Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: William A. Douglass

William A. Douglass

William A. Douglass (1939-  )
Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 2012

William A Douglass was born in Reno, Nevada, in 1939. He received his BA from the University of Nevada in Spanish Literature in 1961, then earned his MS in 1966, and then PhD from the University of Chicago in Anthropology in 1967. He also attended the University of Madrid from 1959-60, the University of Oslo in 1960, and UC Berkeley from 1962-3.  In 1967, he joined the Anthropology faculty at UNR and founded the Basque Studies Program, now known as the Center for Basque Studies. He was its first director and served in that capacity for 33 years.

Considered one of the foremost experts in Basque Studies, Douglass also has language competency in Spanish, French, Italian, and Latin. He is a member of the American Anthropological Association, Current Anthropology, and Instituto Americano de Estudios Vascos. He obtained National Institute of Mental Health research scientist career development grants in 1971 and 1976, each of them 5-year grants. In 2002, the Society for the Anthropology of Europe established the William A. Douglass Prize in Europeanist Anthropology, an annual book award.

 

Bibliography for William A. Douglass

Books

Azúcar amargo: vida y fortuna de los cortadores de caña italianos y vascos en la Australia tropical. Bilbao: Universidad del Pais Vasco, 1996. Available at the Basque Library

The Basques of NevadaAvailable at the Basque Library

Casting about in the reel world: fishing on the fly. Oakland: RDR Books, 2002. Available at the Knowledge Center and the Basque Library

Cultura vasca y su diaspora: ensayos tecnicos y descriptivos. Donastia: Baroja, 1991. Available at the Basque Library

Death in Murélaga; funerary ritual in a Spanish Basque village. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1969. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, and Great Basin College-Elko

Echalar and Murlaga: opportunity and rural exodus in two Spanish Basque villages. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1975. Available at the Basque Library and the Knowledge Center

Echalar y Murélaga: oppurtunidad y éxodo rural en dos aldeas vascas. San Sebastián: Auñamendi, 1977. Available at the Basque Library

Emigration in a South Italian town: an anthropological history. New Brunswick: Rutgers University Press, 1984. Available at the Knowledge Center

Global Vasconia: essays on the Basque diaspora. Reno: Center for Basque Studies, University of Nevada, Reno, 2006. Available at the Basque Library

Lonely lives under the big sky. New York, 1973. Available at the Basque Library

Muerte en Murélaga: el context de la muerte en el pais vasco. Barcelona: Barral, 1973. Available at the Basque Library

La vasconia global: ensayos sobre las diasporas vascas. Vitoria-Gasteiz: Servicio de Publicaciones del Gobierno Vasco, 2003. Available at the Basque Library

Book Collaborations and Contributions

Amerikanuak: Basques in the New World. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2005. Available at the Knowledge Center and the Basque Library (with Jon Bilbao; first published 1975)

Amerikanuak: los vascos en el Nuevo Mundo. Trans. Román Basurto Larrañaga. Bilbao: Universidad del Pais Vasco, 1986. (with Jon Bilbao)

Los Aspectos cambiantes de la España rural. Trans. Eduardo Estradé. Barcelona: Barral, 1978. Available at the Basque Library. By William A. Douglass, et al.

Basque Americans: a guide to information sources, with Richard W. Etulain. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1981. Availab;e: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Basque Library, and Great Basin College-Elko.

Basque cultural studies. Ed. William A. Douglass. Reno: Basque Studies Program, University of Nevada, 1999. Available at the Basque Library

Basque culture: anthropological perspectives, with Joseba Zulaika. Reno: Center for Basque Studies, University of Nevada, Reno, 2007. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections and the Basque Library.

The Basque diaspora or La diaspora vasca. Ed. William A. Douglass. Reno: Basque Studies Program, University of Nevada, Reno, 1999. Available at the Basque Library

Basque Nationalism, with Milton da Silva. Reno: University of Nevada, Basque Studies Program, 1971. Available at the Basque Library.

Basque politics: a case study in ethnic nationalism. Ed. William A. Douglass. Reno: Basque Studies Program, University of Nevada, 1985. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Basque Library, and Great Basin College-Elko

Basque sheep herders of the American West: a photographic documentary, with Richard H. Lane. Reno: Nevada University Press, 1985. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko.

“Basque-American Identity: Past Perspectives and Future Prospects” Change in the American West: Exploring the Human Dimension. Ed. Stephen Tchudi. Reno: University of Nevada Press: Nevada Humanities Committee, 1996. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko.

“Basques in the American West” “Basques” “Basque immigrants” “Amerikanuak” Basque Americans. New Haven: Human Relations Area Files, 1996. Available as an Electronic Resource.

Beltran, Basque sheepman of the American West, by Beltran Paris, as told to William A. Douglass. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1979. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko.

“Borderland influences in a Navarrese village” Anglo-American contributions to Basque studies: essays in honor of Jon Bilbao. William A Douglass, et al, eds. [S.l., n.p.; 1977. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections, the Basque Library, and Great Basin College-Elko

The Changing faces of rural Spain.Ed. William A Douglass and Joseph B Aceves. New York: Halsted Press, 1976. Available at the Basque Library and the Knowledge Center

“Creating the New Basque Diaspora” Basque politics and nationalism on the eve of the millennium. Ed. William A. Douglass. Reno: Basque Studies Program, University of Nevada, 1999. Available at the Basque Library

“Death in Murelaga; Echalar and Murelaga” Basques. New Haven: Human Relations Area Files, 2001. Available as an Electronic Resource

Decline of the nation state / Contra el estado-nacion, by Gurutz Jauregui Bereciartu; translated by William A Douglass. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1994. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, and Great Basin College-Elko

"The End of the Line," in Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Edited by Cheryll Glotfelty. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008; pp. 306-314. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008]

Essays in Basque social anthropology and history. Ed. William A. Douglass. Reno: Basque Studies Program, University of Nevada, Reno, 1989. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, and Great Basin College-Elko.

“Foreward” to Improvisational poetry from the Basque country. by Gorka Aulestia. Translated by Lisa Corcostegui and Linda White. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1995. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, and Great Basin College-Elko

“Foreward” to Possible paradises: Basque emigration to Latin America, byJosé Manual Azcona Pastor. Translation by Roland Vazquez. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2004. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, and Western Nevada College-Carson City.

“Foreward” to Robert Laxalt: the Voice of the Basques in American Literature, by David Rio. Reno: Center for Basque Studies, University of Nevada, Reno, 2007. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections, the Basque Library, and Western Nevada College-Carson City.

“Foreward” to The social roots of Basque nationalism. by Alfonso Pérez-Agote. Translated by Cameron Watson and William A. Douglass. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2006. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko.

Letters from the Nevada frontier: correspondence of Tasker L. Oddie 1898-1902. William A Douglass and Robert A. Nylen, eds. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2004. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City.

Migración, etnicidad y etnonacionalismo. Bilbao: Universidad del Pais Vasco, 1994. Available at the Basque Library, by William A. Douoglass, et al.

“Musings of a native son,” in Of sagebrush & slot machines: this curious place called Nevada. Casper, Scott E. and Richard O. Davies, eds. Needham Heights: Simon and Schuster Custom Publishing, 1997. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City.

The Old Law of Bizkaia (1452): introductory study and critical edition. Translated by William A. Douglass and Linda White. Ed. Gregorio Monreal Zia. Reno: Center for Basque Studies, University of Nevada, Reno, 2005. Available at the Basque Library

“Postwar developments motivate terrorists,” with Joseba Zulaika, in Terrorism: Opposing Viewpoints. Ed. Laura K Egendorf. San Diego: Greenhaven Press, 2000; with Joseba Zulaika.

“Prólogo” to Robert Laxalt: la voz de los vascos en la literatura norteamericana, by David Rio. Bilbao: Universidad del Pais Vasco, 2002. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections and the Basque Library: PS 3562 .A9525 Z88 2002

“Santi’s Story,” in Portraits of Basques in the New World. Etulain, Richard W. and Jeronima Echeverria, eds.. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1999. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko.

Tap dancing on ice: the life and times of a Nevada gaming pioneer, by Jack Douglass, as told to William A. Douglass. Reno: University of Nevada Oral History Program, 1996.  Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, Western Nevada College-Carson City and Fallon, and Great Basin College-Elko

Terror and taboo: the follies, fables and faces of terrorism, with Joseba Zulaika. New York: Routledge, 1996. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and the Basque Library: HV 6431 .Z85 1996

“The vanishing Basque sheepherder,” in Basques of the Pacific Northwest. Etulain, Richard W., ed.. Pocatello: Idaho State University Press, 1991. Available: the Basque Library: F 852 .B37 1991

Articles, Papers, Videorecordings, Etc.

Amerikanuak [videorecording]: the Basques of the American West: a documentary. Bordagary Productions, 1991. Available at the Basque Media Center

“Anthropological Angst and the Tourist Encounter,” with Julie Lacy. NAPA Bulleting 23.1 (2005): 119-134. Available Online

"Anthropological History In An Iberian Context." Peasant Studies 14.2 (1987): 119-130.

“Basque immigrants: contrasting patters of adoption in Argentina and the American West” Currents in Anthropology . 287-303.

“The Basque Stem Family Household: Myth of Reality?” Journal of Family History 13.1 (1988): 75-89. Available Online

“Basques” Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups 173-179. Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press, 1980.

“The Basques of Nevada -Ethnicity and Race in Nevada." Nevada Public Affairs Review 2 (1987).(with Richard H. Lane).

Basques throughout the world [videorecording]. Pais Vasco: Euskal Telebista, 1996. Available: Great Basin College-Elko's Media Center

“Beyond authenticity: the meanings and uses of cultural tourism” Tourist Studies 2.1 (2002): 5-21. (with Julie Lacy.

“The Catalan factor in Australian immigration history” Melbourne: Dept of Romance Languages, Monash University, 1992.

“A critique of recent trends in the analysis of ethnonationalism” Ethnic and Racial Studies 11 (1988): 206

“Decline of the nation state by Gurutz Jáuregui Bereciartu; [translated by William A Douglass]” 1993. Available at the Basque Library 

“Economic changes cause an identity crisis for Basque Americans.” The world & I Vol. 8, no. 12, December 1993: journalism: news or views? Washington D.C.: Washington Times Corp., 1993. Available at the Basque Library

Ethnic categorization in the 1980 U.S. census: The Basque example” Government Publications Review 12.4 (1985): 289-296. Available Online

“El factor catalá a la història de la immagració australiana” Revista d’etnologia de Catalunya 11 (1997): 88-101.

"The 'Famille Souche' And Its Interpreters." Continuity & Change 8.1 (1993): 87-102.

“Family Life in Central Italy, 1880-1910: Sharecropping, Wage labor and Coresidence by David I. Kertzer” (review) The Journal of Interdisciplinary History 16.3 (1986): 529-531. Available Online

“From Italy to Ingham (Book Review)” Australian Book Review (1995): 27.

"Hot Type." Chronicle Of Higher Education 42.41 (1996): A10.

“Iberian Family History” Journal of Family History 13.1 (1988): 1-12. Available Online

“In Search of Juan de Oñate: Confessions of a Cryptoessentialist” Journal of Anthropological Research 56.2 (2000): 137-162. Available Online

An interview with Joseph Mosconi. (conducted by William A Douglass). Reno: University of Nevada, Reno, Oral History Program, 1985.

“Issues in the Study of South Italian Society” Current Anthropology 16.4 (1975): 620-622. Available Online

Jack’s story: the life and times of Jack Douglass, Nevada Gaming pioneer/ (as told to William A Douglass) Reno: University of Nevada, Oral History Program, 1998. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: HV 6710.3 .D68 J3 1998

“The Making of the Basque Nation by Marianne Heiberg” American Ethnologist 18.3 (1991): 610-611. Available Online

“Measuring Peasant Attitudes to Modernization: A Projective Method by Marilyn Gates” Current Anthropology 17.4 (1976): 659. Available Online

“Mediterranean Family Structures by J.G. Peristiany” Man 14.1 (1979): 176-178. Available Online

“Members of Two Worlds: A Development Study of Three Villages in Western Sicily by John Galtung” American Anthropologist 77.2 (1975): 431-432. Available Online

“Migrants in Europe: The Role of Family ,Labor and Politics by Hans Christian Buechler; Judith-Maria Buechler” American Ethnologist 16.4 (1989): 809-810. Available Online

“Migration in Italy” Urban Life in Mediterranean EuropeUrbana, Ill. (1983): 162-202.

“The mining camp as community” Social approaches to an industrial past: the archeology and anthropology of mining (1998): 97-108.

“The Naming of Gaming” Names: A Journal of Onomastics 49 (2001): 1-35. (with Pauliina Raento)

“On Terrorism Discourse: Reply to Greenwood” Current Anthropology 39.2 (1998): 265-266. Available Online (with Joseba Zulaika)

“On the Interpretation of Terrorist violence: ETA and the Basque political process” Comparative Studies in Society and History 32.2 (1990): 238-257. (with Joseba Zulaika). Available Online

“On the naming of Arizona” Names: Journal of the American Name Society 27 (1979): 217-234.

“Opportunity, choice-making, and rural depopulation in two Spanish Basque Villages” Thesis- University of Chicago.

“Papers from the Basque Linguistics Seminar, University of Nevada, Summer, 1972,” (with Luis Michele)

“Peasant Emigrants: Reactors or Actors?” American Ethnological Society. Annual Spring Meeting. 1970: Proceedings. 21-35.

“Reply to Brandes” American Anthropologist 75.1 (1973): 300-302. Available Online

“Reply to Kasdan and Brandes” American Anthropologist 75.1 (1973): 304-306. Available Online

“Rural exodus in two Spanish Basque villages: a cultural explanation” American Anthropologist 73.5 (1971): 1100-1114. Available Online or Available at the Basque Library

“Sacrifice as Terror: The Rwandan Genocide of 1994 [review]."” Journal of Anthropological Research 57.1 (2001): 102-105. Available Online

“Sheep ranchers and sugar growers: property transmission in the Basque immigrant family of the American West and Australia,” in Households: Comparative and Historical Studies of the Domestic Group. Netting, Robert M., Richard R. Wilk, and Eric J. Arnould, eds. Berkeley: University of California Press, [1984]; 109-129. Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: HQ 7 .H68 1984

“Social Borders: Definition and Diversity by Jennie-Keith Ross” (review) Current Anthropology 16.1 (1975): 64. Available Online

“The South Italian Family: a Critique.” Journal of Family History 5.4 (1980): 338-357. Available Online

“South Italian Festivals: A Local History of Ritual and Change by Herman Tak [review].” Contemporary Sociology 31.3 (2002): 293-294. Available Online

“Testigo en tierra salvaje: la cita tropical de Levi-Strauss y Theodore Roosevelt” Revista de antropologia social 11 (2002): 155-183. Available Online

“The Tradition of Invention: Conceiving Las Vegas,” with Paulina Raento. Annals of Tourism Research 31.1 (2004): 7-23. Available Online 

"'Trionfo' In Ingham. The Italian Community In North Queensland." Studi Emigrazione 31.113 (1994): 43-63.

“Unrewarding Wealth: The Commercialization and Collapse of Agriculture in a Spanish Basque Town [review]." Man 12.1 (1977): pp. 192-194. Available Online

“Witness in the wilderness: the tropical tryst of Claude Levi-Strauss and Theodore Roosevelt” Witness and memory: the discourse of trauma. (2003): 109-128; 305-310.

Biographical Resources & Critical Response

Amerikanuak: Basques in the New World - Reviews

  • American West. (1976): 60.
  • CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries (1976): 414.
  • Coleman, Peter J. "Amerikanuak (Book Review)." Library Journal 101.10 (1976): 1208. Available Online
  • Etulain, Richard W. “Amerikanuak: Basques in the New World by William A Douglass; Jon Bilbao” The Journal of American History 63.4 (1977): 1040-1041. Available Online
  • Ghezzi, Cecelia. Nevada Silver & Blue (Spring 2006), p. 9. [Available: Mathewson-IGTKnowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]
  • Gitelman, H. M. “Amerikanuak: Basques in the New World by William A Douglass; Jon Bilbao; By the Sweat of Their Brow: Mexican Immigrant Labor in the United State, 1900-1940 by Mark Reisler” The Journal of Economic History 38.2 (1978): 533-535. Available Online
  • Hispanic American Historical Review (1976): 519.
  • Jones, Oakah L. “Amerikanuak: Basques in the New World by William A Douglass; Jon Bilbao” The Western Historical Quarterly 8.1 (1977): 62-63. Available Online
  • Kenny, Michael. “Amerikanuak: Basques in the New World by William A Douglass; Jon Bilbao” American Anthropologist. 79.4 (1977): 943. Available Online
  • Sheperson, Wilbur S. “Amerikanuak: Basques in the New World by William A Douglass; Jon Bilbao” Pacific Historical Review 45.4 (1976): 618-619. Available Online

Anglo-American Contributions to Basque Studies: Essays in Honor of Jon Bilbao - Reviews

  • Bloom, Leonard. “Anglo-American Contributions to Basques Studies: Essays in Honor of Jon Bilbao by William A Douglass; Richard W Etulain; William H Jacobson” Hispania 62.1 (1979): 182-183. Available Online
  • Greenwood, Davydd J. “Anglo-American Contributions to Basques Studies: Essays in Honor of Jon Bilbao by William A Douglass; Richard W Etulain; William H Jacobson” American Anthropologist 81.1 (1979): 162-163. Available Online
  • Ulibarri, Ricahard O. “Anglo-American Contributions to Basques Studies: Essays in Honor of Jon Bilbao by William A Douglass; Richard W Etulain; William H Jacobson” The Western Historical Quarterly 10.3 (1979): 388-389. Available Online

Anonymous. "Ongi etorri gure etxera." Nevada Silver & Blue (Winter 2007), p. 47. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Basque Americans - Reviews

  • American Book Review (1982): 240
  • Booklist (1982): 1544.
  • Come-All-Ye (1983): 4.

Basque Cultural Studies - Reviews

  • Reference and Research Book News 15 (2000): 34.
  • White, Linda. "Basque Literary Criticism: Overcoming Theory Lag." Journal Of Spanish Cultural Studies 1.2 (2000): 205-214. Available Online

Basque Culture: Anthropological Perspectives - Review

  • Núñez-Betelu, Maite. "Basque Culture: Anthropological Perspectives." Journal Of International & Global Studies 1.1 (2009): 132-133. Available Online

"Basque Scholar Feature: William A. Douglass, Ph.D.," BOGA: Basque Studies Consortium Journal: Vol. 1: Iss. 1, Article 2; (10-3-2013). Available Online

Basque Sheepherders of the American West: A Photographic Documentary - Reviews

  • American West 23 (1986): 64.
  • Attebery, Louie W. “Basque Sheepherders of the American West: A Photographic Documentary by William A Douglass; Richard H Lane” The Western Historical Quarterly 18.2 (1987): 216-217. Available Online

Beltran: Basque Sheepman of the American West - Reviews

  • Austin, Judith. “Beltran: Basque Sheepman of the American West by Beltran Paris” Montana: The Magazine of Western History 30.3 (1980): 70. Available Online
  • Bieter, Pat. “Beltran Basque Sheepman of the American West by Beltran Paris; William A Douglass” Arizona and the West 22.4 (1980): 373-374. Available Online
  • Munro, Sarah Baker. “Beltran: Basque Sheepman of the American West by Beltran Paris; William A Douglass” Oregon Historical Quarterly 82.2 (1981): 217-218. Available Online
  • Rischin, Moses. "Beltran: Basque Sheepman Of The American West." New Mexico Historical Review 56.3 (1981): 324.
  • Rolland, Siegfried B. “Beltran: Basque Sheepman of the American West by Beltran Paris: William A Douglass” The Western Historical Quarterly 12.2 (1981): 192-194. Available Online
  • Smith, Melvin T. "Beltran: Basque Sheepman Of The American West." Utah Historical Quarterly 48.2 (1980): 213.
  • Trafzer, Clifford E. "Beltran: Basque Sheepman Of The American West." American West (00031534) 17.5 (1980): 63.
  • Woelfel, Roger. "Beltran (Book Review)." Library Journal 105.5 (1980): 606. Available Online

Brogger, Jan, et al. “Issues in the Study of South Italian Society [and Comments and Replies]” Current Anthropology 16.4 (1975): 622-625. Available Online

The Changing Faces of Rural Spain - Reviews

  • Press, Irwin. “The Changing Faces of Rural Spain by Joseph B Aceves; William A Douglass” Contemporary Sociology 7.5 (1978): 586-588. Available Online
  • Verdery, Katherine. “The Changing Faces of Rural Spain by Joseph B Aceves; William A Douglass; The Changing Peasantry of Eastern Europe by Joseph Obrebski; Joel Halpern; Barbara Halpern” American Anthropologist 80.2 (1978): 443-444. Available Online

Creating the New Basque Diaspora - Reiew

  • “Basque Politics and Nationalism on the Eve of the Millennium” Reference and Research Book News 15 (2000): 34.

Death in Murelaga: Funerary ritual in a Spanish Basque Village - Reviews

  • Aceves, Joseph B. “Death in Murelaga: Funerary ritual in a Spanish Basque village by William A Douglass” Man 5.4 (1970): 735-736. Available Online
  • Arnott, Margaret L. “Death in Murelaga by William A Douglass” Anthropos 69.3 (1974): 647. Available Online
  • CHOICE: Current reviews for Academic Libraries (1970): 1146.
  • CHOICE: Current reviews for Academic Libraries (1978): 822.
  • Freeman, Susan Tax. “Death in Murelaga: Funerary ritual in a Spanish Basque village by William A Douglass” American Anthropologist 72.5 (1970): 1112-1113. Available Online
  • Pitt-Rivers, Julian. “Death in Murelaga: Funerary ritual in a Spanish Basque village by William A Douglass” Etudes rurales45 (1972): 156-157. Available Online
  • TLS. Times Literary Supplement May 19 (1972): 580.

Echalar and Murelaga: Opportunity and Rural Exodus in Two Spanish Basque Villages - Reviews

  • CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries (1976): 696.
  • CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries (1978): 822.
  • Freeman, T.W. “The Western Pyrenees: Differential Evolution of the French and Spanish Borderland by Daniel Alexander Gomez-Ibanez
  • Moore, Alexander. “Echalar and Murelaga: Opportunity and Rural Exodus in Two Spanish Basque Villages by William A Douglass” American Anthropologist 79.1 (1977): 155-156. Available Online
  • Opportunity and Rural Exodus in Two Spanish Basque Villages by William A Douglass” The Geographical Journal 142.3 (1976): 514-516. Available Online
  • Reviews in Anthropology (1980): 107.

Elustondo, Miel A. William A Douglass, Mr Basque. Pamplona: Pamiela, 2011.

Elustondo, Miel A. "William A. Douglass: The unknown mediator in the Basque peace process of 2006." Larrun (September 20, 2008). Available Online

Emigration in a South Italian Town - Reviews

  • Bell, Rudolph M. “Emigration in a South Italian Town: An Anthropological History by William A Douglass” The American Historical Review 90.4 (1985): 972-973. Available Online
  • CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries 22 (1985): 1034.
  • Egelman, William S. “Emigration in a South Italian Town by William A Douglass” International Migration Review 19.2 (1985): 359. Available Online
  • Galt, Anthony. “Emigration in a South Italian Town: An Anthropological History by William A Douglass” Ethnohistory 33.1 (1986): 96-97. Available Online

Essays in Basque Social Anthropology and History - Review

  • CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries 27 (1990): 1356.

Land, Barbara. "Big grant saves big book on Basques [Book people column]." Reno Gazette-Journal (July 10, 1988), p. 5E+. [Available: University Archives: AC 0519/3/18]

Letters from the Nevada Frontier: Correspondence of Tasker L. Oddie 1898-1902 - Reviews

  • Chan, Loren B. “Letters from the Nevada Frontier: Correspondence of Tasker L Oddie, 1898-1902 by William A Douglass; Robert A Nylen.” The Journal of American History 81.1 (1994): 306. Available Online
  • Gallagher, Keith. “Letters from the Nevada Frontier: Correspondence of Tasker L Oddie, 1898-1902 by Tasker L Oddie; William A Douglass; Robert A Nylen” The Western Historical Quarterly 24.4 (1993): 583-584. Available Online
  • Glotfelty, Cheryll. "Letters From The Nevada Frontier: Correspondence Of Tasker L. Oddie, 1898-1902." Journal Of The West 44.1 (2005): 109.
  • Green, Michael S. “Letters from the Nevada Frontier: correspondence of Tasker L. Oddie, 1898-1902” Western Legal History 8.2 (1995):296-297.
  • Lilly, Dorothy. "Book Reviews: Social Sciences." Library Journal 117.18 (1992): 96. Available Online
  • Zanjani, Sally. "Letters From The Nevada Frontier: Correspondence Of Tasker L. Oddie, 1898-1902." Nevada Historical Society Quarterly 36.1 (1993): 59-61.

McAndrew, Siobhan. "Center renamed for Basque leader." Reno Gazette-Journal (November 6, 2015), p. A8. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Pedro J. Oiarzabal, Pedro J., ed. A candle in the night: Basque Studies at the University of Nevada, 1967-2007. Reno: University of Nevada Oral History Program, 2007.

The Social Roots of Basque Nationalism - Review

  • Payne, Stanley J. “The Social Roots of Basque Nationalism” The Journal of Modern History 80.1 (2008): 180.

Terror and Taboo: The Follies, Fables and Face of Terrorism - Reviews

  • Greenwood, Davydd J “Terrorism as Discourse (Zulaika and Douglass’s Terror and Taboo)” Current Anthropology 39.1 (1998): 179-180. Available Online
  • Mahmood, Cynthia Keppley. “Terror and Taboo: The Follies, Fables and face of Terrorism by Joseba Zulaika; William A Douglass.” American Ethnologist 25.3 (1998): 506-507. Available Online
  • Zalman, Amy. “Ruminations on Political Violence” Middle East Report 206 (2000): 46-47. Available Online

Wharton, Claudene. "University's 'Nevada Writers Hall of Fame' honors William A. (Bill) Douglass." Nevada Today (October 25, 2012). Available Online

Wheeler, John. "Douglass not the retiring sort." Nevada Silver & Blue (Spring 2003), p. 4. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

William A. Douglass, Center for Basque Studies, University of Nevada, Reno. Available Online

"William Anthony Douglass." Contemporary Authors Online. Detroit: Gale, 2009. Available Online

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass.