Skip to main content

Nevada Writers Hall of Fame: Home

Attend the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame

Check back in the next several months for details about the 2016 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame ceremony.

About the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame

The Nevada Writers Hall of Fame was conceived by former Friends of the University Libraries President Marilyn Melton in 1988. She envisioned two purposes: an annual event honoring Nevada's finest writers, and a stimulus to encourage excellence among emerging writers in the Silver State.

The first selection committee met at Marilyn’s home and chose Robert Laxalt and Walter Van Tilburg Clark as the recipients. Since that time, the Hall of Fame has become an annual event.

The names of all the authors who have been inducted into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame are now prominently displayed on a wall of honor in the Leslie Harvey and Robert George Whittemore Tower Entry and Reception Gallery of the Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center.

Honorees are selected based on their body of work, critical recognition, and a strong connection to Nevada through the themes of their writing or residence in the state. Including the 2015 inductees, there are 52 members in the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame.

See all Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Members by year

About the Silver Pen Award

The Silver Pen Award was established in 1996 as part of the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame to recognize writers who are in mid-career and have already shown substantial achievement. The award is designed to honor their talent and encourage other emerging and mid-career writers.

Honorees in this category are also selected based upon their body of work, critical recognition and a strong connection to Nevada through the themes of their writing or residence in the state. It is hoped through their outstanding work they may one day be inducted into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame.

See all Silver Pen Recipients by year

Give Today

Make a Gift to Nevada

2015 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Inductee and Silver Pen Award Recipients

Ellen HopkinsEllen Hopkins – 2015 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame

From the time she was young, Ellen Hopkins loved the written word. She published her first haiku at age nine, igniting the writing spark. She entered, and won, creative writing contests throughout high school. She began her career as a freelance journalist, taking a break after 17 years to pursue a career in children’s nonfiction, publishing 20 titles before switching to fiction. Concurrently, as a member of Carson City’s Ash Canyon Poets, she stoked her fire for poetry, growing her craft through exceptional critique. In 2004, Hopkins successfully melded the two, publishing her first novel-in-verse. Now the New York Times Best-selling author of 11 young adult novels, including the Crank trilogy and three novels for adult readers, Hopkins is set to publish her 12th novel in November 2015. Hopkins’ young adult novels delve into tough subjects, such as addiction, religion, suicide, and abuse. Her books for adult readers touch on hot button issues like deployment and how it affects those deployed and those left behind. Hopkins founded Ventana Sierra, a non-profit helping at-risk youth with housing and other necessary resources, including educational support and career guidance. She lives near Carson City with her extended family, two dogs, one cat, and two ponds (not pounds!) of koi.
Mark Maynard – 2015 Silver Pen Recipient
Mark Maynard

Mark Maynard grew up on the north shore of Lake Tahoe in Incline Village, NV, a very small town that blessed him with enough quirky characters to populate a lifetime of stories. He left the slopes of Tahoe for the shores of the Pacific, attending college at the University of San Diego. After graduation, he moved to the San Francisco Bay Area where he worked at several fledgling dot-coms and one globally dominating video game company. He moved back to Northern Nevada several years ago where he worked in the newspaper business until he began teaching Composition, Fiction and Creative Writing at Truckee Meadows Community College, the University of Nevada, Reno, and Sierra Nevada College. Mark earned his MFA in Creative Writing (Fiction) from Antioch University Los Angeles. His short fiction has appeared in numerous magazines and he's been featured as part of Sierra Nevada College's Writers in the Woods Series and as part of the Squaw Valley Community of Writers Alumni Reading Series. Mark is the program coordinator the Nevada Humanities Reno Literary Crawl, and the co-founder of the Sierra Literary Alliance. He lives in Sparks, NV.


Laura McBrideLaura McBride — 2015 Silver Pen Recipient

Laura McBride moved to Nevada in 1986, choosing Las Vegas as the place to raise her family. She’s grateful to have made that choice because it meant her children could be witness to the power of second chances. McBride’s debut novel, We Are Called to Rise, has skyrocketed since being published, ending up on seven “Community Reads” lists, including Nevada’s, as well as being a lead fiction title for Simon & Schuster in 2014 and a #1 IndieNext pick. We Are Called to Rise explores the beautiful and explosive possibilities of Las Vegas, a diverse community in which the conventional social boundaries are unusually fluid. The title of the book was taken from Emily Dickinson’s poem We Never Know How High We Are: We never know how high we are/Till we are called to rise. McBride is a tenured professor of English at the College of Southern Nevada, where she has been actively involved in all aspects of teaching and college life. 

2014 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Ceremony


Remarks from 2015 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Award Recipients

View the remarks from the 2015 awards ceremony:

Ellen Hopkins - 2015 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Inductee

Mark Maynard - 2015 Silver Pen Award Recipient

Laura McBride - 2015 Silver Pen Award Recipient

Director of Development

Millie Mitchell
University Libraries
(775) 682-5682