skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Shaun Griffin

Shaun Griffin

Shaun Griffin – 2014 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame

Shaun GriffinA Nevadan since 1978, Shaun Griffin’s soulful poetry and engagement with Nevada communities make him one of the state’s most well-loved literary figures. He is the author of This is What the Desert Surrenders, Bathing in the River of Ashes and Woodsmoke, Wind and the Peregrine, among others. Recurring themes in his poetry are "... family, landscape and work for justice in the larger world." Griffin’s editing also adds to his literary legacy, specifically his editing of Torn By Light, poems by Joanne de Longchamps. Likewise, his translations of Emma Sepulveda’s poems have allowed her work to be enjoyed by an increasingly wider audience. Both de Longchamps and Sepulveda are members of the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame. From Griffin: “I believe poetry has a central role in our lives – if we slow down and find the one poem that excites us. From there on, it is like returning to a fountain for fresh water. We can be a culture of poetry readers…if we listen for the voice lying dormant on the shelves.” In the early 1980s, he began offering creative writing workshops for prisoners at the Northern Nevada Correctional Center. He is the editor of Razor Wire, an annual poetry journal, that grew from that effort. Griffin received the Governor's Award for Excellence in the Arts in 1995 and was awarded the Silver Pen as an “author of promise” from the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame in 1998. He is the co-founder and executive director of Community Chest, Inc., a rural and social justice agency serving northwestern Nevada since 1991, and is also the director of the Homeless Youth Education Office. In 2004 he served on the Nevada Arts Council and is a member of the Association of Writers and Writing Programs. In 2008 he served as judge for the Neltje Blanchan Memorial Award and the Frank Nelson Doubleday Memorial Award. He lives in Virginia City, Nevada, mentors a writing class at the Nevada State Prison, periodically teaches other creative writing classes and poetry workshops, and is also a watercolorist.
 

Bibliography for Shaun Griffin

Books

Bathing in the River of Ashes: Poems. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1999. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, and Great Basin College-Elko:  PS 3557 .R489127 B38]

Desert Wood: an Anthology of Nevada Poets. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1991. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, WNC-Carson City, WNC-Fallon, and GBC-Elko: PS 571 .N3 D47 1991]

Driving the Tender Desert Home. Boise, Idaho: Limberlost Press, 2014.

From Sorrow's Well: the Poetry of Hayden Carruth. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2013. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3505 .A77594 Z63]

The Harvest of Lesser Burdens: Art in the Fields of Medicine. Reno: Nevada Museum of Art, [2006]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center Special Collections: Oversize PS 3557 .R489127 H37 2006]

The River Underground: an Anthology of Nevada Fiction. Reno: Nevada University Press, 2001. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, GBC-Elko, and WNC-Carson City: PS 571 .N3 R58 2001]

Sepulveda-Pulvirenti, Emma. Death to Silence = Muerte al Silencio. Translated by Shaun T. Griffin. Houston, Tex.: Arte Publico Press, 1997. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and WNC-Carson City: PQ 7079.2 .S46 D4]

Snowmelt: Poems. Reno: University of Nevada, Reno. Black Rock Press, 1994. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections Book Arts Collection: PS 3557 .R489127 S6 1994]

This is What the Desert Surrenders: New and Selected Poems. Reno: Black Rock Press, 2012. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections; Western Nevada College-Carson City: PS 3557 .R489127]

Under Red-Tailed Sky. Reno: Black Rock Press, 1995. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center Special Collections Book Arts: Reading Room PS 3557 .R489127 U53 1995]

Woodsmoke, Wind, and the Peregrine. Reno: Black Rock Press, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3557 .R489127 W663 2008]

Words I Lost at Birth: Dedicated to All People Who Have Found Out Otherwise. Fallon, NV: A Frosty Morning, 1981. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3557 .R489127 W67 1981]

Articles, Editor, Letters, Reviews, and Translations

Amor, Pita. "CXLII," "CXXXIX," "CXXX," and "CXXXIV [poems] in These Are Not Sweet Girls: Latin American Women Poets. Fredonia, NY: White Pine Press, 1994; pp. 353-354. Translated by Shaun T. Griffin and Emma Sepulveda-Pulvirenti. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PQ 7087 .E5 T43 1994]

"Cartographer of Stone, Silence, and Dust." Capital City Arts Initiative (June 2015).

" Counterpane." Capital City Arts Initiative (June 2015).

De Longchamps, Joanne. Torn by Light: Selected Poems. Griffin, Shaun T. ed. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1993. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, Great Basin College-Elko, and Western Nevada College (Carson and Fallon campuses): PS 3507 .E527 A6 1993]

"Foreword." Razor Wire. No. 11 (June 2001), pp. vi-vii. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 508 .P7 R39]

"Foreword." Razor Wire. No. 13 (November 2003), pp. vi-vii. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 508 .P7 R39]

"From the Ash of Human Feeling - Teaching Poetry behind the Fence." Weber Studies. Vol. 18, no. 2 (Winter 2001), pp. 52-68.

"A Genius Obscured." Sojourners. Vol. 29, no. 3 (May/June 2000), pp. 50-51+. [Available online via the Alt-PressWatch database for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Hayden Carruth: Selected Essays and Reviews [review]." Western American Literature (Fall 1998) Vol. 33, no. 3; pp. 304-305. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 271 .W46 and online for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"I Am More Afraid of Wind than Rain -- of Travel, Poetry, and Sons." Weber Studies. Vol. 16, no. 1 (Fall 1998), pp. 53-58.

[Letter to Editor.] Poetry. Vol. 196, no. 5 (September 2010), p. 480. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 301 .P6 2010 and online via Academic Search Premier and JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

"The Nevada Reaction," in Homeless, Not Hopeless: Ensuring Educational Opportunity for America's Homeless Children and Youth. Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Education, 1991; p. 19. [Available via the ERIC database for UNR-affiliated users]

"Poetic Exclusivity [letter to editor]." The Nation. Vol. 228, no. 1 (January 6-13, 1979; p. 2. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center Microfiche S0029 and online via The Nation Archive for UNR-affiliated users]

"Praise for writers' candor about Vietnam [letter to the editor]." Reno Gazette-Journal (October 13, 2015), p. A4. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0519]

"Preface." Razor Wire. No. 2 (July 1991). [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center Special Collections: PS 508 .P7 R39]

Sepulveda, Emma. "No." Great Basin (Summer 1997), p. 20. [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"Your Turn: Remodeling a kitchen without benefits (column)." Reno Gazette-Journal (September 30, 2010), p. A7.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0519]

"Tent City was a big success [letter to editor]." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (March 4, 2007), p. 4D.  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"The Toil of Two Who Would." Bloomsbury Review. Vol. 19, no. 2 (March-April, 1999), p. 15. [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"We Refuse to Let Frost His Fence but Have We Not a Poetry to Keep?" Clackamas Literary Review. Vol. 2, no. 1; (Spring 1998); pp. 35-38.

"Writing in Service to the Other: Notes on Tenacity and Fear." Red Rock Review (Summer 2002) No. 12; pp. 80-87. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 501 .R43 2002]

"You Don't Need to Go to Rio. Want to learn how philanthropy can address pain and poverty? Look in your own back yard." Foundation News & Commentary. Vol. 39, no. 5 (September 1, 1998), p. 27.

Poems

"A Metered Vision," in Teaching the Art of Poetry: The Moves by Baron Wormser and David Cappella. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2000; pp. 49-50. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PN 1101 .W67 2000]

"A Walk Around the Pond." American Poetry Review. Vol. 33, no. 1 (Jan-Feb 2004), p. 28. [Available online via: Academic Search Premier, Alt-Press Watch, JSTOR, Literature Online, and the Literature Research Center databases for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Art." Antioch Review. Vol. 49, no. 2 (Spring 1991), p. 235. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: AP 2 .A562 and online via Academic Search Premier and JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Clouds ahead of the rain." New Orleans Review. Vol. 26, no. 3-4 (Fall-Winter 2000), pp. 96-101. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS AP 2 .N6212]

"Emerald Lake." Southern Humanities Review. Vol 35, no. 2 (Spring 2001), p. 130.

"Heron Dance," in Jaeger, Lowell, ed. New Poets of the American West. Kalispell, Montana: Many Voices Press, 2010; p. 245. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 561 .N465 2010]

"KUNR Western Writers Series I" in University Archives Sound Recordings Collection [audiocassette and CD]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0062/2/25; 3/11-1; and 3/11-2]

"Letter from the Hood River Shallows." isotope. Vol. 5, no. 1 (Spring/Summer 2007), p. 21. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0519]

"Los Vendedores," in Jaeger, Lowell, ed. New Poets of the American West. Kalispell, Montana: Many Voices Press, 2010; p. 245. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 561 .N465 2010]

'Madonna in Traffic" in TumbleWords: Writers Reading the West. William L. Fox, ed. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1995. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Special Collections, Great Basin College-Elko, Western Nevada College-Carson City: PS 561 .T86 1995]

"The Meth Addict out My Window," in Jaeger, Lowell, ed. New Poets of the American West. Kalispell, Montana: Many Voices Press, 2010; p. 244. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 561 .N465 2010]

"Nevada No Longer," in Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Edited by Cheryll Glotfelty. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008; pp. 473-475. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008]

"Nevada No Longer." Southwestern American Literature. Vol. 34, no. 1 (Fall 2008), p. 66. [Available online via Literature Resource Center for UNR-affiliated users]

"Nevada No Longer," in Wild Nevada: Testimonies on Behalf of the Desert. Roberta Moore and Scott Slovic, eds. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2005; pp. 108-110. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: F 845 .W55 2005]

"On Highway 50." in Seven Nevada Poets edited by William Fox. Reno: University of Nevada, Reno Black Rock Press, 1991; p. 2. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections Book Arts Collection: PS 571 .N3 S38 1991]

"On the San Francisco Zephyr."  in Seven Nevada Poets edited by William Fox. Reno: University of Nevada, Reno Black Rock Press, 1991; p. 3. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections Book Arts Collection: PS 571 .N3 S38 1991]

"Rain outside Lovelock, late March [broadside]." Reno: Black Rock Press, 2010. Commissioned by the Nevada Arts Council.

"Reading Jeffers in the Rainy January Dawn." Jeffers Studies. Vol. 8, no. 1 (Spring 2004), p. 3.

"Sing, before the Long Silence Returns." Bloomsbury Review. Vol. 18, no. 2 (March-April 1998), p. 25.

[Three Poems]: "Postcard to Wally Easterly from Here in the Loneliest Town on Highway 50; Jerry-Rigging the Furnace in the Old Mill House at American Flat; Driving Judy to the Haven of Hope." Red Rock Review (Winter 2000), Vol. 1, no. 7; pp. 10-12. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 501 .R43 2000]

"Tumbleweeds and Toenails: Weed Abatement in Silver Springs." in Change in the American West: Exploring the Human Dimension, edited by Stephen Tchudi. Reno: University of Nevada Press: Nevada Humanities Committee, [1996]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Special Collections, UNR Basque Library, WNC-Carson City, and GBC-Elko: F 595 .C47 1996]

"Wendover" in Community in the American West, edited by Stephen Tchudi. Reno: Nevada Humanities Committee, 1999. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, and its Special Collections; Great Basin College - Elko, and Western Nevada College-Fallon: F 595.3 .C65 1999]

"Wildflower." Weber Studies. Vol. 11, no. 3 (Fall 1994). [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: PS 3557 .R489127 W553 1994]

 

Biographical Sources and Critical Response

"Ancient knowledge, reggae and peach ice cream." Nevada Appeal. (July 7, 2004).  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Area resident needs votes to keep going and going." Nevada Appeal. (March 18, 2011). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Bates, Warren. "Wilber Stevens, UNLV teacher, poet, dies at 75." Las Vegas Review-Journal (October 1, 1996). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Bathing in the River of Ashes - Reviews

  • Kirkus Reviews. Vol. 67 (May 1, 1999), p. 669.[Available online via ProQuest database for UNR-affiliated users, only]
  • Naparsteck, Martin. Salt Lake Tribune (May 16, 1999), p. D5 [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Berger, K. C. "Free Book Signing Events at Sundance Bookstore (press release)." (April 5, 2007).

"Book festival brings long list of events, activities to Las Vegas." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (October 28, 2012).  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Book Signings." Rocky Mountain News (Denver). (November 14, 1999), p. 5E.  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Bosshart, Becky. "Sierra Pacific awards grant to Virginia City agency." Nevada Appeal (May 3, 2005). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

________. "Virginia City could have public health clinic in a year." Nevada Appeal. (May 16, 2005). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Collier, Lynn. "Children learn lifelong lesson." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (April 8, 1998).  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Community Briefly: 'The Beauty of Poetry - from English to Spanish' at WNC." Nevada Appeal. (March 2, 2009). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Continental Harmony Premiers in Northern Nevada." Nevada Arts News (September 2000), p. 3. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0519]

Desert Wood - Reviews

  • Bloomsbury Review Vol. 12 (July 1992), p. 14.
  • Silver & Blue (Fall 1991), p. 6.
  • Western American Literature. Vol. 27 (November 1992), p. 267.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 271 .W46 and online for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Doman, Geoff. "Welfare and other public assistance applications up sharply after 9/11." Nevada Appeal. (November 5, 2001). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Ellen Hopkins: an interview, and a poem written just for Chicagoans." Chicago Examiner. (September 24, 2012). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Ford, Jean; Glass, Betty J.; and Martha B. Gould, eds. Women in Nevada History: An Annotated Bibliography of Published Sources. [Reno]: Nevada Women's History Project, 2000. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections; Western Nevada College: HQ 1438 .N3 W66 2000]

Friends of the University Library Records. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0446]

From Sorrow's Well - Reviews

  • Bloomsbury Review. Vol. 24, no. 6 (Nov-Dec 2004), pp. 27-28.
  • Shepard, Neil. Green Mountains Review. Vol. 27, no. 2 (April 10, 2015)
  • Shipley, Julia. "A Poet's Due." Seven Days. (October 2013), p. 24.

Glotfelty, Cheryll. "The Comstock's Literary Mother Lode [DVD]." Series: Comstock Conversations. Reno: Teaching and Learning Technologies, UNR; October 2009. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 561 .C65 2009]

_________. "In my backyard: Nevada's literature of resistance to atomic testing and nuclear waste." Southwestern American Literature. Vol. 34, no. 1 (Fall 2008), p. 55+. [Available via Literature Resource Center for UNR-affiliated users]

_________. "State Pieces in the U.S. Regions Puzzle: Nevada and the Problem of Fit" in Regionalism and the Humanities. Edited by Timothy R. Mahoney and Wendy J. Katz. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2008; pp. 237-250. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: E 179.5 .R44 2008]

"GBNP announces Tumblewords Event." Ely Times. (September 16, 2011). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Hammon, Amanda. "Agur, Robert Laxalt." Nevada Appeal. (March 28, 2001).  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Hartig, Jean. "Recent Winners." Poets & Writers. Vol. 36, no. 4 (July/August 2008), p. 77+. [Available online via Literature Online for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Horn, Brad. "Homeless Vigil at the Capitol." Nevada Appeal. (December 22, 2008).  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Johnson, Christopher J. "Collected Works Interviews Shaun T. Griffin." (November 5, 2013). Collected Works Bookstore & Coffeehouse, Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Juillerat, Lee. "Mountain Thunder Festival in Cedarville." Herald and News (Klamath Falls, OR). (May 21, 2015, p. 17. [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Literary Notes." Salt Lake Tribune. (November 24 and December 1, 2008.  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Little, Jane Braxton. "Creativity a big part of small town's celebration." The Sacramento Bee. (May 25, 2015), p. 3A.  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Marbley, Jennifer. "Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Inducts New Honorees." The Nevada Sagebrush - University Wire (November 18, 2014), p. 1. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center Special Collections: LH 1 .U55 S784 and online via LexisNexis for UNR-affiliated users]

McManis, Sam. "'Dilbert' goes to prison -- a con's tale - Corporate skills served him well." San Francisco Chronicle (February 16, 2002), p. A19.  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Mackedon, Michon. Bombast: Spinning Atoms in the Desert. Reno, NV: Black Rock Institute Press, 2010.  [Available: Mathewson-IGTKnowledge Center and its Special Collections: U 264.4 .N3 M33 2010]

Nolte, Carl. "Nobody Knows Who Owns Virginia City." San Francisco Chronicle (March 23, 1994), p. A1. [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Oakden, Linsay. "Author Reading and Signing: Shaun Griffin, Woodsmoke, Wind and the Peregrine (press release)." Sundance Bookstore (September 13, 2008).

Papers of Charles Wright, 1965-2000 [manuscript collection]. University of Virginia: Albert H. Small Special Collections Library (Charlottesville, VA): includes one or two letters from Shaun Griffin. [via Archivegrid database for UNR-affiliated users]

"Poetry and prose - Shaun T. Griffin." Sundance Books and Music (April 3, 2012).

"Poetry Gathering in Modoc County community of Cedarville." Herald and News (Klamath Falls, OR). (May 22, 2014). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Razorwire '02: A Journal of Poetry, Prose and Art." Reno Gazette-Journal (September 22, 2002). [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

The River Underground - Reviews:

  • Hunt, Richard. Western American Literature (Fall 2002) Vol. 37, no. 3; pp. 381-382. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 271 .W46 and online for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Robinson, Lois G. "Refreshing to see both sides on Vietnam [letter to the editor]." Reno Gazette-Journal (October 16, 2015), p. A6. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0519]

Sam Hamill Papers, 1972-2001 [manuscript collection]. Includes Griffin correspondence. [Available: Washington State University Libraries; Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections; Pullman, Washington].

Schumacher, Geoff. "Clark, Laxalt lead growing roster of renowned Nevada writers," in Schumacher, Geoff, ed. Nevada 150 Years in the Silver State. Las Vegas: Stephens Press, 2014; pp. 197-198.

"Shaun Griffin, TumbleWords" Nevada Arts Council, Tumble Words.

"Shaun Griffin, Bio" Nevada Humanities.

"Shaun Griffin - Executive Director." Community Chest [Virginia City, Nevada]

"Shaun Griffin, Ron James Honored for Their Writing." Virginia City News (November 15, 2014).

"Shaun Griffin to visit Great Basin College." Ely Times. (April 6, 2012). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Shaun T. Griffin reads at City Art." [YouTube] (November 14, 2012)

Shearer, Nicole. "Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Shaun Griffin and Ronald M. James Honored." Targeted News Service (October 31, 2014).  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Shipley, Jarid. "Storey County Breaks Ground on Community Center." Nevada Appeal. (August 19, 2006). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Skorupa, Susan. "Book lovers recommend their favorites." Reno Gazette-Journal (2003), p. F1.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0519]

_______. "N. Nevada home to substantial literary community." Associated Press State Wire / Reno Gazette-Journal. (August 22, 2014). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

_______. "Nevada Focus: Prison Poems Blossom from the Razor Wire Workshop." Reno Gazette-Journal / Associated Press State & Local Wire. (June 1, 2001). [Available online via LexisNexis for UNR-affiliated users]

_______. "Sundance Books hosts pair of poets this week." Reno Gazette-Journal (September 21, 2008), p. E1.  [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

_______. "Sundance hosting poets through April." Reno Gazette-Journal (March 29, 2009), p. 3E.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center University Archives: AC 0519]

_______. "Writers to discuss community." Reno Gazette-Journal (March 15, 2006), p. E1. [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Stobb, William. " Shaun Griffin." Online Nevada Encyclopedia. (February 22, 2011).

Snowmelt - Reviews

  • CHOICE. Vol. 32 (March 1995), p. 1114. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: MARS Z 1035 .C5]
  • Western American Literature. Vol. 30 (Fall 1995), p. 324.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 271 .W46 and online for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"State Briefly." Nevada Appeal. (April 21, 2009). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Sundance Bookstore to host 3 poets this week." Reno Gazette-Journal. (April 11, 2007), p. 26. [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"Surprise Valley Planning Meeting Set." Herald and News (Klamath Falls, OR). (April 16, 2015). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

"Teaching in a Prison, Writing Instructor Slips Poems Between Bars." Community College Week. Vol. 13, no. 23 (June 25, 2001), p. 14. [Available online via Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE databases for UNR-affiliated users].

"3rd Annual Frost Place Seminar." Threepenny Review. No. 84 (Winter 2001), p. 40. [Available via JSTOR for UNR-affiliated users]

Vasquez, Susie. "Storey Gets New Skate Park." Nevada Appeal. (April 24, 2001). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

_______. "Virginia City's Shaun Griffin, Community Chest leader and poet." Nevada Appeal. (March 11, 2001). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

_______. "Virginia City's skateboard park closed." Nevada Appeal. (November 2, 2001). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Vital, Erica. "Western Writer Feature: Shaun T. Griffin [interview]." Red Rock Review (Winter 2001), Vol. 1, no. 9; pp. 147-154. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 501 .R43 2001]

Vogel, Ed. "Guinn puts off poet laureate decision." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (December 8, 2004), p. 5B.  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

_____. "Nevada's poet laureate unhappy with imminent removal." Las Vegas Review-Journal. (November 2, 2004), p. 18. [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

Woodmansee, Karen. "Community Chest looks to business community." Nevada Appeal (January 16, 2005).  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

__________. "Honoring the woman who started it all." Nevada Appeal (November 8, 2008).  [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

__________."Storey Community Center and BLM Funding Coming Out of Latest Federal Appropriations Bill." Nevada Appeal. (December 23, 2007). [Available online via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users, only]

 

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass

Didn't find what you were looking for?