Skip to main content

History 300A: Local History Sources: Overview

Special Collections

Special Collections, on the third floor of the Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, houses both primary and secondary materials on Nevada history topics, in a variety of formats. University Archives is located within Special Collections, preserving and providing access to the history of the University of Nevada, Reno.

Special Collections is open Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and one Saturday afternoon per month during the school year. Check our schedule for Saturdays and holidays.

Research staff are available during open hours for consultations about topics and sources. Email us with your questions and requests or call us at 775.682-5665.

The Nevada Historical Society

The library at the Nevada Historical Society, at 1650 North Virginia St. (just north of the UNR parking office and West Stadium parking garage entrance) has rich collections of manuscripts, photographs, and other materials for the study of Nevada history. They welcome UNR student researchers during the hours of 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Wednesday through Saturday. Call the library at 688-1190 ext. 227 or email the librarian, Michael Maher.

Special Collections & University Archives and the Basque Library at UNR collect and provide access to primary and secondary materials for the study of the history of Nevada and the Great Basin, with especially rich holdings on the Reno/Sparks/Lake Tahoe area and the University of Nevada, Reno. We encourage students to talk to us about your projects and take advantage of the knowledge of our staff and the resources in our collections.

For digital primary sources on non-local topics, use this guide to primary sources provided by the UNR Libraries. For more sources for non-local topics consult with Pat Ragains or a Research Services librarian at the Library Services desk on the main floor.

Most photographs, papers in manuscript collections and other unique items are not available in digital format, but (with some exceptions) we can scan them for use in your project, to your specifications. Please allow up to two days for delivery of the digital files.

Curated digital collections on the library's site are organized by themes and tell stories with unique materials as well as providing access to individual digital items. Sites within the Online Exhibits area tell more complex stories or extend some of the library's physical exhibits.

Specialized guides and databases provide access to the library's digital and non-digital materials:

Other online sources

Subject Guide

Donnelyn Curtis's picture
Donnelyn Curtis
Contact:
Special Collections, 3rd Floor, MIKC
Room 216
775 682-5668; 775 772-3957
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Journalism