Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Walter-Van-Tilburg-Clark

Walter Van Tilburg Clark

Walter Van Tilburg Clark
Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 1988

Walter Van Tilburg Clark

Walter Van Tilburg Clark (1909-1971) was born in East Orland, Maine, but grew up and went to college in Reno, where his father was President of the University of Nevada from 1918-1938. He received his B.A. and M.A. degrees from the University of Nevada in 1931 and 1932. Clark tried his hand at poetry before turning to prose. He was recognized for the quality of his short stories in Yale Review in the 1930s. He was farming and teaching school in Cazenovia, New York, when his first novel was published. With The Ox-Bow Incident (1940), he became a national literary figure at thirty. 20th Century Fox released a feature film of The Ox-Bow Incident in 1943, starring Henry Fonda and Dana Andrews. A condensed Armed Services Edition of The City of Trembling Leaves was produced during World War II, when over 123 million books were sent to U. S. troops. The Track of the Cat was first added to the Gold Star Book List by the Syracuse Public Library in 1949.

Clark taught at UNR and Virginia City High School and again at UNR, when he became writer-in-residence in 1962. He served as a trustee for the Virginia City Foundation Trust, which sought to preserve historic buildings linked to the Comstock Lode. In his later years, he wrote furiously but published little. Robert Laxalt arranged for Clark to come to Reno to edit the journals of nineteenth century Comstock editor and writer Alfred Doten, which were published posthumously in 1973. In 1998, Texas Christian University included Clark in their Literary Chronology of the American West (1510-1984).

 

 

Bibliography for Walter Van Tilburg Clark

Novels:

La citta delle foglie tremanti [Italian translation of The City of Trembling Leaves]. Translated by Antonio Ghirelli and Aldo Palumbo. [Torino]: Einaudi, [1948]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 C516 1948]

The City of Trembling Leaves. New York: Random House, 1945.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PS 3505 .L376 C5]

The City of Trembling Leaves. Garden City, NY: Sun Dial Press, [1946]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 C5 1946]

The City of Trembling Leaves. New York: Popular Library, 1962. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 C5 1962]

The City of Trembling Leaves. Western Literature Series. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1991. Foreword by Robert Laxalt. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, and Great Basin College-Elko]

Le drame d'Ox-Bow, Roman / The Ox-Bow Incident [French translation]. Translated by Camille Gueneux.  [Paris]: Gallimard, [1947]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O9814 1947]

Lie bao ji / Track of the Cat [Chinese translation]. Xianggang: Jin ri shi jie chu ban she, Min guo 57, [1968]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T7193 1968]

The Ox-Bow Incident. New York: Random House, 1940. (Listed in "Books Published Today" New York Times (Oct 7, 1940. p. 15), with editions in Czechoslovakian, Danish, French, German, and Greek) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1940]

The Ox-Bow Incident. New York: Editions for the Armed Services, [1940]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1940c]

The Ox-Bow Incident. New York: New American Library, [1940]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1940d]

The Ox-Bow Incident. New York: Readers Club, [1942]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PS 3505 .L376 O98]

The Ox-Bow Incident. New York: Penguin Books, 1943. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1943]

The Ox-Bow Incident. Cleveland: The World Publishing Company, [1945]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1945]

The Ox-Bow Incident. Stockholm: Continental Book Company, [1946]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1946]

The Ox-Bow Incident. Harmondsworth, Middlesex: Penguin Books, 1950. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1950]

The Ox-Bow Incident. London: Transworld, 1959. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1959]

The Ox-Bow Incident. New York: New American Library, 1960. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1960]

The Ox-Bow Incident. [London]: Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1962. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1962]

The Ox-Bow Incident. New York: Time, Inc., [1962]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1962b]

The Ox-Bow Incident. New York: New English Library, 1964. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1964]

The Ox-Bow Incident [bound with The Portable Phonograph]. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1970. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 P678 1970]

The Ox-Bow Incident. Gloucester, MA: P. Smith, 1972. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1972]

The Ox-Bow Incident. London: Arrow Books, 1973. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1973]

The Ox-Bow Incident. Foreword by Wallace Stegner. New York: Modern Library, 2001. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: PS 3505 .L376 O9 2001]

Der schwarze Panther: Roman /Track of the Cat [German translation]. Wien: Stuttgart: Humboldt-Verlag, [1951]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T715 1951]

Tim Hazard. London: William Kimber, 1951. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T5 1951]

The Track of the Cat: A Novel. New York: Random House, 1949. (with editions in Chinese, German, Japanese, and Spanish) [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, and Western Nevada College-Carson City: PS 3505 .L376 T7 1949]

The Track of the Cat: A Novel. London: Gollancz, 1950. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T7 1950]

The Track of the Cat [abridged edition]. New York: New American Library, 1950. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T72 1950]

The Track of the Cat: a Novel. New York: New American Library, 1950. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T7 1950b]

The Track of the Cat [unabridged, second printing]. New York: New American Library, 1961. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 3505 .L376 T7 1961]

The Track of the Cat [Bengali translation]. Callcutta: Eureka Publishers, 1965. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T719 1965]

The Track of the Cat [Burmese translation]. [Burma: Guide Daily Press, 1965?]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T7192 1965]

The Track of the Cat [Hindi translation, abridged]. Allahabad: Premi Jasoos Karyalaya, 1965. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T7194 1965]

The Track of the Cat. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1981. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T7 1981]

The Track of the Cat: A Novel. Reno: University of Nevada Press, [1993]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T7 1993]
 

Short Stories & Poetry:

"The Anonymous" in The PL Book of Modern American Short Stories. edited by Nicholas Moore. London: Editions Poetry, 1945, pp. 244-266. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 659 .P55 1945]

"The Ascent of Ariel Goodbody," in O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1943; pp. 127-139. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 A834 1943]

Best College Verse, 1931. New York: Harper & Bros., 1931. (Preface by Christopher Morley). [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PN 6110 .C7 B47 1931]

"Between Joseph and God." Writing. (1979) Vol. 1, no. 3&4. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 3537 .T316 Z84 1979] (short story)

"The Buck in the Hills." in Mid Country: Writings from the Heart of America. Lincoln, Neb.: University of Nebraska Press, 1945. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 536 .W53 1945]

"The Buck in the Hills," in O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories of 1944. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1945; pp. 52-62. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 642 .O12 1944]

Christmas Comes to Hjalsen. Reno, NV: self published, 1930.

"Chuangtse and the Prince of the Golden Age" in Western Review. (1949) Vol. 13, no. 2, pp. 87-97.

"The City of Trembling Leaves (excerpt)." in Glotfelty, Cheryll, ed. Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008]

A Complete College Reader: Play, Story, Verse. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1950. Vol. 2.

"Dawn, Washoe Valley; Big Dusk; Pyramid Lake" in Troubadour. (1932) Vol. 4, nos. 4 & 5, pp. 9 and 25. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 D396 1932] (3 poems)

Fahrenheit 451: And Related Readings. Evanston, IL: McDougal Littell, 1998.

"The Fish Who Could Close His Eyes" Tomorrow. (1946) Vol. 5, no. 6, pp. 9-16.

"Hook." The Atlantic Monthly. (1940) Vol. 166, no. 2, pp. 223-234. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .A8 1940]

"Hook," in Great Western Short Stories. Palo Alto, CA: American West Pub. Co., 1967; pp. 423-443. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PZ 1 T1597Gr]

"Hook," in O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories of 1941. Brickell, Herschel, ed. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, Doran and Company, 1941; pp. [111] - 136. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 642 .O12 1941]

"The Indian Well" in Accent (1943) Vol. 3, no. 3, pp;. 131-143.

"The Indian Well" in Great Tales of the American West. New York: Modern Library, 1945, pp. 312-331. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 374 .W4 M3 1945]

"Letter to the Living" in The Nation (1942) Vol. 154, pp. 9-14. [Available: The Nation Digital Archive database]

Nevada Poetry, ca. 1922-1939. [Reno: University of Nevada, Reno Library - Special Collections].
Anthology of poetry by Nevadans with Nevada themes, ca. 1939, and unbound, printed poems.

O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories of 1941-1945. New York: Doubleday, 1941-1945. [Available: Knowledge Center, PS 642 O12]

"The Portable Phonograph," in Stegner, Wallace; Richard Scowcroft, Boris Ilyin, eds. The Writer's Art: A Collection of Short Stories. Boston: D. C. Heath, 1950; pp. 258-264. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PZ 1 .S82 Wr]

"Prestige" in Saturday Evening Post (1941) Vol. 213, no. 42, pp. 14-15. [Available: Knowledge Center, AP 2 S2]

"The Pretender" in Atlantic Monthly (1942) Vol. 169, no. 4, pp. 482-491. [Available: Knowledge Center, AP 2 A8]

"Pyramid Lake," in Nevada - Poetry, p. 2. (from Troubadour, Nevada number; Autumn 1932). [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: 91-25]

"The Rapids" in Accent: A Quarterly of New Literature (1941) Vol. 1, no. 2, pp. 76-81. [Available: Knowledge Center, AP 2 A243]

"The Rise and the Passing of Bar" in Virginia Quarterly Review (1943) Vol. 19, no. 1, pp. 80-96. [Available: Knowledge Center, AS 30 V57]

Strange Hunting. Reno: University of Nevada, Reno Library - Black Rock Press, 1985. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 S7 1985]

"Strange Hunting." Jeffers Studies (Fall 1999) Vol. 3, no. 4. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections]

"Strange Hunting." South Dakota Review (autumn 1973) Vol. 11, no. 3), pp. 7-22. [Available: Knowledge Center]

"The Sweet Promised Land of Nevada [song lyrics]."

Ten Women in Gale's House and Shorter Poems. Boston: Christopher Pub., 1932.

13 Great Stories. New York: Dell, 1955.

"To a Friend with New Shoes." in Winnowings from the Mill. (November 1934), Vol. 8, no. 1. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 T634 1934] (poem)

"Trial at Arms," in Saturday Evening Post (1941) Vol. 213, no. 30, pp. 14-15, 38-44. [Available: Knowledge Center, AP 2 S2]

The Watchful Gods and Other Stories. New York: Random House, 1950. (with a Portuguese edition) [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3505 L376 W3]

"The Wind and the Snow of Winter," in Best of the Best American Short Stories. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1952. pp. 69-81. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 W563 1952]

"The Wind and the Snow of Winter," in A Complete College Reader. Holmes, John and Towle, Carroll S., eds. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1950; pp. 799-806. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3537 .T48545 S767 1950]

"The Wind and the Snow of Winter," in Fifty Best American Short Stories: 1915-1965. (Series: The Best American Short Stories) Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1965. pp. 375-386. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 648 .S5 B4]

"The Wind and the Snow of Winter," in Great Western Short Stories. Palo Alto, CA: American West Pub. Co., 1967; pp. 107-120. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PZ 1 T1597Gr]

"Why Don't You Look Where You're Going?" Accent: A Quarterly of New Literature (1941) Vol. 1, no. 4, pp. 195-199. [Available: Knowledge Center, AP 2 A243]
 

Adaptations:

Bezzerides, A. E. The Track of the Cat: Screenplay. 1954.

Dramatic Highlights from The Track of the Cat [sound recording]. Living Literature, 1969. (56 min.)

"Hook" [videotaped reading]. Voices: Great Moments in Literature. Reno, NV: MarkOne Video, 1993-94. (Feb. 9, 1994 Voices program, recorded at Nightingale Concert Hall, UNR, in 1993 and 2/9/94; Former Governor Mike O'Callaghan read "Hook") [Available: Knowledge Center: Multimedia Center: V04686, vols. 1-2, plus "Voices" program]

The Ox-Bow Incident. (Series: Classics Illustrated, No. 125). New York: Gilberton, 1955. (comic book) [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 O98 1955]

The Ox-Bow Incident [motion picture]. 20th Century Fox, 1943. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Multimedia Center: V01087 & DVD 684]

The Portable Phonograph [motion picture]. Encyclopaedia Britannica Educational Corp., 1977.
(Short Story Showcase series) 16 mm. reel, 24 min. [Available: Knowledge Center, Multimedia Center: Reel F012745]

Story into Film: Portable Phonograph [motion picture]. Encyclopaedia Britannica Educational Corp., 1977. (Documentary of adaptation process) videocassette, 10 min.

"Studio one" -- The Track of the Cat. Archival material, 1951. (Studio one - television program; broadcast date: January 8, 1951. Corrected to January 15, 1951. Adapted by Betty Loring. [Available: Bowling Green State University's Ray & Pat Browne Library for Popular Culture Studies]

"The Tale of Hook the Hawk: Artist Dramatizes Bird for a Coming TV Show" in Life (1956) Vol. 40, no. 12, pp. 155-160. [Available: Knowledge Center, AP 2 L547] Drawings by Hazard Durfee for an animated film. Selections from "Hook" short story.

"Track of the Cat" from Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia.

Trotti, Lamar. The Ox-Bow Incident: Screenplay. [CA]: 20th Century Fox, 1942.

The Wild West: Stories [sound recording]. Novata, CA: Soundelux Audio Pub., 1993. (4 audio cassettes)

William A. Wellman's Track of the Cat [motion picture]. Burbank, CA: Warner Bros. Pictures, 1954; 1999 videocassette, 102 min. [Available: Knowledge Center, Multimedia Center: V10772]

The Wind & The Snow of Winter [sound recording]. Petaluma, CA: Mind's Eye, 1993.
 

Nonfiction:

"Dear Muriel (letter)." Great Basin: Underground. Vol. 2, no. 1 (Spring 1997), pp. 18-19. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"The Ghost of an Apprehension" in Pacific Spectator. (1949) Vol. 3, no. 3, pp. 254-263. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 3505 .L376 Z656 1949]

Doten, Alfred. The Journals of Alfred Doten, 1849-1903. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1973. Edited by Walter Van Tilburg Clark. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 841 .D6 and in Special Collections]

Guthrie, Jr., Alfred. B. The Big Sky. New York: Time-Life Books, 1964. Introduction by Walter Van Tilburg Clark. [Available: Great Basin College, Elko & Western NV Community College-Fallon: PS 3513 .U855 B54 1964b]

Guthrie, Jr., Alfred B. These Thousand Hills. in Montana (1957) Vol. 7, no. 1, pp. 48-50. Book review by Walter Van Tilburg Clark. [Available: Knowledge Center, F 726 M74]

Robert Cole Caples: A Retrospective Exhibition, 1927-1963, Church Fine Arts Building,
University of Nevada, September 15-October 15, 1964.
 Essay by Walter Van Tilburg Clark. [Available: Knowledge Center: ND 237 .C25 N4]

A Study in Robinson Jeffers. VT: University of Vermont, 1934. Dissertation.

Sword Singer: The Tale of Tristram Retold, with an introductory essay concerning sources of the Tristram legend. Reno, NV: University of Nevada, Reno, 1931. Master of Arts thesis. [Available: Knowledge Center: PE 3999 .C6375 1931]

"A Timely Coming - W R and R W" in Contact: San Francisco Collection of New Writing, Art and Ideas (1959) Vol. 3, pp. 48-53. [Available: Knowledge Center, AP 2 C65]

"Walter Clark's Campers Partridge," in The Virginia City Cook Book. Brown, Helen Evans, et al, eds. Anderson & Ritchie, 1953; p. 89. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TX 715 B84915]

 

Biographical Sources & Critical Response

Abrahms, Doug. "Nevada Statue Unveiled in D.C." Reno Gazette-Journal (March 10, 2005) p. A1, 4. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilms: N9]

"Add a New Dimension to Giving This Christmas [book advertisement]." Nevada State Journal (Nov. 26, 1975) [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilms: online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Alt, John H. Walter Van Tilburg Clark: Humanity and Eternity.
Manhattan, Kansas: Kansas State University, 1977. (doctoral dissertation).

Amaral, Anthony. "Walter Van Tilburg Clark." Sage. Vol. 2, no. 3 (Winter 1968), pp. 10-15. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 787 .A1 S2]

American National Biography. New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: REF CT 213 A68 1999 and online via the Library web site]

Anthony, Mary Lou. "Paintings, Drawings by Robert Caples Exhibited at U.N." Nevada State Journal (September 20, 1964 and November 24, 1979).

"Around Town." Nevada State Journal (July 18, 1954), p. 2. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

Authors Speak for Themselves: Autobiographical Sketches of 48 of the Leading Authors, Fall, 1950. New York: Herald Tribune, 1950.

Beers, Terry. "Walter Van Tilburg Clark's 'Strange Hunting'." Jeffers Studies. Vol. 3, no. 4; (Fall 1999); pp. 24-28, 40. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections]

Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature. 1st ed. New York: HarperCollins, 1991. [Available: Knowledge Center: REF PN 41 .B4 1991]

"Biographical Note." Saturday Review of Literature. (June 4, 1949) Vol. 32, no. 9. [Available: Knowledge Center, MARS]

Boardman, Arthur. The Muted Horn: A Study of the Prose of Walter Van Tilburg Clark. Reno, NV: University of Nevada, Reno, 1953. (Master of Arts thesis).

"Book Review Is Feature of Meeting." Nevada State Journal (December 12, 1954) p. 18. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

Brophy, Robert. "Clark's "Strange Hunting": The Ritual." Jeffers Studies. Vol. 3, no. 4; (Fall 1999); pp.41-43. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections]

Brossard, C. Books "The Ox-Bow Incident." (review) in American Mercury (1951) Vol. 72, pp. 230-234. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP2 .A37 1951]

Burke, W. J. and Howe, Will D. American Authors and Books: 1640 to the Present Day. 3rd rev. ed. New York: Crown, 1972. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research: REF Z 1224 .B87 1972; p. 122.]

Burkholder, Clyde. The Ox-Bow Incident: Notes. Lincoln, Nebraska: Cliffs Notes, 1974.

Carpenter, F. I. "West of Walter Van Tilburg Clark." in English Journal (Feb. 1952) Vol. 41, pp. 64-69. [Available: Knowledge Center, MARS].

Carr, Roberta. "A Rebuttal [Letters to the Editor]." Nevada State Journal ( June 9, 1953) p. 4. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

Casewit, Curtis. "The Mountain States & Southwest." in Benedict, Stewart, ed. The Literary Guide to the United States. New York: Facts on File, 1981; pp. 159-192. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 141 .L5 1981]

Cheney, Roberta. "From a Trunk: 40 Years of Nevada History. Alfred Doten Diaries Preserve a Robust Age."Nevada State Journal (Sept. 16, 1962), p. 12. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

Chiostri, Francesca. Translating Novels Into Films: Shifts of Meaning through Time (Walter Van Tilburg Clark, William Wellman, Translation, Film Accommodation), Univ. of Texas at Austin, 1996. (doctoral dissertation).

Chism, Gordon H. As I Remember: a 1940s Childhood. Fort Bragg, CA: Avenue Design, 2010. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: CT 275 .C552 A3 2010]

Christensen, Jon. "My Slant: Nuclear Humanities?" Great Basin News. Vol. 1, no. 2 (Summer 1996), p. 11.  [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Christensen, Jon. "Spirits of the Land." Great Basin News (Winter 1996), p. 11. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

"The City of Trembling Leaves." (reviews) in:

  • Atlantic Monthly (July 1945), Vol. 176, p. 130.
  • Book Week (June 10, 1945), p. 3.
  • Booklist (June 1, 1945), Vol. 41, p. 286.
  • Boston Globe (May 31, 1945)
  • Bulletin from Virginia Kirkus' Bookshop Service (April 1, 1945), Vol. 13, p. 138.
  • Commonweal (June 29, 1945), Vol. 42, p. 267.
  • The Daily Independent (Monessen, PA) (July 20, 1945), p. 4.
  • Great Basin (Summer 1997), p. 21. [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]
  • Library Journal (May 15, 1945), Vol. 70, p. 488.
  • The Nation (June 23, 1945), Vol. 160, p. 702. [Available online: The Nation Digital Archive database via the Library web site, UNR-affiliated users only]
  • New York Times (May 27, 1945), p. 4. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Microfilm: N5; and via the Library web site: New York Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers]
  • New Yorker (May 26, 1945), Vol. 21, p. 75.
  • Saturday Review of Literature (June 2, 1945), Vol. 28, p. 13.
  • "Weekly Book Review" in New York Herald Tribune Books. (May 27, 1945), p. 4.
  • Wisconsin Library Bulletin (July 1945), Vol. 41, p. 84.
  • Yale Review (n.s. Autumn 1945), Vol. 35, p. 191.

Clark, Walter Van Tilburg. Papers, 1919-1982. University of Nevada, Reno Libraries, Special Collections & Archives.

Clark, Walter Van Tilburg. Personal Interview. in New Yorker (1942) Vol. 18, no. 43, pp. 23-26. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Microfilm S0097]

"Clark's Second Novel Has Reno Background." Reno Evening Gazette (May 31, 1945) p. 5. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Clifton, Guy. Reno. (Images of America). Charleston, SC: Arcadia Pub., 2012. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 849 .R4 C58 2012]

Cobb, Ty. The best of COBBWEBS. Reno: University of Nevada, Black Rock Press, 1997. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 841 .C62 1997]

Cobb, Ty. "Who Was Alf Doten?" Nevada State Journal (April 20, 1975): p. 9. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series. Detroit: Gale Research, 1993. Vol. 63. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Z 1224 .C62 and online via the Library web site's Gale Literature Resource Center database]

"Continental Harmony Premiers in Northern Nevada." Nevada Arts News (September 2000) Nevada Arts Council, p. 5.

Curtis, Mark. "Fables." Reno News & Review. (November 5, 2015), p. 35. [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Cutshaw, Debbie. "The Ox-Bow Incident (1943) [poem]." Nevada Silver & Blue (Summer 2007), p. 7.

Cyclopedia of World Authors. Rev. 3rd ed. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1997. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref PN 451 .C93 1997 vol. 5]

Cyclopedia of World Authors, II. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1989. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 451 .C93 1989 vol. 4]

Deane, Paul. American Elements in Walter Van Tilburg Clark's 'The Track of the Cat.'" in Revue des Langues Vivantes (Feb. 1973) Vol. 39, no. 1, pp. 39-45.

de Longchamps, Joanne. "Late Letter to Walter Clark [poem]," in The Schoolhouse Poems. Reno: West Coast Poetry Review, 1975; p. 23. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections:  PS 3507 .E527 S3]

Dempsey, David. "In and Out of Books." New York Times (Oct. 23, 1949), p. BR8. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilms: N5, Oct. 23, 1949; and online via the Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times database]

Dictionary of American Biography. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1994. Supplement 9. [Available: Great Basin College, Elko: E 176 .D563 Supplement 9 1971-75; & Western NV Community College-Carson City, Learning Resource Center: E 176 .D563 Supplement 9]

Dictionary of Literary Biography. Detroit: Gale Group, 1999. Vol. 206. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref PS 129 .D5 v. 206; also online via the Library web site's Literature Resource Center database]

Distinguished Nevadan Recipients, 1958-1969. University of Nevada System, Board of Regents. Reno, NV: University of Nevada, Reno Library - Archives. [Annual commencement award]

Diers, R. "Are Writers Made, Not Born?" in Saturday Review (Aug. 14, 1965) Vol. 48, pp. 52-53. [Available: Knowledge Center, MARS].

"Editor of diaries was novelist Clark." Reno Evening Gazette (April 5, 1975), p. 9. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

"Educational TV Tonight." News Journal (Mansfield, Ohio) (July 6, 1967), p. 28. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Encyclopedia of American Literature. New York: Continuum, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref PS 21 .E53 1999]

Encyclopedia of Frontier Literature. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 169 .F7 S65 1997]

Engel, Leonard, ed. The Big Empty: Essays on Western Landscapes as Narrative. Albuquerque, NM: University of New Mexico Press, 1994. [Available: Knowledge Center: NX 653 .W47 B54 1994]

Ehrlich, Eugene and Carruth, Gorton. The Oxford Illustrated Literary Guide to the United States. New York: Oxford University Press, 1982. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 141 .E74 1982]

Essa, Ahmed. "The Schoolhouse Poems: A review." Reno Evening Gazette (January 17, 1976), p. 11. [Available via NewspaperArchive for UNR-affiliated patrons and in University Archives: AC 0519]

Etulain, Richard, comp. "Walter Van Tilburg Clark: A Bibliography." South Dakota Review. (Autumn 1965) Vol. 3, no. 1, p. 73-77. [Available: Knowledge Center: 805 So726 1965 Vol. 3]

Etulain, Richard W. "Walter Van Tilburg Clark," in Western American Literature: A Bibliography of Interpretative Books and Articles. Vermillion, SD: Dakota Press, 1972. pp. 46-48. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: Z 1225 E8]

Fiedler, Leslie A. The Watchful Gods." (review) in The Kenyon Review. (1951) [Available: Knowledge Center: AS30 .K4 1951]

Gannett, Lewis. "The Ox-Bow Incident." (review) in Boston Evening Transcript (Oct. 9, 1940), p. 13.

Glotfelty, Cheryll. The Comstock's Literary Mother Lode (videodisc). Reno, NV: Teaching and Learning Technologies, UNR, [2009]. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 561 .C65 2009]

_________. "State Pieces in the U.S. Regions Puzzle: Nevada and the Problem of Fit" in Regionalism and the Humanities. Edited by Timothy R. Mahoney and Wendy J. Katz. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2008; pp. 237-250. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: E 179.5 .R44 2008]

Gordon, Dan. "To Joanne deLongchamps a dragonfly does not simply fly." Reno Evening Gazette (January 17, 1976), p. 11. [Available via NewspaperArchive for UNR-affiliated patrons and in University Archives: AC 0519]

"Gordon Lane [obituary]." Reno Gazette-Journal (November 28, 2010), p. A10.

"Governor Urging Aid for Comstock Restoration Plan." Nevada State Journal (July 2, 1953), p. 7. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive ]

Grover, Dorys C. "The Bus from Winnemucca." (short story) South Dakota Review (winter 1974-75), Vol. 12, no. 4, pp. 130-145. [Available: Knowledge Center]

Hanna, Archibald. A Mirror for the Nation: An Annotated Bibliography http://innopac.library.unr.edu/record=b3169417~S2of American Social Fiction, 1901-1950. New York: Garland, 1985. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1231 .F4 H32 1985]

"Hilliard Bequest Will Fund Humanities Program." Nevada State Journal (June 22, 1972), p. 5. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

"History of the Brushfire." Sagebrush (August 31, 1973), pp. 1, 6-7.

Hodgson, John W. Elements of the Arthurian Cycle in the Works of Walter Van Tilburg Clark. Florida Atlantic University, 1994 (Master of Arts thesis)

Houghton, Donald E. "The Failure of Speech in 'The Ox-Bow Incident'." in English Journal (Dec. 1970), Vol. 59, no. 9, pp. 1245-1251. [Available: Knowledge Center, MARS].

Hulse, James. "The Writings of Mary S. Doten: Rediscovered Nevada Nuggets" in From This Land of Sagebrush and Alkalai: The Collected Writings of Mary Stoddard Doten. Vol. 1; pp. viii-x. Bremer, Lynn, ed. Reno: Black Rock Press and Nevada Historical Society, 2014. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 1549 .D538 2014]

Huntress, Keith. "The Ox-Bow Incident." (review) in Accent (1940) [Vol. 1, p. 127. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP2 .A243 1940]

Interviews, 1982. Reno: University of Nevada, Reno Library - Special Collections. [2 cassette tapes]
Interviews of people who knew Walter Van Tilburg Clark when he taught school in Cazenoviua, New York.

Jackson, Joe. "Clark completed huge history before death." Reno Evening Gazette (Nov. 13, 1971) p. 16. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm N9 1971 and online via Newspaper Archive]

James, Ronald M., and Susan A. James. A Short History of Virginia City. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2014. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 849 .V8 J355 2014]

Kamm, Antony. Biographical Companion to Literature in English. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1997.

Kehl, D. G. "Writing in the Apocalypse: Rhetorical Lessons from Walter Van Tilburg Clark." in College Composition and Communication (Feb. 1974) Vol. 25, no. 1, pp. 34-41. [Available: Knowledge Center: PE 1001 .C6 1974 and online via JSTOR]

Kich, Martin (Wright State University). "The Ox-Bow Incident" in The Literary Encyclopedia. 14 Jan. 2004. Literary Dictionary Company.

Kich, Martin. Western American Novelists. Vol. 1: Walter Van Tilburg Clark, Dan Cushman, H. L. Davis, Vardis Fisher, A. B. Guthrie, Jr., William Humphrey, and Dorothy M. Johnson. (Series: Garland Reference Library of the Humanities, Vol. 1347) New York: Garland, 1995. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 271 .K53 1995 Vol. 1; and Great Basin College, Elko]

Kille, J. Dee. Academic Freedom Imperiled: The McCarthy Era at the University of Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2004. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: LD 3763 .K55 2004]

Kish, Jeanne M. Shane (Jack Shaefer) / The Ox-Bow Incident (Walter Van Tilburg Clark): Curriculum Unit. Rocky River, OH: Center for Learning, 1997. (TAP Instructional Materials series) [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 70 .K57 1997]

Kleis, David J. The God Becoming: Sensation of the Nuclear in Walter Van Tilburg Clark. Univ. of Michigan, 1974. (doctoral dissertation)

Kuehl, John R., comp. "Walter Van Tilburg Clark: A Bibliography." Bulletin of Bibliography. (Sept.-Dec. 1956) Vol. 22, no. 1, p. 18-20. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1007 B94 Vol. 22 1956/59]

Laird, Charlton Grant. Papers, 1927-1982. University of Nevada, Reno Libraries - Archives.
Includes correspondence with Walter Van Tilburg Clark

Laird, Charlton. Walter Van Tilburg Clark. Reno: Black Rock Press, 1972. (150 copies printed for the Walter Van Tilburg Clark Memorial Committee, University of Nevada, Reno, May 1972)

Laird, Charlton, ed. Walter Van Tilburg Clark, Critiques. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1983.

[Laxalt, Robert.] "Closeup." Reno Pace (October 1952), Vol. 4, no. 4; pp. 16-17. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm S0415 1952 and Special Collections F 847 .W3 R46]

Laxalt, Robert. "Walter Van Tilburg Clark." Silver & Blue (October 1992), pp. 12-14.

Lee, L. L. "Walter Van Tilburg Clark's Ambiguous American Dream." College English (Feb. 1965) Vol. 26, no. 5, pp. 382-387.

Lee, Lawrence L. Walter Van Tilburg Clark. Boise, Idaho: Boise State College, 1973. (Boise State College Western Writers Series, no. 8.) [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 128 .B6 c. 2 no. 8 1973]

Lerude, Warren. "Nevada history lives in Alf Doten diaries." Reno Evening Gazette (April 5, 1975) p. 9. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

"Library Adds New Books." Nevada State Journal (October 20, 1940) p. 15. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

Literary Reno: Writers and Places [video recording]. Reno, NV: Friends of Washoe County Library, 2004. (Readings by Neal Ferguson and Jim Santini, as part of Artown 2004's literary walking tour) [Available: Knowledge Center, Multimedia Center: V12157]

"Little Theater Is Presenting Clark's 'Track of the Cat' As Dramatized by Geo. Bennett." Nevada State Journal (May 2, 1954) p. 9; and (May 16, 1954) p. 2 ["Held Over" ad]. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Lyons, H. H. "Books." in Holiday (Oct. 1949), Vol. 6, pp. 17-18+. [Available: Washoe County Public Library, Downtown Reno Branch: Microfilm]

Malloy, Jean N. The World of Walter Van Tilburg Clark. Northwestern Univ., 1968. (doctoral dissertation)

Marks, Margaret. An Interview with Margaret Marks conducted by Ann Harvey 2 August 1984. Reno: Oral History Program, University of Nevada, Reno, Library, [1984]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 849 .V8 M3]

Marsh, Fred T. The Ox-Bow Incident." (review) in New York Times. (Oct. 13, 1940) p. 6 and (Oct. 20, 1940) p. 2. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Microfilm: N5; and via the Library web site: New York Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers]

Melton, Rollan. 101 Nevada columns. Reno, NV: Nev. Humanities Committee, 2001. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 845 .M452 2001 & in Special Collections]

Melton, Rollan. "A 'Real Nevada' Writer [column]." Reno Gazette-Journal (March 8, 1981), p. 3F.

"Memorial Meeting Set For Author." Nevada State Journal (December 10, 1971) p. 9. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

Mergen, Bernard. At Pyramid Lake. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2014. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 847 .W3 M47 2014]

Miller, Nolan. "The Watchful Gods." (review) in Antioch Review. (1951) [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Microfilm S0051 1951]

Milton, John R. "Conversations with Western American Novelists: Walter Van Tilburg Clark." South Dakota Review(Spring 1971), Vol. 9, no. 1; pp. 27-38. [Available: Knowledge Center]

Milton, John R. The Novel of the American West. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1980. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 374 .W4 M49 1980]

Milton, John R. "The Western Novel -- Symposium." South Dakota Review (Autumn, 1964), Vol. 2, no. 1, pp. 17-19. [Available: Knowledge Center]

Modern American Literature. 5th ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref PS 221 .M53 1999 v. 3]

Monroe, Albert Eason. "Eason Monroe - Safeguarding Civil Liberties," interview. (July 27, 1972). California Digital Library. Online Archive of California. Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive: Oral Histories.

Moreno, Richard. Nevada Trivia. 3rd rev. ed. Baldwin Park, CA: Gem Guides Book Co., 2005. [Available: Special Collections: F 841 .M595 2005]

Moreno, Richard. Roadside History of Nevada. Missoula, MT: Mountain Press, 2000. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: F 839.3 .M69 2000]

Moreno, Richard. A Short History of Reno. 2nd ed. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2015. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections, and at Western Nevada College-Carson City: F 849 .R4 L35 2015]

Mott, Frank Luther. A History of American Magazines. Volume 5: Sketches of 21 Magazines, 1905-1930; p. 337. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1968. [Available: Knowledge Center and Great Basin College Library: PN 4877 .M63 1938 Vol. 5]

Murphy, James P. J. Papers. [Available: Georgetown University Library, Special Collections Dept.: Box 1, Folder 66 ~ letters from Walter Van Tilburg Clark]

"Music Chairman At University Will Retire." Reno Evening Gazette (December 7, 1954) pp. 15-16. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Nesbitt, John Dunville. Literary Convention in the Classic Western Novel. University of California, Davis, 1980. (doctoral dissertation)

"Nevada Authors Meet the Public." Nevada State Journal (Oct. 6, 1954), p. 2. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

Nevada In Print. 2nd ed. Carson City: Nevada State Library, 1961. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: Z 1309 .N4 1961]

New Encyclopedia of the American West. New Haven, CT: Yale Univ. Press, 1998. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref F 591 .R38 1998 & in Special Collections]

Obituaries in:

  • The Gettysburg Times (November 11, 1971), p. 20
  • Great Bend Daily Tribune (November 11, 1971), p. 7
  • Reno Evening Gazette (Nov. 11, 1971), pp. 1-2

Owens, Kenneth N. "The Real, Real West: Life on the Nevada Frontier Had Little Romance." The Sacramento Bee (April 6, 1975), p. P9. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm N38 1975]

"The Ox-Bow Incident." (reviews) in:

  • Atlantic Bookshelf of the Atlantic Monthly. (Oct. 1940) [Available: Knowledge Center: AP2 .A8 1940]
  • Booklist. (Nov. 15 1940)
  • Bookmark. (Jan. 1941)
  • New Republic (Dec. 2, 1940) [Available: Knowledge Center: AP2 .N624 1940]
  • New York Herald Tribune Books (Oct. 6, 1940)
  • New Yorker (Oct. 12, 1940) Vol. 16, p. 100. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Microfilm S0097]
  • Novels Set in the USA by State (Jasper County Public Library)
  • Punch. (1941) [Available: Knowledge Center: AP101 .P8 1941]
  • Saturday Review of Literature. (Oct. 26, 1940), Vol. 23, p. 6. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z1219 .S25 1940]
  • Yale Review. (new series: Winter 1941), Vol. 30, p. x. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP2 .Y2 1941]

Oxford Companion to American Literature. 6th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref PS 21 .H3 1995]

Paher, Stanley W. Nevadans: The Spirit of the Silver State. Reno, Nevada: Nevada Publications, 2014. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: F 841 .P34 2014 and Western Nevada College-Carson City].

Pike, Deidre. "Meet the Press." Reno News and Review (March 17, 2005)

Post, Theodore H. Papers, 1919-1955. Reno: University of Nevada Libraries - Archives. Includes song lyrics by Walter Van Tilburg Clark.

Powers, J. F. "The City of Trembling Leaves" (review) in Accent. (1945) Vol. 5, p. 244. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP2 .A243 1945]

Ray B. West Papers, 1920-1965. UT: Utah State Univ. Archives. Includes correspondence with Walter Van Tilburg Clark

Reference Guide to American Literature. 4th ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref PS 129 .R44 2000] also its 3rd ed., 1994.

"Remnants of storm: loads of limbs." Reno Evening Gazette (May 22, 1971) p. 1. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

"Reno Author Criticizes Censorship." Reno Evening Gazette (January 27, 1964) p. 11. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Reynolds, Flora Elizabeth. "A Dukedom Large Enough": Forty Years in Northern California's Public and Academic Libraries (interview). (June 14, 1999). University of California, Berkeley. Bancroft Library. Regional Oral History Office. University History Series.

Rogers, Douglas G. "Man and Nature in Clark's Track of the Cat." South Dakota Review. Vol. 12, no. 4 (winter 1974-75), pp 49-55. [Available: Knowledge Center]

Ross, Grahame. "Miners and Environmentalists Need Common Ground Too ... (letter to editor)." Great Basin News. Vol. 1, no. 2 (Summer 1996), p. 3.  [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Rusco, Elmer R. "The bench marks of -- character and way of life": the acquisition of Rancho San Rafael Regional Park. Reno, NV: Washoe County Parks and Recreation Dept., 1998. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 849 .R4 R87 1998]

Salomon, L. B. "The Ox-Bow Incident." (review) in Nation. (1940) [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Microfilm S0369 1940 & online via the Library web site's The Nation Digital Archive database]

Sangster, Allan. "The Watchful Gods." (review) in Canadian Forum. (1951) [Available: Knowledge Center: AP5 .C125 1951]

Schumacher, Geoff. "Clark, Laxalt lead growing roster of renowned Nevada writers," in Schumacher, Geoff, ed. Nevada 150 Years in the Silver State. Las Vegas: Stephens Press, 2014; pp. 197-198.

Shafton, Anthony. The Nevada They Knew: Robert Caples and Walter Van Tilburg Clark.  [Place of publication not identified] : Aerica Through Time, 2017. [Available: Special Collections: ND 237 .C25 S53 2017]

Shepperson, Wilbur S. Mirage-Land: Images of Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 1992. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 841 .S54 1992; and at Western NV Community College, Carson City & Fallon; Great Basin College, Elko]

Shipler, Guy. Nevada: Golden Challenge in the Silver State: a Contemporary Portrait. Chatsworth, CA: Windsor Publications, 1990; p. 152. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections and DRI Library:  HC 107 .N3 S45 1990]

Social Protest Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors and Themes. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1999. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref PN 56 .S65 N48 1999]

Stall, Bill. "Famed Nevada Author: Closeup." Reno Evening Gazette (January 25, 1964) p. 14. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

Stefoff, Rebecca. Nevada. 2nd ed. (Celebrate the States). New York: Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, 2010.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 841.3 .S72 2010]

Stegner, W. "Walter Clark's Frontier." in The Atlantic Monthly (Aug. 1973), Vol. 232, pp. 94-98. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .A8 1973]

Syracuse Public Library. Gold Star List of American Fiction. 1945-60, 1962-63. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1231 F4 S9]

Thompson, R. "The Ox-Bow Incident (review)," in Books of the Times." New York Times. (Oct. 17, 1940), p. 23. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref Microfilm: N5; and via the Library web site: New York Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers]

Thompson, R. "In and Out of Books." New York Times Book Review. (June 5, 1949), pp. 1, 9, 16. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 N658 1949 Jan-Je]

Toll, David W. The Compleat Nevada Traveler: A Guide to the State. Gold Hill, NV: Gold Hill Pub. Co., 1981. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 839.3 .T64 1981]

"The Track of the Cat [book advertisement]." Reno Evening Gazette (June 7, 1949), p. 13. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

"Track of the Cat" (reviews) in:

  • Booklist (May 15, 1949), Vol. 45, pp. 305, 335
  • Bookmark (Oct. 1949), Vol. 9, p. 5
  • Bulletin from Virginia Kirkus' Bookshop Service (Ap. 1, 1949), Vol. 17, p. 186
  • Catholic World (July 1949), Vol. 169, p. 317
  • Chicago Sun (June 1, 1949)
  • Christian Science Monitor (June 11, 1949), p. 18
  • Cleveland Open Shelf (July 1949), p. 16
  • Daily Herald (Chicago) (May 5, 1950), p. 23
  • Library Journal (May 15, 1949), Vol. 74, p. 817
  • New York Herald Tribune Weekly Book Review (June 5, 1949), p. 5
  • New York Times (June 5, 1949), pp. 1, 9, 16
  • New Yorker (June 4, 1949), Vol. 25, p. 84
  • Publishers Weekly (April 22, 1950), Vol. 157, p. 1815
  • Publishers Weekly (May 27, 1950), Vol. 157, p. 2284
  • San Francisco Chronicle (June 5, 1949), p. 20
  • Saturday Review of Literature (June 4, 1949), Vol. 32, p. 9
  • Time (June 6, 1949), Vol. 53, p. 40, 104
  • Wisconsin Library Bulletin (Nov. 1949), p. 8
  • Yale Review (Autumn 1949), Vol. 39, p. 190.

Track of the Cat (film reviews) in:

Twentieth-Century Western Writers. 2nd ed. Chicago and London : St. James Press, 1991. [Available: Knowledge Center: Ref PS 271 .T84 1991]

"U. N. Magazine To Offer Prizes." Reno Evening Gazette (December 10, 1952) p. 11. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

"University lecture series to start Oct. 5." Reno Evening Gazette (September 29, 1972) p. 27. [Available online via Newspaper Archive for University of Nevada affiliates, only]

"Walter Van Tilburg Clark." Who's Who in Nevada (1949-50) and Who's Who in America (1960-61).

Walter Van Tilburg Clark Papers, 1945-1946. CA: Univ. of California, Berkeley, Archives.

"Walter Clark Resigns Job At University in Protest." Nevada State Journal (June 5, 1953), p. 10. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

"Walter Van Tilberg Clark Will Replace Laird as U. N. Lecturer in English Here." Nevada State Journal (May 16, 1952). [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

Walton, Clifford C., comp. and ed. Capitol's Who's Who for Nevada, 1949-1950, combined with the pictorial book - Nevada Today. Portland, OR: Capitol Pub. Co., 1949; p. 270. [Available: Mathewson-IGT and its Special Collections: F 841 .W35]

Walton-Buchanan, Holly. Historic Houses and Buildings of Reno, Nevada: an Architectural and Historical Guide. Reno, NV: The Black Rock Press, University of Nevada, Reno, 2007. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 849 .R4 W357 2007]

"The Watchful Gods, and Other Stories." (reviews) in:

  • Booklist (Oct. 15, 1950), Vol. 47, p. 75
  • Catholic World (Dec. 1950), Vol. 172, p. 234
  • Chicago Sunday Tribune (Oct. 8, 1950), p. 6
  • Bulletin from Virginia Kirkus' Bookshop Service (July 15, 1950), Vol. 18, p. 399
  • Library Journal (Aug. 1950), Vol. 75, p. 1290
  • The Nation (Oct. 7, 1950), Vol. 171, p. 317
  • New York Herald Tribune Book Review (Nov. 19, 1950), p. 18
  • New Republic (Dec. 25, 1950), Vol. 123, p. 20
  • New York Times (Sept. 24, 1950), p. 9
  • New Yorker (Oct. 21, 1950), Vol. 26, p. 137
  • San Francisco Chronicle (Oct. 18, 1950), p. 20
  • Saturday Review of Literature (Sept. 30, 1950), Vol. 33, p. 13-17
  • Wisconsin Library Bulletin (Nov. 1950), Vol. 46, p. 17.

Westbrook, Max. Walter Van Tilburg Clark. New York: Twayne Pub., 1969. Twayne's United States Authors Series, no. 155. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3505 .L376 Z95]

White, Connie Lynn Richards. Nature in Selected Works of Walter Van Tilburg Clark, Harvey Fergusson and Frank Waters. Kansas State Univ., 1984. (doctoral dissertation)

Wild Bill: Hollywood Maverick: The Life & Times of William A. Wellman (videotape). New York : Kino on Video, 1996. (Documentary of the director of "The Ox-Bow Incident")

"Will Be Big Event At V.C." Nevada State Journal (Sept. 11, 1949) p. 5. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 and via the Newspaper Archive]

"Wolftrack Trivia." Silver & Blue (Spring 1990), p. 27, inside back cover.

World Almanac Biographical Dictionary. World Almanac Books, 1990.

World Authors, 1900-1950. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1996. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 451 .W674 1996]

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass.