Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Lucius Beebe

Lucius Beebe

Lucius Beebe
Nevada Writers Hall of Fame 1992

Lucius Morris Beebe (1902-1966), an Edwardian at heart, was born on December 9, 1902, to a prosperous family in Wakefield, Massachusetts. He obtained his preliminary education at St. Mark's School in Southboro, Massachusetts. He won the Richard Memorial Prize for poetry in 1923 from Yale but was expelled in 1925. He graduated from Harvard in 1927 and remained to study poetry as a graduate student for a year while also becoming a correspondent for The New York Evening Post and a feature writer for The Boston Telegram. He then began work in literary journalism for the Boston Evening Transcript and, in 1929, The New York Herald Tribune,where he remained on staff until 1950. In 1934, he began writing a syndicated column for The New York Herald called "This New York," documenting the affluent Cafe Society he is credited with creating amid the Great Depression. He was featured on a 1939 cover of Life magazine and was known in social circles as "Mr. New York." He was a member of Chi Delta Theta, The Players, and the Coffee House Club of New York City, as well as an honorary member of Princeton University's Triangle Club. In 1940, he met Charles M. Clegg, Jr., who became his long-time companion and business partner in, for their era, an unusually open gay relationship. He was immortalized by Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart in the song "Zip" for the musical "Pal Joey," which opened on Broadway in 1940.

A flamboyant gourmet, he was a member of the Wine and Food Society of America and Confrerie des Chevaliers du Tastevin, an international organization celebrating French wines, and was invited to the first meeting of Les Amis de Gastronome in Las Vegas in 1960. He wrote the column, "Along the Boulevards," for Gourmet for over twenty years. Beebe came to Nevada in 1940 to review the premier of the film Virginia City at Piper's Opera House. In 1949, Beebe and Clegg moved to Virginia City, where they purchased and restored the Piper family home and later purchased the dormant Territorial Enterprise. Beebe re-launched the newspaper in 1952, and by 1954, the Enterprise had the highest circulation in the West for a weekly newspaper. He and Clegg co-wrote the "That Was the West" series, providing historical essays for the newspaper.

Beebe was a community activist. He and Clegg selected and wrote sketches for the 1949 Nevada Day Pageant in Carson City, which was enjoyed by standing-room only audiences. He was appointed by the governor of Nevada to be a member of the Nevada State Centennial Committee (1958) and was Chairman of the Silver Centennial Monument Committee (1958), groups that planned events honoring Nevada's and Virginia City's history. Through their efforts, the federal government commissioned a commemorative stamp in recognition of the discovery of the Comstock Lode. He also served on the Nevada State Board of Economic Development.

A member of the Railroad and Locomotive Historical Society, Beebe gained recognition as a train photographer. He and Clegg owned two of the last private railroad cars, the Gold Coast and the Virginia City, and co-produced more than thirty books on American railroads and Western Americana. Beebe also wrote for such national magazines as American Heritage, Gourmet, Holiday, Newsweek, Playboy, and Saturday Review. Beebe and Clegg sold their interest in the Territorial Enterprise in 1960 and moved to San Francisco, where Beebe became an editor for the San Francisco Chronicle, writing a weekly column, "This Wild West," until his death. Beebe died in Hillsborough, California, on February 4, 1966. Clegg was Board Chairman of the Lucius M. Beebe Memorial Foundation after Beebe's death.

A highly civilized non-conformist, Beebe thought of himself as a Renaissance Man and a true snob and was recognized as a legend in his own lifetime. "All I want is the best of everything and there's so very little of that." ~ A Self-Portrait

Bibliography for Lucius Beebe

Poetry:

Corydon and Other Poems. Boston: B.J. Brimmer, 1924. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3503 .E225 C6 1924] signed copy

Fallen Stars. Boston: Cornhill Pub., 1921.

Nonfiction:

"Accountant-de-Cuisine," in The San Francisco Chronicle Reader. Hogan, William and William German, eds. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1962; pp. 270-272. (Inscribed by Lucius Beebe). [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 869 .S3 S2465]

The Age of Steam: A Classic Album of American Railroading. (Co-author: Charles Clegg). Berkeley, CA: Howell-North Books, [1972?]. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: HE 2751 .B427 1972]

The American West: The Pictorial Epic of a Continent. New York : Dutton, 1955. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 591 .B4, and at Great Basin College, Elko]

Aspects of the Poetry of Edwin Arlington Robinson. Cambridge, MA: privately printed, 1928. Co-author: Bradley Fisk. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3535 .O25 Z57 1928 (Microfilm)]

The Awful Seeley Dinner. New York: F-R Pub. Corp., 1932. Also in the New Yorker (Jan. 16, 1932), Vol. 7, no. 48, pp. 34, 36-38. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microfilm: S97]

The Ballad of Geiger Grade: With the Season's Greetings from Lucius Beebe and Charles Clegg at John Piper's House, Virginia City, on the Comstock Lode, Christmas 1951. Virginia City, NV: El Camono Press, 1951. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3503 .E225 B3 1951]

"Beebe's Chipped Beef in Whipping Cream," in In Celebration of Virginia City's Sesquicentennial 150th anniversary - 1859-2009: The Virginia City, Nevada Cookbook. Virginia City, NV: Mark Twain Bookstore, Susy & Livy Publications, 2009; pp. 64-65. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TX 715 .B84915 2009]

A Bibliography of the Writings of Edwin Arlington Robinson. Co-author: Robert J. Bulkley, Jr. Cambridge, MA: Dunster House Bookshop, 1931. (Alternate title: Edwin Arlington Robinson: A Bibliography) [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3535 .O25 Z556 1931]

The Big Spenders: The Epic Story of the Rich Rich, the Grandees of America and the Magnificoes, and How They Spent Their Fortunes. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1966. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: E 168 .B43 1966]

The Big Spenders. Mount Jackson, VA: Axios Press, 2009. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: E 168 .B43 2009]

"The Big Spenders [excerpt]" Playboy. (Dec. 1966) Vol. 13, no. 12. pp. 197, 272-276. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: AP 2 .P692 v. 13 1966]

Boston and the Boston Legend. New York : Appleton-Century, 1935. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 73.3 .B44]

Brown, Helen; Beebe, L.; and Diamond, Harry. The Virginia City Cook Book: A Compendious Collection of Hundreds of Receipts in all Branches of Domestic Cookery, Contributed by the Residents, Past and Present, of Virginia City, Nevada. Los Angeles: Ward Ritchie Press, 1953. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: TX 715 .B84915]

Cable Car Carnival. Co-author: Charles Clegg. Oakland : G. Hardy, 1951. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: HE 4491 .S3 B4 and HE 4491 .S3 B4 1951a in Special Collections]

Cable Car Carnival. (That Was the West series). [Co-author: Charles Clegg. The Territorial Enterprise and Virginia City News (Aug. 30, 1957), p. 8. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N34 and in Special Collections: The Marye Family Papers, 84-7]

The Central Pacific and the Southern Pacific Railroads. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North, 1963. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: HE 2791 .S77 B44 1963]

Clegg, Charles and Lucius Beebe. "That Was the West: Virginia & Truckee, Part VIII. A Story of Comstock Times."Territorial Enterprise (March 29, 1963) Vol. 110, no. 13. pp. 1, 12. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilms: N34]

Clegg, Charles and Duncan Emrich, eds. The Lucius Beebe Reader. New York: Doubleday, 1967. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3503 .E225 A6 1967]

Clegg, Charles and Duncan Emrich, eds. The Lucius Beebe Reader. London; New York: Hutchinson, 1969. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3503 .E225 A6 1969]

Comstock Commotion: The Story of the Territorial Enterprise and Virginia City News. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 1954. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PN 4899 .V5 T38 1954, and Great Basin College, Elko]

Crosby Gaige's Cocktail Guide and Ladies' Companion. New York: Granger, 1941. Foreword by L. Beebe.

"Dignified Faun: A Portrait of E.A.R." in The Outlook and Independent (Aug. 27, 1930), Vol. 155, p. 647. (Edwin Arlington Robinson) [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm S1b]

"Dining Out" in The American Heritage Cookbook: an Illustrated History of American Eating and Drinking, pp. 323-335. New York : American Heritage Pub., 1964. (Inscribed and donated by Lucius Beebe.) [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TX 715 .A516 1964]

Edwin Arlington Robinson and the Arthurian Legend. Cambridge, MA: Privately printed, 1927. (his Harvard University master's thesis)

"Fare Thee Well." in [Articles on New Orleans]. New York: Town & Country, 1953. [Available: State Library of Louisiana]

Fleming, Howard. Narrow Gauge Railways in America. Oakland, CA: G. H. Hardy, 1949. Foreword by L. Beebe. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TF 675 .F59 1949]

"Foreword" to Brown, Helen. The Virginia City Cook Book. Los Angeles: W. Ritchie Press, [1953], (includes a Beebe recipe). [Available; Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: TX 715 B84915]

"Foreword" to Best, Katharine and Hillyer, Katharine. Las Vegas, Playtown U.S.A. New York: McKay, 1955. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: F 849 .L35 B4 1955]

"Foreword" to Hardy, Grahame and Paul Darrell, eds. Narrow Gauge Railways in America. Oakland, CA: Grahame H. Hardy, 1949; [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TF 675 .F59 1949]

Fowler, Gene. "Beau James: The Life and Times of Jimmy Walker" (review) in Saturday Review of Literature (April 9, 1949), pp. 17-18. [Available: Knowledge Center, MARS]

Francois Villon: Certain Aspects. Cambridge, MA: priv. print., 1925. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PQ 1593 .B43 1925]

"Going for the Mail." in Glotfelty, Cheryll, ed. Literary Nevada: Writings from the Silver State. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2008; pp. 165-167. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, the Basque Library, Western Nevada College-Carson City, and Great Basin College-Elko: PS 571 .N3 L57 2008]

"The Golden Age of Mobile Gastronomy -- memoir." Playboy. (May 1967) Vol. 14, no. 5, 126-128, 197-198, 200. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections]

Hear the Train Blow: A Pictorial Epic of America in the Railroad Age. New York : Dutton, 1952. Co-author: Charles Clegg. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: HE 2751 .B4]

High Iron: A Book of Trains. New York: Appleton-Century, 1938. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: TF 23 .B4 c. 2]

Highball: A Pageant of Trains. New York: Appleton-Century, 1945. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections and Great Basin College-Elko: TF 23 .B38]

Highliners: A Railroad Album. New York: Bonanza Books, 1940. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: TF 149 .B443 1940]

"How Wild was the Theatre of the Old Wild West?" The Territorial Enterprise & Virginia City News (Jan. 20, 1956), p. 6. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N34 and in Special Collections: The Marye Family Papers, 84-7]

The Iron Horse in Art: The Railroad As It Has Been Interpreted by Artists of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries. Fort Worth: Fort Worth Art Center, 1958. (Jan.-March 1958 exhibition; foreword by L. Beebe)

Legends of the Comstock Lode. Carson City, NV: G. H. Hardy, 1950 and 1952. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 849 .V8 B44 and F 849 .V8 B44 1952, and in DeLaMare Library]

Legends of the Comstock Lode. 2nd ed. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 1956. Co-author: Charles Clegg. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 849 .V8 B44 1956]

"Lucius Beebe: A Self-Portrait." Esquire. Vol. 58 (December 1962), p. 142. [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives:      AC 0519]

"Lucius Beebe's Deviled Grilled Beef Bones," in In Celebration of Virginia City's Sesquicentennial 150th anniversary - 1859-2009: The Virginia City, Nevada Cookbook. Virginia City, NV: Mark Twain Bookstore, Susy & Livy Publications, 2009; pp. 53-54. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TX 715 .B84915 2009]

Mansions on Rails: The Folklore of the Private Railway Car. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North, 1959. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TF 455 .B4 1959]

Mixed Train Daily: A Book of Short-line Railroads. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North, 1961. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: HE 2751 .B43 1961]

"Moriarty's Wonderful Saloon" in American Heritage. (August 1965), Vol. 16, no. 5, pp. 65-69, 105-106. [Available: Knowledge Center: E 171 .A43 1965; and at Great Basin College, Elko; and Western Nevada College, Carson City]

Mr. Pullman's Elegant Palace Car, the Railway Carriage that Established a New Dimension of Luxury and Entered the National Lexicon as a Symbol of Splendor. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1961. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TF 457 .B4]

"Name Your Cut!" in Chicago. Philadelphia: Curtis Pub., 1951.

"Narrow-Gauge Holiday" in Holiday (March 1947), Vol. 2, no. 3, pp. 81-83, 130-132.

Narrow Gauge in the Rockies. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North, 1958. Co-author: Charles Clegg. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: HE 3695 .C6 B4]

The Narrow Gage Railroads of Colorado. Boston: Railway & Locomotive Historical Society, 1946. (Photographs by C. Clegg and L. Beebe)

"Nevada - Heir to the Wild West." Holiday (February, 1955) Vol. 17, no. 2; pp. 26-36, 121-124, 126. [Available: University Archives: AC 0519]

Newhall, Scott, ed. The Provocative Pen of Lucius Beebe, Esq. San Francisco: Chronicle Pub. Co., 1966. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: PS 3503 .E225 A16 1966]

"Old Simple Life Mourned [guest columnist]." Oakland Tribune (Sept. 3, 1948), p. D26. [Available via the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]

"Original Foreword"in In Celebration of Virginia City's Sesquicentennial 150th anniversary - 1859-2009: The Virginia City, Nevada Cookbook. Virginia City, NV: Mark Twain Bookstore, Susy & Livy Publications, 2009; pp. 5-6. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TX 715 .B84915 2009]

"Outlaw, Tales of the Lawless Brought to Justice Only by the Ruthless Use of Lead and Rope (review)." The Territorial Enterprise (July 24, 1953)

The Overland Limited. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North Books, 1963. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TF 573 .B38]

"Palaces on Rails: The Ultraplush Privacy Railway Car, Once the Hallmark of Success, Still Survives" in Holiday(April 1952), Vol. 11, pp. 83-97. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP2 .H592 1952]

The Plaza: Fortieth Anniversary, 1907-1947. New York: Hilton Hotels?, 1947. (Caption title: Four Decades of the Plaza)

"The 'private war' of President Johnson (Point of View column)." The Post Standard (Syracuse, NY), (Sept. 26, 1965), p. 78. [Available via the Newspaper Archive for UNR-affiliated users]

The Provocative Pen of Lucius Beebe, Esq. San Francisco: Chronicle Pub., 1966. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: PS 3503 .E225 A16 1966]

Rio Grande: Mainline of the Rockies. Co-author: Charles Clegg. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North, 1962. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: HE 2791 .D44237 B44]

Rocha, Guy. "Julia Bulette: A Comstock legend grows." Reno Gazette-Journal (April 23, 2006), p. B10. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: N9]

The Ritz Idea: The Story of a Great Hotel. New York: Privately printed, 1936.

San Francisco Chronicle Reader. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1962. (includes essay by L. Beebe). [Available: Knowledge Center: F 869 .S3 S2465]

San Francisco's Golden Era: A Picture Story of the City before the Fire. Co-author: Charles Clegg. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North, 1960. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 869 .S3 B33]

"The Savoy of London." [S.n.: publisher not identified, 1964?]. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TX 941 .S37 B43 1964]

Shipler, Guy. "Evenhis Resume Got Him in Trouble." Silver & Blue (November/December 1993), pp. 28-33.

Snoot If You Must. New York: Appleton-Century, 1943. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 3503 .E225 S6]

"Southern Pacific Narrow Gauge." in Trains (March 1947), Vol. 7, no. 5, pp. 14-21.

Special Edition. Territorial Enterprise and Virginia City News. Vol. 98, no. 18. Virginia City, NV: 1952. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: N34]

Steamcars to the Comstock: the Virginia & Truckee Railroad, the Carson & Colorado Railroad - Their Story in Picture and Prose. Co-author: Charles Clegg. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North, 1957. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: HE 3695 .N3 V53 1957; and the second edition: HE 3695 .N3 V53 1963]

The Stork Club Bar Book. New York: Rinehart, 1946. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TX 951 .B35]

"Territorial Enterprise Suckling Pig," in In Celebration of Virginia City's Sesquicentennial 150th anniversary - 1859-2009: The Virginia City, Nevada Cookbook. Virginia City, NV: Mark Twain Bookstore, Susy & Livy Publications, 2009; pp. 44-45. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TX 715 .B84915 2009]

"This New York' [column] in the New York Herald Tribune. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: NC22] (a complete file of clippings)

"Those Gilded Galas -- nostalgia." Playboy. (Jan. 1966) Vol. 13, no. 1, pp. 87-90, 100, 186-193. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: AP 2 .P692 Vol. 13 1966]

Trains in Transition. New York: Bonanza Books, 1941. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TF 23 .B43]

The Trains We Rode. Co-author: Charles Clegg. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North Books, 1965-66. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: TF 23 .B44 Vols. 1-2]

20th Century: The Greatest Train in the World. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North, 1962. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TF 25 N6 B44]

Two Trains to Remember: The New England Limited, The Air Line Limited. [Virginia City, NV]: printed by the author, 1965. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: TF 25 .N72 B4]

Tully, Andrew. "Era of Elegance" (review) in Saturday Review of Literature (Nov. 29, 1947), Vol. 30, p. 18. [Available: Knowledge Center, MARS]

U. S. West, the Saga of Wells Fargo. Co-author: Charles Clegg. New York: Dutton, 1949. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: HE 5903 .W5 B38 1949]

Valentine, Alan. "Vigilante Justice" (review) in Montana Magazine of History (Winter 1956), Vol. 6, no. 1, pp. 56-57. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 726 M74 1956]

Vic, Trader. Trader Vic's Book of Food & Drink. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1946. (Introduction by L. Beebe). [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: TX 951 .B43]

"Virginia & Truckee: A Story of Virginia City and Comstock Times (serialization)." Reno Evening Gazette (April 28, 1949), p. 14. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm N9 1949 and via the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]

Virginia & Truckee: A Story of Virginia City and Comstock Times. 5th ed. Co-author: C. Clegg. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North, 1963. [Available: Knowledge Center: HE 2791 .V822 B4 1963; and Great Basin College, Elko] (1949, 1st & 4th eds. also in Special Coll.]

"Virginia City." Nevada Highways and Parks (Jan.-April, 1954), Vol. XIV, No. 1, pp. 2-7. [Available: Knowledge Center - Main Stacks and Special Collections: F 836 .N3 1954; and in the Business & Government Information Ctr.: 29-H536:1954]

"Virginia City, Nevada." Lincoln-Mercury Times (July-August, 1954), Vol. 6, no. 4; pp. 16-20. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: Marye Family Papers: 84-7]

When Beauty Rode the Rails: An Album of Railroad Yesterdays. Co-author: C. Clegg. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1962. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: HE 2751 .B44]

"Wild West ... some mechanized gastronomy." Syracuse Herald-American (October 24, 1965), p. 112?. [Available via the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]

Zerbe, Jerome. John Perona's El Morocco Family Album. New York: Privately printed, 1937. (Introduction by L. Beebe)

Zerbe, Jerome. People On Parade. New York: D. Kemp, 1934. (Introduction by L. Beebe)

Photography:

City of San Francisco at Berkeley. Photographic print, 20 x 24 cm., 1943. (View of the Southern Pacific Railroad depot in Berkeley, CA, a Chicago & Northwestern / Union Pacific locomotive and train, the "City of San Francisco.") [Available: Denver Public Library]

Great Railroad Photographs: U. S. A. Berkeley, CA: Howell-North Books, 1964. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: TF 149 .B39]

Jukes, Fred; and Beebe, L. Beebe-Jukes Collection. (1 box, ca. 750 photographic prints: gelatin silver; 28 x 40 x 32 cm., typed inventory). Images of railroads from North and South America, Great Britain and Europe, 1860-1950? [Available: Denver Public Library]

Pullman and Other Cars, Photographs. 1 album, 1958. (Views of railroad pullman cars, cafe cars, dining cars, parlor cars, sleeping cars ... from the 1880s and 1890s.)

This Is Manhattan, Not the Complete Whole of It. New York: 1933. (Broadsides; from Herald-Tribune, May 6, 1932)

Union Pacific Train No. 38. 20 x 25 cm., 1954. (Union Pacific Railroad locomotive number 38 [Pony Express] vents smoke at Borie [Laramie County], Wyoming ...)

Editor:

Helper, Hinton. Dreadful California: Being a True and Scandalous Account of the Barbarous Civilization, Licentious Morals, Crude Manners and Depravities, Inclement Climate and Niggling Resources, together with various other offensive and calamitous details of life in the Golden State. Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1948. Co-editor: Charles M. Clegg. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 865 .H48 1948]

Territorial Enterprise and Virginia City News. Virginia City, NV: L. M. Beebe, 1952-1969. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm N34, Vols. 98-116]

Biographical Sources & Critical Response:

"The Age of Steam" (review), in Colorado Magazine (1958), Vol. 35, p. 75. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 771 .C46 1958]

The American West: A Pictorial Epic of a Continent (reviews) in:

  • American Heritage: The Magazine of History (February 1956), Vol. 7, no. 2, pp. 116-117. [Available: Knowledge Center: E171 .A43 1956; and in Reference Microforms: Microfilm S308]
  • Montana: The Magazine of Western History (Winter, 1956), Vol. 6, no. 1, pp. 48-49. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 726 M74 v. 5-6]
  • Nebraska History. (1955-56), Vol. 36, pp. 310-311.
  • New York Herald Tribune Book Review (Oct. 14, 1955), p. 6. [Available: Knowledge Center: 805 qN411 1955]
  • Social Education (1958), Vol. 22, p. 42. [Available: Knowledge Center: H 62 .A1 S6 1958]

"Authors Day Will Be Big Event At V.C." Nevada State Journal (September 11, 1949), p. 5.

Bassett, Cindy, et al, eds. Comstock Memories: 1920s-1960s. Oral Histories with: Tyrus R. Cobb, Edward S. Colletti, John A. Salac and Mildred E. Giuffra, conducted by Kathryn M. Totton. Reno: University of Nevada, Oral History Program, 1988. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 849 .V8 C648 1988]

Beebe, Lucius. "Columnists As They See Themselves." in the "They Stand Out From the Crowd" section in The Literary Digest (Feb. 9, 1935), Vol. 119, no. 6, p. 12. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 L58]

"Beebe, Lucius." Current Biography Annual, 1940, pp. 66-68. [Available: Knowledge Center: CT 100 .C8 1940]

Beebe, Lucius. "Lucius Beebe's Family Home." in House & Garden (October 1939), Section I, pp. 46-47, 76. [Available: Knowledge Center: NA 7100 .H6 Vol. 76 1939]

Beebe, Lucius. [Numerous articles by and about him in many USA newspapers are available via the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]

"Beebe, Lucius (Morris)," in Bowman, John S., ed. The Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1995; p. 49. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS CT 213 .C36 1995; and Western Nevada College-Fallon]

"Beebe on Beebe." American West. Vol. 3 (Spring 1966), pp. 93-95. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS F 591 .A1 A4 Vol. 3 1966]

The Big Spenders - reviews:

  • Cubby, Edwin A. "Escapades of the American Grandees." Sunday Gazette-Mail/State Magazine (Charleston, WV), (June 19, 1966) [Available via the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]
  • Thackrey, Donald. "Beebe's 'Big Spenders' May Become Best Seller." Nevada State Journal (April 24, 1966), p. 8. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm N6 1966 and via the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]

"Boston and the Boston Legend" (review) in New England Quarterly (1935), Vol. 8, no. 4, p. 601. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 1 .N62 1935 and online in JSTOR via the Library web site]

Boyd, Nan Alamilla. Wide-Open Town: a History of Queer San Francisco to 1965. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2003; p. 251.

Breckenridge, Karl. "Opinion [column]." Reno Gazette-Journal (January 20, 2008), p. 2B.

Byrne, Alice Mildred. An Interview with Alice Mildred Byrne conducted by Ann Harvey 2 July 1984. Reno: Oral History Program, University of Nevada, Reno Library, 1984. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 849 .V8 B9]

Cafferata, Patricia D., ed. Christmas in Nevada. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2014; [Christmas card reproduction,  p. 110]. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: GT 4986 .N37 C34 2014]

Campa, Arthur. "Cable Car Carnival" (review) in Western Folklore (1952), Vol. 11, p. 64. [Available: Knowledge Center: GR 1 .C26 1952; and in Reference Microforms: Microfilm S10]

The Central Pacific and the Southern Pacific Railroads (reviews) in:

  • California Historical Society Quarterly (1964), Vol. 43, p. 347. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 856 .C24 1964]
  • Utah Historical Quarterly (1965), Vol. 33, p. 181. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: F 821 .U92 1965]

Christmas card (Lucius Beebe & Charles Clegg in their railway car, The Virginia City). [ Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: Marye Family Papers, 84-7]

Cobb, Ty. My Virginia City: a Columnist's Memories. Virginia City, NV: Historic Fourth Ward School Foundation, 2002. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 849 .V8 C63 2002]

The Comstock Commotion: The Story of the 'Territorial Enterprise' (reviews) in:

  • Hulse, James W. Pacific Northwest Quarterly (April 1955), Vol. 46, no. 2, pp. 60-61. [Available: Knowledge Center: F852 .P23 1955]
  • Journalism Quarterly (1955), Vol. 32, p. 80. [Available: Knowledge Center: PN 4700 .J7 1955]
  • Mississippi Valley Historical Review (1955), Vol. 42, p. 336. (later title = Journal of American History). [Available: Knowledge Center: E171 .J87 1955]
  • Montana Magazine of History (Winter, 1955), Vol. 5, no. 1, pp. 59-60. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 726 M74 v. 5-6]
  • Pacific Historical Review (1955), Vol. 24, p. 85. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 851 .P18 1955]

Contemporary Authors. 1st Revision. Detroit: GaleResearch, 1977. Volumes 25-28, p. 57. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference: REF Z 1224 .C6 Vol. 25-28]

Current Biography: Who's News and Why, 1940. New York: Wilson, 1940. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference: CT 100 C8 Vol. 1 1940]

DeGolyer, Everette L., Jr. "Mixed Train Daily" (review). in Saturday Review of Literature. (Oct. 25, 1947), Vol. 30, p. 14. [Available: Knowledge Center, MARS]

Dempsey, David. "In and Out of Books." New York Times (Oct. 23, 1949), p. BR8. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilms: N5, Oct. 23, 1949; and online via the New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) database (UNR affiliated users, only]

"Edwin Arlington Robinson and the Arthurian Legend" (review) in The Dial (1928), Vol. 86, p. 437. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .D48 1928; and also in Reference Microforms: Microfilm S38 and Microfilm S1b]

Emrich, Duncan. "Lucius Beebe: A Biographical Sketch." in The Lucius Beebe Reader. New York: Doubleday, 1967, pp. 389-393. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 3503 E225 A6 1967]

Encyclopedia of American Biography. New Series, Vol. 39. New York: American Historical Soc., 1969. (index of published biographies)

Ford, Jean; Glass, Betty J.; and Martha B. Gould, eds. Women in Nevada History: An Annotated Bibliography of Published Sources. [Reno]: Nevada Women's History Project, 2000. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, its Special Collections; Western Nevada College: HQ 1438 .N3 W66 2000]

"Getting to Know Your 'Pal Joey' #7: A bit about 'Zip'. (blog). Porchlight Music Theatre (April 7, 2013). [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519]

Gibbs, Wolcott. "One With Nineveh." The New Yorker (March 24, 1956), pp. 28-32. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .N6763 1956]

Glotfelty, Cheryll. The Comstock's Literary Mother Lode [videodisc]. Reno, NV: Teaching and Learning Technologies, UNR, [2009]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: PS 561 .C65 2009]

Gold, Bill. "Beebe Pays a Visit in His Plush Pullman." The Washington Post (Feb. 20, 1957), p. B1. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: The Marye Family Papers, 84-7]

"Governor Names Publisher to State Centennial Group." The Territorial Enterprise & Virginia City News (Jan. 20, 1956), p. 1. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N34 and in Special Collections: The Marye Family Papers, 84-7]

Grace, Michael L."'Luscious' Lucius Beebe." New York Social Diary (December 15, 2009).

Hardy, Grahame H. Two letters re: Legends of the Comstock LodeRobert Laxalt Papers. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: 85-09, Box 4]

Hear the Train Blow: A Pictorial Epic of America in the Railroad Age (reviews) in:

  • Montana Magazine of History (1953), Vol. 47, p. 393.
  • New York Herald Tribune Book Review (Sep. 28, 1952), p. 8. [Available: Knowledge Center: 805 qN411 1952]

Herzberg, Max J. The Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature. New York: Crowell, 1962 & 1965. [Available: Knowledge Center: PS 21 .R4 1962]

Highball: A Pageant of Trains (reviews) in:

  • Book Week (Jan. 13, 1946), p. 10.
  • Booklist (Feb. 1, 1946), Vol. 42, p. 178.
  • Bulletin from Virginia Kirkus' Bookshop Service (Oct. 1, 1945), Vol. 13, p. 452.
  • Library Journal (Jan. 1, 1946), Vol. 71, p. 55. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 671 .L7 1946]
  • New York Times Book Review (Jan. 13, 1946), p. 20. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm N5]
  • New Yorker (Jan. 19, 1946), Vol. 21, p. 79. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .N6763 1946]
  • Weekly Book Review (Dec. 23, 1945), p. 5.

Highliners: A Railroad Album (reviews) in:

  • Boston Evening Transcript (Mar. 30, 1940), p. 1.
  • New York Herald Tribune Books (April 7, 1940), p. 4.
  • New York Public Library New Technical Books (April 1940), Vol. 25, p. 27.
  • New Yorker (March 30, 1940), Vol. 16, p. 76. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm S97

Hillyer, Katherine. "The Iron Horse Snorted." Nevada: Official Centennial Magazine. Las Vegas, NV: Charles R. Bell, 1964; pp. 120-122, 148-149. [Available: Knowledge Center and its Special Collections:  F 841 .N52]

Hinckle, Warren. "The Mad Organist Of The Comstock." San Francisco Sunday Examiner & Chronicle (April 23, 1978), pp. 12+ [Available: University Archives: AC 0519]

Hinckle, Warren. "Foreword: The Mad Organist Of The Comstock." The Richest Place on Earth: The Story of Virginia City, Nevada, and the Heyday of the Comstock Lode. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1978. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 849 V8 H56]

"Historic Pageant Readied for Nevada Day Festival." Reno Evening Gazette (Oct. 28, 1950), p. 3. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 1973 and the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]

Holbrook, Stewart H. "Mr. Pullman's Elegant Car" (review) in New York Herald Tribune Books (Nov. 12, 1961), p. 6.

Holbrook, Stewart Hall. Papers, 1904-1964. Archival material, including L. Beebe correspondence. [Available: University of Washington Library]

Howe, Ward Allan. Papers, 1922-1966. Archival material, including correspondence with L. Beebe. [Available: University of Michigan Library, Ann Arbor]

Howe, Ward Allan. "Road Shrinks for the City of San Francisco." New York Times (Feb. 4, 1968), p. XX12. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm N5 1968 and online via New York Times~Proquest Historical Newspapers (UNR NetID required).

Hutchens, J. K. "Purple Pepys of El Morocco." Saturday Review. Vol. 50 (December 16, 1967), pp. 27-28. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS Z 1219 .S25 Vol. 50 Dec. 1967]

James, Ronald M., and Susan A. James. A Short History of Virginia City. Reno: University of Nevada Press, 2014. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 849 .V8 J355 2014]

Jenks, George M. "A Bibliography of Books and Articles By and About Lucius Beebe." Bulletin of Bibliography. (July-September, 1980), Vol. 37, pp. 132-141, 155. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1007 B94 1980]

Kelley, Peter T. Luck of the (Half) Irish. [Carson City, NV?] : Peter T. Kelley, [1996?]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: F 841 .K45 1996]

Kinnell, Susan K., ed. "Beebe, Lucius," in People in History: An Index to U. S. and Canadian Biographies in History Journals and Dissertations. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 1988; p. 39. [Provides citation for George Jenks' Bibliography, see above.]

Laxalt, Robert. "Hear the Town Blow (editorial)." Nevada Appeal (Nov. 18, 1953), p. 6.

"Legal Notice [Lucius M. Beebe Memorial Foundation]." Nevada State Journal (Jan. 30, 1973), p. 14. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm: N6 1973 and the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]

Legends of the Comstock Lode (reviews) in:

  • San Francisco Chronicle (Aug. 8, 1950), p. 14. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm N1]
  • Saturday Review of Literature (Oct. 14, 1950), Vol. 33, p. 40. [Available: Knowledge Center, MARS]

Lewis, Oscar. "Cable Car Carnival" (review) in New York Herald Tribune Books (July 22, 1951), p. 6.

Lucius Beebe Memorial Library (Wakefield, Massachusetts)

The Lucius Beebe Reader - reviews:

  • Howe, Ward Allan. New York Times (Feb. 4, 1968), p. XX12. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm N5 1968 and online via New York Times~Proquest Historical Newspapers (UNR NetID required).
  • Saturday Review (December 16, 1979), pp. 27-28. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS Z 1219 .S25 v. 50]

Lucius Morris Beebe Papers. [Available: Knowledge Center's Special Collections: NC 22]

McIntyre, O. O. "New York Day by Day [column]." The Evening Tribune (Albert Lea, Minn.), (Nov. 26, 1935), p. 2. [Available via the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]

Merkin, Richard. "Luscious Lucius." GQ. Vol. 59 (September 1989), pp. 195+. [Available: Knowledge Center: TT 570 .G46 Vol. 59]

Miles, Mildred Lynn. Index to Playboy: Belles-Lettres, Articles and Humor, December 1953-December 1969. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1970. p. 31. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .P694]

Mitchell, Stewart. Papers, 1839-1957. Archival material, including correspondence with L. M. Beebe. [Available: Boston Athenaeum]

Moreno, Richard. Roadside History of Nevada. Missoula, MT: Mountain Press, 2000. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: F 839.3 .M69 2000]

"Narrow Gauge in the Rockies" (review) in Colorado Magazine (1958), Vol. 35, p. 312. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 771 .C46 1958]

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. New York: James T. White, 1974. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference: REF E176 .N27 Vol. 55]

"Nevada Authors Meet the Public." Nevada State Journal (Oct. 6, 1954), p. 2.

"Nevada Day Pageant Was Smashing Success; Hundreds See Stage Show." Nevada Appeal (November 1, 1949).

Nevada In Print. 2nd ed. Carson City: Nevada State Library, 1961. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: Z 1309 .N4 1961]

Nevada In Print. 1964 Supplement. Carson City: Nevada State Library, 1961. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center and its Special Collections: Z 1309 .N4 1961 Suppl. 1964]

Nevada: Official Centennial Magazine. Las Vegas, NV: Charles Bell, 1964; p. 120. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 841 .N52]

Newhall, Scott. "Books: Beebe: The Magnificent Rebel [review]." San Francisco Sunday Examiner & Chronicle (Oct. 30, 1966), "This World," Cover page and p. 40.

Nichols, Dorothy. An Interview with Dorothy Nichols conducted by Ann Harvey 10 July 1984. Reno: Oral History Program, University of Nevada, Reno, Library, [1984]. [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center: F 849 .V8 N45]

Obituary:

  • Antiquarian Bookman (Feb. 21, 1966)
  • Britannica Book of the Year, 1967. Chicago: Encyclopedia Britannica. 1967; p. 590. [Available: Knowledge Center: AE 5 .E364 1967]
  • Contemporary Authors. 1st Revision. Detroit: Gale Research, 1971. Vols. 25-28. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference: Z 1224 .C6]
  • Current Biography. Vol. 27 (March 1966), p. 41.
  • National Cyclopedia of American Biography. Vol. 55 (1974), pp. 4-5. [Available: Knowledge Center and GBC-Elko: E 176 .N27]
  • "Necrology" in Current Biography Yearbook, 1966. New York: Wilson, 1966, p. 462. [Available: Knowledge Center: CT 100 C8 Vol. 27 1966]
  • Nevada State Journal (Feb. 5, 1966), p. A1. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microfilm N6 1966 and via the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]
  • New York Herald Tribune (Feb. 5, 1966)
  • New York Times (Feb. 5, 1966), p. 26. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm N5]
  • Newsweek (Feb. 14, 1966), p. 66. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm S183]
  • Publishers' Weekly (Feb. 14, 1966), p. 110. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1219 .P98 1966]
  • Time (Feb. 11, 1966), p. 82. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm S188]

"Old Virginia City." Sunset (October 1958), pp. 50-58. Available: Knowledge Center: F 851 .S9 1958]

Paher, Stanley W. Nevadans: The Spirit of the Silver State. Reno, Nevada: Nevada Publications, 2014. [Available: Knowledge Center Special Collections: F 841 .P34 2014 and Western Nevada College-Carson City].

Paneth, Donald. The Encyclopedia of American Journalism. New York: Facts on File, 1983, p. 30. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference: REF PN 4855 .P26 1983]Papers, 1921-1967. Archival material, including correspondence. [Available: Denver Public Library]

Phelps, William L. "Aspects of the Poetry of Edwin Arlington Robinson" (review) in Scribner's Magazine (1929), Vol. 86, p. 96. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .S4 1929]

Phelps, William L. "Boston and the Boston Legend" (review) in Scribner's Magazine (1936), Vol. 99, p. 253. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .S4 1936]

Phillips, III, John A. A Northern Pacific Bibliography: Books, Papers, Dissertations

"Playbill." Playboy. (Jan. 1966) Vol. 13, no. 1, p. 6. (photograph). [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections]

"Playbill." Playboy. (Dec. 1966) Vol. 13, no. 12, pp. 3-4. (photograph). [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections]

"Playbill." Playboy. (May 1967) Vol. 14, no. 5, p. 3. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections]

Rio Grande: Mainline of the Rockies (reviews) in:

  • California Historical Society Quarterly (Nov. 1, 1963), Vol. 42, p. 55. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 856 .C24 1963]
  • Colorado Magazine (1962), Vol. 39, p. 308. [Available: F 771 .C46 1962]
  • Montana (1963), Vol. 13, no. 1, p. 78. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 726 .M74 1963]
  • New Mexico Quarterly (Spring 1963), Vol. 33, no. 1, p. 92. [Available: Knowledge Center: 805 N531 Vol. 33]

Rocha, Guy. "Myth of the 'trestle' on the state seal." Reno Gazette-Journal (September 16, 2007), p. C6. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: N9]

Rocha, Guy. "2 enterprising papers preceded Territorial." Reno Gazette-Journal (December 10, 2006), p. B9. [Available: Knowledge Center, Research Microforms: N9]

Rodgers, Richard. "Beebe and Clegg Arrive In 'Elegant Boxcar'." The Evening Star (Washington, D.C.), (Feb. 22, 1956).

"San Francisco's Golden Era: A Picture Story of the City Before the Fire"(review) in California Historical Society Quarterly (1961), Vol. 40, p. 77. [Available: Knowledge Center: F 856 .C24 1961]

Shafton, Anthony. The Nevada They Knew: Robert Caples and Walter Van Tilburg Clark. [Place of publication not identified]: America Through Time, 2017. [Available: Special Collections: ND 237 .C25 S53 2017]

Simpson, James B., comp. Simpson's Contemporary Quotations. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1988. p. 220. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference: REF PN 6083.S53 1988]

Stefoff, Rebecca. Nevada. 2nd ed. (Celebrate the States). New York: Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, 2010.  [Available: Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center's Special Collections: F 841.3 .S72 2010]

Stephens, Y. Jean. Lucius Morris Beebe, Seeing the Elephant. University of Iowa thesis, 1972. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: F 849 V8 B48]

Stewart, George R. "Dreadful California" (review) in New York Times Book Review. (Sept. 12, 1948), p. 25. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm N5]

"Territorial Enterprise." RenoPace (January, 1953), Vol. IV, no. 7; pp. 14-17. [Available: Knowledge Center, Special Collections: Robert Laxalt Papers 85-09.]

"They're Afeudin, in Ol' Virginia City; Sheriff, Lucius Beebe Start Shootin'." Oakland Tribune (July 16, 1953), p.5. [Available via the Newspaper Archive (UNR NetID required)]

Tidwell, James N. "Steamcars to the Comstock" (review) in Western Folklore (1958), Vol. 17, p. 220. [Available: Knowledge Center: GR 1 .C26 1958]

The Trains We Rode (reviews) in:

  • California Historical Society Quarterly (1968), Vol. 47, p. 85. [Available: Knowledge Center: F856 .C24 1968]
  • Montana (1967), Vol. 17, p. 69. [Available: Knowledge Center: F726 .M74 1967]

U. S. West: The Saga of Wells Fargo (reviews) in:

  • American Historical Review (July 1950), Vol. 55, no. 4, p. 922. [Available: Knowledge Center: E 171 .A57 1950 and online in JSTOR via the Library web site]
  • Booklist (Nov. 1, 1949), Vol. 46, p. 78.
  • Bookmark (Jan. 1950), Vol. 9, p. 77. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z881 .I25 1950]
  • Bulletin from Virginia Kirkus' Bookshop Service (July 15, 1949), Vol. 17, p. 386.
  • Library Journal (Oct. 1, 1949), Vol. 74, p. 1461. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 671 .L7 1949]
  • New York Herald Tribune Book Review (Oct. 16, 1949), p. 5.
  • New York Times Book Review. (Oct. 2, 1949), p. 35. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm N5]
  • New Yorker (Nov. 26, 1949), Vol. 25, p. 135. [Available: Knowledge Center: AP 2 .N6763 1949]
  • San Francisco Chronicle (Oct. 2, 1949), p. 18. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference Microforms: Microfilm N1]
  • Saturday Review of Literature. (Dec. 17, 1949), Vol. 32, p. 14-15. [Available: Knowledge Center, MARS]
  • Wilson Library Bulletin (Nov. 1949), p. 4. [Available: Knowledge Center: Z 1035.A1 W5 1949]

Van Doren, Charles, ed. Webster's American Biographies. Springfield, MA: Merriam, 1974 & 1979. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference: REF CT 213 .V36 1974]

Villas, James. "Legends: Lucius Beebe: the Last Magnifico." Gourmet. Vol. 58, no. 2 (February 1998), p. 82, 84-85. [Available: Knowledge Center's University Archives: AC 0519].

Weems, Robert C. Business for Nevada: The College of Business Administration at the University of Nevada, 1887-2000. Reno: Black Rock Press & College of Business Administration, 2001. [Available: Knowledge Center, its Special Collections, and University Archives: LD 3769.5 B8 W44 2001]

Who Was Who among English and European Authors, 1931-1949. Detroit: Gale Research, 1978. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference: PN 451 .W5]

Who Was Who in America. Chicago: Marquis Who's Who, 1968. [Available: Knowledge Center, Reference: REF E 176 .W64 Vol. 4, 1961-1968]

Wilder, Louise Beebe. Lucius Beebe of Wakefield and Sylenda Morris Beebe, His Wife, Their Forbears and Descendants. New York: Knickerbocker Press, 1930. [Available: Denver Public Library]

Woodward, Austin. "Virginia City Remembrances." Journal of the West. Vol. 37 (January 1998), pp. 80-85. [Available: Knowledge Center: MARS F 591 A1 J5 v. 37 1998]

Please direct questions about this bibliography to Betty Glass