Skip to main content

Geography 305 Community Environmental Problems: Primary Sources

Historical Resources

Downtown Reno Sandborn Map

Community Environmental Problems (and Solutions)

 Historical Resources, mostly in Special Collections

Some of these sources are online, but others can be found only in a library. Special Collections in the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries houses a wealth of primary materials concerning the history of Nevada. Hours are 9-5 M-F and the second Saturday of the month 1-5. A staff member will help you identify the best sources for your topic, and retrieve those materials for you to use in the reading room. Photocopying services are available.

The library of the Nevada Historical Society, at the north edge of campus, is also a rich repository of primary sources. It is located at 1650 North Virginia Street. Hours are Wednesday through Saturday, 12-4.

An important tip: History research is time-consuming. Start early!

Primary Sources

Newspaper Archive Database

Photographs

To order digital copies of Special Collections photos, use the shopping cart within the online collection and/or our order form for not-yet-digital photos. In the "notes" section of the form, mention that you are using the photo(s) for Geography 305 and you will not be charged.

Maps

Manuscripts

Architectural Drawings

Washoe County Assessor's database - search page

Nevada Census Online

City Directories for Reno

Secondary Sources

Books - UNR Library catalog - Classic

Online books

Online Nevada Encyclopedia

Librarians for Geog. 305

Donnie Curtis

Head of Special Collections
University Libraries
Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, 3rd floor
682-5668
dcurtis@unr.edu

Chrissy Klenke

Library Liaison for Geography
DeLaMare Library
Mackay Mines Building
682-7371
cklenke@unr.edu