Skip to main content

Book Arts: Home

This page is dedicated to all things Book Arts

Special Collections Department

Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm Monday-Friday

specoll@unr.edu
775-682-5665

What is "book arts"?

The Book Arts Collection in the Special Collections Department contains books documenting the history and development of printing, materials that exemplify the contemporary art and craft of fine bookmaking, and books dealing specifically with the various aspects of book design and production. The collection includes printed books from the 15th-20th centuries, including works printed by the early European masters of the craft. Contemporary fine bookmaking is represented by an extensive collection of books produced by presses throughout the United States and Europe. This part of the collection includes traditional letterpress books with classical typographic design and illustration, along with more avant-garde, non-traditional work and artists' books. The collection provides a wide range of books representing the work of significant presses, designers, typographers, and illustrators, in an effort to give students and researchers the best examples of the contemporary art and craft of bookmaking.

Books dealing with the design and production aspects of bookmaking can be found in the collection. These deal with subjects such as book design, printing technique and processes, typography, bookbinding, illustration, papermaking, paper decoration, letterforms, and calligraphy.

Subject Guide

Jessica Maddox
Contact:
Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center

Special Collections Department

Room 310

775-682-5672

maddoxj@unr.edu