Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Dave Hickey

Dave Hickey (1940 - )

Dave Hickey (1940- )

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 2003

Dave HickeyEmail Address: Dave Hickey

Dave Hickey, recipient of a 2001 MacArthur Fellows Program "Genius Award," is recognized internationally as a critic of art and culture. He was born on December 5, 1940, in Fort Worth, Texas, and grew up in Texas and California, graduating from high school when he was 15. He obtained a BA from Texas Christian University in 1961 and an MA in linguistics from the University of Texas at Austin in 1963. In 1967, he and his first wife, Mary Jane Taylor, opened the A Clean Well-Lighted Place Gallery in Austin, Texas. They moved to New York City in 1971, where he became director for the Reese Palley Gallery, Executive Editor for Art in America, and a freelance writer. He lived in Nashville, Tennessee, during the late 1970s, where he was a staff songwriter for Glaser Publications, a musician, and a country music and rock journalist.

His nonfiction career includes being art critic for Rolling Stone and The Texas Observer, and Contributing Editor for Art Issues (Los Angeles), Context, Parkett, and The Village Voice. His column, Simple Hearts, was published in Art Issues. Judges for San Antonio's 2006 Contemporary Art Month festival created and bestowed The Hickey Award for Bravery and the Double Hickey Award for Excellence.

Hickey has staged exhibits across the USA, winning the Association of International Critics of Art's Kunsthalle Best Show 2001-2002 Award for "Beau Monde," the fourth "Site Santa Fe" biennial exhibition in Santa Fe, New Mexico. He has lectured at many museums, including the Museum of Modern Art, the Whitney Museum, and the Institute of Contemporary Art in London. He has been a visiting professor at several universities, including the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University, the Otis Parsons Institute in Los Angeles, and the University of Texas at Austin. Hickey received the College Art Association's Frank Jewett Mather award for distinction in art or architectural criticism in 1993. He was the 1997 Cullinan Visiting Chair of Architecture at Rice University in Houston, Texas. He has been a faculty member of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas since 1992, where he has taught art theory, art criticism, and creative writing, and is the Schaeffer Professor of Modern Letters.

Bibliography for Dave Hickey

Books

Air Guitar: Essays on Art & Democracy. Los Angeles: Art Issues, 1997. [Available: Knowledge Center: E 169.04 .H53 1997]

American Edge. Santa Fe, NM: Arena Editions, 2000. [Available: Knowledge Center: TR 820.5 .S366 2000]

Andy Warhol. London: Phaidon Press, 2006.

Burton, Jeff and Hickey. Dreamland. New York: PowerHouse Books, 2000. New York: PowerHouse Books, 2000.

The Invisible Dragon: Four Essays on Beauty. Los Angeles: Art Issues Press, 1993. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 70 .H47 1993]

Short Stories

"The Closed Season" in Still Wild: Short Fiction of the American West, 1950 to the Present. New York: Scribner Paperback Fiction, 2001. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 561 .S75 2001]

"I'm Bound to Follow the Longhorn Cows" in Texas Bound. Book II: 22 Texas Stories. Dallas, TX: Southern Methodist Univ. Press, 1998. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 558 .T4 T35 1998]

"I'm Bound to Follow the Longhorn Cows" in Lone Star Literature: From the Red River to the Rio Grande. New York: W. W. Norto, 2003, p. 160-174. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 558 .T4 L66 2003]

Prior Convictions: Stories from the Sixties. Dallas, Tex.: Southern Methodist University  Press, 1989. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3558 .I226 P751989]

"Rape and a Haircut." Utne Reader. No. 73 (Jan/Feb 1996), p. 39+. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .U86 1996]

Exhibition Catalog Essays

Anthony Caro. London: Tate Pub., 2005. (Tate Britain exhibition, January - April 2005).

Atelier van Lieshout. (exhibition at the Contemporary Art Museum, University of South Florida).

"Available Light," in The Works of Edward Ruscha: Essays. New York: Hudson Hills Press w/San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, 1982 (I dont want no retro spective./ Exhibition organized by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art). [Available: Knowledge Center: N 6537 .R87 A4 1982]

"Cool on Cool: William Claxton and the Way the Music Looked," in Birth of the Cool: California Art, Design, and Culture at Midcentury. (exhibition at Orange County Museum of Art, Newport Beach, California, October 7, 2007-January 6, 2008; Addison Gallery of American Art, Phillips Academy, Andover, Massachusetts, February 15-April 13, 2008; Oakland Museum of California, Oakland, California, May 18-August 17, 2008; The Blanton Museum of Art, The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas, February 27-May 31, 2009).

Dexter Dalwood: New Paintings. Beverly Hills, CA: Gagosian Gallery, 2002.

"A Dialectical Inquiry into the Recurring Fantasy of the Equestrian Herdsman (Singing Variety)" in The American Cowboy, p. 206-217. (Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., March 26-Oct. 2, 1983, and other institutions). [Available: Knowledge Center: F 596 .A46 1983b]

Ed Ruscha: Catalogue Raisonne of the Paintings: 1983-1987. Vol. 3. Germany: Steidl, 2007.

Icons and Legends: The Photographs of Michael Childers. Palm Springs, CA : Palm Springs Desert Museum (exhibition held Dec. 12, 2003 through Feb. 13, 2004).

"In the dancehall of the dead" in Robert Gober. (installation at the Dia Center for the Arts, New York City; Sept. 24, 1992-June 20, 1993).

"The Jabberwocky and the Gorilla in the Corner." in Peter Plagens: An Introspective. Los Angeles: University of Southern California, Fisher Gallery (an exhibition held at USC Fisher Gallery, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, from Nov. 17, 2004-Feb. 12, 2005; A + D 11th Street Gallery, Columbia College, Chicago, from March 3-April 30, 2005; Butler Institute of American Art, Trumbull, Howland, Ohio, from Aug. 7-Oct. 2, 2005).

Keith and Farah: Recasting Pygmalion. New York: Rizzoli (exhibition at the LA County Museum of Art 2002).

"The Kids Are All Right: After the Prom." in Norman Rockwell: Pictures for the American People. Atlanta: High Museum of Art, 1999 (Nov. 6, 1999-Jan. 30, 2000, High Museum of Art and others). [Available: WNC (Carson City & Fallon campuses)]

"Laughter Takes the Bus," in Art Guys: Think Twice, 1983-1995. New York: Abrams, 2003. (Contemporary Arts Museum exhibition, Houston, April 8-June 25, 1995).

"A Lost World Found" in The Outwin Boochever Portrait Competition. Washington, D.C.: National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution, with the University of Washington Press, 2006 (to accompany the competition, July 1, 2006-February 19, 2007).

"Robert Rauschenberg: Rauschenberg's Sanity" in Pop Art: the John and Kimiko Powers Collection. New York: Gagosian Gallery, 2001 (exhibition held at the Gagosian Gallery, New York, April 20-June 30, 2001).

Roy Lichtenstein: Prints 1956-97: from the Collections of Jordan D. Schnitzer and His Family Foundation. Pullman: Museum of Art, Washington State Univ., 2005 (exhibition at the Museum of Art, Washington State University, Pullman, Sept.-Dec. 2005 and at five other museums).

"Sigmar Polke's Appointment in Texas" in Sigmar Polke: History of Everything: Recent Paintings and Drawings, 1998-2003. New Haven :; Yale University Press, 2003 (exhibition at the Dallas Museum of Art, Nov. 15, 2002-Apr. 6, 2003 and at the Tate Modern, London, Oct. 2, 2003-Jan. 4, 2004).

"The Summit," in The Magic Hour: The Convergence of Art and Las Vegas / die Konvergenz von Kunst und Las Vegas. Ostfildern-Ruit, [Germany] : Hatje Cantz (exhibition held at Neue Galerie Graz am Landesmuseum Joanneum, Sept. 23-Nov. 4, 2001), p. 39-50. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 8214.5 .U6 M295 2001]

Tim Bavington: Paintings 1998-2005. Los Angeles, CA: Mark Moore Gallery, 2006 (accompanies the exhibition There We Were, Now Here We Are, Mark Moore Gallery, May 20-July 1, 2006).

"Ultralounge: The Return of Social Space (with cocktails)", Houston: DiverseWorks, 1998.

Zephyr: Paintings by Gajin Fujita. Kansas City, MO: Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art & Design (Exhibition held at the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art in 2006).

Exhibition Curator

Beau Monde: Toward a Redeemed Cosmopolitanism. Santa Fe, NM: SITE Santa Fe, fourth international biennial (July 14, 2001-January 6, 2002 ).

Ghosts of the Adobe Walls: Human Interest and Historical Highlights from 400 Ghost Haunts of Old Arizona. Los Angeles: Westernlore Press, 1964. [Available: Knowledge Center: HT 153 .M87 1964]

Ghosts of the Glory Trail: Intimate Glimpses into the Past and Present of 275 Western Ghosttowns. Palm Desert: Desert Magazine Press, 1956. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 591 .M9 and at: WNC-Carson City; WNC-Fallon; and Great Basin College, Elko]

"[Las] Vegans." Santa Fe, NM: James Kelly Contemporary Art (Dec. 2001-Feb. 23, 2002).

Las Vegas Diaspora: The Emergence of Contemporary Art from the Neon Homeland. Las Vegas Art Museum (September 2007); Laguna Art Museum, Laguna CA (2008).

"Mixology." (Artist: Christine Siemens). New York: Apex Art (March 18-April 17, 1999).

"Pier Walk International Sculpture Exhibition" Chicago Navy Pier  (2002)

"South Texas Sweet Funk." Austin, TX: St. Edward's University (1970).

Ultralounge: The Return of Social Space (With Cocktails). Houston, TX (1998).

Book Arts

"Liberace: A Rhinestone as Big as the Ritz," #8 of BuK Set 2. USA: BukAmerica, 2005.

Stardumb. San Francisco: Artspace Books, 1999. (art by John deFazio, stories by Dave Hickey). [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections Book Arts PS 3558 .I226 S73 1999].

Documentary Films

Andy Warhol: A Documentary Film. PBS American Masters. Director: Ric Burns. (2006)

Art City: A Ruling Passion (documentary film). Los Angeles, CA: Twelve Films, 2002. [Available: UNR Multimedia Center: DVD 0365]

Nonfiction Articles, Book Chapters, Book Introductions, Reviews, etc.

"A Home in the Neon," in Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Edited by Cheryll Glotfelty. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008; pp. 373-378. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008]

"An Address Regarding the Consequences of Supply-side Aesthetics." Art Issues. no. 53  (Summer 1998), p. 11-14.

"America's Vermeer." Vanity Fair (Nov. 1999).

"Art Schools: A Group Crit." Art in America. Vol. 95, no. 5 (May 2007), p. 106-107. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A43 2007; WNC (Carson City)]

"At the Prince's Chateau" in Elizabeth Peyton. New York: Rizzoli, 2005.

"The Best and Worst Exhibitions of 1996." Artforum International. Vol. 35, no. 4 (Dec. 1996), p. 86. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1996; WNC (Carson City)]

"The Best of 1998." Artforum International (December 1998) Vol. 37, no. 4; p. 93-95. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1998; WNC (Carson City)]

"Best of the '90s (Remembering the High Points of the Past Decade). Artforum. Vol. 38, no. 4 (Dec. 1999), p. 112-113 . [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1999; WNC (Carson City)]

"Beyond Dark Glasses (review of Cool Rules). New York Times Book Review, Vol. 150, no. 51570 (Nov. 12, 2000), p. BR 34. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research microfilm: N5 and via the New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) database for UNR-affiliated users]

"Beyond Geometry: Experiments in Form, 1940s-70s." Artforum International. Vol. 43, no. 3 (Nov. 2004), p. 213-214. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 2004; WNC-Carson City]

"Bob and Wendy Teach Art." Art Issues. No. 52 (March/April 1998), p. 10-13.

"Bookforum (review of Soapbox: Essays, Diatribes, Homilies and Screeds)." Artforum International. Vol. 36, no. 7 (Spring 1998), p. 33. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1998; WNC-Carson City]

"Buying the World." Daedalus. Vol. 131, no. 4 (Fall 2002), p. 69-87. [Available: Knowledge Center: Q 11 .A45 2002 and via LION-Literature Online for UNR-Affiliated Users]

"Casino: Love and Honor in Las Vegas (review)." Los Angeles Times Book Review. (Oct. 22, 1995), p. 4, 10. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm N36]

"Christopher Wool." Artforum International. Vol. 37, no. 2 (Oct. 1998), p. 114-116. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1998; WNC-Carson City]

"Clemente." Artforum International. Vol. 38, no. 5 (Jan. 2000), p. 107. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 2000; WNC-Carson City]

"Critical Reflections." Artforum International. Vol. 33, no. 10 (Summer 1995), p. 80. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1995; WNC-Carson City]

"Custodians of Culture: Schoolyard Art: Playing Fair Without the Referee." Frieze Foundation lecture (October 12, 2007), Podcast.

"Dave Hickey." Art in America. Vol. 95, no. 5 (May 2007), p. 106-107.

"David Salle: Two Views." Artforum. Vol. 37, no. 9 (1999), p. 154- . [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1999; WNC-Carson City]

"Dirty Pictures" in Boystown: la Zona de Tolerancia. New York: Aperture, with the Wittliff Gallery of Southwestern & Mexican Photography, 2000. p. 24-27. [Available: Knowledge Center: Permanent Reserve HQ 151 .N67 B69 2000]

"Double or Quits," frieze magazine. No. 50 (Jan-Feb 2000).

"Earthscapes, Landworks and Oz." Art in America. Vol. 59, no. 5 (1971), p. 40-49.

"Edward Ruscha + Photography- 'Twenty-six Gasoline Stations, 1962.'" Artforum International. Vol. 35, no. 5 (Jan. 1997), p. 60. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1997; WNC-Carson City]

"Enter the Dragon: On the Vernacular of Beauty," in Uncontrollable Beauty: Toward a New Aesthetics. New York: Allworth Press: School of Visual Arts, 1998. [Available: Knowledge Center: BH 201 .U63 1998]

"Exhibitions." Artforum International. Vol. 34, no. 4 (Dec. 1995), p. 56-69. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1995; WNC-Carson City)

"Folio- A House Undivided - Andrea Palladio and the Science of Happiness." Harper's Magazine. Vol. 306, no. 1835 (April 2003), p. 57. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 H3 2003; GBC (Elko) microfilm; and online for UNR-affiliated users]

"Foreword: Magazine Writer" for Splendor in the Short Grass: the Grover Lewis Reader. Austin: University of Texas Press, 2005. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3562 .E943 A6 2005]

"Frankenthaler at Emmerich, Joan Snyder a Paley & Lowe." Art in America. Vol. 60 (Jan. 1972), p. 33+.

"Friedman, B(ernard) H(arper) 1926- ," Saturday Review. Vol. 55 (Sept. 9, 1972). [Available: Knowledge Center

"________," in Contemporary Literary Criticism. Vol. 7. New York: Gale Group, 1977, p. 108. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 771 C59 Vol. 7; GBC (Elko); WNC (Carson City and Fallon)]

"Frivolity and Unction" in Drawing Us In: How We Experience Visual Art. Boston: Beacon Press, 2000. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 62 .D73 2000 and WNC-Carson City]

"The Heresy of Zone Defense." 1995.

Hickey; Liebmann, Lisa and Peter Plagens. "The Best of 1998." Artforum International. Vol. 37, no. 4 (Dec. 1998), p. 92-117. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1998; WNC-Carson City]

Hickey and Waters, John. "Best and Worst 1994." Artforum International. Vol. 33, no. 4 (Dec. 1994), p. 64- . [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1994; WNC-Carson City]

"His Mickey Mouse Ways: An Appreciation of Waylon Jennings." Texas Monthly. Vol. 32, no. 6 (June 2004), p. 128+. [Available via Academic Search Premier and LexisNexis Academc for UNR-affiliated users]

"A Home in the Neon." Art & Design. Vol. 11 (Nov/Dec 1996), p. 7-9.

"A House Undivided: Andrea Palladio and the Science of Happiness." Harper's Magazine.. Vol. 306, no. 1835 (April 2003), p. 57- . [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 H3 2003; and GBC (Elko) Microfilm]

"How Has Art Changed?" frieze magazine. No. 94 (October 2005).

"If you want to be an icon of virtue, this is the moment because you'll stand out." Art Newspaper. Vol. 16 (Nov. 2007), p. 46-47.

"Introduction," for Andy Warhol 'Giant' Size. London: Phaidon Press, 2006.

"Introduction," for The Book on Vegas. [Los Angeles, CA}: Greybull Press, 2006.

"Introduction," for Gathering Light: Photographs by Richard Ross. Southampton, England: John Hansard Gallery, 2003.

"Introduction," for Howl: The Artwork of Luis Jimenez, by Camille Flores-Turney. Sante Fe, N.M. : New Mexico Magazine, 1997.

"Introduction: The Empire of Talk," for The Portraits Speak: Chuck Close in Conversation with 27 of His Subjects. New York: A.R.T. Press, 1997. [Available: Knowledge Center: ND 1329 .C54 C56 1997]

"Introduction: Vanessa Beecroft's Painted Ladies," for VB 08-36: Vanessa Beecroft Performances. Ostfildern, [Germany]: Hatje Cantz, 2000. [Available: Knowledge Center Permanent Reserve: NX 552 .Z9 B42 2000]

"It's Morning in Nevada." Harper's Magazine. Vol. 313, no. 1878 (Nov. 2006), p. 55-64. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 H3 2006 and online via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users; and GBC (Elko) microfilm]

James Hayward: Works 1975-2007. San Francisco: Modernism, Inc., 2007.

"James Lee Byars: Just Make Me Up." Flash Art. Vol. XVII, no. 177 (Summer 1994), p. 86.

"Joep van Lieshout's Rebel Housing: Architecture as Rock-and-Roll." Art Issues. No. 60 (Nov/Dec 1999), p. 18-23. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 A78 no. 60 1999]

"Larry Johnson's malicious muzak." frieze magazine. No. 14 (January 1994).

"Las Vegas Hilton Race-and-Sports-Book." Artforum. Vol. 34, no. 9 (May 1996), p. 34. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1996; WNC (Carson City)]

"Liberace's impact transcended the Las Vegas stage,"  in Schumacher, Geoff, ed. Nevada 150 Years in the Silver State. Las Vegas: Stephens Press, 2014; p. 187.

"Little Victories." frieze magazine. No. 63 (Nov.-Dec. 2001).

"Love Only Knows," in Stars Don't Stand Still in the Sky: Music and Myth. Washington Square, NY: New York University Press, 1999, p. 176-181. [Available: Knowledge Center: ML 3470 S75 1999]

"Magazine Writer." The Texas Observer (June 24, 2005).

"Mark Burns's Venetian America." American Craft. Vol. 58, no. 3 (June/July 1998), p. 38-41. [Available: Knowledge Center: NK 1 C73 1998]

"A Matter of Time: on Flatness, Magic, Illusion, and Mortality." Parkett. No. 40/41 (1994), p. 164-175.

"McMurtry's Elegant Essays." Texas Observer. (7 Feb. 1969), p. 14-16.

"Mitchum Gets Out of Jail," in O.K. You Mugs: Writers on Movie Actors. New York: Pantheon, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 1998.2 .O5 1999]1 .A814 1996; WNC (Carson City)]

Name, Billy; Schorr, Collier & Hickey, Dave. All Tomorrow's Parties: Billy Name's Photographs of Andy Warhol's Factory. London: Frieze, 1996.

Nochlin, Linda and Hickey. "Best of 2000: Books." Artforum International. Vol. 39, no. 4 (Dec. 2000), p. 34 - .  [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 2000; WNC (Carson City)]

"Nothing Like the Son: On Robert Mapplethorpe's X Portfolio," in Sticky Sublime. New York: School of Visual Arts: Allworth Press, 2001. [Available: Knowledge Center: NX 650 .S92 S75 2001]

"On Not Being Governed." Harvard Design Magazine. No. 25 (Fall 2006/Winter 2007), p. 74-76.

"Open Charms + Robert Rauschenberg." Artforum. Vol. 36, no. 1 (1997), p. 101. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1997; WNC (Carson City)]

"Palms for the Cure (Reply to Jim Johnson's Defense of Francesco Clemente)." Artforum. Vol. 38, no. 7 (March 2000), p. 16. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 2000; WNC (Carson City)]

"Portfolio: Dave Hickey's Top Ten." Believer Magazine (Nov/Dec 2007).

"Reading Ruskin Writing." Art in America. Vol. 88, no. 11 (Nov. 2000), p. 128+.

"Ready for Art?" Architecture. Vol. 86, no. 12 (Dec. 1997), p. 88+. [Available via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]

"Real Life Rock - Dave Hickey's Top Ten." Artforum International. Vol. 34, no. 9 (1996), p. 34+. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1996; WNC (Carson City)]

"Remembering John Ruskin; Ruskin: Past, Present, Future (exhibit review)." Art in America. Vol. 88, no. 11 (Nov. 2000), p. 128-133.

"Robert Rauschenberg: Combines." Artforum International. Vol. 44, no. 1 (Sep. 2005), p. 114-115. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 2005; WNC (Carson City)]

"Salle Days: Signs and the Times." Artforum International. Vol. 37, no. 9 (May 1999), p. 155, 157, 159. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 A814 Vol. 37 no. 6-10 1999; WNC (Carson City)]

"Sharp Focus Realism at Janis." Art in America. Vol. 60 (March 1972), p. 116-118.

"Shooting the Land," in The Altered Landscape. Reno: Nevada Museum of Art w/University of Nevada Press, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: TR 660.5 .N467 1999; WNC (Carson City) & Great Basin College, Elko]

"Signs and the Times." Artforum International. Vol. 37, no. 9 (May 1999), p. 155+. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1999; WNC (Carson City)]

"Simple Hearts (column)," in Art Issues. Nos. 51, 55-58 (Jan/Feb. 1998-Summer 1999). [1999 columns Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A78 1999]

"Simple Hearts: An Address Regarding the Consequences of Supply-Side Aesthetics." Art Issues (Summer 1998).

"Soapbox (book review)." Artforum International. Vol. 36 (March 1998), p. 33. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1998; WNC (Carson City)]

"Straight Talk." Art & Text. No. 53 (January 1996), p. 40-41.

Suits: The Clothes Make the Man. New York: Abrams, 2000. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 6537 .A7135 S85 2000]

"Tasende Gallery, La Jolla, Calif; exhibit." Art News. Vol. 90 (October 1991), p. 144. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 A6 1991]

"Texas to New York via Nashville Semitranscontinental Epiphany Tactic. Art in America. Vol. 60 (Sep. 1972), p. 54-58.

"Tom Wesselmann." Artforum International. Vol. 43, no. 9 (May 2005), p. 136. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 2005; WNC (Carson City)]

"Top Ten x 12, the Year in Review - Artforum Contributors Count Down Their Most Memorable Moments of the Year." Artforum International. Vol. 36, no. 4 (Dec. 1997), p. 80-105. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1997; WNC (Carson City)]

"Touche Boucher: John Wesley's Gallant Subjects." Artforum International. Vol. 39, no. 2 (Oct. 2000), p. 116+. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 2000; WNC (Carson City)]

"The True Colors of Amerika - Las Vegas, Nevada." Neue Rundschau. Vol. 118, no. 3 (2007), p. 165-171.

"Twas Awe Like a Tewibble Dweam." The Texas Observer. Vol. 96, no. 23 (Dec. 3, 2004), p. 20. [Available via the AltPress Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]

"Unrequired Reading: A Report From Ten Colleges." New York Times (Jan. 5, 1964), p. BRA36. [Available: Knowledge Center Research Microfilm N5 and online via ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times for UNR-affiliated users]

"Why Art Should Be Bad." Harper's Magazine. Vol. 296, no. 1772 (Jan. 1998), p. 15+. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 H3 1998 and online via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users; and GBC (Elko) microfilm]

"Wooly Bully (reply to Claudia Carson's comments on my review of Christopher Wool's exhibition)." Artforum. Vol. 37, no. 5 (Jan. 1999), p. 12. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1999; WNC (Carson City)]

"A World Like Santa Barbara." Chronicle of Higher Education Vol. 46, no. 38 (May 26, 2000), p. B10 and in Art Issues. No. 63 (June 2000), p. 20-23. Its reprint in: Harper's Magazine. Vol. 301, no. 1804 (Sep. 2000), p. 11+. [Available: Knowledge Center: Art Issues N 1 A78 2000; HarpersMagazine: AP 2 H3 2000 and online via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users; and GBC (Elko) microfilm; Chronicle of Higher Education: Research Microfilm N581 and online for UNR-affiliated users via the LexisNexis Academic and the Chronicle of Higher Education Online]

"The Writer John Graves Symposium," (transcript of a Sept. 7, 2002 session at Texas State University-San Marcos), in John Graves, Writer. Austin: University of Texas Press, 2007, p. 29-49, 254. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3557 .R2867 Z75 2007]

Biographical Resources & Critical Response

Adams, Lorraine. "Frame and Fortune." Washington City Paper (Wash., D.C.). (Oct. 17, 2002), Vol. 22, no. 41; p. 18. [Available via GenderWatch database for UNR-affiliated users]

Air Guitar reviews:

  • Carter, Sandy. "Dave Hickey's Air Guitar (Slippin' & Slidin' column). Z Magazine.
  • Christgau, Robert. "Books." Rolling Stone (12/25/97-1/8/98), No. 776/777, p. 162. [Available Knowledge Center Research Microfilm S195 and via Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • ________. "Dave Hickey's 'Air Guitar'." Los Angeles Times Book Review. (1997).
  • James, Merlin. "[Review: untitled.]" The Burlington Magazine. Vol. 140, No. 1147 (Oct., 1998), p. 701. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 B95 1998 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Lady, Lee. "Air Guitar (Essays on Art and Democracy."
  • Lee, Margaret J. "Child of Pop." Nation. Vol. 265, No. 18 (Dec. 1, 1997), p. 32-34. [Available Knowledge Center Research Microfiche S29 and via Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • London Review of Books (June 22, 2000) Vol. 22, p. 24.
  • Los Angeles Times (Oct. 19, 1997), p. 16.
  • Marcus, Greil. "Bookforum." Artforum International (Winter 1997), Vol. 36, no. 3; p. 14+. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 1997; WNC (Carson City)]
  • Maryanow, Maury. "Air Guitar." Southern Humanities Review (Summer 2001), Vol. 35, no. 3, p. 307- .
  • Morthland, John and Jeff McCord. "Hot box." Texas Monthly (Dec. 1997) Vol. 25, no. 12; p. 20. [Available via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Nehamas, Alexander. "The Return of Beauty: Morality, Pleasure, and the Value of Uncertainty." Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism. Vol. 58, No. 4 (Autumn, 2000), p. 393-403. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .J6 2000 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Turner, Fred. "Dave Hickey - 'Air Guitar: Essays on Art and Democracy'." The Boston Phoenix. (Nov. 17. 1997).
  • Vowell, Sarah. "Playing the 'Air Guitar' (Sound Salvation column)." Salon, Vol. 14 (Oct. 17, 1997).
  • Weisbard, Eric. "Hip hype." The Village Voice (Dec. 2, 1997) Vol. 42, no. 48; p. 63+. [Available via Alt-Press Watchdatabase for UNR-affiliated users]

The Altered Landscape reviews

  • Amundson, Michael A. Western Historical Quarterly (2000), Vol. 31, no. 3; p. 365-366. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 591 A1 W36 2000; GBC (Elko)]

American Edge reviews:

  • Levin, Joan. Library Journal (Nov. 15, 2000), Vol. 125, no. 19; p. 64. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 671 L7 2000 and via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users; GBC (Elko)]

Andy Warhol: Giant Size reviews:

  • Rappolt, Mark. Modern Painters (April 2006), p. 121.

Anonymous. "Feminist Activist Art, a Roundtable Forum, August 24-31, 2005." NWSA Journal (Spring 2007) Vol. 19, no. 1; p. 1-22. [Available online via Project Muse for UNR-affiliated users]

Anonymous. "Findings." Wilson Quarterly (Summer 1999), Vol. 23, no. 3; p. 9. [Available via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]

Anonymous. "Hick or Hickey?" Economist (8/4/2001) Vol. 360, no. 8233; p. 68. [Available via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]

Anonymous. "Is the contemporary art world devoid of criteria of quality and afraid of discussing the whole issue?" Art Newspaper (March 2002) Vol. 13, no. 123; p. 22-24.

Anonymous. "Photography--Robert Grober (sic) edited by Karen Marta." (review of catalog for Robert Gober exhibit).Lambda Book Report (July 1994), Vol. 4, no. 5, p. 46. [Available via GenderWatch database for UNR-affiliated users]

"Art without Audiences" (review of "Simple Hearts" article). Vol. 22, no. 4, Wilson Quarterly (Autumn 1998), p. 137. [Available via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]

Beau Monde (SITE Santa Fe Biennial) reviews:

  • Adlmann, Jan. "On the biennial beat." Santa Fe Reporter (July 31, 2001), Vol. 28, no. 5; p. 22. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Campbell, Clayton. "Beau monde." Vol. 34, no. 220, Flash Art (International Edition). (Oct. 2001), p. 98.
  • Crotty, James M. "The Dave Hickey circus comes to town." Santa Fe Reporter (July 24, 2001), Vol. 28, no. 4; p. 23. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]Duncan, Michael. Artforum International Vol. 40, no. 2,(Oct. 2001), p. 153. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 2001; WNC-Carson City]
  • Hutchison, Bill. "Critical condition." Santa Fe Reporter (July 17, 2001), Vol. 28, no. 3; p. 8. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Kusel, Denise. "Power lunch yields SITE Santa Fe preview." Santa Fe & El Norte (Santa Fe, NM), (Aug. 4, 2000), p. B1. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • _____. "The secret workings of SITE Santa Fe." Santa Fe & El Norte (Santa Fe, NM), (June 1, 2001), p. B1. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Opdahl, Cristina. "Don't Melt that Pot." Santa Fe Reporter (May 25-31, 2005), Vol. 32, no. 21; p. 38. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Perl, Jed. "South by Southwest ('Jed Perl on Art' column)." New Republic (9/24/2001) Vol. 225, no. 13; p. 26-32.  [Available via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Rodriquez, Francesca. "Film as Redemption: But is it real?" Santa Fe Reporter (Oct.  23, 2001), Vol. 28, no. 17; p. 22. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Schjedahl, Peter. "Desert Songs." New Yorker (8/13/2001), Vol. 77, no. 23; p. 82+. [Available via Lexis-Nexis Academic database for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Walker, Hollis. "Mr. Outside Becomes Mr. Inside--for Now." Wall Street Journal-Eastern Ed. (6/26/2001) Vol. 237, no. 124; p. A19. [Available online for UNR-affiliated users]

Berkovitch, Ellen. "SITE taps Hickey to curate biennial." The New Mexican (May 10, 2000), p. B-4. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

Berkovitch, Ellen. "California dreaming, (Art Matters column)." The New Mexican (Santa Fe, NM), (July 6-12, 2001), p. 42. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

__________. "Skin-deep, (Art Matters column)." The New Mexican (Santa Fe, NM), (July 27-Aug. 2, 2001), p. 30, 32. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

Biederman, Christine. "The Basquiat Syndrome: Trenton Doyle Hancock benefits from the art world's peculiarly cynical twist on affirmative action." Vol. 973, no. 1, Dallas Observer (Oct. 25, 2001). [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]

_________. "Deal With the Devil: Dale Chihuly makes art for the masses." Dallas Observer (Dec. 20, 2001), Vol. 981, no. 1. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]

Boystown: La Zona De Tolerancia reviews:

  • Aletti, Vince. "Boystown." The Village Voice. (Mar. 13, 2001), Vol. 46, no. 10; p. 81. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]

Bryant, Eric. "All Tomorrow's Parties: Billy Name's Photographs of Andy Warhol's Factory." Library Journal. Vol. 122, no. 13 (August 1997), p. 83. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 671 .L7 1997 and via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]

Clementi, Frank. "Let's deal with beauty directly ..." Architecture Magazine (March 15, 2005).

Cole, Forrest. "Hickey, Dave." Current Biography(Sept. 2007) Vol. 68, no. 9; p. 37-42 and Current Biography Yearbook(2007). [Available: Knowledge Center: CT 100 C8 2007]

Collins, Tom. "Auto-erotica and Altered Images." Santa Fe Reporter (Feb. 12-18, 1997), p. 29. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

"David C. Hickey." Marquis Who's Who on the Web. 2006. [Available for UNR-affiliated users]

"David C. Hickey." Who's Who in America. 57th-59th eds. Chicago: Marquis, 2003-2005. [Available: Knowledge Center: E 176 .W642; Great Basin College (Elko)]

"David C. Hickey." Who's Who in the West. 31st-35th eds. Chicago: Marquis, 2004-2008. [Available: Knowledge Center: E 176 .W646 2004-2007]

"Democracy's Artist (review of 'America's Vermeer'). Wilson Quarterly (Winter 2000), Vol. 24, no. 1; p. 92.

Dixon, Glenn. "Belle Bottom Blues; Goodbye, Little Rock and Roller." Vol. 24, no. 2, Washington City Paper (Wash., D.C.) (Jan. 22, 2004), p. 42. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]

"Dreamland (Book Review)." Artforum International (Sep. 2001), Vol. 40, no. 1; p. 211. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A814 2001; WNC (Carson City)]

Dutton, Dennis H. "One good dye: The work of Luis Jimenez." The New Mexican (Nov. 15, 1998), p. F-2. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

Eleey, Peter. "James Lee Byars." frieze magazine (March 3, 2005).

"Erie Art Museum Selects Art & Culture Critic Dave Hickey as Juror for 85th Annual Spring Show." Press Release (Nov. 2, 2007).

Farquharson, Alex, ed. The Magic Hour: The Convergence of Art and Las Vegas / die Konvergenz von Kunst und Las Vegas. Ostfildern-Ruit [Germany]: Hatje Cantz, 2001. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 8214.5 .U6 M295 2001]

Fischer, Zane. "Allen's American Alchemy." Santa Fe Reporter (June 22-28, 2005), p. 30. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

_______. "Crated." Santa Fe Reporter (July 18-24, 2007), Vol. 34, no. 29; p. 32. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

_______. "How to See Art Outside." Santa Fe Reporter (March 15-21, 2006), Vol. 33, no. 11; p. 33. [Available via the Access Newspaper Archive database for UNR-affiliated users]

_______. "Violent Reaction." Santa Fe Reporter (Feb. 5-11, 2003), p. 23. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

Flagan, Are. "Learning from Las Vegas." Afterimage (May/June 2002) Vol. 29, no. 6; p. 3. [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Graham, Don. "Canon Fever." Texas Monthly (March, 1996). [Available online via LexisNexis Academic database for UNR-affiliated users]

Greene, Granville. "Art and Dave Hickey in Las Vegas: Strange Bedfellows? Fine Arts Meets Glitz in Sin City." travelintelligence.

Grotjahn, Mark. "Rates of Exchange." frieze magazine (Oct. 10, 2003)

Haber, John. "Sivilize Me." Haber's Art Reviews.

Hall, David. "Invisible Beauty: What happened to the beauty debate?" Memphis Flyer (Memphis, TN), (Jan. 29, 2003) No. 727, p. 31. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]

Hall, Michael. "The Art Guy (critic Dave hickey)." Texas Monthly (Feb. 1, 2000). [Available online via LexisNexis Academic database for UNR-affiliated users]

Harris, Jane. "Christine Siemens at Apex Art (review of 'Mixology')." Art in America (Jan. 2000), Vol. 88, no. 1; p. 114. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 A43 2000, and WNC (Carson City)]

Herbert, Martin. "Elizabeth Peyton." Modern Painters (May 2006), p. 124-125.

Hickey, Dave. "Plans are Revealed: Curator Dave Hickey on SITE Santa Fe's Fourth International Biennial Beau Monde: Toward a Redeemed ." (2000 press release).

Interviews

  • Campbell, Shane. "Cosmopolitanism without tears: Dave Hickey on site Santa Fe." Flash Art (International Edition), (March/April 2001), Vol. 34, no. 217; p. 55-6.
  • Carel, Sari. "A Conversation with Dave Hickey." zingmagazine, Vol. 14 (Sept. 8, 2006).
  • Douglas, Sarah. "A Conversation with Dave Hickey." Artinfo (March 21, 2008).
  • Golonu, Berin. "A Conversation with Dave Hickey." Artweek (Sept. 2001), Vol. 32, no. 9; p. inside back cover.
  • Heartney, Eleanor; translated by F. Straschitz. "Dave Hickey: on the sunny side." Art Press (June 2000), No. 258, p. 45-9.
  • Heti, Sheila. "Interview with Dave Hickey ('Hi Low & In Between: art culture politics & general confusion' column)." The Believer Vol. 5, no. 9, (Nov/Dec 2007)
  • Smith, Evan. "Dave Hickey." TexasMonthlyTalks. (June 22, 2006), KLRU.
  • Van Proyen, Mark. "A conversation with Dave Hickey, critic." Artweek (April 199<6), Vol. 27; p. 13-14.
  • Vine, Katy. "Being an Art Critic (The Horse's Mouth column)." Texas Monthly. (March 2008). [Available online via LexisNexis Academic database for UNR-affiliated users]

Invisible Dragon: Four Essays on Beauty reviews:

  • Carrier, David. [Review, untitled.] The Burlington Magazine, Vol. 136, no. 1091 (Feb., 1994), p. 127. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 B95 1994 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Chasin, Noah. Visual Culture. (1997).
  • Liebman, Lisa. "Bookforum." Artforum International (Dec. 1993), Vol. 32, no. 4, p. 65+.
  • McDonough, Tom. Art Journal (Fall 1996), Vol. 55, no. 3, p. 97-98. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 81 .A887 1996 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Nehamas, Alexander. "The Return of Beauty: Morality, Pleasure, and the Value of Uncertainty ." Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism. Vol. 58, No. 4 (Autumn, 2000), p. 393-403. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .J6 2000 and online via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Plagens, Peter. "Unruly Images." Art in America (Nov. 1994), Vol. 82, no. 11; p. 35+. [Available: Knowledge Center: N 1 .A43 1994; and WNC (Carson City)]
  • Simson, Maria. "Forecasts: Paperbacks." Publishers Weekly (6/27/94), Vol. 241, no. 26; p. 70. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1219 P98 1994]​

Isaacs, Deanna. "The Culture Club: Concentrated Formula." Reader (Chicago, IL), (Mar. 22, 2002), Vol. 31, no. 25; p. S2. [Available via Alt-Press Watch database for UNR-affiliated users]

Jarrett, Dennis. "Seeing-Eye Coyote." Santa Fe Reporter (Dec. 22-29, 1998); p. 37. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

Kester, Grant H. "Learning from aesthetics: Old Masters and new lessons." Art Journal (Spring 1997) Vol. 56; p. 20-25. [Available via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]

Klein, Jennie. "Curates & Curators." PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art (2002), Vol. 24, no. 3; p. 105-109. [Available online via Project Musefor UNR-affiliated users]

Kuspit, Donald Burton. "art criticism" and "Art criticism at the turn of the 21st ." Encyclopedia Britannica Online - Academic Ed. [Available for UNR-affiliated users]

Lacayo, Richard. "Where You Find Them." Time. Vol. 158, no. 26 (Dec. 17, 2001). [Available: Knowledge Center Research Microfiche S38 and via the Academic Search Premier database for UNR-affiliated users]

Laget, Mohka. "Dave's Here (Visual Arts column)." Santa Fe Reporter (Dec. 12-18, 2001)Vol. 34, no. 29; p. 32. [Available via the Access NewspaperArchive database for UNR-affiliated users]

Levin, Kim. "Fuzzy logic." The Village Voice (Oct. 24, 2000), Vol. 45, no. 42; p. 79. [Available via Alt-Press Watchor UNR-affiliated users]

"Local Artist Joins In Exhibit at Austin." The San Antonio Light (6-29-1969), p. G-10. [Available via  Access NewspaperArchive  for UNR-affiliated users]

Lord, M. G. "A City Where Locals Are Welcome." New York Times (4/23/2003), Vol. 152, no. 52462; p. F1. [Available: Knowledge Center Research Microfilm N5 and online via ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times for UNR-affiliated users]

Lovink, Geert. "Enemy of Nostalgia: Victim of the Present, Critic of the Future." PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art(2002), Vol. 24, no. 1; p. 5-15. [Available online via Project Muse for UNR-affiliated users]

Lui, Catherine. "Art Escapes Criticism, or Adorno's Museum." Cultural Critique. Vol. 60 (2005), p. 217-244. [Available online via Project Muse for UNR-affiliated users]

McGovern, Thomas. "Do You Understand?: The Dave Hickey Experience." Afterimage (Nov/Dec 2003), Vol. 31, no. 3; p. 15. [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

McWilliams, James. "Lit, Crit, "N Grits: Interview with Don Graham." Texas Observer (Austin, TX). (April 9, 2004) Vol. 96, no. 6, p. 6. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

Molesworth, Helen. "Project America." frieze magazine. No. 40 (May 1998).

Morgan, Stuart. "The Invisible Dragon, Dave Hickey." frieze magazine. No. 13 (Nov.-Dec. 1993).

Mulrooney, Christopher. "Robert Rauschenberg: The Dave Hickey Interview." Criteria.

Newhall, Edith. "Loving Las Vegas." New York (4/5/1999) Vol. 32, no. 13; p. 97.

Poynor, Rick. "The Beauty Part." Vol. 54, no. 5, Print (Sep/Oct. 2000), p. 62-. [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Price, Michael H. "Dave Hickey: How Cowtown became art's next nexus." Fort Worth Business Press (March 24, 2008).

Prior Convictions reviews:

  • Winckler, S. "Moving on." Texas Monthly, (June 1989) Vol. 17, no. 6; p. 114.

Purdum, Todd S. "Unsettling the Art World for a Living; A Critic Resurrects Beauty as a Standard, and Finds It in Unexpected Places." New York Times (Sept. 4, 1999). [Available: Knowledge Center Research Microfilm N5 and online via ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times for UNR-affiliated users]

Rhodes, Charlotte W. "Dave Rave." Texas Monthly (April, 2000). [Available online via LexisNexis Academic for UNR-affiliated users]

Rush, Michael. "In Santa Fe, Searching for the Meaning of Beauty." New York Times (July 8, 2001), p. AR31. [Available: Knowledge Center Research Microfilm N5 and online via ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times for UNR-affiliated users]

Saltz, Jerry. "Babylon calling."  The Village Voice (Sept. 19, 2000), Vol. 45, no. 37; p. 71. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

____. "Christopher Wool." The Village Voice (Dec. 8-14, 2004), Vol. 49, no. 49; p. C78. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

_____. "Keeping the faith." The Village Voice (Oct. 2, 2001), Vol. 46, no. 39; p. 70. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

_____. "Learning on the job." The Village Voice (Sept. 11-17, 2002), Vol. 47, no. 37; p. 53+. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

_____. "Living Large." The Village Voice (Dec. 12, 2000), Vol. 45, no. 49; p. 155. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

_____. "Middle Americana." The Village Voice (Nov. 20, 2001), Vol. 46, no. 46; p. 61. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

_____. "Writing Wrongs." frieze magazine (Oct. 13, 2005).

Stege, John. "Anxiety and Discomfort." Santa Fe Reporter (N.M.). Vol. 28, no. 4 (July 24, 2001), p. 27. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

Stern, Steven. "Desert Boom." frieze magazine (Jan. 1, 2007).

Tolson, Jay. "Aristotle in the land of the slot machine." U.S. News & World Report. Vol. 128, no. 2 (Jan. 17, 2000), p. 50. [Available via Academic Search Premier for UNR-affiliated users]

Tucker, Glenn. "A Clean, Well-Lighted Place (Art Scene column)." The San Antonio Light (June 27, 1971), p. 14.  [Available via Access NewspaperArchive for UNR-affiliated users]

Van Proyen, Mark. "Critique of Cynical Criticism." Art Criticism (2006), Vol. 21, no. 2; p. 83-116.

Webb, Penny. "Dave Hickey Objects." The Age (March 3, 2004).

Welsh, Nick. "Angry Poodle Barbecue: Pearls Before Canine (column)." Santa Barbara Independent (Santa Barbara, CA), Vol. 14, no. 717 (Aug. 24, 2000), p. 11. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

Wiens, Ann. "Gorgeous politics, dangerous pleasure." Vol. 21, New Art Examiner (April 1994), p. 12-17.

Winkleman, Edward. "Dave Hickey Makes the Squad." Artslant: the inside spot for art buzz & events. (Nov. 1, 2007).

Wolff, Elaine. "CAM Showdowns." Current (San Antonio, TX), (Aug. 2-8, 2006), Vol. 6, no. 31; p. 17. [Available via Alt-Press Watch for UNR-affiliated users]

Yarowsky, Morris. "The Beauty Fallacy: Dave Hickey's Aesthetic Revisionism." Vol. 16, no. 1, Art Criticism (2001), p. 7-11.

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass.