With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration. This database may also be searched as part of Gale’s cross-collection primary source portal, Gale Primary Sources. Gale Primary Sources provides graphing and visualization tools to analyze documents, in addition to allowing searches across collections.
Manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Newberry Library's Graff Collection (Chicago, IL), including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, outlaws, and the growth of urban centers and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands.
Books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera represented in the American Bibliography by Charles Evans. 40,000 works trace the history of the American colonies that would eventually become the United States, and include such diverse topics as temperance, witchcraft, slavery, diplomacy and music.
Search or browse writings and biographies of over 1,500 women, representing various age groups, life stages, ethnicities, and geographic regions. Includes published and previously unpublished materials, from colonial times to 1950.
29,000 works about the Americas published from 1500 to the early 1900's. Includes books, pamphlets, serials and documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography. This database may also be searched as part of Gale’s cross-collection primary source portal, Gale Primary Sources. Gale Primary Sources provides graphing and visualization tools to analyze documents, in addition to allowing searches across collections.
Books, images, primary resources, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities in the United States from colonial times to the present. The collection currently includes 125 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents.
Including all content from Academic Search Premier, this expanded multidisciplinary database indexes over 10,000+ scholarly journals, with full text for almost 9,000 titles. Covers social sciences, humanities, education, computer science and engineering, general science, medicine, ethnic studies, and more. 1965- present for selected titles.
Core academic journals in mathematics, humanities and social sciences disciplines, beginning with their first volumes (sometimes dating back to the 1800s). Issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available electronically through JSTOR; however, they may be available through their publishers or other vendors.
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present (5 volumes). Includes statistics gathered in the colonial and national censuses and other demographic and economic information. REF HA 202 H57 2006.