Skip to main content

Diversity Library Guide: Getting
Started

Resources and information related to diversity and inclusion at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Welcome!

Welcome to the Diversity and Inclusion Library Guide for the University of Nevada, Reno. Select the tabs above to explore the many resources available to support the information needs of students. You'll find information about books, journals, videos, websites, and more!

This guide is intended to showcase existing diverse collections within the Knowledge Center and support Core Objective 10 (Diversity & Equity) from the Silver Core Curriculum.  

BooksNavigating the library can be hard. This page will help you find the books you need. 

Articles and DatabasesHaving trouble finding articles? Look no further! 

Films and Videos: Find documentaries and films to watch for fun and include in your research

Cultural Competency in Health Care: What is cultural competency? Find out here.

Language Tools: Looking to increase your language skills? Check here. 

Demographics, Newspapers and More: Find statistics, demographics and current news in Nevada

Contact Us: Have feedback or a resource to include? Let us know! 

Campus Resources

  • The Center for Student Cultural Diversity - The Center serves as a comprehensive intercultural office providing outreach & recruitment, retention support services & co-curricular programming for prospective & continuing students.
     
  • Writing Center - The Writing Center provides free writing consultations to all undergraduate, graduate, and faculty members. Center tutors offer consultation for academic, creative, career, business, and personal writing.
     
  • UNR Cultural Diversity Committee - The Cultural Diversity Committee (CDC) includes faculty, staff and students that are interested in equity and diversity programming on campus.  The committee reports to the President through the Chief Diversity Officer.  Current programming goals include an annual conference and a sub-committee focused on creating a forum for ongoing dialog.

Important Definitions

  • Culture: the customary beliefs, social forms, and material traits of a racial, religious, or social group; the characteristic features of everyday existence (as diversions or a way of life) shared by people in a place or time. Encyclopedia Britannica
     
  • Discrimination: the practice of unfairly treating a person or group of people differently from other people or groups of people. Merriam-Webster.
     
  • Diversity: the state of having people who are different races or who have different cultures in a group or organization. Merriam-Webster.
     
  • Ethnicity: a social group or category of the population that, in a larger society, is set apart and bound together by common ties of race, language, nationality, or culture.  Encyclopedia Britannica.
     
  • Equity: fairness or justice in the way people are treated. Merriam-Webster.
     
  • Institutional Racism: a form of racism expressed in the practice of social and political institutions, as distinct from racism by individuals or informal social groups. Wikipedia
     
  • Intersectionalitythe interconnected nature of social categorizations such as race, class, and gender as they apply to a given individual or group, regarded as creating overlapping and interdependent systems of discrimination or disadvantage. Wikipedia
     
  • Microaggression: a subtle but offensive comment or action directed at a minority or other nondominant group that is often unintentional or unconsciously reinforces a stereotype. Merriam-Webster.
     
  • Multiculturalism: the view that cultures, races, and ethnicities, particularly those of minority groups, deserve acknowledgement of their differences within a dominant political culture. Encyclopedia Britannica.
     
  • Privilege: a special right or advantage available only to a particular person or group of people. The term is commonly used in the context of social inequality, particularly in regard to age, disability, ethnic or racial category, gender, sexual orientation, religion and/or social class. Wikipedia.
     
    • Sometimes, groups of people who don't consider themselves to be diverse think that diversity issues don't apply to them. But issues of diversity and inclusion include all of us. This comic by Jamie Kapp attempts to explain the concept of white privilege and institutionalized racism in a funny way. [FYI - the last panel of the comic contains explicit language].

      refers
      to
      unearned
      group-bae
      not
      based
      on
      solely,
      or
      in
      some
      cases
      at
      all,
      their
      skills
      and
      abilities,
      but
      rather
      because
      of
      who
      they
      are.
      Prey
      are.
  • Race: the idea that the human species is divided into distinct groups on the basis of inherited physical and behavioral differences. Genetic studies in the late 20th century refuted the existence of biogenetically distinct races, and scholars now argue that “races” are cultural interventions reflecting specific attitudes and beliefs that were imposed on different populations in the wake of western European conquests beginning in the 15th century. Encyclopedia Britannica.
     
  • Racism: any action, practice, or belief that reflects the racial worldview—the ideology that humans are divided into separate and exclusive biological entities called "races," that there is a link between inherited physical traits and traits of personality, intellect, morality, and other cultural behavioral features, and that some races are innately superior to others. Encyclopedia Britannica.
     
  • Social Justice: justice in terms of the distribution of wealth, opportunities, and privileges within a society. Wikipedia.  
     

LGBTQI TerminologyA comprehensive list of LGBTQI terms, including colloquialisms and gender neutral pronoun usage. Courtesy of the University of California, Los Angeles.

Guide to Disability Language and Empowerment: An extensive guide looking at the language used when communicating about disability. Courtesy of Syracuse University.

Nevada Resources

Nevada-based resources for cultural diversity and inclusion:

  • Northern Nevada International Center - The Northern Nevada International Center (NNIC) is a non-profit serving Nevada's educational and international oriented communities. NNIC hosts educational and community programs for locals/visitors interested in international activities and events, as well as hosting visitors through multiple international exchange programs.
     
  • Latino Research Center - The Latino Research Center serves as a focal point for research, advocacy, education efforts, and outreach on issues related to the Latino community within Nevada.
     
  • Noticiero Móvil - Noticiero Móvil is a multimedia news outlet providing Spanish and English content in northern Nevada. This project provides relevant and accessible news content to and about the Latino community. From Reynolds School of Journalism.
     
  • Transgender Allies Group - The Transgender Allies Group (TAG) is a northern Nevada network of allies providing education, resources, counseling, advocacy, and support of transgender individuals and families to ensure equality and exceptional quality of life.
     
  • Northern Nevada Literacy Council - The Northern Nevada Literacy Council is dedicated to helping adult learns read, write, and speak English. They offer free classes to adults preparing to take the GED, and also provides free ESL and Citizenship classes to foreign-born adults.
     
  • Our Center - The mission of Our Center is to establish and maintain a safe, empowering, and supportive center in Northern Nevada that addresses advocacy, education, and services for the LGBT community. They offer and host a variety of programs, events, resources, and services.

Related LibGuides