Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Ellen Hopkins

Ellen Hopkins

Ellen HopkinsEllen Hopkins – 2015 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame

From the time she was young, Ellen Hopkins loved the written word. Publication of her first haiku, at age nine, in the Palm Springs Desert Sun ignited the writing spark. Born and educated in California, she entered, and won, creative writing contests throughout high school. She began her career as a freelance writer, then worked as a reporter and editor for the Tahoe Truckee Reader from 1992-96  and later as editor and contributor for Northern Nevada Family from 2000-02. She has also been a contributor to the Reno Gazette-Journal. She was an instructor for the Institute of Children's Literature from 2000-03. During that time, she began focusing on children’s nonfiction, publishing 20 titles before switching to fiction. Concurrently, as a member of Carson City’s Ash Canyon Poets, she stoked her fire for poetry, growing her craft through exceptional critique. Her involvement with the regional Children's Book Writers and Illustrators group led to a meeting with a representative of Simon & Schuster, which published her first novel-in-verse, Crank, in 2004. Both one-word titles and free form verse fiction would become her trademarks. In 2006, she received the Friends of the University Libraries' Silver Pen Award and her young adult novel, Burned, was nominated for a National Book Award. In 2014, her YA novel Smoke was a runner-up finalist for the Teen Choice Book of the Year Award. In January 2014, TheatreWorks of Northern Nevada produced Flirting with the Monster, a stage adaptation of her award-winning and controversial first novel, Crank. To date, nine of her young adult novels-in-verse have been New York Times bestsellers. Her 12th novel is being published in November 2015. Characterized as a young adult phenomenon, her "breathtakingly raw" YA novels delve into tough subjects, such as addiction, religion, sexual abuse, and suicide. Her decision to pull no punches when dealing with real world problems has occasionally led to book-banning controversies in some school districts. Characteristically, her response was to write a poem for Banned Books Week about people seeking to force their values on others through censorship. Her books for adult readers touch on hot button issues like military deployment and its impact on both those deployed and those left behind. Hopkins uses social media to interact with her readers, crediting them for some of her writing ideas. In 2012, she and her younger daughter, Kelly Foutz, co-founded Ventana Sierra, a non-profit organization that helps at-risk youth with housing, medical care, and other necessary resources, including educational support and career guidance. She has lived near Carson City since 1990 with her extended family, two dogs, one cat, and two ponds (not pounds!) of koi.

 

Bibliography for Ellen Hopkins

Nonfiction Books

Air Devils: Sky Racers, Sky Divers, and Stunt Pilots. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2000.

All for Our Country: Check Out Nevada! Carson City, NV: Juniper Creek Publishing, 2003.

Are We Alone? The Case for Extraterrestrial Life. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2003. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: QB 54 .H665 2004]

Canopies in the Clouds: The Rainforest. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2002.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: QH 541.5 .R27 H654 2002]

Countdown to Yesterday. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2002. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: QE 28.3 .H675 2002]

Fly Fishing. Mankato, MN: Capstone high-Interest Books, 2002.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: SH 456 .H67 2002]

Fly Fishing. Revised edition. Mankato, MN: Edge Books, 2008.

Freshwater Fishing. Mankato, MN: Capstone Press, 2002.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: SH 445 .H67 2002]

Freshwater Fishing. Revised edition: Mankato, MN: Edge Books, 2008.

The Golden Knights: The U.S.. Army Parachute Team. Mankato, MN: Capstone Press, 2001.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: UD 483 .H67 2001]

Inside a Star. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2004.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: QB 801.7 .H675 2004]

Into the Abyss: A Tour of Inner Space. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2001. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: GC 65 .H58 2001]

Lights in the Sky. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2004.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: QB 46 .H675 2004]

Mysteries in Space. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2004. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: QB 983 .H675 2004]

Orcas: High Seas Supermen. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2000.

Storming the Skies: The Story of Katherine and Marjorie Stinson, Pioneer Women Aviators. Greensboro, NC: Avisson Press, 2004. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TL 540 .S827 H67 2004]

Tarnished Legacy: The Story of the Comstock Lode. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2001.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 849 .V8 H67 2001]

Telescopes: Exploring the Beyond. Logan, IA: Perfection Learning, 2004.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: QB 88 .H735 2004]

The Thunderbirds: The U.S.. Air Force Aerial Demonstration Squadron. Mankato, MN:  Capstone Press, 2001. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: UG 633 .H627 2001]

United States Air Force. Crystal Lake, IL: Heinemann Library, 2003. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: UG 633 .H6273 2004]

United States Air Force Fighting Vehicles. Crystal Lake, IL: Heinemann Library, 2003.

United States Special Operations Forces. Crystal Lake, IL: Heinemann Library, 2003.

Articles, Editor, Poetry & Reviews

"Banned Books Week 2010: An Anti-Censorship Manifesto." Huffington Post. The Blog. (posted 9/30/2010)

"Beyond Reindeer." The New York Times Book Review (December 7, 2014), Arts and Entertainment, p. 33(L). Review of Perkins, Stephanie, ed. My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories. [Available via Literature Resource Center for UNR-affiliated users]

"Dry Spell (poem excerpt)." Wikipedia

"Introduction" for Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass. Co-edited with Leah Wilson. Dallas, TX: Benbella Books, 2009.

"Introduction: To Twilight or Not to Twilight," for A New Dawn: Your Favorite Authors on Stephenie Meyer's Twilight Series. Dallas, TX: BenBella Books, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3613 .E979 Z79 2008]

"Manifesto (poem broadside)." Simon & Schuster, 2009; in Huffington Post's The Blog (9/30/2010).

"National Poetry Month: Guest Post from Ellen Hopkins: Painting the Verbal Landscape." Write All the Words! (April 25, 2015). Column includes three poems: Ghosts, Call to Love, and The Significance of 26

A New Dawn: Your Favorite Authors on Stephenie Meyer's Twilight Series. Co-editor with Leah Wilson. Ann Arbor, MI: Borders, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3613 .E979 Z79 2008]

"Why do we celebrate bullying?" in Dear Bully: 70 Authors Tell Their Stories. New York: Harper Teen, 2011. Megan K. Hall and Carrie Jones, eds.; pp. 1-6.

Novels and Stories

"Before the Rose Bloomed: A Retelling of The Snow Queen," in Grim. Ontario, Canada: Harlequin Teen, 2014. Christine Johnson, ed.; pp. 165-199. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 648 .F3 G75 2014]

Burned. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2006. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City: PZ 7 .H7747 Bu 2006]

Burned. [audiobook]. HighBridge, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PZ 7 .H7747 Bu 2008]

Collateral: a novel. New York, NY: Atria Books, 2012. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3608 .O647]

Collateral [audiobook]. Recorded Books.

Crank. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2004. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PZ 7 .H7745 Cra 2004b]

Crank. New York, NY: Simon Pulse, 2004. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PZ 7 .H7745 Cra 2004]

Crank [audiobook]. HighBridge, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PZ 7 .H7745 Cra 2008]

Crank: Cronaca di una dipendenza [Italian translation]. Traduzione di Velia Februari. Roma: Fazi Editore, 2011. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PZ 7 .H774518 Cra 2011]

Fallout. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2010. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PZ 7.5 .H67 Fal 2010]

Fallout [audiobook]. (2016 release).

Flirting with the Monster [stage adaptation of Crank]. with Holly Natwora. Nevada,  [2013?].

Glass. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderderry Books, 2007. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PZ 7.5 .H67 Gla 2007]

Glass [audiobook]. Highbridge, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 Gla 2008]

Identical. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 Ide 2008]

Identical. High Bridge Audiobooks, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 Ide 2008b]

Impulse. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2007. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PZ 7 .H7747 Imp 2007]

Impulse [audiobook]. Highbridge.

"Initiation," in One Death, Nine Stories. (audiobook). Aronson, marc and Charles R. Smith, Jr., eds. Somerville, MA: Candlewick Press, 2014. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 648 .S5 O534 2014]

"Initiation," in One Death, Nine Stories. Aronson, marc and Charles R. Smith, Jr., eds. Somerville, MA: Candlewick Press, 2014.

Love Lies Beneath. New York: Atria Books, 2015. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3608 .O647 L68 2015]

Love Lies Beneath. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Cengage Learning, 2015. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3608 .O647 L68 2015b] Large print edition.

"My Name is Lisa," in Breaking Up Is Hard To Do. Graphia/Houghton Mifflin, 2008.

Perfect. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2011. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PZ 7.5 .H67 Per 2011]

Perfect [audiobook]. New York: Simon & Schuster Audio, 2011. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 Per 2011b]

"Pretty, Hungry," in Does This Book Make Me Look Fat? New York: Clarion Books, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PZ 5 .D72 2008]

Rumble. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2014. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 Rum 2014]

Rumble [audiobook]. New York: Simon & Schuster Audio, 2014.

Smoke. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2015. [Available; Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 Sm 2015]

Smoke [audiobook]. New York: Simon & Schuster Audio, 2013. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 2013]

Tilt. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2012. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 Til 2012]

Tilt [audiobook]. New York: Simon & Schuster Audio, 2012. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 Til 2014]

Traffick. New York: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2015. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PZ 7.5 .H67 Tp 2015]

Traffick [audiobook]. New York: Simon & Schuster Audio.

Triangles: a novel. New York, NY: Atria Books, 2011. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3608 .O647 T75 2011]

Triangles [audiobook].

Tricks. New York, NY: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2009.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PZ 7.5 .H67 Tr 2009]

The You I've Never Known. New York: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 2017.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3608 .O647 Y685 2017]

Biography and Critical Response

Air Devils - Reviews

  • Book Report (November/December 2000)  [Available via Academic Search Premierfor UNR-affiliated users]
  • Booklist (July 2000), p. 2016
  • Kliatt (May 2000), p. 38

Alder, Phillip. "Get out of your partners way - Bridge." The Daily Ardmoreite (OK) (March 2, 2014), Section: News, p. 4A.  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Alter, Alexandra. "A Banned and Best-Selling Author." Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (September 12, 2013), p. D7.

Anonymous. "The Best, Notable, and Recommended from 2009." Teacher Librarian. Vol. 37, no. 4 (April 2010), pp. 8-21. [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Anonymous. "Ellen Hopkins - an interview, and a poem written just for Chicagoans." Chicago Examiner (September 24, 2012), Section: Chicago Culture & Events Examiner.  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Anonymous. "Ellen Hopkins reflects on ten years of writing YA with publication of 'Rumble.'" Entertainment Examiner (August 26, 2014), Section: Books.  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Anonymous. "Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival to feature best-selling authors." Gates-Chili Post (NY) (April 28, 2015), Section: News, p. 12.  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Anonymous. "Kids can vote for the Children's & Teen Choice Book Awards." Family & Home Examiner (March 24, 2014), Section: Education & Schools.  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Anonymous. "Macks Creek - Donors-Choose.Org makes reading dreams a reality." Lake Sun Leader (Camdenton, MO) (February 11, 2014), Region, p. 3. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Anonymous. " Over 900 Authors Sign Open Letter to Amazon." Publishers Weekly (August 6, 2014).

Anthony, Jason. "Deals." Publishers Weekly. Vol. 254, no. 8 (February 19, 2007). [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

"Banned Book Week, September 24-October 1, 2010: Crank." Marshall University Libraries (2011)

Bennett, Steve. "The most impactful books of 2013: The fiction, nonfiction, kids' books and poetry that marked the year." San Antonio Express-News (December 29, 2013), Section: Books, p. 4F. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Bernal, Dolores M. "Controversial element of proposed school book policy removed." The Middletown Transcript (DE) (January 15, 2015), Section: News, p. A11. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Bernal, Dolores M. "Proposed policy to restrict student access to reading material scrutinized, praised at board meeting." The Middletown Transcript (DE) (December 11, 2014), Section: News, p. A11.  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Bildner, Phil. " Texas: If You Can't Ban Books, Ban Authors." Time (September 29, 2010)

Breaking Up Is Hard To Do - Reviews

  • Kirkus Reviews (April 15, 2008) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Library Media Connection (March/April 2009), p. 76

Burned. FanFiction Archive

Burned - Reviews

  • Blogcritics (June 14, 2008)
  • Booklist (June 1, 2006), p. 62
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (June 2006), p. 455
  • Kirkus Reviews (April 1, 2006), p. 348 [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (August 28, 2006) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • School Library Journal (July 2006), p. 105  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Cohen, Natalie. "Young Adult Authors Highlight Bullying Forum." St. Louis Post-Dispatch (MO) (October 13, 2013), Fourth ed., A&E Section, p. D8. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Collateral - Reviews

  • Booklist (October 1, 2012), p. 30
  • Kirkus Reviews (October 1, 2012)  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Library Journal (June 15, 2012)  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Library Journal (September 15, 2012) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (September 10, 2012) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Conaghan, Brian. "Brian Conaghan's top 10 controversial teen books." The Guardian (Web edition). (April 16, 2015) [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Corbett, Sue.  "The Accidental Bestseller." Publishers Weekly (November 24, 2014).

Coreno, Annie. " The 2014 Listen-Up Awards: The Best Audiobooks of the Year." Publishers Weekly (January 30, 2015)

Crank - Reviews

  • About Entertainment
  • Booklist (November 15, 2004), p. 595
  • Kirkus Reviews (October 1, 2004), p. 96 [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Kliatt (September 2004), p. 21
  • Parental Book Reviews (Content Review, undated)
  • Publishers Weekly (November 1, 2004), p. 63
  • Publishers Weekly [Books in Spanish 2015] (April 17, 2015)
  • School Library Journal (November 2004), p. 145 [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Voice of Youth Advocates (April 2005), p. 14

"Ellen Hopkins." Contemporary Authors Online. Gale, 2013. [Available via: Literature Resource Center for UNR-affiliated patrons]

"Ellen Hopkins." Famous Authors.

Ellen Hopkins on Pinterest

Ellen Hopkins. TeachingBooks.net

"Ellen Hopkins" Wikipedia.

"Ellen Hopkins, Author of Nine New York Times Bestsellers, Signs Two-Book Deal With Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing." Children's Book Council. (March 11, 2015)

Ellen Hopkins Home Page

Fallout  - Reviews

  • Hollywood the Write Way (August 11, 2015)
  • Kirkus Reviews (August 1, 2010) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Library Media Connection (November/December 2010), p. 84
  • Publishers Weekly (August 16, 2010) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • School Library Journal (September 2010) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Flanigan, Kathy. " Author Ellen Hopkins helps give voice to Untold Stories at Alverno." Journal Sentinel. (March 1, 2015).

Flirtin' With the Monster - Review

  • Kirkus Reviews (April 1, 2009)

Flood, Alison. "Authors' boycott cancels Teen Lit festival after Ellen Hopkins 'disinvited'." the guardian (September 7, 2010)

Fly Fishing - Review

  • Horn Book Guide (Spring 2002), p. 166

Freshwater Fishing - Review

  • Horn Book Guide (Spring 2002), p. 166

Garcia, Monica. "Glimpses of Ellen Hopkins." The Montrose Daily Press (CO) (June 26, 2013), Section: News. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Glass - Reviews

  • Booklist (October 1, 2007), p. 45
  • Booklist (March 1, 2008), p. 12
  • Kirkus Reviews (July 15, 2007) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • New York Times (November 11, 2007), p. 46, Special Section
  • Publishers Weekly (August 13, 2007) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (September 10, 2007) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • School Library Journal (September 2007) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

The Golden Knights - Review

  • Horn Book Guide (Fall 2001), p. 393

Gross, Anisse. " A Side of Relish: Little Pickle Adds YA Imprint." Publishers Weekly (October 22, 2015).

Hiller, Jennifer. "Teen books tackle real world of abuse, drugs and bullying." San Antonio Express-News (October 27, 2013), Section: Books, p. 5F. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Hopkins, Ellen and Leah Wilson, co-editors. Flirtin' With the Monster: Your Favorite Authors on Ellen Hopkins' Crank and Glass. Dallas, TX:  Benbella Books, 2009.

Identical - Reviews

  • Booklist (January 1, 2009), p. 108
  • Kirkus Reviews (July 1, 2008) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Kirkus Reviews (December 1, 2008) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (July 7, 2008), p. 59 [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (September 15, 2008) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • School Library Journal (August 2008), p. 112 [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • teenreads (October 18, 2011)

Impulse - Reviews

  • Booklist (May 1, 2009), p. 94
  • Kirkus Reviews (December 1, 2006) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Library Media Connection (April 2007), p. 80
  • Publishers Weekly (January 22, 2007) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • School Library Journal (February 2007)
  • State Journal-Register (Springfield, IL) (October 1, 2013), p. 10   [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Italie, Leanne. "Books for parents, kids, teens on LGBTQ experience." The Chronicle (Goshen, NY) (June 28, 2014): Section: Local News. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Jensen, Kelly. " Beyond the Bestsellers: So You've Read Ellen Hopkins." BookRiot (January 20, 2014)

Kendall, Jennifer. " An Interview with Ellen Hopkins." About Entertainment.

Kuderick, Madeleine. "Madeleine Kuderick's top 10 books that explore mental health issues." The Guardian (Web edition). (January 15, 2015) [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Lee, Michele. "Interview with Ellen Hopkins." Monster Librarian. [2010]

Lodge, Sally. " Anthology to Compile Authors' Personal Stories About Bullying." Publishers Weekly (November 4, 2010).

Love Lies Beneath - Reviews

  • Book Passage (July 23, 2015)
  • Kirkus Reviews (April 22, 2015)
  • Mount Pleasant Daily Tribune (TX) (July 3, 2015), Section: News. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Sundance Books and Music [Book Launch]. (July 2015)

Menefee, Daniel. "Board of Education revises policy about controversial books - Appoquinimink School District." The Middletown Transcript (DE) (February 12, 2015), Section: News, p. A11. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Mills, Keri. "Back to reality: Books that tackle serious teen issues." The Manhattan Mercury (KS) (May 11, 2014), p. D3. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

One Death, Nine Stories - Review

  • Publishers Weekly (June 16, 2014)

Orcas - Reviews

  • Booklist (November 1, 2000), p. 528
  • Publishers Weekly [Children's Books for Spring listing] (February 14, 2000)

Pavao, Kate.  "Children's Bookshelf Talks with Ellen Hopkins." Publishers Weekly (August 9, 2007).

Perfect - Reviews

  • Booklist (August 1, 2011), p. 47
  • "Children's Fiction Bestsellers." Publishers Weekly (October 10, 2011). [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Kirkus Reviews (August 15, 2011) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Los Angeles Times (September 30, 2011)
  • Publishers Weekly (July 4, 2011) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • School Library Journal (August 2011) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • School Library Journal (January 2012) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Philpot, Chelsey. " YA Authors who Give Back, from John Green to Ellen Hopkins." School Library Journal (June 6, 2014)

Rumble - Reviews

  • Charleston Gazette (WV) (December 27, 2014), Section: FlipSide, p. P2C.  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Good Books & Good Wine (September 18, 2014)
  • Houston Chronicle (TX) (September 28, 2014), Section: Zest, p. 7.  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Kirkus Reviews (June 10, 2014)
  • The New York Times Book Review (November 9, 2014) Arts and Entertainment, p. 39(L)
  • Xpresso Reads (July 31, 2014)

Santina, Jessica. "Spun Tale: A Bestselling Novel by a Local Author Gets a New Stage Adaptation." Reno News & Review (January 23, 2014), p. 16+ [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Skorupa, Susan. "Teens & Dark Themes." Reno Gazette-Journal (November 23, 2009), p. C1. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Skorupa, Susan. "Writers Hall of Fame to Induct Ellen Hopkins." Reno Gazette-Journal (October 26, 2015), pp. A1, D1-2. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Smoke - Review

  • Booklist (July 1, 2013), p. 70
  • Chicago Examiner (September 21, 2013), Chicago Culture & Events Examiner [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Kirkus Reviews (April 10, 2013)  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly [Fall 2013 Sneak Previews listing] (February 25, 2013)
  • Publishers Weekly (January 6, 2014), p. 52
  • School Library Journal (September 10, 2013)  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Wisconsin State Journal (Madison) (December 14, 2014), Section: Sunday Best, p. E4.  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Springen, Karen. " What YA Publishers and Authors Can Do to Fight E-Book Piracy." Publishers Weekly (July 18, 2014)

Stockton, Shaina. "Which books can be excluded from library?" The Galax Gazette (VA) (March 5, 2014)  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

Storming of the Skies - Review

  • School Library Journal (May 2005), p. 152 [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Strickland, Ashley. "Children's Choice Book Awards: What your kids actually like to read." CNN Wire (May 13, 2014).  [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

TheatreWorks of Northern Nevada presents: A theatrical adaptation of Ellen Hopkins' CRANK, a teen novel about drug addiction, to premier in Reno in January 2014. TheatreWorks (December 10, 2013)

Thornton, Mathew. "Deals." Publishers Weekly. Vol. 255, no. 42 (October 20, 2008).  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

The Thunderbirds - Review

  • Horn Book Guide (Fall 2001), p. 393

Tilt - Reviews

  • Booklist (July 1, 2012), p. 63
  • The Horn Book Magazine (March-April 2013), p. 143
  • kidzworld (August 13, 2012)
  • Kirkus Reviews (August 1, 2012) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (July 30, 2012) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly [Spring Audiobooks 2014] (January 31, 2014)
  • School Library Journal (October 2012) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Traffick - Review

  • Kirkus Reviews (August 5, 2015)

Triangles - Reviews

  • Blogcritics (October 25, 2011)
  • Booklist (September 15, 2011), p. 26
  • Kirkus Reviews (November 15, 2011) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Library Journal (September 1, 2011)  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Library Journal (March 1, 2012)  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (April 11, 2011) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (August 22, 2011) [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Tricks - Reviews

  • Booklist (August 1, 2009), p. 62.
  • English Journal (January 2010), pp. 87-88.
  • Kirkus Reviews (July 1, 2009)  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Publishers Weekly (July 20, 2009)  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • School Library Journal (October 2009)  [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Teen Ink

Vanderslice, Stephanie. "Writer Ellen Hopkins to Be in Residence Feb. 17-18." Target News Service (February 3, 2015), Section: Education & Schools. [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]

 

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass