005). Washoe County Library System [Nevada]

Lick, Sue Fagalde. The Iberian Americans. NY: Chelsea House, 1990. [Available:Knowledge Center: E 184 .S7 L53 1990]

Literary Reno: Writers and Places [video recording]. Reno, NV: Friends of Washoe County Library, 2004. (Readings by Marcelino Ugalde, as part of Artown 2004's literary walking tour) [Available: Knowledge Center, Multimedia Center: V12157]

McFarlane, Stephen. "From Laxalt's 'Greatest Generation' to the next 'Great Generation'." Nevada Silver & Blue (May/June 2001), p. 3.

McFarland, Ruby. Dayton Museum News [Story Chat]. 1/24/2007

Machado, Julie; Stephen Tchudi, and Sherl Landers-Thorman. Lifescapes Handbook: A guide for creating a writing program for senior citizens. Rev. Reno, Nevada: Washoe County Library System, 2006.

A Man in the Wheatfield - Reviews

  • Govan, Gilbert E. "Of Books and Writers." Times (Chattanooga, TN). (March 7, 1965)
  • "New Laxalt Novel Ignores Taboo." Nevada State Journal (Oct. 11, 1964): p. 30.
  • Smith, Roger. "'A Man in the Wheatfield' is news again." Gazette Journal (Aug. 26, 1979), p. B1.

Melton, Rollan. "Acknowledgments" in Nevadans. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1988; p. xviii. [Available: Knowledge Center: F845 .M45 1988 c. 2]

Melton, Rollan. "Good News [column]." Reno Evening Gazette. (Jan. 13, 1982), p. 17. (about Laxalt's "Gauchos of South America" article)

Melton, Rollan. "Laxalt gives former athletes 'Sweet' gift."

Melton, Rollan. "The literary lions abound in Nevada [column]."

Melton, Rollan. "One of the best free shows in town has to be the one at the Nevada Historical Society ... [column]." (June 1983) (about a Laxalt Family exhibit)

Melton, Rollan. "Robert Laxalt: Friend, Literary Great Remembered." 101 Nevada Columns. Reno, Nevada: Nevada Humanities Council, 2001. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 845 .M452 2001]

Melton, Rollan. " 26 noted authors at autograph party [column]."

Meger, Father Thomas. "A Message from Winnemucca Churches 'Sweet Promised Land'." Humboldt Sun (June 6, 1985)

Moreno, Richard. "A Man of Letters." Nevada Magazine (May/June, 1998): pp. 22-25. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: F 836 .N3 1998 and its Government Publications: 29-T64N 6: 58 1998; and Western Nevada College-Carson City, Nevada Collection: F 841 .N423 1998; GBC (Elko) Nevada Collection: F 841 .N423 1998]

Moreno, Richard. A Short History of Reno. 2nd ed. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2015. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and at Western Nevada College-Carson City: F 849 .R4 L35 2015]

Morrow, Joan D. "The Sheepherder's Son." Reno. Vol. 2, no. 2. (February, 1980), pp. 22-24. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

"Mrs. Laxalt: new pioneer." Reno Evening Gazette (May 12, 1978), p. 4.

"NEH Funds Western Tradition." Nevada Silver & Blue (Summer 1990), pp. 5-6.

Nevada: A Bicentennial History (States and the Nation Series, 1977) - Reviews

  • Chan, Loren B. Pacific Historical Review (Feb. 1980) Vol. 49, p. 145. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 851 P18 1980]
  • Furman, Necah Stewart. Arizona and the West. (Autumn 1978) Vol. 20, pp. 265-267. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 806 A69 1978]
  • Glass, Mary Ellen. Journal of American History. (June 1976) Vol. 65. pp. 185-186. [Available: Knowledge Center: E 171 .J87]
  • Pomeroy, Earl. Pacific Northwest Quarterly (April 19820 Vol. 73, pp. 62-65. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 852 .P23]
  • Rocha, Guy L. Idaho Yesterdays. (Spring, 1978) Vol. 22. pp. 30-31. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: F 741 .I32]
  • Shepperson, Wilbur S. Western Historical Quarterly. (July 1978) Vol. 9, pp. 353-354. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 591 A1 W36; Great Basic College, Elko, Nevada]

"Nevada author Robert Laxalt visits SVHS." Mason Valley News (May 17, 1985) [Available: Special Collections]

"Nevada Author Plans Basque Country Mission." Nevada State Journal (August 15, 1965), p. 16.

"Nevada Authors Meet the Public." Nevada State Journal (Oct. 6, 1954), p. 2.

"Nevada Basques Talk of Franco." Nevada State Journal (Dec. 31, 1970), p. 10.

Newman, Alex. "UNR Grad Returns to Tell Story." Reno Gazette-Journal (Oct. 20, 2005) pp. A1,4. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Dept. Microfilm: N9j]

"Notable books of 1964." The Booklist and Subscription Books Bulletin. p. 634.

Nuwer, Hank. "Last of a hardy breed." Dynamic Years (Nov-Dec, 1979), Vol. 14, no. 6; p. 7-10. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

O'Driscoll, Pat. "There's a lot to read on Nevada history." Nevada State Journal (July 3, 1976), p. A22.

Oliver, Merlyn. "University, Community Remember Robert Laxalt." Zephyr. (March 28, 2001) Reno, NV: Reynolds School of Journalism, Univ. of Nevada, Reno.

Osa, Mateo. "Robert Laxalt Oral History." from Oroitzapendaki: Voices from Basque America Project. Reno: Center for Basque Studies, University of Nevada, Reno, [n.d.]

"'The Other Nevada' of Robert Laxalt." Nevada State Journal (May 12, 1974)

Pacciorini. "Writer-in-residence Laxalt." Sagebrush (May 9, 1975): p. 7.

"Peter Dominique Laxalt [obituary]." Reno Gazette-Journal (March 23, 2010), p. A4.

Phillips, Hannah. "Laxalt: 'I fell in love with words.'" Nevada Appeal (Sept. 24, 1989), p. C1.

Pike, Deidre. "Homeland on the Range." Nevada Silver & Blue (Winter 2007), pp. 34-39.

"Pressing Need." Nevada State Journal (March 17, 1979), p. 4.

Pike, Diedre. "One Writer's Life." Reno News and Review. (April 5, 2001)

Reilly, Maureen. "Robert Laxalt, Writer, Son of Nevada, Directs Press." Las Vegas Sun (Feb. 18, 1973).

"Reno author nominated for article." Reno Evening Gazette (June 20, 1975): p. 8. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: N9]

Rio, David. "The Land of My Fathers: A Son's Return to Basque Country [review.] Nevada Historical Society Quarterly. (2001) Vol. 44, no. 2. pp. 175-178. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: F 836 .N47 2001; BGIC 29-H62 4:; Western Nevada College-Carson City: F 836 .N45 2001]

Rio, David. "Robert Laxalt: A Basque Pioneer in the American Literary West." American Studies International. (October 2003), Vol. 41, no. 3, pp. 60-81.

Rio, David. "Travels with My Royal: A Memoir of the Writing Life [review]." Nevada Historical Society Quarterly. (2004) Vol. 47, no. 2. pp. 158-159. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: F 836 .N47; its Government Publications: 29-H62 4:; Western Nevada College-Carson City: F836 .N45 2004]

Rio Raigadas, David. "Robert Laxalt's Sweet Promised Land: A Place to Come To." Basque Studies Program Newsletter (1996), no. 54.

Rio Raigadas, David. Robert Laxalt : la voz de los vascos en la literatura norteamericana. Bilbao : Universidad del País Vasco, Servicio Editorial/ Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea, Argitalpen Zerbitzua, [2002]. [Available: Knowledge Center: Basque Collection; PS 3562 .A9525 Z88 2002]

"Robert Laxalt." QuickSeek Encyclopedia

"Robert Laxalt dice ques el pastor vasco es uno de los prototipos del Oeste americano." El Correo Espanol-El Pueblo Vasco. (24 de mayo 1988), p. 13. [Available: Knowledge Center: Special Collections: 85-09. Robert Laxalt papers]

"Robert Laxalt Distinguished Writer's Program inaugurated." Center for Basque Studies News Archive, University of Nevada, Reno (Winter 2003-2004)

"Robert Laxalt Gets OPS Post." Nevada Appeal (Feb. 25, 1952), [p. 1] [Available: Special Collections]

"Robert Laxalt: Nevada's Writer (editorial)" Reno Gazette-Journal. (March 25, 2001). [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: N9]

"Robert Laxalt Oral History." from Oroitzapendaki: Voices from Basque America Project. Center for Basque Studies, University of Nevada, Reno.

"Robert Laxalt writes on Mother Lode for National Geographic." Reno Evening Gazette (Aug. 24, 1973): p. 13.

A Sheepherder's Son: Robert Laxalt. [videorecording] Reno, NV: Channel 5 Public Broadcasting, 1996. ( Nevada Experience, 706) (videocassette, 27 min.) Narrator: Travis Linn. [Available: Knowledge Center: Multimedia Center: V09305 and Basque Library Media PS 3562 .A9525 Z45 1996]

Shepperson, Wilbur S. Mirage-Land: Images of Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1992. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 841 .S54 1992; and at Western NV Community College, Carson City & Fallon; and Great Basin College, Elko]

Shipler, Guy. "Even his Resume Got him in Trouble." Silver & Blue (November/December 1993), pp. 28-33.

Shipler, Guy. Nevada: Golden Challenge in the Silver State: A Contemporary Portrait. Chatsworth, CA: Windsor Publications, 1990.

Shipler, Jr., Guy. "With the Tinkle of Bells [review]." New York Times (Dec. 2, 1957)

Skorupa, Susan. "A Lifetime of Stories." Reno Gazette-Journal. (Nov. 7, 1999), p. B1. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: N9]

Skorupa, Susan. "Photographer to lead off Laxalt Program." Reno Gazette-Journal.

Skorupa, Susan. "Robert Laxalt book chosen for Northern Nevada Reads." Reno Gazette-Journal (February 14, 2010), p. 5D.

Skorupa, Susan. "'Songs' of perseverance: In poetry, lawyer Bruce Laxalt confronts living with ALS." Reno Gazette-Journal (Feb. 7, 2006), pp. E1, 5.

Skorupa, Susan. "Urza's 'All That Followed' to debut at reception, signing." Reno Gazette-Journal (August 4, 2015), p. D2.

Skorupa, Susan. "Worldwide Literary Community to Gather in Reno." Reno Gazette-Journal (September 30, 2015), p. C1, C4.

Smith, Barry. "Remembering a remarkable newspaper correspondent." Nevada Press (May 2006), p. 4.

Sonner, Scott. "Nevadans remember, bid farewell to Robert Laxalt." Las Vegas Review-Journal (March 29, 2001)

Staff reports. "Laxalt writer program honors Lynch." Reno Gazette-Journal (October 22, 2013), p. C1.

"Storyteller." The Elko Independent (Oct. 25, 1989)

Supersano, Melanie. "40th Anniversary: University of Nevada Press Celebrates Years of Literary Success." Reno, NV: UNR Office of Communications, July 15, 2001.

Sweet Promised Land/Dominique (its French ed. title)- Reviews

  • Iparragirre, Pilar. "Dominique Artzain Xiberotar bat Nevadan." Punto y Hora de Euskal Herria (San Sebastian). Vol. 548, p. 61. [Available: Basque Library: Journal Stacks]
  • Rio, David. Western American Literature. Vol. 42, no. 4 (Winter 2008), pp. 448-449. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS PS 271 .W46]
  • Wickenden, Dan. "Old Man Goes Home, A Moving Chronicle." New York Herald Tribune (Sep. 22, 1957)
  • Williamson, Norma B. "Sweet Promised Land." National Review (Sep. 11, 1987). Vol. 39, no. 17, p. 70. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: Microfiche S30; and online via Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated patrons, only]

"Terese Laxalt." Nevada State Journal (May 12, 1978), p. 4.

Travels With My Royal: A Memoir of the Writing Life. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2001.(The Basque Series) Foreword by Cheryll Glotfelty. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 3562 .A9525 Z469 2001]

Trent, John. "New Robert Laxalt book chronicles 'Time of the Rabies.'" Nevada Silver & Blue (January/February 2001), p. 11.

Trent, John. "Robert Laxalt, 1923-2001: An Appreciation." Nevada Silver & Blue (May/June 2001), pp. 4, 6.

Trimble, Stephen. "Finding yourself in nature - Great Basin Desert leads to contemplation, new view of world." Ventura County Star (CA). (February 20, 2000). [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated patons)

Trimble, Stephen. "Great Basin Desert Harbors Many a Secret." Contra Costa Times (Walnut Creek, CA) (November 28, 1999). [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated patrons]

"Two National Magazines Carry Feature Articles." Reno Evening-Gazette (Dec. 17, 1954), p. 6. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: N9]

"UNR: The 100th Commencement: 1947, 'I made some lifelong friends at UNR.'" Reno Gazette-Journal (May 17, 1990), p. E2.

"U. of N. Press Moves Up In Publications Field [Editorials]." Nevada State Journal (Sept. 21, 1966), p. 4.

Voices: Great Moments in Literature [video recording]. Reno, NV: MarkOne Video, 1993-1994. (2 videocassettes, 298 min.) Readings by various Nevada writers, recorded at Nightingale Concert Hall, University of Nevada, Reno, in 1993 and on Feb. 9, 1994. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: Multimedia Center, V04686]

Ward, John M. "DRI's Basque Studies Produce Exciting Results." Nevada State Journal (March 12, 1972), p. 48.

Wardleigh, Elva K. "Bob Laxalt Tells Of Nevada Writing." Elko Daily Free Press (April 20, 1964)

"Why journalistic undertakings must be transparent." RSJ Faculty Blog. Reno, NV: Reynolds School of Journalism, University of Nevada, Reno. (December 4, 2005)

Wong, Wayman. "Media Memos (column)." Reno Gazette-Journal (July 24, 1983), p. E6.

Woodward, Austin. "The Violent Land [review]." The Territorial Enterprise & Virginia City News (July 24, 1953)

The World Almanac Biographical Dictionary. New York: World Almanac, 1990. [Available: Knowledge Center: CT 103 .W66 1990]

"You Know You're a Nevadan If .." Reno Gazette-Journal (Jan. 28, 2003) p. E1, 3. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: N9]

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass.