Skip to main content

Basque Library

About the Basque Library

The Basque Library

The Library was founded in the late sixties under the auspices of the Basque Studies Program by then coordinator, William Douglass, with the help of Robert Laxalt, and guidance of Jon Bilbao. Today, the Basque Library is a part of the University of Nevada, Reno’s main library.

Over the years the library has become very influential and is considered to be the leading library on Basque topics anywhere outside of the Basque Country.

Today the Basque Library, combining the advantages of technology and its strong relationships with organizations and libraries in the Basque Country, strives to provide the best service possible.

The Library fulfills the needs of the Center for Basque Studies in Reno.

Being a University Library it acquires, and supplies researchers and academics in the field of Basque Studies all necessary documentation and information, regardless of format.  It also offers services and information that facilitate researchers´ work.

It serves as the center for information on the Diaspora as well as the travels of Basques abroad.

It endeavors to collect, protect and distribute information, regardless the format, on Basques outside of the Basque Country, especially those in the US and other English-speaking countries, in order to facilitate further research in this area.

It is the window for English speakers to the Basque world.

Its goal is to gather and distribute everything published in English about the Basques, regardless the format.  It also strives to offer the best published works pertaining to Basque topics in Basque, Spanish and French.

Public Collection

Public Basque Library Collection

Open to general public, users can consult and borrow books, CDs, videos and CD-ROMs.

Journals

Journals

We own hundreds of journals from the 19th century to the present. The library collects periodicals about Basque issues in paper and electronic formats, from publishers in the Basque Country and in the Basque Diaspora.

Archive

Archive

The Basque Archive conserves and offers archives created in the Basque Country in the 18th century, archives from the War of 1936 in Spain, and archives created and donated by Basques of the Diaspora, especially from the United States. We also maintain the archives created by the Center for Basque Studies and visiting scholars.

Photograph Collection

Photograph Collection

The Library maintains collections of photographs donated by professional photographers and by individuals. They offer an important source of information about Basques and especially about the Basque Diaspora.

Audio & Video Collection

Audio and Video Collection

The Basque Library owns and lends hundreds of videos and DVDs created by and about Basques and the Basque Diaspora. We also have audio recordings created by the Center for Basque Studies as well as those donated by individuals. These oral histories are the irreplaceable memories of the Basque Diaspora.

Ephemera Collection

Audio and Video Collection

Although these items do not circulate, we have hundreds of pamphlets, objects, posters and more related with the Basque Diaspora which can be viewed within the library.