Skip to main content

Discovery Services at UNR: What's in OneSearch?

Tips and FAQs about the best ways to find and use online library materials

OneSearch Content

What does OneSearch search?

OneSearch searches over 100 million books, ebooks, scholarly articles, audiovisual resources, images, and more. It includes:

  • the library catalog
  • articles from online journals
  • streaming audio and video content
  • local digital collections (images, videos, documents)
  • digital repositories from universities, museums, and open-access archives around the world

OneSearch may provide access to most of the databases and journals that you already use. Some databases and journals provide access to full text, others only list citation information. Use the table below to find some of the major publishers and databases indexed in OneSearch.

This list is not exhaustive and may not include open access resources. Please contact Discovery Services for more information if you do not see a resource listed below.

*NOTE: Entries below marked with an asterisk (*) are only partially indexed; this will be at least 75% coverage, usually less than 90%. For more about the publishers and databases that are marked with an asterisk, please see "More on Content".

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)*
  • Academic Video Online
  • AccessCardiology*
  • AccessEmergency Medicine
  • AccessMedicine
  • AccessSurgery
  • ACLS Humanities E-Book*
  • ACM Digital Library
  • Adam Matthew Digital
  • Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database (ProQuest)
  • AGRICOLA*
  • Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest)
  • Alexander Street Press
  • Aluminium Industry Abstracts
  • Allen Press Journals
  • Alt-PressWatch
  • Ambrose Digital Video
  • America: History & Life (EBSCO)*
  • American Economic Association Web
  • American Indian Histories and Cultures
  • American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Publications
  • American Institute of Physics Publications
  • American Library Association Publications
  • American Mathematical Society Journals
  • American Medical Association Journals
  • American Memory
  • American National Biography Online
  • American Physical Society Journals
  • American Physiological Society Journals
  • American Phytopathological Society Journals*
  • American Society for Microbiology
  • American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Collection
  • Annual Reviews
  • Art Full Text
  • ARTstor
  • ArXiv.org
  • ASTM Digital Library
  • Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
  • Bibliography Of American Literature
  • Biological Science Database (ProQuest)
  • BioMed Central Open Access
  • BioOne*
  • BioScientifica
  • BIOSIS Citation Index*
  • BMJ Journals
  • Brill Online Books and Journals
  • Britannica Online Academic Edition
  • Business Source Complete (EBSCO)*
  • Cambridge Journals Online
  • Cell Press
  • Ceramic Abstracts
  • CINAHL (EBSCO)*
  • ClincalKey*
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)*
  • Computer and Information Systems Abstracts
  • Copper Technical Reference Library
  • Corrosion Abstracts
  • Council on Foreign Relations
  • Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
  • CQ Press
  • CQ Researcher
  • CRCnetBASE (ENGnetBASE)
  • CSIRO Publishing Journals
  • Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
  • De Gruyter Online
  • Dialnet
  • Digital Commons
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
  • e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collection 
  • Early American Imprints
  • Early English Books Online
  • Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
  • Ebook Central
  • eBooks on EBSCOhost*
  • Ecological Society of America Publications
  • Ecology Abstracts
  • EconLit
  • Education Database (ProQuest)
  • Education Source
  • Electrochemical Society Digital Library*
  • Emerald Insight 
  • Engineered Materials Abstracts
  • Environment Complete (EBSCO)*
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
  • ERIC
  • érudit Journals
  • eScholarship@McGill
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
  • Film and TV Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO)*
  • Films on Demand
  • GenderWatch
  • Geological Society of America Publications
  • GEOSCAN (Open Access)
  • GeoScienceWorld
  • GreenFile (EBSCO)*
  • Guilford Publications
  • HathiTrust Digital Library
  • Health and Safety Science Abstracts
  • Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Highwire Journals
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)*
  • IBISWorld
  • IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
  • ​IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)*
  • IGI Global Journals
  • Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
  • IngentaConnect
  • Institute of Physics Journals (IOP)
  • Internurse.com
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (EBSCO)*
  • International Monetary Fund eLibrary
  • JAMA Network (includes JAMA Evidence)
  • Journals@Ovid (includes Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery)
  • JSTOR (Includes JSTOR Sustainability)
  • Kanopy Streaming
  • Knovel
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)*
  • Library Literature & Information Science (EBSCO*)
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
  • Literature Online (LION)*
  • Mary Ann Liebert Journals
  • Materials Science & Engineering Database (ProQuest)
  • McGraw-Hill Ebook Library
  • Medical Letter Online
  • Medline (Ovid)
  • Mergent Online
  • METADEX
  • Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
  • Mintel Reports
  • MIT Press Journals
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Music Index*
  • Nation Archive
  • National Academies Press Publications*
  • National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
  • Nature Journals Online
  • Naxos Music Library
  • NRC Publications
  • OECD iLibrary
  • Optical Society of America
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
  • Oxford English Dictionary
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online*
  • Oxford Journals
  • Oxford Music Online*
  • PAIS International*
  • Palgrave Macmillan Journals
  • PANGAEA
  • Petroleum Abstracts TULSA Database
  • Pew Research Center for People & the Press
  • Pew Social & Demographic Trends
  • Philosopher's Index*
  • Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS)
  • Political Science Database (ProQuest)
  • Pollution Abstracts
  • Portland Press Electronic Journals*
  • Project Euclid
  • Project MUSE
  • ProQuest Congressional
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
  • ProQuest Education Journals
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers (New York Times)
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO*
  • PubMed/Pubmed Central
  • R2 Digital Library
  • RAND Reports*
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective
  • Regional Business News (EBSCO)
  • RIA Checkpoint
  • Risk Abstracts
  • Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation Digital Library*
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Ebooks & Journals
  • Royal Society Publications
  • Safari Technical Books
  • SAGE Journals
  • SAGE Knowledge Reference Encyclopedias
  • Sage Research Methods*
  • Science Citation Index
  • Science Magazine
  • ScienceDirect
  • Slack Journals
  • Social Science Database (ProQuest)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
  • Social Services Abstracts
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Sociology Database (ProQuest)
  • SpringerLink
  • Statistical Insight*
  • Sustainability Science Abstracts
  • Taylor & Francis Journals
  • Thieme Journals
  • Times Digital Archive
  • Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
  • Toxicology Abstracts
  • TOXLINE
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set
  • U.S. Newsstream
  • UC Press E-Books Collection, 1928-2004 (Public)*
  • University of California Press Journals
  • University of Chicago Press Journals
  • University of Illinois Press Journals*
  • Water Resources Abstracts
  • Web of Science
  • Wiley-Blackwell Ebooks & Journals
  • World Scientific Journals
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • Zoological Record

More on Content

Description of the OneSearch Content:

OneSearch is based on a unified index, a ProQuest/ExLibris product called Summon, which uses direct links from publishers or UNR Libraries' link resolver to connect to fully digitized article content. This content is provided by thousands of publishers working directly with ExLibris. The Library works with ExLibris to make sure that all of our subscribed content in the unified index is accessible.

What is not covered in OneSearch:

  1. UNR Libraries makes accessible, via OneSearch, only that content to which UNR subscribes (or owns, for physical items); anything that is included in the Summon Index but not something to which UNR subscribes is therefore excluded from the initial results retrieved. Note that some of the subscription content will be from abstracting and indexing databases that provide only citations, such as the MLA Bibliography, where the Library may not have access to full-text content.
  2. Publishers who do not work directly with ProQuest/ExLibris are not included in the Index. If UNR has full-text access to publications by such publishers, this content will not be available through OneSearch.

About OneSearch “database” coverage:

Content in OneSearch is dependent not on database packages but on individual titles found in journals published by the publishers with whom ProQuest partners. Databases or collections marked with an asterisk above have only partial coverage; this will most often be because the database provider is not working directly with ProQuest/ExLibris to share information about its content.

So, for example, Academic Search Premier is only around 75% covered. EBSCO does not currently share its metadata with ProQuest, but, since ProQuest is getting information directly from many of the publishers included in Academic Search Premier, most--but not all--of the Academic Search Premier content is represented in OneSearch.

Checking the “Add Results Beyond Your Library’s Collection” Box: What does this do?

This search feature will include brief citation records for articles from journals and online resources and databases to which UNR Library doesn’t subscribe (as well as digital collections and repositories from other institutions). In those cases, the full-text is not available. In some cases there is not a direct match between what Summon thinks are UNR’s electronic holdings vs. actual holdings. As such, there have been plenty of reported incidents thus far of UNR subscription-based e-content (citations, abstracts, etc.) turning up in the “add results beyond library collection” mode. So at times this feature can be a little more comprehensive despite the unwieldy number of results.

How to use OneSearch Content:

Because Summon does not cover 100% of UNR’s electronic holdings it is not a replacement for searching native databases. But, OneSearch makes a great starting point for research or can be used to expand your research beyond a familiar core group of databases.