History of the Book
This guide provides an overview to some of Special Collections' and University Archives' holdings about the history of the book and printing. If you have a question, please contact the librarian by using the information on the right.
Fox, Vance. Special Collections Reading Room, Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, University of Nevada, Reno, 2008.
Book and Print History in Special Collections
Book Arts Collection - Holdings include international examples and secondary works on the history of printing and publishing, book design, paper, writing and alphabets. The artists' book emerged as a new genre during the twentieth century. Special Collections has representative examples of various techniques for binding, illustration, paper making, and printing, including limited editions from the University's Black Rock Press.
Selected Web Resources - Provides links to Websites for copyright guidelines, professional organizations, history of print resources, and Special Collections' digitized Book Arts Collection
Medieval Manuscripts - Links to several medieval parchment specimens and books about illuminated manuscripts
The Writing Process of Yesteryear - Personal computers revolutionized the preparation of book manuscripts. The Robert Laxalt Papers in Special Collections (85-09) contain examples of typed manuscripts with handwritten edits, correspondence with his editors, and galley proofs. What details about writers' thought processes and manuscript development are lost in the era of computer-based writing?
Library Tips & Tools
The tips and tools described in the webpages below can help you complete your papers, presentations, and projects.
Need citation help or examples to follow? Choose one of the links below. If you want to use the most recent copy of a style guide, stop by the Research & Computing Help Desk on the 2nd floor of the Knowledge Center.