Skip to main content

JOUR 413 Media History: Battle Born Politics

Special Collections website

Reading room hours: M-F 9:00-5:00; First Saturday 1:00-5:00

775 682-5665

email: specoll@unr.edu

The assignment

Media History Project: Battle Born Politics

  • Identify, research, and evaluate a person, event, place, and/or Innovation that is significant to media history in our city, state, or region in the 20th century
  • Find and analyze sources and artifacts that can help you tell the story of your subject's historical significance
  • Create a multimedia presentation that uses your research to explain the significance of your subject, placing it in present-day historical context

20th century Nevada politics and media


Nevada History


Nevada history is full of colorful individuals who were involved in local and national politics. During most of the 20th century, Nevada was the home to industries and activities that were illegal in other states, providing endless unique stories. Furthermore, the high percentage of federally-owned land in Nevada has infused Nevada politics with many issues uncommon in other areas. Special Collections houses a wealth of published and unpublished materials documenting all aspects of the political and social history of Nevada.

An important tip: History research is time-consuming. Start early!


Finding Background Information


Books in Special Collections, recommended for general history:

Barber, Alicia. Reno’s Big Gamble: Image and Reputation in the Biggest Little City

Green, Michael. Nevada: A History of the Silver State

Bowers, Michael. The Sagebrush State: Nevada’s History, Government and Politics

Examples of books on more specific topics:

Clifton, Guy. Dempsey in Nevada.

Raymond, C. Elizabeth. George Wingfield : owner and operator of Nevada

Find other sources books in the library catalog.

Articles

     Nevada Historical Society Quarterly 

     America History and Life

     UNR Library OneSearch (limit results to "Journal Articles" in the left column)

Online sources for background information:

     Online Nevada Encyclopedia

     Political History of Nevada


Finding Primary Sources
 

     Newspaper Archive Database

     Manuscripts

     Photographs

To order digital copies of Special Collections photos, use the shopping cart within the online collection and/or our order form for not-yet-digital photos. In the "notes" section of the form, mention that you are using the photo(s) for Journalism 413 and you will not be charged. Photos for personal use are $12 each.

     Oral Histories

The library of the Nevada Historical Society, at the north edge of campus, is also a rich repository of primary sources. It is located at 1650 North Virginia Street. Hours are Tuesday through Saturday, 12-4.

Donnelyn Curtis's picture
Donnelyn Curtis
Contact:
Special Collections, 3rd Floor, MIKC
Room 216
775 682-5668; 775 772-3957
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Journalism