Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Richard Davies

Richard O. Davies

Richard Davies (1937- )
Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 2013

Richard DaviesRichard O. “Dick” Davies, Distinguished History Professor Emeritus at the University of Nevada, Reno, was born in Hamilton, Ohio, on October 26, 1937. He obtained his B.A. at Marietta College in 1959; his M.A. at Ohio University in 1960, and his Ph.D. in American political history at the University of Missouri in 1963. He worked as a newspaper reporter in Marietta and Middletown, Ohio, from 1959-1960. He taught history at the University of Missouri, Columbia; Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff; Memphis State University; and the University of Southern California. He received a National Endowment for the Humanities fellowship for younger scholars in 1967. In addition to being a member of the Department of History faculty, he served as Vice President for Academic Affairs at the University of Nevada, Reno. He is described as a “writer of great versatility and talent” in a letter of nomination submitted to the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame selection committee. “His books run the gamut from a biography of a conservative Republican presidential candidate, Defender of the Old Guard: John Bricker and American Politics (1993), to our country’s love of sports, America’s Obsessions: Sports and Society Since 1945 (1994), to the demise of our small towns, Main Street Blues: The Decline of Small-Town America (1998). ”Main Street Blues, a study of the small Ohio farming village of Camden, was named one of the top 25 books in American history by CHOICE. The Sharon and Richard O. Davies Research Endowment was established for a graduate student in History engaged in thesis or dissertation research. His The Main Event: Boxing in Nevada from the Mining Camps to the Las Vegas Strip won Foreword Reviews' INDIEFAB Book of the Year Bronze Medal in Sports (2014).

 

 

Bibliography for Richard Davies

Books

The Age of Asphalt: the Automobile, the Freeway, and the Condition of Metropolitan America. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1975.

America's Obsession: Sports and Society Since 1945. Fort Worth: Harcourt Brace College Publishers, 1994. [Available: Knowledge Center: GV 706.5 .D38 1994 and WNC-Fallon]

America's Recent Past. co-compiled with Franklin D. Mitchell. New York: Wiley, 1969.

Betting the Line: Sports Wagering in American Life. co-authored with Richard G. Abram. Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 2011. [Available: Knowledge Center GV 717 .D38 2001]

Defender of the Old Guard: John Bricker and American Politics. Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 1993. [Available: Knowledge Center E 748 .B8415 D38 1993]

A Desert of Change: Mary Freeman, Photographer. co-authored with Catherine S. Fowler and Dori D. Dwyer. [Fallon, NV]: Churchill County Museum Association, 1996? [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections F 847 .C4 D47 1996 and GBC - Elko]

Five Hundred Years: America in the World. 5th ed. co-authored with Scott E. Casper. Boston: Pearson Custom Pub., 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center E 169.1 .F584 2006]

Five Hundred Years: Exploring American Traditions. co-authored with Scott E. Casper. Boston: Pearson Custom Pub., 2000.

Housing Reform During the Truman Administration. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1966. [Available: Knowledge Center HD 7293 .A3 D3]

Main Street Blues: the Decline of Small-Town America. Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 1998. [Available: Knowledge Center F 499 .C177 D38 1998 and WNC-Fallon]

The Maverick Spirit: Building the New Nevada, editor. Wilbur S. Shepperson Series in History and Humanities. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections F 845 .M39 1999]

Of Sagebrush & Slot Machines: This Curious Place Called Nevada. Co-edited with Scott E. Casper. Needham Heights, MA: Simon & Schuster Custom Publishing, 1997. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections F 841 .O37 1997; WNC-Carson City; 2007 ed. in Special Collections and at GBC-Elko]

A Place Called Home: Writings on the Midwestern Small Town. Co-edited with Joseph A. Amato and David R. Pichaske. St. Paul, MN: Borealis Books, 2003. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections PS 563 .P58 2003]

Politics, Culture, and Society: Readings on the American Tradition, with John Marini and Leah J. Wilds. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1993.

Rivals! The Ten Greatest American Sports Rivalries of the 20th Century. Chichester, MA: J. Wiley & Sons, 2010. [Available: Knowledge Center GV 583 .D389 2010]

Sports in American Life: A History. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2007. [Available: Knowledge Center GV 583 .D39 2007 and WNC-Carson City; the 2012 edition available online for UNR-affiliated users]

Toward the Year 2000: Arizona's Future. [Phoenix, AZ]: Arizona Academy, 1980.

Book Chapters

"Foreword" for The Civilian Conservation Corps in Nevada: From Boys to Men. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2006. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections S 932 .N4 K65 2006, and GBC-Elko]

"Jerry Tarkanian: Nevada's Special Rebel," in The Maverick Spirit: Building the New Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1999; pp. 248-270. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections F 845 .M39 1999]

"John W. Bricker and the Slow Death of Old Guard Republicanism" in Builders of Ohio: A Biographical History. Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 2003.

"The Last Picture Show" from Main Street Blues," in A Place Called Home: Writings on the Midwestern Small Town. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Historical Society, 2003; pp. 260-285.

"Sagebrush and Cities: The Emergence of the New Nevada," in The Maverick Spirit: Building the New Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1999; pp. 2-11. [Available: Knowledge Center and Special Collections F 845 .M39 1999]

"Social Welfare Policies," in Poverty and Public Policy in Modern America. Chicago: Dorsey Press, 1989.

"Sports Betting: the American Pastime," in Gambling: Examining Pop Culture. San Diego: Greenhaven Press, 2004. [Available: WNC-Carson City HV 6715 .G285 2004]

"The Vital Center, the Fair Deal, and the Quest for a Liberal Political Economy" in Harry S. Truman and the Fair Deal. Lexington, MA: D. C. Heath, 1974.

Articles

"Arizona's Recent Past: Opportunities for Research." Arizona and the West (Autumn 1967) Vol. 9, no. 3; pp. 243-258.

"Asphalt Nation: How the Automobile Took Over America [review]." Journal of American History (December 1997) Vol. 84, no. 3, p. 1144-1145.

"Barry Goldwater: Native Arizonian [review]." Western Historical Quarterly (Summer 1998) Vol. 29, no. 2, p. 226.

"The Committee: The Extraordinary Career of the House Committee on Un-American Activities [review]." The Journal of Southern History (November 1968) Vol. 34, no. 4; pp. 635-636.

"Community of Strangers [review]." Agricultural History (Fall 2000) Vol. 74, no. 4, p. 832.

"District of Columbia: A Bicentennial History [review]." The Journal of American History (September 1979) Vol. 66, no. 2; p. 369.

"Divided Highways [review]." Journal of American History (June 2000 Vol. 87, no. 1; p. 297.

"Fighting Traffic: The Dawn of the Motor Age in the American City [review]." Journal of American History (June 2009) Vol. 96, no. 1, p. 270-271.

"Gender Equity." Silver & Blue (November/December 1993), pp. 36-37.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"Graham Taylor: Pioneer for Social Justice [review]." The Journal of American History (June 1965) Vol. 52, no. 1; pp. 156-157.

"High Performance [review]." Journal of American History (June 1995) Vol. 82, no. 1; p. 352-353.

"Jacob's Well: A Case for Rethinking Family History [review]." Journal of Social History (Summer 2009) Vol. 42, no. 4, p. 1058-1060.

"Jesse Jackson & the Politics of Charisma [review]." Presidential Studies Quarterly (Summer 1989) Vol. 19, no. 3; pp. 620-622.

"Main Street Revisited [review]." Western Historical Quarterly (Spring 1997 Vol. 28, no. 1, p. 92.

"Marion Motley and the Dilemma of Race." Silver & Blue (September/October 1993), p. 30-31. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"Missouri: A History of the Crossroads State [review]." Arizona and the West (Autumn 1964) Vol. 6, no. 3; pp. 255-256.

"The Municipal Revolution in America [review]." American Historical Review (December 1976) Vol. 81, no. 5, p. 1218.

"The National Road [review]." Journal of American History (June 1997) Vol. 84, no. 1, p. 231-232.

"Nevada's Twentieth-Century Mining Boom: Tonopah, Goldfield, Ely [review]." Arizona and the West (Autumn 1967) Vol. 9, no. 3; pp. 287-288.

"Perspective." Silver & Blue (August 1993), p. 30.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"The Politics of Desperation: William A. Hirth and the Presidential Election of 1932." Agricultural History (October 1964) Vol. 38, no. 4; pp. 226-234.

"Republicans and Labor, 1919-1929 [review]." The Journal of Southern History (May 1970) Vol. 36, no. 2; pp. 305-306.

"The Sport of Kings and the Kings of Crime: Horse Racing, Politics, and Organized Crime in New York, 1865-1913 [review]."Journal of American History (June 2012) Vol. 99, no. 1, p. 328-329.

"Sport's Entrepreneur." Silver & Blue (September/October 1993), pp. 24-27, 33.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"Strategies for the Eighties: Undergraduate Education for Tomorrow's Leaders." Nevada Public Affairs Review, no. 1 (1981). [Available: Knowledge Center and University Archives: JK 8501 .N39]

"Truman and Taft-Hartley: A Question of Mandate [review]." The Journal of Southern History (August 1967) Vol. 33, no. 3; p. 430-431.

"Truman and the Steel Seizure Case [review]." American Studies (Fall 1979) Vol. 20, no. 2; p. 103.

Biographical Sources and Critical Response

America's Obsession: Sports and Society since 1945 - Review:

  • Nevada Historical Society Quarterly (Winter 1994) Vol. 37, no. 4; p. 322

Betting the Line - Reviews:

  • Krottee, M. L. CHOICE (September 2002) Vol. 40, no. 1; p. 140.
  • Olson, James S. Journal of American History (June 2003) Vol. 90, o. 1; pp. 314-315.
  • Sperber, Murray. American Historical Review (October 2002) Vol. 107, no. 4, p. 1234-1235.
  • Wilkens, Mary Frances; et al. Booklist (September 15, 2001) Vol. 98, no. 2; p. 178.

Davies, Richard O. "Oral History Interview, Part 2." (April 5, 2006) Northern Arizona University.

Defender of the Old Guard - Reviews:

  • Hauser, S. K. CHOICE (January 1994) Vol. 31, no. 5; p. 854.
  • Nevada Historical Society Quarterly (Fall 1994) Vol. 37, no. 3; p. 236
  • Reference & Research Book News (December 1993) Vol. 8; p. 15.
  • Tananbaum, Duane. Journal of American History (December 1994) Vol. 81, no. 3; pp. 1365-1366.
  • Yarnell, Allen. American Historical Review (April 1995) Vol. 100, no. 2; p. 609.

Housing Reform During the Truman Administration - Reviews:

  • American Historical Review (January 1967), p. 741.
  • CHOICE (February 1967) p. 1172.
  • Journal of American History (December 1966), p. 642.
  • National Civic Review (November 1967) p. 608.

Main Street Blues - Reviews:

  • Amato Joseph A. American Historical Review (February 2000) Vol. 105, no. 1, p. 236.
  • Gough, Robert J. Michigan Historical Review (Spring 1999) Vol. 25, no. 1; p. 144.
  • Greenberg, Amy S. "Babbitt Who? The Decline of Small-town America." Reviews in American History (June 1999) Vol. 27, no. 2; p. 267.
  • Hallwas, John E. Journal of American History (December 1999) Vol. 86, no. 3; pp. 1369-1370.
  • Heathcott, Joseph. American Studies (Fall 1999) Vol. 40, no. 3; p. 209.
  • Hurt, Doug. H-Net Reviews in the Humanities & Social Sciences Online (May 1999)
  • Kantor, Paul. Urban Studies (February 2000) Vol. 37, no. 2; p. 415.
  • Langdon, Philip. The American Enterprise (January 1999) Vol. 10, no. 1; p. 79
  • Lee, R. Alton. Journal of the West (Spring 2000) Vol. 39, no. 2; p. 83.
  • McCann, Eugene J. Professional Geographer (February 2001) Vol. 53, no. 1.
  • Public Historian (Fall 1999) Vol. 21, p. 71.
  • Publishers Weekly (June 22, 1998) Vol. 245, no. 25; p. 77.
  • Reference & Research Book News (February 1999) Vol. 14, p. 45.
  • Wood, J. S. CHOICE (March 1999) Vol. 36, no. 7; p. 1322.

The Maverick Spirit - Reviews:

  • Las Vegas Review-Journal (December 8, 1998). [Available via Access World News for UNR-affiliated users]
  • Miller, Brian S. Western Historical Quarterly (Summer 2000) Vol. 31, no. 2; p. 235.
  • New Mexico Historical Review (2001) Vol. 76, no. 4; pp. 455-456.

"Richard Davies inductee to Nevada Writers Hall of Fame." Reno Gazette-Journal (November 10, 2013), p. 10.

"Richard O. Davies." Contemporary Authors Online in Literature Resource Center database.

"Richard O. Davies" Department of History, UNR.

Rivals! The Ten Greatest American Sports Rivalries of the 20th Century - Reviews:

  • Sander, Libby. "Unlikely Rivals." The Chronicle of Higher Education (May 11, 2010) Blog
  • Vogan, Travis. Journal of Sport History (Spring 2011) Vol. 38, no. 1; pp. 145-146.
  • Witherspoon, Kevin B. History: Reviews of New Books (July 2011) Vol. 39, no. 3, p. 79-80

"Rivals: Ten Great American Sports Rivalries of the 20th Century [ presentation." Sundance Bookstore, Reno.  (May 15, 201?).

Shearer, Nicole. "Richard O. Davies honored by University's 'Nevada Writers Hall of Fame'." Nevada Today (November 6, 2013)

Sports in American Life: A History - Reviews:

  • Amato, Joseph. Journal of Social History (Spring 2008) Vol. 41, no. 3, p. 789-790.
  • Heaphy, L. A. CHOICE (July 2007) Vol. 44, no. 11; p. 1948.
  • Reference & Research Book News (February 2007)

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass.